Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Amerimax gutter guards

Read 45 Amerimax Gutter Guard reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#3   of 8 brands of gutter guards

64% of customers recommend
3.5 of 5 stars 45 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    22
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    7
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    7
  • Very Unsatisfied
    9

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Amerimax gutter guards

Read reviews of other Gutter Guard brands
Write a review

12345Next >>

Date created: 2016-08-08 Name: joseph opalinski
Location: hollchigany, mi

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Homeowner review"
Easy to install. Spent approx. $60 two years ago. Now all the nylon screens when the glue failed.


Date created: 2014-10-29 Name: Howard M
Location: Newberg, OR

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"They make things worse"
We have had the Amerimax covers on our gutters for about 3 years. On 95% of the house, they work great. On the other 5% they are a complete and utter disaster. On the valleys of our house, the gutter covers, no matter how often they are cleaned, are completely overwhelmed in a medium downpour. In a heavy downpour, the rain shoots out about 3 feet from the gutter onto our landscaping. Our foundation gets wet as a result, and we are worried about rot and settling problems due to the water load. We have resorted to quasi-permanently leaving 5 5gallon buckets under the valleys. During the past 2 weeks we have had to empty the buckets literally dozens of times. Removing the pieces at the bottom of the valleys appears to our only option, as Amerimax has not responded to a request for information on how to resolve this. But that will cause leaves to accumulate in the gutters, and the leaves cannot be accessed now because of the covers. Save your money, this product makes your gutter require far more maintenance than without it.


Date created: 2012-06-16 Name: J. B.
Location: Seattle, WA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Gutter covers"
These covers work for about 6 months. After that, they plug and the rainfall flows over the cover and stains the gutter. They are hard to clean. I spent over $400 on a set of these. I threw them out last month. Don't waste your time or money. Just have your gutters cleaned on a regular basis.



Date created: 2011-12-05 Location: Phoenix, AZ
Model: 86279BX

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"Gutter guard does its job for a couple years max"
I bought my Amerimax gutter guard at home depot two years ago, and I was pleased at the easy install and how it looked. It seems like a great idea because we have two big trees that always loose leaves that fall on the roof and eventually end up in the gutter during any storm. Here in Phoenix we have monsoon season, and as soon as it struck I was pleased with the gutter guard performance. It kept the gutters from getting clogged up. Then all the leaves started pilling up on top of the gutter guard, this kept the water from flowing in, and the water jus poured over the side onto the patio. I think with our style of flat roof, this especially doesn't work very well due to the water pouring in from all angles. The other big problem that I have with this product is that it tends to warp and fade after a hot summer like we have here in phoenix. It was difficult to get it to lay back in the gutters after it warped, virtually making it useless. I have since taken them out and am back to just having plane old gutters without the guards.


Date created: 2011-12-05 Location: Columbus, OH
Model: 85219BX

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"Gutter Guards aren't all they are cracked up to be"
I've had these gutter guards for over a year (just enough to deal with one fall's worth of leaves). I really liked the price point of these, I did some shopping and had to spend a little to supposedly get a little. I had to pay extra to get the color that would most closely match the trim of my house. What I don't like about these gutter guards is that while they work, they only seem to work about half the time. I would say that roughly 50% of the gutters still clog with leaves (small leaves yes, but still they are clogged and the point of these guards is to keep all leaves and branch debris out of the gutters). Cleaning them out is not an option as my roof is 25' off the ground at some points and the point of buying the gutter guards is to keep me off a ladder that high up. I would not buy this brand again or recommend to a friend. I am currently researching more options for a replacement which has to take place this summer as these simply will not work for another fall.


Date created: 2011-11-14 Name: Neil Dvorak
Location: Denver, CO

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Snap-in Filter Guards"
The design is great and installation was relatively easy. But after one summer of several 100 degree days, many of the guards exposed to direct sunlight warped so bad they nearly came off, leaving serious gaps. If they would use a better plastic, I might buy them again. Maybe their white color would work better. Sears has an aluminum version of this, although more expensive.


Date created: 2011-06-02 Location: Brooklyn, NY
Model: 8519812

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"Amerimax 20ft Plastic Gutter Guard"
I've owned the Amerimax 20ft Plastic Gutter Guards for about 3 years now and for the most part I've been very satisfied. The guards are reasonably priced, easy to install and very effective in trapping unwanted material. I've never hard to repair or replace the guard- but, I do have to clean it out about once each year. Cleaning a guard basically involves removing it from the gutter and washing it off with water; it's a pretty quick process and doesn't take a ton effort. One small issue that I have with this product is that it doesn't come in any different colors. It would be nice if it came in a variety of different color variations to match paints, building materials, etc. Nonetheless I would certainly recommend this brand as a convenient and affordable solution to gutter clogs and I would suggest them to anyone.


Date created: 2011-05-28 Location: Los Angeles, Ca
Model: 85320

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Pleased with Amerimax Gutter Guards"
I've had the Amerimax gutter guards for the better part of a year, having installed them myself, and they've done an excellent job of keeping pine needles and leaves out of my gutters. It was really a snap to install and I haven't had any problems with it. They're white and blend in well. The weather here isn't wild, so they don't take much of a beating, but they came through the rainy winter without a problem. They'll never have to deal with snow, and given how well they've kept free from build up, I doubt they'll ever take much weight. Given that it's only a year now, I haven't had to replace them and I don't anticipate that need coming. But the best part is that after a year I haven't had to get up on a ladder once to clean them out, and that makes them worth every penny. I'd gladly buy the same brand again and would recommend them to anyone who asked.


Date created: 2011-05-15 Location: Santa Clarita, CA

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Best Value Home Improvement Device"
I put these leaf guards up last November and the installation was surprisingly easy, in fact the hardest part was climbing up the ladder. I have a single story house with about 90 linear feet of rain gutter. Before installing this system, my gutters always got fouled with oak leaves and pine needles and the gutters actually would sag with the weight of the backed up water. Anyway, this gutter guard is like a screen, water flows in but leaves stay out. The whole project took me about 3 hours but I work kinda slow. Highly recommended!


Date created: 2011-03-31 Location: Greemsboro, NC
Model: 85279

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Amerimax Gutter Guard Review"
I've owned these particular gutter guards for about 1 year now. There really isn't much to like about them other than they are easy to install, but that's about it. They are extremely poor quality and don't last even a year. After being out in the sun and rain for about a year, they shrunk, warped and curled up making them pretty much useless. Half of the gutter guards end up warping so much they they actually fell inside the gutter creating a blockage. I ended up having to replace ALL my gutter guards with a new brand which didn't end up being so cheap. In the end, I'd never buy this brand again, or even recommended them to a friend. I wouldn't even recommend these gutter guards to my worst enemy. So I learned a lesson here, don't buy the cheapest ones you see. I hope there's someone that can simply read this review and learn a lesson without wasting their time and money.

12345Next >>