Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Atlas shingles

Atlas Logo

Read 42 Atlas Shingle reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#5   of 15 brands of shingles

45% of customers recommend
3 of 5 stars 42 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    19
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    0
  • Neutral
    1
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    0
  • Very Unsatisfied
    22

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Atlas shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous12345Next >>

Date created: 2015-09-16 Name: K Phillips
Location: Dallas
Model: Stormaster Slate

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Leaks"
I recently installed this shingle on a customer's house and it leaks all over. The mastic that seals the shingles together is not letting the water out where they butt together at the joint, causing the water to run sideways underneath the shingles. The manufacturers reps have been of no help to this point.


Date created: 2015-07-23 Name: K. L.
Location: Pettibone, ND
Model: Castlebrook 35

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Hand sealed"
We built a new home in 2014, that same year shingles blew off from every part of our roof. Atlas said that the shingles needed to be hand sealed down. We can not find a contractor to give us an estimate for it, much less a contractor that will take the job on! Atlas is refusing to help us. Terrible shingles... terrible customer service!


Date created: 2015-07-03 Name: DeAnn Gullely
Location: Liberty, IN
Model: StormMaster

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Gluing did not fix failed shingles."
Singles have failed since the first winter. Replacing and gluing flaps did not correct the problem Atlas, after a year of negotiations sent a check for a few hundred dollars and instructions to glue each shingle down. That does not begin to remedy the situation and doesn't cover the cost of repairs to plaster walls and ceilings in my 160 year old home! My next step seems to be a legal one.



Date created: 2015-03-18 Name: K Palmquist
Location: Minnesota

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Very Satisfied"
We've been using Atlas shingles for the past 3 years and have installed around 400 roofs with this product. I can say that we had a problem with one roof about a year ago with the coloration of the shingles as they were applied not matching up. We filed the warranty and had no problems with Atlas's procedures in handling our problem. They replaced the entire roof material and labor.


Date created: 2014-08-01 Name: Sam
Location: Bixby, Ok
Model: Weathered Slate

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"100 mph shingle can't stand 50 mph wind."
Installed Atlas StormMaster weathered slate shingle in 2008. I have been on roof at least 2 times per year to fix tabs that have blown up or off. Same song and dance as previous reviews. Sent in sample to Atlas, they say shingle is up to standards. Obviously not very high standards. Working with roofer to reseal all tabs on house now. Do not use atlas products.


Date created: 2014-07-02 Name: Larna Godsey
Location: Wichita, KS

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Add me to very dissatisfied"
This is a bait and switch scam. They make promises to "stand by" their product, until they need to stand by it. My roof was installed in August 2013 and failed immediately. My contractor repaired and it failed again in February. We have been sending shingle samples and making calls to get it resolved, and all the while shingles continue to blow off my roof. We have now been told a different story, after 8 months of run around, they want a "formal written complaint". We have written and provided every piece of information they have asked for and still no cooperation. A warranty is only as good as the company who stands behind it. This company is not good.


Date created: 2014-05-22 Name: B. Owens
Location: Omaha, Ne.

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Defective Atlas Shingles"
We used Atlas shingles when constructing our new home last year. The shingle installation was completed in mid-September of 2013 but failed to seat themselves. The loose shingles flapped and tore away all winter when the wind blew. Talking 30 to 60 mph winds, not even half of the 110 mile winds the shingles were rated for. Talked to the local distributor where they were purchased and were advised that Atlas had a number of issues with these shingles. The distributor also arranged for the local Atlas rep to inspect the roof. He came and walked the roof and reported that 60-70% of the roof failed to seat and indicated to us that he would recommend replacement. Several weeks later we received notice from Atlas that the samples he submitted showed no sign of defect after thorough inspection and that winter (mid-September) installation needed to include hand tarring, but in the interest of customer satisfaction, they sent us a token check to cover the cost of hand sealing. We've since had 5 roofing companies look at the roof and all recommended total replacement saying the Atlas shingles were defective from the factory and the token payment they made didn't even cover 1/3 of the cost to had tar the shingles, let alone replace the defective product. Still trying to get satisfaction from Atlas but would never use or recommend their product again.


Date created: 2014-03-05 Name: Wyatt
Location: Shalimar Fl

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"From a contractor"
I have used this Atlas brand shingle for the last 4 years in the panhandle area of Fl. 40 plus new homes. I have very little problem with this brand. The issues that I do run across is usually a install error. I would highly recommend this shingle.


Date created: 2014-01-24 Name: Sheri
Location: Nebraska
Model: Storm Master

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Defective shingles"
Wrote before. I got no where with Atlas after sending in some of what I consider to be defective shingles. I have been on the roof every year adding roof tar to keep more tabs from tearing off with our winds. I am also starting to notice that several of the shingles are starting to crack. As I said I am on the roof every year, so if you have these and have not been on your roof you may want to check. I was hoping for the best but am probably going to need to contact my insurance company again. Very disappointed and what a costly mistake on my part for choosing this product.


Date created: 2013-08-07 Name: Mr. Unsatisfied
Location: tx

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Warning"
Your bait-switch was very cliche and your style is "ghetto". I appreciate the 'lovely' wake-up call, though! -15 yr. Old daughter of "Mr. Unsatisfied" I am very unsatisfied with your product. All who read this, do not buy this product, it is not all it's cracked up to be! Leave before it's too late for you too! -12 yr. old daughter of "Mr. Unsatisfied"

<< Previous12345Next >>