Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of BP shingles

Popularity:
#13  of 15 brands of shingles

21% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 121 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    25
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    1
  • Neutral
    3
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    91

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about BP shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous12345678910111213Next >>

Date created: 2015-10-26 Name: Ken S.
Location: Edmonton, AB
Model: Mirage

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"BP Shingles - Never Again"
I'm just about to file my claim after shingles failed after just 12 years (on 25 year warranty). Has anyone here tried the Cash Settlement option successfully? I really don't want to go with BP again as some of you here have gotten forced into. Thanks, K


Date created: 2015-10-04 Name: L. Kelly
Location: Mulmur, Ontario
Model: Eclipse

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Be wary of BP shingles"
We re-shingled our roof in 2004, with BP Eclipse shingles, that were supposed to be guaranteed for 25 years. It is now only 11 years later and the shingles have curled up, are crumbling and breaking, and are shedding black pellets all around the house. When I looked up issues with these shingles I discovered that there is a class action suit in progress against BP for this model of shingle, and they are making it extremely difficult for people to get any compensation. Be wary.


Date created: 2015-09-02 Name: Shiela George
Location: Spruce Grove, AB
Model: Rampart

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Horrible shingles - BP Rampart"
I am from Alberta, Canada. Had Rampart shingles installed in 2000. Right from the first few weeks the shingles were lifting. Before the 5 years were up, had leakage in some parts of the home. Then before 15 years were up, the shingles have curled and are damaged and powdering into bits. I am so frustrated and unhappy and concerned about this. I want to know what will be done by BP to rectify and compensate for the defective shingles we purchased by them.



Date created: 2015-07-30 Name: G. Sidaway
Location: Ajax, Ontario

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"BP - not to be trusted"
BP Shingle's 25 year warranty is worthless and more to the point their warranty process is nothing short of criminal. My roof was installed 13 years ago by professional roofers from Home Depot. Home Depot only warrants the 10 year installation portion of the warranty. Home Depot told me that I had to go directly to BP Shingles to get the product warranty. After months of endless correspondences with BP it is clear to me that they are thumbing their nose at the class action suit brought against them and they have no intention of honouring their 25 year warranty. BP’s strategy is to make customers go through endless bureaucratic hoops of pictures and emails. It is furthermore clear to me that BP’s strategy knows that most people will simply go away out of frustration allowing them to only honour warranty claims to those few people that have the capacity to hang on and see it to the end through court action. My advice keep away from any installer that is promoting BP Shingles.


Date created: 2015-07-27 Name: VHF
Location: Canada
Model: Rampart

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"BP Shingles... bad choice"
Garbage. If someone tries to sell you these...run. I unknowingly had these installed and within 5 years, they were literally falling apart. I'd love to post the pictures but cannot. I was part of the class-action suit against BP and although I did not get 100% back I did ok. Would I buy anything from BP? I think not.


Date created: 2015-05-26 Name: Carolyn Saumur
Location: Ajax, On. Canada
Model: Rampart Organic

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Shingles starting to lift + brown edges."
Had our roof done through Sears, but Sears takes no responsibility. Sears advised to go through BP claims, which was under a class action suit for defective shingles; our are suppose to be 25 year Rampart organic shingles. We filed all the forms around April, just after the snow ended, and took so many pictures, we could probably fill an album. BP did not honour all our defective pictures, and now we have to file a review, to claim the whole roof, since all shingles are starting to lift and edges are turning brown. BP was only willing to give us under $2000, but only if we use their shingles again. Why should we have to use their shingles, since are not worthy of 25 years warranty. We are also very dissatisfied with Sears, since we gave them our money.


Date created: 2015-05-16 Name: Ben
Location: London, Ontario
Model: Eclipse

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Do not buy these"
These shingles look great and are super affordable. Other than that they are horrible and no good. I installed BP Eclipse Shingles (lifetime) in 2006 and have to redo my entire roof now (2015). I sued their company and have received money to offset the cost of new shingles. Everybody reading this do yourself a huge favour and forget about BP. They sell a horrible product that is going to cost you more in the long run.


Date created: 2015-02-20 Name: Rick Forest
Location: Belle River, Ontario
Model: Everest

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"BP Everest Shingles Rock"
My family has been installing shingles for 3 generations and we have installed BP for almost 90 years. BP has figured out our Canadian winters and builds their products with more granular and sealing tar than all others. Funny how this site ranks shingles based on responses from people when most here are complainers. All I can say is that in my opinion as a certified roofing company that has installed millions of square feet of roofing is buy the best warranty. Here I my ranking of the best shingles> 1)BP Everest 2) Owens Corning Ovation 3) GAF Timberline 4) Certainteed Landmark all others are of poorer quality.


Date created: 2015-02-20 Name: Bill Girard
Location: Windsor, Ontario

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Thicker Than All Others"
Canadian Company - Best Warranty - Certified Installers what else can I say. Go Canadian!


Date created: 2015-02-19 Name: Edna Potski
Location: Tecumseh, Ontario
Model: Everest 42

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Beautiful Roof"
I purchased BP shingles to be installed on my home in the spring of 2014. I could not believe the amazing colour and vibrant look of the shingles. I had done my homework on the products the roofers had suggested and read some reviews, not all good I might add, though all shingle manufacturers have bad reviews and lawsuits in the past. What I really liked was the 15 year prorated warranty, the best in the industry by 5 years. Being Canadian and supporting local economy is important to me and my family, coupled with the best warranty, and shingles designed for our climate. I love the look of my shingles and have the nicest roof on my street, Thanks BP!

<< Previous12345678910111213Next >>