Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of BP shingles

Popularity:
#12  of 14 brands of shingles

20% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 116 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    23
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    1
  • Neutral
    3
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    88

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about BP shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous123456789101112Next >>

Date created: 2012-08-30 Name: Gord McDougall
Location: London Ontario

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Complete rip off"
Same as everyone else so called 25 year shingles garbage at 10 years total pain dealing with bp - had a replacement estimate done by one of their recommended roofers and they are only offering 2/3 of that estimate saying one roof section isn't as bad as the other 80% of the roof they are all the same shingles and then they have the nerve to insist on their product going back on Class action law suit in London.


Date created: 2012-08-23 Name: B. wellar
Location: Ottawa, ON

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Aristocrat"
Miserable excuse for roof covering. Installed in 1998, started to fail within four years -- granules in eavestroughs and barrels at bottom of downspouts,curling,cracking of shingles, -- south slope a write-off after 8 years,north slope going fast, need to replace all shingles this year, and only lasted this long because of the ice and water shield, we would have been in big trouble due to lots of snow in Ottawa. I was told to several times by others to write letters and slam bp if it makes me feel good, but bp people stall, dodge, bob-and-weave, and have a patent on blaming someone else. I wonder if the executives paid themselves big bonuses to bankrupt the company when the class action lawsuit pressure began to build? Surely not..


Date created: 2012-08-22 Name: Vito Gragaco
Location: Toronto

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Harmony shingles"
After only 2 years the glue that holds the shingles together is not holding. I went to the Toronto office address supplied by beacon roofing and talked to a fat man by the name of Steven. I gave him my proof of purchase and some pictures and he told me that he would send a guy out to see in person. After 2 months no one showed so I went back to his office and asked why he didn't send anyone. He told me because I had a bad attitude and if I didn't like it that I could take my business else were. I told him I will be but that I still want my warranty claim honored. He told me to leave my proof of purchase with him and he would look into it. Stupid me I did and after 1 month of waiting I went back again and that fat ignorant man told me that my proof of purchase was lost and that I would have to supply some kind of credit card or bank proof proving I purchased the shingles. When I told him that he knows that I payed cash because it said so on the bill he then said that I should never of gave the original bill then and that its my fault I got mad and left. Don't deal with Steven huessur at the Toronto site I wouldn't be shocked if it was him alone that is ruining the company.



Date created: 2012-08-15 Name: Paul Burton
Location: Ontario
Model: Rampart

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't buy anything from this company"
We had bp Rampart 30 year shingles put on our house 10 years ago. We are looking to replace them. I walk the roof yearly they are split, cracked, and disintegrating. Their warranty is not worth the paper it is written on, total fraud. They are being class sued left and right Do not buy this product or anything else from this company they do not stand behind their product and hopefully soon will be sued out of existence.


Date created: 2012-08-14 Name: Wayne Baresich
Location: London Ont.
Model: Rampart

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"9 Year old shingles curling badly"
I had BP Rampart shingles installed 9 years ago and they look terrible, they are curling badly and will need to be replaced in a few years. So much for 25 year shingles!!


Date created: 2012-08-06 Name: J M ST ONGE
Location: Quebec Canada

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"VERY VERY UNSATISFIED"
My 'guaranteed for life' 'eclipse' shingles lasted only 6 years. Part of the roof has been redone and only part of the "agreed" guarantee refund has been paid. It is nothing short of "hell" to get bp to pay the amount they agreed that they would pay. Their refund "protocol" is designed to wear out the customer. The personnel on the telephone are unpleasant and uncooperative. I cannot begin to describe the ordeal of dealing with these people. BP for me " never again "


Date created: 2012-07-30 Name: S.Ross
Location: North Bay, Ontario
Model: Rampart

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Rampart 25 Year Shingles"
Installed in 2003 - deterioration evident in 2011. Claim submitted under the Warranty. Good customer service in the handling of my Claim. BP has agreed to settle under the warranty for pro-rated cost of replacement - 68% at current cost estimate - so long as replacement shingles are BP. I have until December 2012 to get the work done and submit dealer invoice, roofer invoice etc. My problem is - should I replace with bp shingles - or ask for payment of the settlement - and get a contractor to instal other shingles. I don't want to have to do another roofing job in 8 years because the bp shingles are defective! Should I consider joining a class action law suit and hope for the best?? Or should I just install more bp shingles and save my pennies towards the replacement in 8 or so years?


Date created: 2012-07-29 Location: Buffalo, NY
Model: Mirage GS

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"My House Has Shingles"
The shingles on my house are the BP Mirage GS model. We recently added these onto our roof about a year ago. What I like about them so far is they seem to be extremely durable and they look excellent on the house. Due to not having them for an extended period of time yet I do not have really anything negative to say about them, also because of this we have not had to make any repairs. I'd imagine if we did thought it would be just as smooth as it was when we had the roof done a year ago. I would definitely buy the same brand again and I highly recommend them to anyone in need of a new roof. BP is one of the more noteable names when it comes to shingles and now I know why. I not only recommend this company but also the model in which I chose, and again it was the Mirage GS. Thank you.


Date created: 2012-07-28 Name: mike zahari
Location: toronto ontario

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"shingle performance"
I would like to give some perspective here to what I read about how shingles are performing. To do that I need to give a bit of history. Old shingles were Organic which meant that the substrate or the main body of the shingle was felt or some other compound that was not always consistent through the shingle and very definitely had a life that is not the same as fiberglass today. The result of the substrate being organic has shown itself today with the shingles degrading faster than they used to when a heavier felt was used as the substrate, the manufacturers addressed the problem initially by adding more tar to the top coat or gave a laminate layer to hide defects over time, that is my opinion on that point. The next step was Free Trade and American shingles came on the scene and they were Fiberglass and performed differently due to the weather they had to be manufactured for was much different than here. Fiberglass is a better shingle but it too had faults which have been corrected. The Canadian Manufacturers have changed over to Fiberglass and those shingles do perform as they should, unfortunately there are a lot of Organic shingles around. The last thing that I want to say about roof performance is that houses today are sealed way tighter than ever before so what is happening is that moisture that used to vent out through windows and doors now all goes up and hits the underside of the roof which causes a reaction of where the back side of the shingle gets wet so it expands and causes your curling. This is a venting problem that you see as a roofing problem, there have been all kinds of code changes to address this but it is catch up and we do have the problem as it exists today with a change over in an industry. I am not a rep for the manufacturers but a roofer who has been in the industry for over 32 years and have seen the evolution. Today as a consumer you need to be more educated about product and how it performs so ask questions and make sure the answers make sense when you get them. Hope this helps.


Date created: 2012-07-26 Name: L Mann
Location: Toronto, ON
Model: Rampart

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"BP RAMPART Shingles"
I had our local roofer install my roof with bp Rampart 2 tone brown shingles in Sept. 2006. After only a few years in service I noticed that the edge of all the shingles were turning up worse than the 15 year old shingles that were removed. I then contacted bp , sent proof of purchase/roofer and photo's of the roof, bp then sent out a inspector and he said there was poor venting from the overhang and that the claim is void. I now have contacted them again and have to do all the work over again in order to have them inspect the roof , there is a class action going re the Toronto Star July 25 page a13 lets get involved....

<< Previous123456789101112Next >>