Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of BP shingles

Popularity:
#12  of 14 brands of shingles

20% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 113 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    22
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    1
  • Neutral
    3
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    86

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about BP shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous123456789101112Next >>

Date created: 2012-08-15 Name: Paul Burton
Location: Ontario
Model: Rampart

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't buy anything from this company"
We had bp Rampart 30 year shingles put on our house 10 years ago. We are looking to replace them. I walk the roof yearly they are split, cracked, and disintegrating. Their warranty is not worth the paper it is written on, total fraud. They are being class sued left and right Do not buy this product or anything else from this company they do not stand behind their product and hopefully soon will be sued out of existence.


Date created: 2012-08-14 Name: Wayne Baresich
Location: London Ont.
Model: Rampart

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"9 Year old shingles curling badly"
I had BP Rampart shingles installed 9 years ago and they look terrible, they are curling badly and will need to be replaced in a few years. So much for 25 year shingles!!


Date created: 2012-08-06 Name: J M ST ONGE
Location: Quebec Canada

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"VERY VERY UNSATISFIED"
My 'guaranteed for life' 'eclipse' shingles lasted only 6 years. Part of the roof has been redone and only part of the "agreed" guarantee refund has been paid. It is nothing short of "hell" to get bp to pay the amount they agreed that they would pay. Their refund "protocol" is designed to wear out the customer. The personnel on the telephone are unpleasant and uncooperative. I cannot begin to describe the ordeal of dealing with these people. BP for me " never again "



Date created: 2012-07-30 Name: S.Ross
Location: North Bay, Ontario
Model: Rampart

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Rampart 25 Year Shingles"
Installed in 2003 - deterioration evident in 2011. Claim submitted under the Warranty. Good customer service in the handling of my Claim. BP has agreed to settle under the warranty for pro-rated cost of replacement - 68% at current cost estimate - so long as replacement shingles are BP. I have until December 2012 to get the work done and submit dealer invoice, roofer invoice etc. My problem is - should I replace with bp shingles - or ask for payment of the settlement - and get a contractor to instal other shingles. I don't want to have to do another roofing job in 8 years because the bp shingles are defective! Should I consider joining a class action law suit and hope for the best?? Or should I just install more bp shingles and save my pennies towards the replacement in 8 or so years?


Date created: 2012-07-29 Location: Buffalo, NY
Model: Mirage GS

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"My House Has Shingles"
The shingles on my house are the BP Mirage GS model. We recently added these onto our roof about a year ago. What I like about them so far is they seem to be extremely durable and they look excellent on the house. Due to not having them for an extended period of time yet I do not have really anything negative to say about them, also because of this we have not had to make any repairs. I'd imagine if we did thought it would be just as smooth as it was when we had the roof done a year ago. I would definitely buy the same brand again and I highly recommend them to anyone in need of a new roof. BP is one of the more noteable names when it comes to shingles and now I know why. I not only recommend this company but also the model in which I chose, and again it was the Mirage GS. Thank you.


Date created: 2012-07-28 Name: mike zahari
Location: toronto ontario

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"shingle performance"
I would like to give some perspective here to what I read about how shingles are performing. To do that I need to give a bit of history. Old shingles were Organic which meant that the substrate or the main body of the shingle was felt or some other compound that was not always consistent through the shingle and very definitely had a life that is not the same as fiberglass today. The result of the substrate being organic has shown itself today with the shingles degrading faster than they used to when a heavier felt was used as the substrate, the manufacturers addressed the problem initially by adding more tar to the top coat or gave a laminate layer to hide defects over time, that is my opinion on that point. The next step was Free Trade and American shingles came on the scene and they were Fiberglass and performed differently due to the weather they had to be manufactured for was much different than here. Fiberglass is a better shingle but it too had faults which have been corrected. The Canadian Manufacturers have changed over to Fiberglass and those shingles do perform as they should, unfortunately there are a lot of Organic shingles around. The last thing that I want to say about roof performance is that houses today are sealed way tighter than ever before so what is happening is that moisture that used to vent out through windows and doors now all goes up and hits the underside of the roof which causes a reaction of where the back side of the shingle gets wet so it expands and causes your curling. This is a venting problem that you see as a roofing problem, there have been all kinds of code changes to address this but it is catch up and we do have the problem as it exists today with a change over in an industry. I am not a rep for the manufacturers but a roofer who has been in the industry for over 32 years and have seen the evolution. Today as a consumer you need to be more educated about product and how it performs so ask questions and make sure the answers make sense when you get them. Hope this helps.


Date created: 2012-07-26 Name: L Mann
Location: Toronto, ON
Model: Rampart

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"BP RAMPART Shingles"
I had our local roofer install my roof with bp Rampart 2 tone brown shingles in Sept. 2006. After only a few years in service I noticed that the edge of all the shingles were turning up worse than the 15 year old shingles that were removed. I then contacted bp , sent proof of purchase/roofer and photo's of the roof, bp then sent out a inspector and he said there was poor venting from the overhang and that the claim is void. I now have contacted them again and have to do all the work over again in order to have them inspect the roof , there is a class action going re the Toronto Star July 25 page a13 lets get involved....


Date created: 2012-07-24 Name: D.Roche
Location: Boston, MA
Model: Eclipse

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Eclipse Disaster"
I had 35 year Eclipse shingles installed 12 years ago. About 5 years after installation the pebbles on the shingle started to appear in the gutters and now the roof needs to be replaced. The same issues everyone has complained about here - curling edges, material falling off, drying out. Looks like others blazed the trail and there was a Class Action Law Suit, unfortuntaely they only pay for the really bad areas and you have to use their inferior product. You would think in these law suits it would be a cash payout. Now either I put another crappy bp shingle on my house and saddle the next guy or do it right. I'm doing the latter. The roofer said nobody is using bp shingles, he won't install them and they are stacked up at the yards - they can't give em away. BP: Defective shingles, poor customer service - only paid due to the law suit and a horrible settlement means that in the end, homeowners pay the entire freight. You should be ashamed of yourselves for not taking caring of your customers. I would not recommend BP products after this experience.


Date created: 2012-07-09 Name: Rob
Location: Erin, ON, Canada
Model: Everest

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"BP "Everest" Series Review"
Just had some bp Everest shingles (Brown Stone colour) put on. They look great, and the lifetime warranty is impressive. That said, beware of the smell associated with them. Not sure if unique to BP, but on a hot day, the shingles heat up and gas off a petroleum-based smell. If you have a window above a roof section (like a dormer), you may not like the smell. So far has been almost 2 months, and the smell remains. Hoping it goes away, but for now we're forced to keep the window (thankfully only one) closed.


Date created: 2012-06-24 Name: Roger Roy
Location: Saskatoon, Sk

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"BP Mirage 30 yr (garbage manufacturer and crappy warranty)"
30 year shingle problematic within first two years. Brushed off by bp however response to claim at the four year mark; "we will warrant one slope and three shingles on the other" Great, you don't manufacture that model any longer "do the best you can to match them up". What a deal, brand new home with a patch up job for a roof - great resale potential!! Total garbage product!

<< Previous123456789101112Next >>