Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of BP shingles

Popularity:
#13  of 15 brands of shingles

22% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 118 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    25
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    1
  • Neutral
    3
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    88

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about BP shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous123456789101112Next >>

Date created: 2012-09-19 Name: Ken
Location: Ameliasburg, Ontario

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"Time will tell"
My house was built in 2004 with BP's 25 year shingles. In 2011 the shingles were pretty well finished, with curling corners and lifting shingles. Before they started to leak I filed a claim and received a response within a week. After supplying them with everything they asked for, pictures of roof and attic and a few other pieces of paperwork they came good with paying a large percentage of the replacement cost including labor. Unfortunately I could only use bp product, so like I said in the subject "time will tell". They claim they have improved their shingles. I have to admit I was satisfied with the way they handled the claim and came through with the final cheque in a timely matter. I only hope I never have to deal with them again after reading other posts here


Date created: 2012-09-17 Name: J. Clark
Location: Monroe, NH

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"BP Warranty Claim"
My "lifetime" architectural grade bp Eclipse shingles were professionally installed over a newly framed/decked roof in June of 2004. By this spring they had delaminated/curled so badly that I filed a warranty claim with bp. That process wasn't too bad - proof of purchase, photos, etc. However, bp never had an inspector visit my home. They did offer me a settlement, but for only 1/2 of the roof, and I'd have to use more of their product and complete the job within one year. So, I'm not pleased with this response and will likely reject their offer and go with a total tear-off and a different manufacturer. I will not use bp products in future.


Date created: 2012-08-30 Name: Gord McDougall
Location: London Ontario

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Complete rip off"
Same as everyone else so called 25 year shingles garbage at 10 years total pain dealing with bp - had a replacement estimate done by one of their recommended roofers and they are only offering 2/3 of that estimate saying one roof section isn't as bad as the other 80% of the roof they are all the same shingles and then they have the nerve to insist on their product going back on Class action law suit in London.



Date created: 2012-08-23 Name: B. wellar
Location: Ottawa, ON

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Aristocrat"
Miserable excuse for roof covering. Installed in 1998, started to fail within four years -- granules in eavestroughs and barrels at bottom of downspouts,curling,cracking of shingles, -- south slope a write-off after 8 years,north slope going fast, need to replace all shingles this year, and only lasted this long because of the ice and water shield, we would have been in big trouble due to lots of snow in Ottawa. I was told to several times by others to write letters and slam bp if it makes me feel good, but bp people stall, dodge, bob-and-weave, and have a patent on blaming someone else. I wonder if the executives paid themselves big bonuses to bankrupt the company when the class action lawsuit pressure began to build? Surely not..


Date created: 2012-08-22 Name: Vito Gragaco
Location: Toronto

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Harmony shingles"
After only 2 years the glue that holds the shingles together is not holding. I went to the Toronto office address supplied by beacon roofing and talked to a fat man by the name of Steven. I gave him my proof of purchase and some pictures and he told me that he would send a guy out to see in person. After 2 months no one showed so I went back to his office and asked why he didn't send anyone. He told me because I had a bad attitude and if I didn't like it that I could take my business else were. I told him I will be but that I still want my warranty claim honored. He told me to leave my proof of purchase with him and he would look into it. Stupid me I did and after 1 month of waiting I went back again and that fat ignorant man told me that my proof of purchase was lost and that I would have to supply some kind of credit card or bank proof proving I purchased the shingles. When I told him that he knows that I payed cash because it said so on the bill he then said that I should never of gave the original bill then and that its my fault I got mad and left. Don't deal with Steven huessur at the Toronto site I wouldn't be shocked if it was him alone that is ruining the company.


Date created: 2012-08-15 Name: Paul Burton
Location: Ontario
Model: Rampart

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't buy anything from this company"
We had bp Rampart 30 year shingles put on our house 10 years ago. We are looking to replace them. I walk the roof yearly they are split, cracked, and disintegrating. Their warranty is not worth the paper it is written on, total fraud. They are being class sued left and right Do not buy this product or anything else from this company they do not stand behind their product and hopefully soon will be sued out of existence.


Date created: 2012-08-14 Name: Wayne Baresich
Location: London Ont.
Model: Rampart

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"9 Year old shingles curling badly"
I had BP Rampart shingles installed 9 years ago and they look terrible, they are curling badly and will need to be replaced in a few years. So much for 25 year shingles!!


Date created: 2012-08-06 Name: J M ST ONGE
Location: Quebec Canada

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"VERY VERY UNSATISFIED"
My 'guaranteed for life' 'eclipse' shingles lasted only 6 years. Part of the roof has been redone and only part of the "agreed" guarantee refund has been paid. It is nothing short of "hell" to get bp to pay the amount they agreed that they would pay. Their refund "protocol" is designed to wear out the customer. The personnel on the telephone are unpleasant and uncooperative. I cannot begin to describe the ordeal of dealing with these people. BP for me " never again "


Date created: 2012-07-30 Name: S.Ross
Location: North Bay, Ontario
Model: Rampart

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Rampart 25 Year Shingles"
Installed in 2003 - deterioration evident in 2011. Claim submitted under the Warranty. Good customer service in the handling of my Claim. BP has agreed to settle under the warranty for pro-rated cost of replacement - 68% at current cost estimate - so long as replacement shingles are BP. I have until December 2012 to get the work done and submit dealer invoice, roofer invoice etc. My problem is - should I replace with bp shingles - or ask for payment of the settlement - and get a contractor to instal other shingles. I don't want to have to do another roofing job in 8 years because the bp shingles are defective! Should I consider joining a class action law suit and hope for the best?? Or should I just install more bp shingles and save my pennies towards the replacement in 8 or so years?


Date created: 2012-07-29 Location: Buffalo, NY
Model: Mirage GS

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"My House Has Shingles"
The shingles on my house are the BP Mirage GS model. We recently added these onto our roof about a year ago. What I like about them so far is they seem to be extremely durable and they look excellent on the house. Due to not having them for an extended period of time yet I do not have really anything negative to say about them, also because of this we have not had to make any repairs. I'd imagine if we did thought it would be just as smooth as it was when we had the roof done a year ago. I would definitely buy the same brand again and I highly recommend them to anyone in need of a new roof. BP is one of the more noteable names when it comes to shingles and now I know why. I not only recommend this company but also the model in which I chose, and again it was the Mirage GS. Thank you.

<< Previous123456789101112Next >>