Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

dotted nav bar
dotted nav bar

Consumer Reviews of BP shingles

Popularity:
#12  of 14 brands of shingles

15% of customers recommend
1.5 of 5 stars 94 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    14
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    1
  • Neutral
    3
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    75

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about BP shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous12345678910Next >>

Date created: 2012-03-29 Name: Jane
Location: Manitoba, Canada

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't waste your money !!!"
This 25 year shingle lasted 12 years. It's curling, leaking and needs replacing already. The company is very hard to deal with and claims that its faulty workmanship, not the shingle. Our roof looks like it hasn't had a new roof in 30 or 35 years!


Date created: 2012-03-13 Name: Cosmo
Location: Peterborough ON

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Another sad story about BP shingles"
My bp shingles failed in 2011, ten years into the 25-year warranty. I filed a warranty claim and heard nothing from them for 6 months. When I followed up, they emailed a pdf of a letter purportedly sent two weeks after my claim. (Sure!) They accepted the claim and were prepared to pro- rate replacement of shingles only (no labor) on half the roof (the really bad shingles were on the west face of the roof and the south face of the shed). Oh, and replacement shingles had to be bp product. The offer would be good for 12 months from date of letter. (So because the letter was "missing" for 6 months, I was left with only a 6 month window). Needless to say, I didn't accept their settlement. BP's products and practices are terrible. Steer clear of them!!!!!! Law firm Harrison Pensa (London on) is mounting a class action suit.


Date created: 2012-03-05 Name: A Nav
Location: Niagara Falls, NY

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Horrific Product"
My roof was replaced with an entire tear down, new plywood and unfortunately bp shingles. From day one any puff of wind over ten miles per hour has resulted in lost shingles. It has been repaired approximently thirty times on my roofer's dime and after getting bp involved I have heard everything under the sun, except they have a defective product. First they told me there was no problem with their product, then months later admitted there was a problem with the adhesive but that was not their responsibity. After a wind storm in which the flying shingles did over $1500 damage to my truck they agreed to fix the damage. They then agreed to only fix the damaged shingles which were allegedly hot tarred into place. This was over two years after I contacted them. We had a storm with gusts in the 40 mile per hour range and I lost several square again. When the wind was blowing I could see large sections lifting in the wind. It is only a matter of time before more are lost. Horrible product, horrible customer service and horrible arogance. I CANNOT think of a company with more bad karma. I hope to join a class action suit as well. Please contact me at caraodery@verizon.net I hope to get their product banned from the USA in addition to getting them to honor their warranty.


Date created: 2012-02-29 Name: B
Location: Nova Scotia

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"BAD BP Shingles"
Installed Dakota 25 years bp shingles in 1999 and today, 29 February 12, they are discoloured and breaking down. Just filed a warranty claim, reading lots of reviews and not looking good. Would be interested in joining class action law suite.


Date created: 2012-02-09 Name: Ken
Location: NS Canada

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Bad shingles"
I filed a warranty claim to bp Canada for 25 years old shingles. The singles were installed 12 years ago and had a roofing company come in and they are discolored, breaking down so the roof shingles need to be replaced. Br Canada denied that the shingles need to be replaced and denied the warranty. Looking to join the class action law suit against bp. Terribly product. Never buy again.


Need a Roofing Contractor?

Find a Local Roofing Pro with this Free Service

* Replace or Repair Existing Roof
* Roof Maintenance and Pressure Cleaning
* Leak Detection, Waterproofing, and more

Date created: 2012-01-15 Name: Richard Karlsburger
Location: Sault Ste Marie On
Model: Rampart

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Dissatisfied"
Eight years ago we put on our bungalow BP shingles. In the last 2 years we notice curling on some of the shingles, and the granules started to come off. The shingles looked nice on the roof, but that is as far as it gets. We did get a settlement for the defective shingles and that is a joke, compared to the estimates we got from contractor to repair the damage. Even the contractor who did our roof, has stop using BP shingles and have gone to GAF, which we are going to go as well.


Date created: 2012-01-11 Name: G Lucas
Location: Fenton,Mi
Model: Everest

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Great investment"
Installed BP Everest shingles in Sept. 2010. Local roofing company did installation with material supplied from local lumberyard. Could not be more satisfied. Color is not fading like neighbor who had a roof installed approx the same time. Highly recommend.


Date created: 2012-01-05 Name: Dave Norton
Location: Windham

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"roof shingles"
Try this site, class Action.org. My roof has started to leak and bp said there is nothing they can do for me.


Date created: 2011-12-30 Name: D Norton
Location: windham NH 03087\

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Junk Shingles"
After contacting the bp company in Canada I was told there is nothing that they can do for me. Does anyone know of a class action suit being filed? I would join it in a second. My roof has 30 year shingles and its leaking now. The shingles have been up there for 15 years and have been falling apart for 2 years now. If you know of a class action suit, email smokebear2@aol.com. Thanks


Date created: 2011-12-15 Name: B. Pearce
Model: Cadet produced 2002

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Sub standard roofing"
I have had my home in Syracuse, NY roofed with BP asphalt shingles and starting 2 years ago I have noticed gravel from the roof collecting in the rain gutters. The roof is now 8 years old and bottom edges of the tabs are curling and cracking under the snow and ice. I hope that the roof will make it through this winter, and that no interior damage or sub roof sheathing will be damaged. The BP shingles are not carried by any suppliers in the area because, "We can not count on the company to back the product". I'm going with an American company next time.

<< Previous12345678910Next >>
Find Local Roofers

My zip code is: