Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of BP shingles

Popularity:
#12  of 14 brands of shingles

18% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 107 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    19
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    1
  • Neutral
    3
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    83

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about BP shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous1234567891011Next >>

Date created: 2012-07-26 Name: L Mann
Location: Toronto, ON
Model: Rampart

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"BP RAMPART Shingles"
I had our local roofer install my roof with bp Rampart 2 tone brown shingles in Sept. 2006. After only a few years in service I noticed that the edge of all the shingles were turning up worse than the 15 year old shingles that were removed. I then contacted bp , sent proof of purchase/roofer and photo's of the roof, bp then sent out a inspector and he said there was poor venting from the overhang and that the claim is void. I now have contacted them again and have to do all the work over again in order to have them inspect the roof , there is a class action going re the Toronto Star July 25 page a13 lets get involved....


Date created: 2012-07-24 Name: D.Roche
Location: Boston, MA
Model: Eclipse

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Eclipse Disaster"
I had 35 year Eclipse shingles installed 12 years ago. About 5 years after installation the pebbles on the shingle started to appear in the gutters and now the roof needs to be replaced. The same issues everyone has complained about here - curling edges, material falling off, drying out. Looks like others blazed the trail and there was a Class Action Law Suit, unfortuntaely they only pay for the really bad areas and you have to use their inferior product. You would think in these law suits it would be a cash payout. Now either I put another crappy bp shingle on my house and saddle the next guy or do it right. I'm doing the latter. The roofer said nobody is using bp shingles, he won't install them and they are stacked up at the yards - they can't give em away. BP: Defective shingles, poor customer service - only paid due to the law suit and a horrible settlement means that in the end, homeowners pay the entire freight. You should be ashamed of yourselves for not taking caring of your customers. I would not recommend BP products after this experience.


Date created: 2012-07-09 Name: Rob
Location: Erin, ON, Canada
Model: Everest

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"BP "Everest" Series Review"
Just had some bp Everest shingles (Brown Stone colour) put on. They look great, and the lifetime warranty is impressive. That said, beware of the smell associated with them. Not sure if unique to BP, but on a hot day, the shingles heat up and gas off a petroleum-based smell. If you have a window above a roof section (like a dormer), you may not like the smell. So far has been almost 2 months, and the smell remains. Hoping it goes away, but for now we're forced to keep the window (thankfully only one) closed.



Date created: 2012-06-24 Name: Roger Roy
Location: Saskatoon, Sk

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"BP Mirage 30 yr (garbage manufacturer and crappy warranty)"
30 year shingle problematic within first two years. Brushed off by bp however response to claim at the four year mark; "we will warrant one slope and three shingles on the other" Great, you don't manufacture that model any longer "do the best you can to match them up". What a deal, brand new home with a patch up job for a roof - great resale potential!! Total garbage product!


Date created: 2012-06-22 Name: L. Heilig
Location: Kirkland, Quebec

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"If only I had been warned in 1995"
The good: After 17 years, my bp Tradition shingles are not leaking water into the attic. The bad: from year 13 and onward, I have had to spend a few hours annually gluing down about 3 dozen lifting corners (of the original 5500). I have thermal splits in about a dozen rows randomly located on the roof. At least a third of the south side roof above an unheated attached garage has badly disintegrating shingles. Why no water leaks? I installed a rubber membrane at the eaves and used double felt paper everywhere else, so this backup treatment is working well. I have R42 attic insulation and full aluminum soft fit vents around the roof perimeter plus 2 Maximum brand vents above my 1000 sq. ft. size attic. And I even have styrovents at the eaves between all roof trusses of my 3 in 1 slope roof. So I challenge anyone to suggest that my premature shingle failure is indirectly due to any inadequacy in the roof/attic construction. What bothers me most is seeing how many granules have detached at some shingle corners and in 10 foot long horizontal rows. Yet in other zones on the roof, the shingles are holding up rather well. Go figure.


Date created: 2012-06-15 Name: K. Brzezinski
Location: Southwick mass

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"What is happening to the roof?"
After 8 years the shingles are failing curling breaking, and disintegrating before our eyes. Just starting to investigate . Would be interested if there is a class action.


Date created: 2012-06-07 Name: Kevin Arseneau
Location: Moncton, N.B.

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Great warranty service"
Had my shingle put on just under 5 years ago. They seem to have been curling up on the ends. Had a guy come look at my place and ventilation was fine. They covered labor and shingles. I now have a very nice Mystique roof that looks even better than before and only had to pay the difference to upgrade to the next level of products. Great warranty service. Very pleased with how everything turned out. Highly recommend!!!! Aaa+


Date created: 2012-06-05 Name: P. L.
Location: MONTREAL CANADA
Model: ALL FIBERGLASS MODELS

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"GOOD PRODUCT"
While perusing this site I could not help but notice that people who are happy with their product typically do not seek a venue (I.E. the internet) to express their pleasure while those that are unhappy can not wait to tell everyone. THAT BEING SAID - WE AS CONTRACTORS HAVE A CHOICE TO RECOMMEND WHAT WE FEEL IS THE BEST PRODUCT. WE DECIDED MANY YEARS AGO TO RECOMMEND BP SHINGLE OVER OTHER SHINGLE MANUFACTURES BECAUSE BP BACKED UP THEIR PRODUCT WHEN PROBLEMS OCCURRED. ALL MANUFACTURES OCCASIONALLY HAVE ISSUES - OUR EXPERIENCE IS THAT BP IS ONE OF THE BEST AT TAKING CARE OF THEIR CLIENTS.


Date created: 2012-05-16 Name: Keno
Location: Salem Ny
Model: Eclispe

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"BP Eclispe lifetime shingle"
A contractor and myself did my entire room (two sides north/south) in spring of 04. The north side still looks pretty good however the south side has deteriorated very badly as well as curling badly. You have to do your homework and go to the bp website to file your claim under warranties. They will reply with a number of forms that you need to complete as well as sending pictures of your roof. You will also need a copy of your original invoice for the shingles as well as a copy of your contractors invoice. My personal experience at this time is that they have agreed to replace the south side at 100% of the cost. They said they will continue to warranty the north side but that after 10 years it begins to become pro-rated dropping 10 % every year. The one catch is that you need to use bp shingle again. Obviously this is so they can recoup some of their losses as you are buying their product again. Good luck to everyone.


Date created: 2012-05-06 Name: J. Foreman
Location: Beaconsfield, Qc.

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"25 year Dakota shingles"
Had the shingles on my roof changed in 2003 and now nine years later it looks as if the roof hasn't been done for 30-40yrs. Why do roofers use such garbage. The roofer took pictures of my roof and sent them to bp but apparently this will be done on a prorated system. I don't understand why I should pay for this inferior product. I plan to contact the Better Business Bureau and small claims court if necessary.

<< Previous1234567891011Next >>