Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

dotted nav bar
dotted nav bar

Consumer Reviews of BP shingles

Popularity:
#12  of 14 brands of shingles

18% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 103 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    18
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    1
  • Neutral
    3
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    80

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about BP shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous1234567891011Next >>

Date created: 2012-06-22 Name: L. Heilig
Location: Kirkland, Quebec

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"If only I had been warned in 1995"
The good: After 17 years, my bp Tradition shingles are not leaking water into the attic. The bad: from year 13 and onward, I have had to spend a few hours annually gluing down about 3 dozen lifting corners (of the original 5500). I have thermal splits in about a dozen rows randomly located on the roof. At least a third of the south side roof above an unheated attached garage has badly disintegrating shingles. Why no water leaks? I installed a rubber membrane at the eaves and used double felt paper everywhere else, so this backup treatment is working well. I have R42 attic insulation and full aluminum soft fit vents around the roof perimeter plus 2 Maximum brand vents above my 1000 sq. ft. size attic. And I even have styrovents at the eaves between all roof trusses of my 3 in 1 slope roof. So I challenge anyone to suggest that my premature shingle failure is indirectly due to any inadequacy in the roof/attic construction. What bothers me most is seeing how many granules have detached at some shingle corners and in 10 foot long horizontal rows. Yet in other zones on the roof, the shingles are holding up rather well. Go figure.


Date created: 2012-06-15 Name: K. Brzezinski
Location: Southwick mass

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"What is happening to the roof?"
After 8 years the shingles are failing curling breaking, and disintegrating before our eyes. Just starting to investigate . Would be interested if there is a class action.


Date created: 2012-06-07 Name: Kevin Arseneau
Location: Moncton, N.B.

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Great warranty service"
Had my shingle put on just under 5 years ago. They seem to have been curling up on the ends. Had a guy come look at my place and ventilation was fine. They covered labor and shingles. I now have a very nice Mystique roof that looks even better than before and only had to pay the difference to upgrade to the next level of products. Great warranty service. Very pleased with how everything turned out. Highly recommend!!!! Aaa+



Date created: 2012-06-05 Name: P. L.
Location: MONTREAL CANADA
Model: ALL FIBERGLASS MODELS

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"GOOD PRODUCT"
While perusing this site I could not help but notice that people who are happy with their product typically do not seek a venue (I.E. the internet) to express their pleasure while those that are unhappy can not wait to tell everyone. THAT BEING SAID - WE AS CONTRACTORS HAVE A CHOICE TO RECOMMEND WHAT WE FEEL IS THE BEST PRODUCT. WE DECIDED MANY YEARS AGO TO RECOMMEND BP SHINGLE OVER OTHER SHINGLE MANUFACTURES BECAUSE BP BACKED UP THEIR PRODUCT WHEN PROBLEMS OCCURRED. ALL MANUFACTURES OCCASIONALLY HAVE ISSUES - OUR EXPERIENCE IS THAT BP IS ONE OF THE BEST AT TAKING CARE OF THEIR CLIENTS.


Date created: 2012-05-16 Name: Keno
Location: Salem Ny
Model: Eclispe

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"BP Eclispe lifetime shingle"
A contractor and myself did my entire room (two sides north/south) in spring of 04. The north side still looks pretty good however the south side has deteriorated very badly as well as curling badly. You have to do your homework and go to the bp website to file your claim under warranties. They will reply with a number of forms that you need to complete as well as sending pictures of your roof. You will also need a copy of your original invoice for the shingles as well as a copy of your contractors invoice. My personal experience at this time is that they have agreed to replace the south side at 100% of the cost. They said they will continue to warranty the north side but that after 10 years it begins to become pro-rated dropping 10 % every year. The one catch is that you need to use bp shingle again. Obviously this is so they can recoup some of their losses as you are buying their product again. Good luck to everyone.


Date created: 2012-05-06 Name: J. Foreman
Location: Beaconsfield, Qc.

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"25 year Dakota shingles"
Had the shingles on my roof changed in 2003 and now nine years later it looks as if the roof hasn't been done for 30-40yrs. Why do roofers use such garbage. The roofer took pictures of my roof and sent them to bp but apparently this will be done on a prorated system. I don't understand why I should pay for this inferior product. I plan to contact the Better Business Bureau and small claims court if necessary.


Date created: 2012-04-29 Name: Stan White
Location: Laval, Qc

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Sub standard product"
Bp Rampart shingles started to disintegrate after only 10 years. They only wanted to replace half of the roof I am now in small claims court to collect my pro-rata share of the warranty plus costs, court fees, duress etc. For your info bp is owned by Blackfriars Corp. of Chicago and Ontario Inc. Don't give up. Go to small claims court.


Date created: 2012-04-27 Name: B Wigington
Location: Picton, Ont.

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Class Action Against BP Building Products"
This Canadian firm has commenced an action against BP Building Products: Harrison Pensa LLP London, Ontario. tel 519-850-5608 e-mail: tgoodman@harrisonpensa.com I had Home Depot Belleville install Rampart Tiles in 2002. HD has been helpful but now say all responsibility lies with BP. Interesting thing is that Home Depot, who must be well aware of the problems associated with a number of different BP shingles, has continued to use them as a supplier until this year, and only changing because the US stores have changed.


Date created: 2012-04-04 Name: Stephen Seglem
Location: MN
Model: Mirage

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Terrible shingles"
Anybody that knows of any lawsuits or any ideas on how we can join together to make bp live up to their responsibilities under their shingle warrenty or just want to be on a list in case something gets started e-mail me at sseglem@wiktel.com These shingles are terrible.


Date created: 2012-03-29 Name: Jane
Location: Manitoba, Canada

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't waste your money !!!"
This 25 year shingle lasted 12 years. It's curling, leaking and needs replacing already. The company is very hard to deal with and claims that its faulty workmanship, not the shingle. Our roof looks like it hasn't had a new roof in 30 or 35 years!

<< Previous1234567891011Next >>