Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of BP shingles

Popularity:
#13  of 15 brands of shingles

21% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 120 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    25
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    1
  • Neutral
    3
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    90

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about BP shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous123456789101112Next >>

Date created: 2012-06-05 Name: P. L.
Location: MONTREAL CANADA
Model: ALL FIBERGLASS MODELS

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"GOOD PRODUCT"
While perusing this site I could not help but notice that people who are happy with their product typically do not seek a venue (I.E. the internet) to express their pleasure while those that are unhappy can not wait to tell everyone. THAT BEING SAID - WE AS CONTRACTORS HAVE A CHOICE TO RECOMMEND WHAT WE FEEL IS THE BEST PRODUCT. WE DECIDED MANY YEARS AGO TO RECOMMEND BP SHINGLE OVER OTHER SHINGLE MANUFACTURES BECAUSE BP BACKED UP THEIR PRODUCT WHEN PROBLEMS OCCURRED. ALL MANUFACTURES OCCASIONALLY HAVE ISSUES - OUR EXPERIENCE IS THAT BP IS ONE OF THE BEST AT TAKING CARE OF THEIR CLIENTS.


Date created: 2012-05-16 Name: Keno
Location: Salem Ny
Model: Eclispe

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"BP Eclispe lifetime shingle"
A contractor and myself did my entire room (two sides north/south) in spring of 04. The north side still looks pretty good however the south side has deteriorated very badly as well as curling badly. You have to do your homework and go to the bp website to file your claim under warranties. They will reply with a number of forms that you need to complete as well as sending pictures of your roof. You will also need a copy of your original invoice for the shingles as well as a copy of your contractors invoice. My personal experience at this time is that they have agreed to replace the south side at 100% of the cost. They said they will continue to warranty the north side but that after 10 years it begins to become pro-rated dropping 10 % every year. The one catch is that you need to use bp shingle again. Obviously this is so they can recoup some of their losses as you are buying their product again. Good luck to everyone.


Date created: 2012-05-06 Name: J. Foreman
Location: Beaconsfield, Qc.

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"25 year Dakota shingles"
Had the shingles on my roof changed in 2003 and now nine years later it looks as if the roof hasn't been done for 30-40yrs. Why do roofers use such garbage. The roofer took pictures of my roof and sent them to bp but apparently this will be done on a prorated system. I don't understand why I should pay for this inferior product. I plan to contact the Better Business Bureau and small claims court if necessary.



Date created: 2012-04-29 Name: Stan White
Location: Laval, Qc

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Sub standard product"
Bp Rampart shingles started to disintegrate after only 10 years. They only wanted to replace half of the roof I am now in small claims court to collect my pro-rata share of the warranty plus costs, court fees, duress etc. For your info bp is owned by Blackfriars Corp. of Chicago and Ontario Inc. Don't give up. Go to small claims court.


Date created: 2012-04-27 Name: B Wigington
Location: Picton, Ont.

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Class Action Against BP Building Products"
This Canadian firm has commenced an action against BP Building Products: Harrison Pensa LLP London, Ontario. tel 519-850-5608 e-mail: tgoodman@harrisonpensa.com I had Home Depot Belleville install Rampart Tiles in 2002. HD has been helpful but now say all responsibility lies with BP. Interesting thing is that Home Depot, who must be well aware of the problems associated with a number of different BP shingles, has continued to use them as a supplier until this year, and only changing because the US stores have changed.


Date created: 2012-04-04 Name: Stephen Seglem
Location: MN
Model: Mirage

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Terrible shingles"
Anybody that knows of any lawsuits or any ideas on how we can join together to make bp live up to their responsibilities under their shingle warrenty or just want to be on a list in case something gets started e-mail me at sseglem@wiktel.com These shingles are terrible.


Date created: 2012-03-29 Name: Jane
Location: Manitoba, Canada

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't waste your money !!!"
This 25 year shingle lasted 12 years. It's curling, leaking and needs replacing already. The company is very hard to deal with and claims that its faulty workmanship, not the shingle. Our roof looks like it hasn't had a new roof in 30 or 35 years!


Date created: 2012-03-13 Name: Cosmo
Location: Peterborough ON

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Another sad story about BP shingles"
My bp shingles failed in 2011, ten years into the 25-year warranty. I filed a warranty claim and heard nothing from them for 6 months. When I followed up, they emailed a pdf of a letter purportedly sent two weeks after my claim. (Sure!) They accepted the claim and were prepared to pro- rate replacement of shingles only (no labor) on half the roof (the really bad shingles were on the west face of the roof and the south face of the shed). Oh, and replacement shingles had to be bp product. The offer would be good for 12 months from date of letter. (So because the letter was "missing" for 6 months, I was left with only a 6 month window). Needless to say, I didn't accept their settlement. BP's products and practices are terrible. Steer clear of them!!!!!! Law firm Harrison Pensa (London on) is mounting a class action suit.


Date created: 2012-03-05 Name: A Nav
Location: Niagara Falls, NY

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Horrific Product"
My roof was replaced with an entire tear down, new plywood and unfortunately bp shingles. From day one any puff of wind over ten miles per hour has resulted in lost shingles. It has been repaired approximently thirty times on my roofer's dime and after getting bp involved I have heard everything under the sun, except they have a defective product. First they told me there was no problem with their product, then months later admitted there was a problem with the adhesive but that was not their responsibity. After a wind storm in which the flying shingles did over $1500 damage to my truck they agreed to fix the damage. They then agreed to only fix the damaged shingles which were allegedly hot tarred into place. This was over two years after I contacted them. We had a storm with gusts in the 40 mile per hour range and I lost several square again. When the wind was blowing I could see large sections lifting in the wind. It is only a matter of time before more are lost. Horrible product, horrible customer service and horrible arogance. I CANNOT think of a company with more bad karma. I hope to join a class action suit as well. Please contact me at caraodery@verizon.net I hope to get their product banned from the USA in addition to getting them to honor their warranty.


Date created: 2012-02-29 Name: B
Location: Nova Scotia

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"BAD BP Shingles"
Installed Dakota 25 years bp shingles in 1999 and today, 29 February 12, they are discoloured and breaking down. Just filed a warranty claim, reading lots of reviews and not looking good. Would be interested in joining class action law suite.

<< Previous123456789101112Next >>