Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

dotted nav bar
dotted nav bar

Consumer Reviews of Certainteed shingles

Popularity:
#23  of 34 brands of shingles

46% of customers recommend
3 of 5 stars 43 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    15
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    5
  • Neutral
    2
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    20

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Certainteed shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brandsWrite a review

12345Next >>

Date created: 2014-02-21 Name: rodric
Location: Marion,KS

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worst shingle ever"
We applied 112 sq to a new structure in March of 2012. Since then we have replaced 10+ square and need to replace approximately 4 more at this time. Both our contractors and the insurance adjuster have found that the lamination adhesive is minimal and non-existing on some product. We filed a claim and received their response today. They claim that the adhesive is within their specifications. This product is advertised as a 110 mph shingle, ours have only seen 60 at this point. The manufacturer is offering less than 10% of the original cost to replace only the current missing shingles and checkout each shingle tab, hand seal any loose or not sealed. They have not offered to reimburse expenses for the 10+ sq we have replaced at our own expense or the shingles that have been damaged by the others that blew off. The Landmark IR looks great when lying flat on the roof, not so good on the ground. We dislike the fact that the manufacture has not offered to send a representative to the site of this issue. We would not recommend this product or manufacture to anyone based on our experience to date.


Date created: 2013-11-09 Name: B Hughes
Location: Wisonsin

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Do not buy CertainTeed"
I would not recommend any CertainTeed roofing or siding products due to their premature failings. Although they warranty these products, the amount of money for recovery due to claims is very minimal. CertainTeed continues to produce inferior products knowing that the amount they pay out from claims is still substantially less than the profits they make from these substandard products. You can buy better products from other manufacturers - Avoid CertainTeed


Date created: 2012-10-05 Name: S. Jayne
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"I Guess It Could Be Worse; Old House Horror"
Hallmark Certainteed shingles were professionally installed in July of 2002 on a 1907 bungalow. We bought the home shortly after and did not expect to replace the shingles for 20 years. I noticed lots of grit on my porches and a leak developed by the back door. Called in the original installer and he was appalled to see the horrible condition of the roof and recommended immediate replacement. Of course, we got more than one opinion and all agreed; replace now. Actually, it didn't take a professional to see the curls, cracks, debris, etc. from this organic roof. Although we will file a claim, it will not come close to covering the cost of 90+ squares and labor. There go other hoped for renovations.........


Date created: 2012-09-08 Name: Minnesota
Location: Jordan,MN

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Certainteed shingles"
We built our house in 2002 installed Certainteed shingles but after 9 1/2 years had to replace the hold roof (shingles) did get $2,300 from warranty but the new roof was $10,000 my builder at the time said they were good shingles everyone is using them I should get 25 years out of them. Right!


Date created: 2012-08-24 Name: Nick Zimmerman
Location: Eau Claire WI

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"They don't stand behind their product"
Awful company. Talk about not standing behind your product. I have 25 year shingles that looked terrible in year 5. I could barely keep them together to send them in for the warranty. But just like many people I've talked to they won't stand behind their product. I am sure others love their CertainTeed shingles and have no problems. Just know that if anything goes wrong the warranty is worthless and your S.O.L.


Date created: 2012-07-30 Name: Randy
Location: Alexandria MN

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Home owner"
Bought these Hearthstead by Certainteed in "2000" There is nothing left of them all the mineral or grit is in the gutter. Warranty forget it unless you have a great lawyer and lots of money. There was a class action suit against certainteed which took a team of lawyers two years to get money out of them and the amount of money we got was peanuts. The lawyers got all the money. And get this, Certainteed still say's there was nothing wrong with the shingles. The grit was 50% gone in 5 years. Shingles cureled up and are extremely brittle. Couldn't hardly get two shingle off in one piece to send in for warranty. Had to remove several shingles to get two that would even hold together. Warranty is worthless. Going with differant brand.


Date created: 2012-06-29 Location: Pembroke pines, fl

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"Sustainable roofing shingles"
I've owned these new shingles for about 2yrs now. The color grey we chose went great with our current house color. We also liked the randomly placed tabs that have shadow lines that provide the amazing depth and dimension of a natural slate roof. The thing I disliked the most was the price including the warranty. I was hoping to have money left over for extra shutters. Yes I would buy these shingles again since we have a great warranty and haven't expeienced a problem yet.


Date created: 2012-05-17 Location: Belton, TX

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Very Satisfied With Roofing Shingles That Were Put On My House Last Winter- No Problems"
My wife and I live in Texas and we needed to reshingle our roof because of the severe weather that swept through. We have had these shingles since last winter. There was some hail damage and large pieces missing so we decided to shop around and found these shingles at LOWES. I was happy with the quality for the price (about 50 bucks per bundle) and the fresh look it gave the house was awesome. We went with the dark grey color, but they had a bunch to pick from. We have had no problems and have not needed to repair it yet, but as I said, we live in Texas so we will probably need to at some point in the future.


Date created: 2012-04-10 Location: Hope Mills, NC

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"CertainTeed from Lowe's 3 Tab"
These shingles represent a fine value, especially when you get them at discount. Yes they dont look as nice as the laminated shingles, but for a solid basic roof they do fine. Out of about 24 squares of shingles, I found a bundle and a half with defects(folded under corners, or damaged spots) and the local Lowe's had no issue with replacing them. The manufacturer not only has easy to comprehend instructions on the back of the package, but several Youtube videos posted that show not only how to install the shingles, but tips for installing additional underlayment products that extend the life of your new roof. I would not hesitate to install these shingles again in the future.


Date created: 2012-02-20 Location: Lansing, MI

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Money well spent"
I have owned Certainteed Landmark 25 shingles for over ten years. The cedar shake design of the dimensional shingle looks great on my house and garage. I was disappointed to learn that shortly after I purchased my roof, the same brand introduced a shingle with a longer manufacturer warranty. I had my shingles applied by a qualified builder, with the only repair work done covered by the builder's warranty after heavy winds. A few rows of shingles had been bent up and back by the wind, leaving some creases and slight tears. This was done shortly after completion of the job. I am not positive but I believe it takes a short time for the roof to seal, and this may have led to the repair being made. I have yet to even have to test the manufacturer warranty, but it would be fine with me if I never had to. I would buy this product again and would recommend it to my family and friend

12345Next >>
Find Local Roofers

My zip code is: