Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Certainteed shingles

Certainteed Logo
Popularity:
#10  of 14 brands of shingles

31% of customers recommend
2.5 of 5 stars 69 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    17
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    5
  • Neutral
    3
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    43

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Certainteed shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

1234567Next >>

Date created: 2016-08-26 Name: Pat Faulkner
Location: Bernhards Bay, ny
Model: Landmark

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Granulars coming off"
We put on new roof in 2005 - and all of the granulars are coming off shingles. Our roofer said they were CertainTeed Landmark. My problem is after submitting claim with 2 Shingles they called and said they are not CertainTeed because there is no strip on back of shingle identifying them as CertainTeed. After extensive research on identifying shingles I can find nothing about strip on back. Does anyone out there have any shingles that were put on around 2005 and see if there is an identifying marker behind the shingles - just want to make sure they are not trying to get out of their warranty- thank you


Date created: 2016-08-24 Name: Spencer Rafferty
Location: Liverpool NY
Model: Landmark *30 M Colonial Slate AV

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Garbage, and ridiculous amount they offered to settle"
We had our roof put on in 2004 with a 25 yr warranty and just noticed the granules had fallen off 90% of the shingles, right down to the fiberglass matting after just 12 years. I filed a claim, only to slapped in the face with an offer of 384.00. What a joke! I will be consulting a lawyer to read through the warranty to seek other recourse of action. This is utter bs and I will be vigilant in pursuing further action.


Date created: 2016-06-22 Name: Cil king
Location: West Mifflin Pa

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Disappointment"
Spent thousands of dollars and many hours deciding on the perfect shingle for our home. 45 year warranty. After 15 years it is crumbling and falling off the house in layers. Contacted Certainteed to find out that the shingles are discontinued and a class action suit was filed. After making us jump through hoops (pictures, samples sent, proof of ownership title transfer from 1984). we received a check in the amount of $854.00. That won't even replace the front porch roof. This is so unfair. We bought these shingles thinking this would be the last time we had to replace our roof. This surely turned out not to be the case. Back to square one. Will never recommend their shingle to anyone.



Date created: 2016-05-09 Name: Paolo Galloro
Location: Toronto, ON
Model: Landmark

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Great Product"
Between myself and my employees we have installed thousands of jobs and have seen roofs from CertainTeed installed in the Late 70s. As a Roofer all these complains sound like these customers hired bad roofers. I Put the Landmark shingle on my Mothers and Brothers home. And the Independence on the cottage. There is going to be issues with any product but I am still to see one personally with the current CertainTeed line. Paolo Galloro green leaf roofing


Date created: 2016-05-03 Name: Tiffany Nelson
Location: Wyoming

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Terrible products, worse customer service"
We have had these shingles on for 3 years. We have had to have them patched 2 times previously. On the third time we lost over half of our roof, they are not willing to stand behind the warranty they claimed was so great. We followed all requests, they claim it's not on them. They aren't accepting the required 3 bids, even though they do not have any estimators in our area. Do not use these products, they will not stand behind the products.


Date created: 2016-04-02 Name: Nathan Horchem
Location: Watseka, IL
Model: Landmark 30 Weathered Wood

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Shingles blew off"
Built our house in 2006. We have had nothing but problems. 20-30Mph gust winds and we have shingles blowing off. Sent a sample of the torn off shingles and their tests came back that they were no problems. So why then would my shingles that are rated for up to 70mph be blowing off at 30? Twelve times over the past 10 years we've had shingles come off. There's something Wrong! I would not recommend buying Certainteed shingles!


Date created: 2016-01-12 Name: curtis
Location: Cupertino, CA
Model: Presidential

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Lost bitumen granules, cracking, and splitting."
My roof is now 9 years old ago installed with 30 year warranty "Presidential" Composite Shingles. The shingles has lost much of their bitumen granules and in a number of spots, the fiberglass is now showing. Without the granule protection, the composite will dry and become brittle and crack under the sun. There are now 2 cracks or areas where the composite is splitting and many other spots where fiberglass is showing. I've just read the reviews on how to submit to Certainteed for warranty and I'm not going to increase my chances of leaks by taking the shingles off for a sample to send. My estimate is that this roof will last another 7-10 years before risk of water penetration if I don't do anything. I will be doing spot repair and maintenance by gluing down more granules to make the roof last longer. In short, this is crap product and I will not buy shingles from Certainteed again! (And check product reviews before agreeing to the product... Don't let the words Presidential and Warranty fool you).


Date created: 2015-11-17 Name: Dave Jaenicke
Location: Yelm,Wa
Model: Landmark

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Warning! Defective product warning. Class action!"
Certainteed defective fiberglass shingles failed after 5 years. Excessive granular loss and white fiberglass patches where the basecoat of the shingle is showing. Have to re-roof after we trusted CertainTeed. Contact me for class action investigation. Write brief description of failure and type of CertainTeed shingle to: Jaenicke Plaintiff- P.O. box 924 - yelm,wa 98597


Date created: 2015-11-16 Name: Dave Jaenicke
Location: YELM,WA
Model: Fiberglass shingle

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Certainteed Class Action"
Customers of "any" CertainTeed fiberglass shingles. My wife and I are documenting a data base of CertainTeed customers who have been wronged and betrayed by this company. Those customers who would be willing to participate in a class action. Specifically if you have any 30 year shingle that has to be replaced due to defective product manufacturing. I have a roof with Certainteed Landmark fiberglass shingles. My roof went defective at the 5 year mark. Excessive granular loss and patches of white fiberglass base showing throughout the entire roof area. Please provide your e-mail or mail a brief description of your loss. I represent no affiliation with CertainTeed just mis-treated consumers. Thank you! Davejaenicke@Q.com or Dave Jaenicke - P.O. box 924 - yelm, wa 98597


Date created: 2015-11-11 Name: Debbie rollett
Location: St Joseph mo

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Bad shingles"
We had Certainteed shingles put on our house 9 years ago. We started losing pieces of the shingles and they were flapping on the roof because they never sealed down. We went through the whole process of pictures, sending shingles to them, getting a quote. They tell us the shingles were tested in their lab and they did seal down and that they wouldn't be allowing any monies to us.. I have had 3 roofers look at it and they all say the shingles are cracking and curling. Today we had high winds and they are flapping so badly it sounds like people walking on the roof.. There are whole shingles and pieces lying all around on the ground. The whole shingles have cracks all over them. This is ridiculous for a company not to stand behind their products. These are suppose to b 30 year shingles,now we have to pay for a whole new roof of close to 15,000.00. I wouldn't recommend them at all.

1234567Next >>