Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Certainteed shingles

Certainteed Logo

Read 88 Certainteed Shingle reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#11   of 15 brands of shingles

26% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 88 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    17
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    6
  • Neutral
    3
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    61

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Certainteed shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

123456789Next >>

Date created: 2017-11-19 Name: T. CALVI
Location: Linwood, NJ
Model: Hatteras

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Non existent customer service/bad product"
Within a few years of the new roof installed shingles blew off whenever we experienced a strong wind. The first 2 times we blamed it on a fluke. The roof is guaranteed for 110mph wind, which we have never experienced, yet shingles continue to come off. The roof was installed during new construction by a reputable contractor who had been in business 50+ years. The only thing certain about Certainteed is poor customer service, they do not stand behind products, and complete run arounds. Maybe my husband has been to much of a gentleman when dealing with various reps and the presidentís secretary because no one has been responsive. Unless you want grief, my recommendation is to use a different manufacturer.


Date created: 2017-11-15 Name: John Burnett
Location: Owasso, Ok
Model: Landmark 30 year

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worthless fiberglass shingles"
New house 2005. Builder used CertainTeed landmark 30 year fiberglass shingles. 12 years later we have experienced advanced granular loss. CertainTeed only offered $923 on our warranty claim. Their shingles and warranty is a piece of crap. It is a shame that they are allowed to do this to people. Buy CertainTeed at you own risk. They do not stand by their product. I now understand why. Now I have to pay lots of $$$$ to replace our roof in not even 1/2 the life of the shingle.


Date created: 2017-11-13 Name: Chris Christensen
Location: Suffolk, VA
Model: Landmark AR (algea resistent)

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Not truly algae resistent - Waste of money"
Had 50 squares (5000 sq ft of shingles installed) after removing cheap algae stained 20 year shingles. Purchased Landmark AR (30 yr architectural designed shingles), Atlantic Blue (94711). After 9 years they look like cheap 20 year algae stained shingles. Total rip off. If you pay to have someone remove a stained entire shingle (difficult to do) and then follow all of the ridiculous instructions of making a large box to ship it in with a series of pictures and original invoices, you may get a check for a 100 or 200 dollars. Truly pathetic - I will pay some guy to clean the shingles, probably using a copper sulfate formula that will kill algae, and warn others about Certain Teed's inferior shingles. Didn't do previous research first, but trusted a roofing contractor to pick the best - Now That was a BIG mistake.



Date created: 2017-09-29 Name: Ing A
Location: Slingerlands, NY
Model: Landmark

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"CertainTeed Does Not Care"
A certified CertainTeed installer put a new roof on our home. Immediately, the shingles blew in the wind and came off. The installer, Giles Construction LLC near Albany, NY "repaired" thiis all winter and spring. In late spring, we had a leak. CertainTeed sent a rep out to take shingles off the roof and test. The rep, Steven Hern, walked the roof and saw the atrocious installation - with visible nails everywhere, bulging shingles due to nails below not driven in completely, too short 1 inch drip edge installed whereas the original was 2 inches and CertainTeed specifies a mimimum of 2 inch drip edge. Despite all this, CertainTeed would not replace the shingles and CertainTeed continues to list this incompetent roofer on their website!


Date created: 2017-09-26 Name: Chris Kaye
Location: Sorrento, Fl

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Loose shingles and questionable install"
I bought my new MI Home in Sorrento Florida in December of 2016. My gutters have collected pounds of grit from the shingles in that time period. With the recent storm that came through our area with wind up to 70 mph, I had several (20) shingles blow off the roof. I had a GC/Roofer, come by to look at the damage. He was willing to fix the roof for $700.00. After we spoke about the repair, he advised that (80)% of the remaining shingles are loose and the amount of adhesive was almost non-existent. He said that it would be foolish to pay him and the rest of the roof either needs more adhesive or CertainTeed and the Alverez Roofing company based in Thonotassa Fl., need to fix or replace it. The Roofers just came to my house and after looking at roof, advised me to go the same route a lot you did by calling the warranty division and start a claim. It would be nice to actually have the Orlando or Tampa representative come to my home. A Lake Co. Fla., inspector came out and after looking at it said that there was not enough adhesive on the roof for it to bond correctly. After talking with (2) other neighbors that had the same issue, we realized that our three homes all closed at the same time and the batch we got had to be inferior, because the other (70) homes are fine. Hopefully I can change my rating and give both companies a Very Satisfied rating when this roof is fixed.


Date created: 2017-09-25 Name: S Harris
Location: Houston, TX

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Beware and Run"
After the hail storm in Houston we had our roof replaced by a company that used Certainteed shingles. The Hurricane revealed the poor quality of the material, it also revealed that the warranty is not worth the paper it is written on. This is a prime example of expensive is not always better. Run for your life!


Date created: 2017-09-14 Name: James Hamm
Location: League City TX

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Junk"
Most worthless shingles ever made. Would not put on a dog house. After 7 years the grit started coming off. A sample was taken by Certain Tweed and said it was a defect. I complained to the BBB and with the help of PV roofing and Chessmar Homes I got a new roof with a different make of shingles.


Date created: 2017-09-01 Name: Linda Norce
Location: Carmichael

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Coo Roof"
Im very dissatisfied with CertainTeed roofing product and customer service. I received notification today CertainTeed made an error on reviewing the shingles I sent to company. NowCertainteed stated the original decision to replace the shingles was based on someone else's shingle. The lab made a mistake. Really! First I was sent an agreement to sign for replacing the roof, and today CertainTeed withdrew their offer. How can they do that? I did what I was suppose to do; CertainTeed agreed to replace the roof, and now CertainTeed is withdrawing their offer! What a company! Very poor customer service. Any suggestion on solving the situation is greatly appreciated, Buyer Beware. Please let me know if any of you have had similiar Situation. And any ideas to deal with CertainTeed. Thank You, Linda Norce


Date created: 2017-08-22 Name: Linda N
Location: Carmichael, CA
Model: Landmark Cool roof

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"Unhappy with Certainteed"
Put a CertainTeed Landmark Cool Roof with 30 year warranty on in 2010. The first year, the granules came off. CertainTeed said the product was defective and replaced the roof at their expense. In 2013, the roof started losing its granules again. Sent in sample shingles 2 times, again CertainTeed agreed to replace the shingles. The offer was made with a 5 year depreciation. Now, CertainTeed is giving me the run around. I have documents stating the product was defective. I called CertainTeed today, 8.22.2017. They now have to research my claim. Really! Terrible customer service. If any one is starting a class action suit against the company, I would like to be part of it. I have all the documents showing they will replace the shingles and send x amount to cover some of the cost. Now they cant find the info Frustrated


Date created: 2017-07-16 Name: Steve K
Location: Baldwin, KS

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Landmark Special IR Adhesive Failure"
Built our new home in 2009. Shingles were properly installed and looked good. Unfortunately, we have experienced rain and wind storms in these last few years that have pealed off small to large areas of shingles. We've had fourteen instances so far of adhesion failure starting along the butt end of the shingle and eventually advancing along the full front allowing the wind to lift the shingles and tear them off the roof during the storm. Typically, the damaged areas are as few as 2-3 shingles up to larger areas of 30 plus. If anyone knows of a lawsuit against Certainteed regarding this issue, please let me know, it is apparent through this forum that their company and representatives will not stand behind this product.

123456789Next >>