Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

dotted nav bar
dotted nav bar

Consumer Reviews of Certainteed shingles

Popularity:
#23  of 34 brands of shingles

43% of customers recommend
2.5 of 5 stars 46 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    15
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    5
  • Neutral
    2
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    23

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Certainteed shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

12345Next >>

Date created: 2014-07-21 Name: Justin
Location: Kalamazoo, MI

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Terrible"
Had a landmark shingle installed just over 5 years ago, and at that time, they had a 30 year warranty. I've had shingles fall off the roof, the pieces fall out, and have had several roofers out to see if my roofer messed up the job and they say "nails are in the right place, not sure what's going on." Had a Certainteed guy come out and he says its fine. Its not fine, mister. I've had a heck of a time getting anyone from this company to help me. Wouldn't recommend.


Date created: 2014-07-09 Name: B Dahl
Location: Jesup, IA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Financially behind"
Watching the roof quickly curl in ten years. Thought we were good for thirty years. Getting behind on expenses. Figure a roof in the budget twice as often as you might think. We may skate by with a very ugly roof for five years after they begin to look so awful.


Date created: 2014-02-21 Name: rodric
Location: Marion,KS

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worst shingle ever"
We applied 112 sq to a new structure in March of 2012. Since then we have replaced 10+ square and need to replace approximately 4 more at this time. Both our contractors and the insurance adjuster have found that the lamination adhesive is minimal and non-existing on some product. We filed a claim and received their response today. They claim that the adhesive is within their specifications. This product is advertised as a 110 mph shingle, ours have only seen 60 at this point. The manufacturer is offering less than 10% of the original cost to replace only the current missing shingles and checkout each shingle tab, hand seal any loose or not sealed. They have not offered to reimburse expenses for the 10+ sq we have replaced at our own expense or the shingles that have been damaged by the others that blew off. The Landmark IR looks great when lying flat on the roof, not so good on the ground. We dislike the fact that the manufacture has not offered to send a representative to the site of this issue. We would not recommend this product or manufacture to anyone based on our experience to date.


Date created: 2013-11-09 Name: B Hughes
Location: Wisonsin

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Do not buy CertainTeed"
I would not recommend any CertainTeed roofing or siding products due to their premature failings. Although they warranty these products, the amount of money for recovery due to claims is very minimal. CertainTeed continues to produce inferior products knowing that the amount they pay out from claims is still substantially less than the profits they make from these substandard products. You can buy better products from other manufacturers - Avoid CertainTeed


Date created: 2013-08-18 Name: M.S

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Very bad products and company"
I put my house on the market and I thought the roof was a strong point. The inspector found one quarter of the roof the shingles were bad and they had to be replaced. The roof was done 6 years ago with 40 years warranty. Very difficult to file a claim and I do not believe I will get anything back. I can not believe this company is still in business.


Date created: 2012-10-05 Name: S. Jayne
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"I Guess It Could Be Worse; Old House Horror"
Hallmark Certainteed shingles were professionally installed in July of 2002 on a 1907 bungalow. We bought the home shortly after and did not expect to replace the shingles for 20 years. I noticed lots of grit on my porches and a leak developed by the back door. Called in the original installer and he was appalled to see the horrible condition of the roof and recommended immediate replacement. Of course, we got more than one opinion and all agreed; replace now. Actually, it didn't take a professional to see the curls, cracks, debris, etc. from this organic roof. Although we will file a claim, it will not come close to covering the cost of 90+ squares and labor. There go other hoped for renovations.........


Date created: 2012-09-08 Name: Minnesota
Location: Jordan,MN

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Certainteed shingles"
We built our house in 2002 installed Certainteed shingles but after 9 1/2 years had to replace the hold roof (shingles) did get $2,300 from warranty but the new roof was $10,000 my builder at the time said they were good shingles everyone is using them I should get 25 years out of them. Right!


Date created: 2012-08-24 Name: Nick Zimmerman
Location: Eau Claire WI

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"They don't stand behind their product"
Awful company. Talk about not standing behind your product. I have 25 year shingles that looked terrible in year 5. I could barely keep them together to send them in for the warranty. But just like many people I've talked to they won't stand behind their product. I am sure others love their CertainTeed shingles and have no problems. Just know that if anything goes wrong the warranty is worthless and your S.O.L.


Date created: 2012-07-30 Name: Randy
Location: Alexandria MN

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Home owner"
Bought these Hearthstead by Certainteed in "2000" There is nothing left of them all the mineral or grit is in the gutter. Warranty forget it unless you have a great lawyer and lots of money. There was a class action suit against certainteed which took a team of lawyers two years to get money out of them and the amount of money we got was peanuts. The lawyers got all the money. And get this, Certainteed still say's there was nothing wrong with the shingles. The grit was 50% gone in 5 years. Shingles cureled up and are extremely brittle. Couldn't hardly get two shingle off in one piece to send in for warranty. Had to remove several shingles to get two that would even hold together. Warranty is worthless. Going with differant brand.


Date created: 2012-06-29 Location: Pembroke pines, fl

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"Sustainable roofing shingles"
I've owned these new shingles for about 2yrs now. The color grey we chose went great with our current house color. We also liked the randomly placed tabs that have shadow lines that provide the amazing depth and dimension of a natural slate roof. The thing I disliked the most was the price including the warranty. I was hoping to have money left over for extra shutters. Yes I would buy these shingles again since we have a great warranty and haven't expeienced a problem yet.

12345Next >>
Find Local Roofers

My zip code is: