Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Certainteed shingles

Certainteed Logo
Popularity:
#11  of 15 brands of shingles

29% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 75 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    17
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    5
  • Neutral
    3
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    49

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Certainteed shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

12345678Next >>

Date created: 2017-05-10 Name: Tony H.
Location: Florida
Model: Landmark

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worst customer service and product ever"
I purchased the "higher end" CertainTeed Landmark shingles on my million dollar home after they were recommended by my GC when we built the house in 2014. October of 2016 we have a hurricane come through in FL and I had a lot of shingle damage. The damage was on three sides of my house and none of the houses around me had damage (more than a shingle or two). Had the company rep out to my house with my GC and he said that the wind loads were well within limits and based on that, the fact that no other roofs had damage and that there was damage on multipule sides of my roof, I should send him an estimate to replace the roof. Since time, it's been nothing but a nightmare dealing with these people. After three months of "reviewing" my shingles they offered me 1850.00 to repair my roof and have somebody lift the other shingles and re-glue the ones that needed it. I got two estimates to have that done and it was 9k. The CertainTeed office rep told me that was outrageous and it should not cost that much. Now we are six months after the fact and they finally sent a roofer of their choosing out to my house. I have asked them for his assessment and estimate and they will not provide it to me. I have been battling them for seven months to date with no resolution and no repairs to my roof. Two roofers said they would ask for a new roof if it was their customer. They have not returned calls or flat out lied to me and not gotten back to me many, many times. I have over 25 contacts with them that were initiated by me and still no response. I am contacting all of the news channels that I can and starting litigation at this point. Do not purchase these shingles.


Date created: 2017-04-21 Name: Andrew Craner
Location: UTAH
Model: Landmark

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Blow off every year"
After seven years of patching the roof on a brand new house, I'm stripping down to the osb, and starting from scratch, I'm tried of leaks in my house when these shingles blow off year after year. The shingle actually separates from the tar they put on at the factory. Will never buy again, and I'm here to get the word out.


Date created: 2017-04-09 Name: John duty
Location: Eastern Maryland
Model: Blue horizon

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"I have 7 building with your crappy product"
I have 7 properties with the same roof material from certainteed. 2004 ish they where installed by 3 different roofing companies and I am sure they all didn't install them wrong. I am tired of repair them every year. I ran out of all my extras and can no longer buy new. I try to get some help and just got the run around. I will Put on 6 new roofs this week and will be using another product. Hope they go the hell out of business



Date created: 2016-11-25 Name: robert ransom
Location: williamsport indiana 47993

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Granular loss and cracking"
I purchased a new American home in 2001, this year started losing shingles, during the inspection 90 percent of my granulars are missing, contacted 2 roofer companies to tell me what to do, both said roof is gone. These are Certainteed shingles what should I do. Need advice. Please help


Date created: 2016-08-26 Name: Pat Faulkner
Location: Bernhards Bay, ny
Model: Landmark

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Granulars coming off"
We put on new roof in 2005 - and all of the granulars are coming off shingles. Our roofer said they were CertainTeed Landmark. My problem is after submitting claim with 2 Shingles they called and said they are not CertainTeed because there is no strip on back of shingle identifying them as CertainTeed. After extensive research on identifying shingles I can find nothing about strip on back. Does anyone out there have any shingles that were put on around 2005 and see if there is an identifying marker behind the shingles - just want to make sure they are not trying to get out of their warranty- thank you


Date created: 2016-08-24 Name: Spencer Rafferty
Location: Liverpool NY
Model: Landmark *30 M Colonial Slate AV

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Garbage, and ridiculous amount they offered to settle"
We had our roof put on in 2004 with a 25 yr warranty and just noticed the granules had fallen off 90% of the shingles, right down to the fiberglass matting after just 12 years. I filed a claim, only to slapped in the face with an offer of 384.00. What a joke! I will be consulting a lawyer to read through the warranty to seek other recourse of action. This is utter bs and I will be vigilant in pursuing further action.


Date created: 2016-06-22 Name: Cil king
Location: West Mifflin Pa

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Disappointment"
Spent thousands of dollars and many hours deciding on the perfect shingle for our home. 45 year warranty. After 15 years it is crumbling and falling off the house in layers. Contacted Certainteed to find out that the shingles are discontinued and a class action suit was filed. After making us jump through hoops (pictures, samples sent, proof of ownership title transfer from 1984). we received a check in the amount of $854.00. That won't even replace the front porch roof. This is so unfair. We bought these shingles thinking this would be the last time we had to replace our roof. This surely turned out not to be the case. Back to square one. Will never recommend their shingle to anyone.


Date created: 2016-05-09 Name: Paolo Galloro
Location: Toronto, ON
Model: Landmark

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Great Product"
Between myself and my employees we have installed thousands of jobs and have seen roofs from CertainTeed installed in the Late 70s. As a Roofer all these complains sound like these customers hired bad roofers. I Put the Landmark shingle on my Mothers and Brothers home. And the Independence on the cottage. There is going to be issues with any product but I am still to see one personally with the current CertainTeed line. Paolo Galloro green leaf roofing


Date created: 2016-05-03 Name: Tiffany Nelson
Location: Wyoming

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Terrible products, worse customer service"
We have had these shingles on for 3 years. We have had to have them patched 2 times previously. On the third time we lost over half of our roof, they are not willing to stand behind the warranty they claimed was so great. We followed all requests, they claim it's not on them. They aren't accepting the required 3 bids, even though they do not have any estimators in our area. Do not use these products, they will not stand behind the products.


Date created: 2016-04-02 Name: Nathan Horchem
Location: Watseka, IL
Model: Landmark 30 Weathered Wood

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Shingles blew off"
Built our house in 2006. We have had nothing but problems. 20-30Mph gust winds and we have shingles blowing off. Sent a sample of the torn off shingles and their tests came back that they were no problems. So why then would my shingles that are rated for up to 70mph be blowing off at 30? Twelve times over the past 10 years we've had shingles come off. There's something Wrong! I would not recommend buying Certainteed shingles!

12345678Next >>