Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Certainteed shingles

Certainteed Logo
Popularity:
#10  of 14 brands of shingles

32% of customers recommend
2.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    16
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    5
  • Neutral
    3
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    39

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Certainteed shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

1234567Next >>

Date created: 2016-04-02 Name: Nathan Horchem
Location: Watseka, IL
Model: Landmark 30 Weathered Wood

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Shingles blew off"
Built our house in 2006. We have had nothing but problems. 20-30Mph gust winds and we have shingles blowing off. Sent a sample of the torn off shingles and their tests came back that they were no problems. So why then would my shingles that are rated for up to 70mph be blowing off at 30? Twelve times over the past 10 years we've had shingles come off. There's something Wrong! I would not recommend buying Certainteed shingles!


Date created: 2016-01-12 Name: curtis
Location: Cupertino, CA
Model: Presidential

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Lost bitumen granules, cracking, and splitting."
My roof is now 9 years old ago installed with 30 year warranty "Presidential" Composite Shingles. The shingles has lost much of their bitumen granules and in a number of spots, the fiberglass is now showing. Without the granule protection, the composite will dry and become brittle and crack under the sun. There are now 2 cracks or areas where the composite is splitting and many other spots where fiberglass is showing. I've just read the reviews on how to submit to Certainteed for warranty and I'm not going to increase my chances of leaks by taking the shingles off for a sample to send. My estimate is that this roof will last another 7-10 years before risk of water penetration if I don't do anything. I will be doing spot repair and maintenance by gluing down more granules to make the roof last longer. In short, this is crap product and I will not buy shingles from Certainteed again! (And check product reviews before agreeing to the product... Don't let the words Presidential and Warranty fool you).


Date created: 2015-11-17 Name: Dave Jaenicke
Location: Yelm,Wa
Model: Landmark

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Warning! Defective product warning. Class action!"
Certainteed defective fiberglass shingles failed after 5 years. Excessive granular loss and white fiberglass patches where the basecoat of the shingle is showing. Have to re-roof after we trusted CertainTeed. Contact me for class action investigation. Write brief description of failure and type of CertainTeed shingle to: Jaenicke Plaintiff- P.O. box 924 - yelm,wa 98597



Date created: 2015-11-16 Name: Dave Jaenicke
Location: YELM,WA
Model: Fiberglass shingle

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Certainteed Class Action"
Customers of "any" CertainTeed fiberglass shingles. My wife and I are documenting a data base of CertainTeed customers who have been wronged and betrayed by this company. Those customers who would be willing to participate in a class action. Specifically if you have any 30 year shingle that has to be replaced due to defective product manufacturing. I have a roof with Certainteed Landmark fiberglass shingles. My roof went defective at the 5 year mark. Excessive granular loss and patches of white fiberglass base showing throughout the entire roof area. Please provide your e-mail or mail a brief description of your loss. I represent no affiliation with CertainTeed just mis-treated consumers. Thank you! Davejaenicke@Q.com or Dave Jaenicke - P.O. box 924 - yelm, wa 98597


Date created: 2015-11-11 Name: Debbie rollett
Location: St Joseph mo

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Bad shingles"
We had Certainteed shingles put on our house 9 years ago. We started losing pieces of the shingles and they were flapping on the roof because they never sealed down. We went through the whole process of pictures, sending shingles to them, getting a quote. They tell us the shingles were tested in their lab and they did seal down and that they wouldn't be allowing any monies to us.. I have had 3 roofers look at it and they all say the shingles are cracking and curling. Today we had high winds and they are flapping so badly it sounds like people walking on the roof.. There are whole shingles and pieces lying all around on the ground. The whole shingles have cracks all over them. This is ridiculous for a company not to stand behind their products. These are suppose to b 30 year shingles,now we have to pay for a whole new roof of close to 15,000.00. I wouldn't recommend them at all.


Date created: 2015-10-31 Name: K. Roff
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Model: Asphalt

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Very poor quality"
I had two roofers check my roof this summer and both commented about the cracking shingles. They both said they were CertainTeed and were of a poor quality. When I saw upclose pictures of my roof (it's a high roof), I was shocked with how cracked and worn the shingles looked since the house was only 10 years old. I contacted CertainTeed warranty services and of course they say that the shingles are no longer under warranty. Way to not stand by your product! You made a bad product, and now you won't pay to fix it.


Date created: 2015-10-21 Name: Leah
Location: Minneapolis MN
Model: Architectural

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Sounds to me like installation problems, not the shingle"
Certainteed architectural shingles are what we used and we made sure we went with a reputable roofing company with A+ ratings. We couldn't be happier! I have been around construction all of my life and the majority of the low ratings I see on here are clearly from incorrect installation. Products are designed to be installed a certain way and if you go with the guys who claim to know alot about a product but don't know the fundamentals of installation chances are things will go wrong no matter which brand you use. Keep in mind the warranties are only 100% when using a certified and knowledgeable roofer.


Date created: 2015-10-16 Name: N. Racht
Location: Mayfield, PA
Model: Highland Slate

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Color don't match samples or literature."
Selected the Certainteed Highland Slate shingles in Fieldstone for our new home. From the sample board and the brochures in looked like it was a dark gray roof with a little purple or burgundy and some slate gray- green. Went over to see how the job was going and to our horror discovered we had a green roof! Still waiting to hear from the Certainteed rep. I want this replaced with a gray roof like we wanted. CertainTeed's promotional info definitely misrepresented the product in this case. Since the house style is a Gothic Tudor / Storybook style the roof is a predominant feature and this is ruining the look we were going for.


Date created: 2015-09-25 Name: David Crispo
Location: Foxborough, MA
Model: Landmark

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Not getting them now!"
I met with a roofer here in MA. Today. He told me that they used Certainteed shingles and gave me a sample to show my wife. I was a roofer for 22 years. When the roofer left, I looked over the shingle that he left me. It is thin to the touch and easy to break. In my 20 year roofing career I have not ever seen anything like it. The quality seems very poor. I then went online and found all of your reviews. I believe that the 30 "Very Unsatisfied" ratings are real and true and that the 15 "Very Satisfied" ratings are false. I am not going with this roofer. As much as I do not want to, I will hire my own crew and get going. For the gal who said there were not 6 nails per shingle, my guess is the thin shingles simply tore in the wind.


Date created: 2015-05-22 Name: Gabriella Mattucci
Location: Newark, Delaware

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"Most of these issues due to installation errors"
If your shingles are blowing off and/or falling off of your roof chances are it has very little to do with the manufacturing of the shingle itself. It has to do with improper installation techniques (not using the nail line, not using 6 nails per shingle, installing in weather that is too cold for the shingles to seal properly, etc.) You should be contacting the company that installed your roof. Always be sure to get a workmanship/labor warranty from the company that installed the roof. The manufacturer warranty is only good on defects in the product - not how the product was installed!

1234567Next >>