Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

dotted nav bar
dotted nav bar

Consumer Reviews of Certainteed shingles

Popularity:
#9  of 14 brands of shingles

37% of customers recommend
2.5 of 5 stars 54 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    15
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    5
  • Neutral
    3
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    30

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Certainteed shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

123456Next >>

Date created: 2015-05-22 Name: Gabriella Mattucci
Location: Newark, Delaware

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"Most of these issues due to installation errors"
If your shingles are blowing off and/or falling off of your roof chances are it has very little to do with the manufacturing of the shingle itself. It has to do with improper installation techniques (not using the nail line, not using 6 nails per shingle, installing in weather that is too cold for the shingles to seal properly, etc.) You should be contacting the company that installed your roof. Always be sure to get a workmanship/labor warranty from the company that installed the roof. The manufacturer warranty is only good on defects in the product - not how the product was installed!


Date created: 2015-02-19 Name: John Stedman
Location: Tecuimseh, Ontario
Model: Landmark Shingles

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Lost entire side"
Installed this product in June of 2013 and by the winter time we had lost an entire side to a wind storm. Was told they were the best but in the end only got a 10 year upfront warranty. Elite Roofing Construction in Windsor, Ontario sold us a warranty that was worth nothing but the paper it was written on. In their presentation they had said they had researched all products on the market and this is the best and that's why they sell it. They even had a fancy comparison chart showing theirs to be the best. All I can say is watch out for slick talking salesmen offering warranties that appear to be too good to be true. This company should be ashamed of themselves. I paid $1000.00 more than the other quotes and they wont even call me back. Disgruntled and ripped off.


Date created: 2015-01-31 Name: Maureen Amato
Location: Quincy,MASS
Model: 3 Tab Cedar

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't buy Cetainteed - I need a lawyer"
I had shingles put on to replace my roof in 2006. Dec 2012 shingles fell off 1/2 of the whole roof! I'm still paying a loan to my city for this. I contacted the original roofer McKenna Bros. They won't fix this free of charge and CertainTeed won't help me. These are 3 Tab cedar shingles from CertainTeed. I wouldn't recommend them to anybody after my troubles. Now its 2015 and the other 1/2 of my roof is losing shingles twice already. Do not buy. Has anyone got a lawyer for me. I live in Quincy, Massachusetts!


Date created: 2014-09-16 Name: T Richardson
Location: Montrose IA
Model: Landmark

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't Buy CertainTeed"
We built a new home in 2008, and put CertainTeed Landmark 30 year shingles on. After 2 years noticed problems with the granules coming off. We thought we had hail. Finally got a certified CertainTeed roofer out and he told us our shingles were already going bad. CertainTeed just offered us $1,200 towards new shingles, and then only if they were CertainTeed brand. The shingles are terrible, and so is their warranty. Don't buy CertainTeed shingles.


Date created: 2014-09-14 Name: J Garrison
Location: New Richmond WI
Model: Architectural

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"UNcertainteed!"
When we built our house 11 years ago, the contractor put CertainTeed Architectural shingles on our house. Within the first 6 months we turned in numerous complaints about loose shingles (flapping in the wind) and during every normal wi storm we lost shingles, finding them all over our yard. We got very little assistance from the builder and CertainTeed did nothing despite contacting them numerous times over the last several years. We are now in the process of replacing our 11 year old roof and will not purchase anything made by CertainTeed ever again. Their product is junk and they don't/won't stand behind their warranty - they just give excuses. Don't buy CertainTeed garbage.


Need a Roofing Contractor?

Find a Local Roofing Pro with this Free Service

* Replace or Repair Existing Roof
* Roof Maintenance and Pressure Cleaning
* Leak Detection, Waterproofing, and more

Date created: 2014-09-05 Name: Alan Douglas
Location: Northern Ohio
Model: 30 Year Architectural

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Paid extra for a 30 yr. Totally shot after 15"
When it was time to evaluate options 15 years ago opted to pay more for a "better" 30 year architectural shingle. I'm saying 15 years but it started to fail after 12 years. What kind of bull is that. Try to file a warranty claim ha! Stay away!


Date created: 2014-07-21 Name: Justin
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Model: Landmark

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Terrible"
Had a landmark shingle installed just over 5 years ago, and at that time, they had a 30 year warranty. I've had shingles fall off the roof, the pieces fall out, and have had several roofers out to see if my roofer messed up the job and they say "nails are in the right place, not sure what's going on." Had a Certainteed guy come out and he says its fine. Its not fine, mister. I've had a heck of a time getting anyone from this company to help me. Wouldn't recommend.


Date created: 2014-07-09 Name: B Dahl
Location: Jesup, IA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Financially behind"
Watching the roof quickly curl in ten years. Thought we were good for thirty years. Getting behind on expenses. Figure a roof in the budget twice as often as you might think. We may skate by with a very ugly roof for five years after they begin to look so awful.


Date created: 2014-02-21 Name: rodric
Location: Marion,KS
Model: Landmark IR

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worst shingle ever"
We applied 112 sq to a new structure in March of 2012. Since then we have replaced 10+ square and need to replace approximately 4 more at this time. Both our contractors and the insurance adjuster have found that the lamination adhesive is minimal and non-existing on some product. We filed a claim and received their response today. They claim that the adhesive is within their specifications. This product is advertised as a 110 mph shingle, ours have only seen 60 at this point. The manufacturer is offering less than 10% of the original cost to replace only the current missing shingles and checkout each shingle tab, hand seal any loose or not sealed. They have not offered to reimburse expenses for the 10+ sq we have replaced at our own expense or the shingles that have been damaged by the others that blew off. The Landmark IR looks great when lying flat on the roof, not so good on the ground. We dislike the fact that the manufacture has not offered to send a representative to the site of this issue. We would not recommend this product or manufacture to anyone based on our experience to date.


Date created: 2013-11-09 Name: B Hughes
Location: Wisonsin

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Do not buy CertainTeed"
I would not recommend any CertainTeed roofing or siding products due to their premature failings. Although they warranty these products, the amount of money for recovery due to claims is very minimal. CertainTeed continues to produce inferior products knowing that the amount they pay out from claims is still substantially less than the profits they make from these substandard products. You can buy better products from other manufacturers - Avoid CertainTeed

123456Next >>
Find Local Roofers

My zip code is: