Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Certainteed shingles

Certainteed Logo

Read 88 Certainteed Shingle reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#11   of 15 brands of shingles

26% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 88 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    17
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    6
  • Neutral
    3
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    61

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Certainteed shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous123456789Next >>

Date created: 2017-07-14 Name: Robert & Robin Tiek
Location: Middlesex, NC
Model: Landmark

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Shingle Failure"
After a hail storm last year we had our insurance company look at our roof for possible damage. They said we didn't have hail damage but "shingle failure." We didn't believe them. Why would our 30 year warranted shingles be failing after only 13 years? After a building inspector and roofing contractor looked at our roof and all agreed it was shingle failure we contacted CertainTeed. They required original receipts, proof that we owned the home at the time the shingles were installed, pictures, shingle samples AND we sent a bag full of asphalt granules that have filled our rain gutters. Their verdict? A settlement for $877.00! If anyone has started a class action lawsuit against this company we would be interested in joining. We will never buy CertainTeed shingles again and will warn everyone we know against buying them for their home.


Date created: 2017-07-05 Name: Jake Z.
Location: Wyoming
Model: Landmark

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Haven't been good from the beginning"
Built our home in 2008 and have problems ever since with our shingles. Had over 1/4 of our roof blow off in the windstorm last week, so off they come. Can't wait to try another manufacturer. Will never use this brand of shingles again.


Date created: 2017-07-04 Name: C. Rutter
Location: Loveland, OH
Model: Certainteed Landmark Pro

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Granules Everywhere"
Our roof is only 5 years old. I noticed about a month ago, that during a rain storm, water was gushing up from the foundation tiles, heaving up literally pounds of roof granules. This is the 5th home we have owned, and no roof has ever lost granules to this extent. Has anyone had a similar experience. I have a feeling that the cost of resolving the clogged foundation drainage pipes might exceed the cost of the shingles.



Date created: 2017-05-10 Name: Tony H.
Location: Florida
Model: Landmark

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worst customer service and product ever"
I purchased the "higher end" CertainTeed Landmark shingles on my million dollar home after they were recommended by my GC when we built the house in 2014. October of 2016 we have a hurricane come through in FL and I had a lot of shingle damage. The damage was on three sides of my house and none of the houses around me had damage (more than a shingle or two). Had the company rep out to my house with my GC and he said that the wind loads were well within limits and based on that, the fact that no other roofs had damage and that there was damage on multipule sides of my roof, I should send him an estimate to replace the roof. Since time, it's been nothing but a nightmare dealing with these people. After three months of "reviewing" my shingles they offered me 1850.00 to repair my roof and have somebody lift the other shingles and re-glue the ones that needed it. I got two estimates to have that done and it was 9k. The CertainTeed office rep told me that was outrageous and it should not cost that much. Now we are six months after the fact and they finally sent a roofer of their choosing out to my house. I have asked them for his assessment and estimate and they will not provide it to me. I have been battling them for seven months to date with no resolution and no repairs to my roof. Two roofers said they would ask for a new roof if it was their customer. They have not returned calls or flat out lied to me and not gotten back to me many, many times. I have over 25 contacts with them that were initiated by me and still no response. I am contacting all of the news channels that I can and starting litigation at this point. Do not purchase these shingles.


Date created: 2017-04-21 Name: Andrew Craner
Location: UTAH
Model: Landmark

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Blow off every year"
After seven years of patching the roof on a brand new house, I'm stripping down to the osb, and starting from scratch, I'm tried of leaks in my house when these shingles blow off year after year. The shingle actually separates from the tar they put on at the factory. Will never buy again, and I'm here to get the word out.


Date created: 2017-04-09 Name: John duty
Location: Eastern Maryland
Model: Blue horizon

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"I have 7 building with your crappy product"
I have 7 properties with the same roof material from certainteed. 2004 ish they where installed by 3 different roofing companies and I am sure they all didn't install them wrong. I am tired of repair them every year. I ran out of all my extras and can no longer buy new. I try to get some help and just got the run around. I will Put on 6 new roofs this week and will be using another product. Hope they go the hell out of business


Date created: 2016-11-25 Name: robert ransom
Location: williamsport indiana 47993

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Granular loss and cracking"
I purchased a new American home in 2001, this year started losing shingles, during the inspection 90 percent of my granulars are missing, contacted 2 roofer companies to tell me what to do, both said roof is gone. These are Certainteed shingles what should I do. Need advice. Please help


Date created: 2016-08-26 Name: Pat Faulkner
Location: Bernhards Bay, ny
Model: Landmark

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Granulars coming off"
We put on new roof in 2005 - and all of the granulars are coming off shingles. Our roofer said they were CertainTeed Landmark. My problem is after submitting claim with 2 Shingles they called and said they are not CertainTeed because there is no strip on back of shingle identifying them as CertainTeed. After extensive research on identifying shingles I can find nothing about strip on back. Does anyone out there have any shingles that were put on around 2005 and see if there is an identifying marker behind the shingles - just want to make sure they are not trying to get out of their warranty- thank you


Date created: 2016-08-24 Name: Spencer Rafferty
Location: Liverpool NY
Model: Landmark *30 M Colonial Slate AV

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Garbage, and ridiculous amount they offered to settle"
We had our roof put on in 2004 with a 25 yr warranty and just noticed the granules had fallen off 90% of the shingles, right down to the fiberglass matting after just 12 years. I filed a claim, only to slapped in the face with an offer of 384.00. What a joke! I will be consulting a lawyer to read through the warranty to seek other recourse of action. This is utter bs and I will be vigilant in pursuing further action.


Date created: 2016-06-22 Name: Cil king
Location: West Mifflin Pa

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Disappointment"
Spent thousands of dollars and many hours deciding on the perfect shingle for our home. 45 year warranty. After 15 years it is crumbling and falling off the house in layers. Contacted Certainteed to find out that the shingles are discontinued and a class action suit was filed. After making us jump through hoops (pictures, samples sent, proof of ownership title transfer from 1984). we received a check in the amount of $854.00. That won't even replace the front porch roof. This is so unfair. We bought these shingles thinking this would be the last time we had to replace our roof. This surely turned out not to be the case. Back to square one. Will never recommend their shingle to anyone.

<< Previous123456789Next >>