Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Certainteed shingles

Certainteed Logo

Read 85 Certainteed Shingle reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#11   of 15 brands of shingles

27% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 85 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    17
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    6
  • Neutral
    3
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    58

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Certainteed shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous123456789Next >>

Date created: 2012-04-10 Location: Hope Mills, NC
Model: Weathered Wood 3 Tab shingles

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"CertainTeed from Lowe's 3 Tab"
These shingles represent a fine value, especially when you get them at discount. Yes they dont look as nice as the laminated shingles, but for a solid basic roof they do fine. Out of about 24 squares of shingles, I found a bundle and a half with defects(folded under corners, or damaged spots) and the local Lowe's had no issue with replacing them. The manufacturer not only has easy to comprehend instructions on the back of the package, but several Youtube videos posted that show not only how to install the shingles, but tips for installing additional underlayment products that extend the life of your new roof. I would not hesitate to install these shingles again in the future.


Date created: 2012-02-20 Location: Lansing, MI
Model: Landmark

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Money well spent"
I have owned Certainteed Landmark 25 shingles for over ten years. The cedar shake design of the dimensional shingle looks great on my house and garage. I was disappointed to learn that shortly after I purchased my roof, the same brand introduced a shingle with a longer manufacturer warranty. I had my shingles applied by a qualified builder, with the only repair work done covered by the builder's warranty after heavy winds. A few rows of shingles had been bent up and back by the wind, leaving some creases and slight tears. This was done shortly after completion of the job. I am not positive but I believe it takes a short time for the roof to seal, and this may have led to the repair being made. I have yet to even have to test the manufacturer warranty, but it would be fine with me if I never had to. I would buy this product again and would recommend it to my family and friend


Date created: 2012-02-20 Location: Nashville, TN
Model: Unknown

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Shingles that last!!"
I have owned this home for 10 plus years, and the shingles were installed 10 years before that. They have worn well, no leaks, even though we have tornado like winds and rain each spring. I also regularly walk on the shingles each fall, they do not dislodge. My only complaint is that they are becoming a musty gray color with the years. I will certainly replace them with the same shingles, after we do some planned add-on construction. But I want the soame kind of shingle. These are superb.



Date created: 2012-02-07 Location: Melbourne, Fl
Model: Flintlastic

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"The shingles used on our house are sturdy and reliable."
The CertainTeed Flintlastic shingles we have installed on our home are very reliable and sustainable shingles. We have not had to replace them in the last year, and considering that we live in Brevard Co, Fl., this is a pretty amazing feat. With all of the hurricanes that come through the area usually some amount of shingles would need replaced yearly, if not more than yearly. Not only have they held up with the hurricane force winds and rains that come through our area but they also have not seemed to fade in color or show a large amount of use or wear and tear over the amount of time that we have been living in the home. Their color has remained intact and unlike other shingles, they have seemed to last through the weather. Although we haven't had a problem with the shingles, I have read many reviews stating that CertainTeed will not last the 25 years that the company gaurantees. At this point I would give the CertainTeed shingles a 4 out of 5 rating, but we will see if they show such promising strength and wear in the years to come.


Date created: 2012-01-26 Location: Holland, MI
Model: Landmark

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"CertainTeed is good"
I've had CertainTeed Landmark shingles for about two years now. I chose the driftwood pattern because it most matched the siding color of my house. I've received numerous comments on how wonderful my roof looks. I have nothing but good things to say about CertainTeed. My previous roof's shingles started blowing off of my house within the first few years they were installed. This caused numerous leaks in my house and expensive repairs. Since I've had the CertainTeed shingles installed I have not noticed any shingles being blown off of my roof. There has also not been a single leak in my house since I had the new roof installed and I have not had to do any repairs nor do I expect to for at least 10 years. I would most definitely recommend CertainTeed to anyone of my friends and I intend on purchasing CertainTeed shingles if I ever need a new roof again.


Date created: 2012-01-11 Location: Auburndale, FL
Model: Colonial Slate Fiberglass

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"I like the look of my Roofing Shingles."
I have had my shingles on my house now for three years. We had them installed on our new house as part of an upgrade. The way they look makes the house look very colonial and almost like we have slate tiles up there. We have never had the shingles tended to because they were professionally installed and have not given us any problem as at all. We would buy this brand again because of the warranty they provide as well as the fact that our house looks simply amazing with them. From the road the shingles sort of glisten in the sun like there were some reflective surfaces up there even thought they are asphalt. We searched around for the best supplier and these were actually available at our Local Lowes Super store. We hope to get the full twenty five years of life out of the shingles and will hopefully be lucky enough to get them replaced with identical style shingles.


Date created: 2011-12-20 Location: Missoula, MT
Model: Laminate Mist White Fiberglass

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Great shingles that match my house perfectly and were cheap!"
I've owned my home, and therefore my shingles, for about three years. In that time I have never had a problem with the shingles and people have commented that they appear the same as the day that they were installed. I really like their color and the overall appearance. They appear to be a very high grade shingle even though I got them at a very affordable price. They only thing that I dislike is that they will one day expire and have to be replaced - otherwise I think they are great! Again, at this point I haven't had to make a single repair or replacement - but they are still a bit young. In fact, I ended up building a small shed and bought the same brand again to roof that building. I have not recommended them to friends but I have had friends comment on their appearance. I just really like everything about them


Date created: 2011-10-15 Name: T Robertson
Location: Concord, MA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Getting GAF shingles"
My parents had Certainteed shingles installed on the roof 6 years ago. I noticed during a heavy rainstorm that the gutters were working poorly. Upon investigating the cause I found the gutters had a 1/4 inch of material from the shingles in them. Plants were actually growing in the crap and sealing up the gutter. Last year's winter finished off what remained of the shingles and this morning we are having GAF shingles installed. In order to go through the warranty process with Certainteed, they asked us to take of a few feet of shingles and send it to them for inspection. Who the heck is going to do that? Better off getting rid of it.


Date created: 2011-05-15 Location: Lyman, Maine
Model: Horizon

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"CertainTeed Shingle Review"
We've had the shingles on the house since the late 1990's. They were okay for the first 2-3 years but quickly needed to be replaced in a few spots due to leaking. Most spots are okay, but by the gutters they peeld up about 4 feet in some spots. Happened in the summer so it wasnt ice buildup. I like CertainTeed shingles, but i wont buy this brand again if they even have it anymore. Have only used CertainTeed and these ones are the only ones i had a problem with. Probably will be switching to Metal Roofing on my next house.


Date created: 2011-05-15 Location: Falls Church, VA

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"The shingles seem cool!"
I have had these shingles by CertainTEED for a year and a half and I'm delighted with their reflectivity and durability. My home definitely stays cooler in the sunshine, and they held up under all the snow we had this winter. I also like the look of the white shingles with my blue and white house. I do, however, wish the white "sparkly" bits didn't come off and end up all over my porches, but that is a small price to pay and I have it on good authority that this should stop soon. In all the time I have had these shingles and through all the storms we've had, not one shingle has had to be repaired or replaced. I would definitely buy this type of shingles again and I have already suggested them to a friend who was researching new roofs.

<< Previous123456789Next >>