Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Certainteed shingles

Certainteed Logo
Popularity:
#11  of 15 brands of shingles

30% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 73 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    17
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    5
  • Neutral
    3
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    47

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Certainteed shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous12345678Next >>

Date created: 2011-05-01 Location: lake charles, louisiana

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"30 year architectural shingles"
When building our last home I installed architectural shingles that are manufactured by a company called CertainTeed. I live in southern Louisiana and our odds of getting hit by a hurricane are very large. I chose these shingles because I was told that they are the best on the market and hold up to 30 years on a home. After my home was blacked in we had shingled it with the shingles I have listed above and 1 week later Hurricane Rita hit us. After evacuating and driving back home and seeing many homes tore apart along with many shingles missing I arrived at my home. Upon arrival I was very surprised to see that not 1 shingle was missing. The following year after Rita hit Louisiana we were hit with another storm which did not affect the shingles either. Ever since these shingles were installed I have not had to make a single repair to them. I would definitely recommend them to anyone who is building or re-doing their roof.


Date created: 2011-04-21 Location: Nekoosa, WI
Model: Landmark 30

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Review of Certainteed Landmark Shingles"
I replaced the shingles on a house I own 6 years ago with Certainteed Landmark 30 year shingles. I was the one that did the installation and have done over twenty roofs since. The Certainteed brand is my favorite in overall product quality and apperance. With about 22 shingles per bundle, some brands tend to have a bad shingle mixed in with the bundle. Certainteed shingles seem to be manufactured to a higher standard. I have never had to replace one and don't plan to. A thirty year shingle does not mean it will last for 30 years. I will however last longer than a shingle meant for 20 or 25 years. This shingle was installed on a roof with a 5/12 pitch using 4 nails per shingle. I went with a light brown color due to its tendency to reflect more light than the traditional black shingle. This shingle is proven strong in the extreme climate changes experienced in Wisconsin.


Date created: 2011-04-18 Name: M. Glenn
Location: Amherstburg, ON
Model: Independence

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Certainteed is certain to fail"
We are the second owners of a home built in 1996. Certainteed Independence shingles were installed. We were told it is a 40 year shingle. These shingles are completely trashed and the roof needs to be replaced. The class action lawsuit that was settled between the lawyers and Certainteed would see us receiving only about $1k for a $18k roof. The lawyers are the ones making out like bandits and the company refuses to stand behing their shit. The company does not stand behind its warranty and has done and will, in my opinion, continue to do whatever is necessary to skirt its responsibilities. If this were the last shingle company on the face of the planet, I would not install this garbage on my house. I would fabricate by hand my own cedar shakes!



Date created: 2011-03-28 Location: Rockford, IL
Model: Landmark

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Pleased with Certainteed Landmark Shingles"
We purchased CertainTeed Landmark 30 year dimensional shingles 2 years ago. Considering we live in a climate which goes to weather extremes with the seasons, they have held up very well so far in my opinion. They look great from the ground. I am not willing to climb on some portions of our roof, but the areas I have been on to hang Christmas lights still look new even with the weathering. No signs of wear are evident. The manufacturer offers a great looking high profile ridge cap, but we did not purchase due to cost. The standard ridge cap colors blend in well with the shingles. The slightly different shades of color within each shingle (regardless of color selected) are not only are visually appealing, but in the event repairs are needed at some point in the future this should make it easier to blend in and repair. We would recommend this shingle/brand again based on what we have seen at this time.


Date created: 2011-03-22 Location: Huron, OH
Model: Symphony

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"Certainteed Roofing Shingles Positive Review"
I have owned my Certainteed Symphony Shingles for about 25 years, which works great with me. There has been a little damage, but it has been 25 years. These Shingles came with a decent warranty, and look pretty darn good. The customer service wasn't the greatest, which kept me in a runaround, but they worked out in the end. My friend bought these shingles as well, about five years ago, and he hasn't needed a repair since. He got the same edition as me, and they still have that new look. I may need a future repair, because the left side is falling apart, but they outlived the warranty by fifteen years! Compared to other prices and companies, these were actually cheaper than I thought. So overall these shingles should last you quite awhile, and this a is a great addition to any household. I got my neighbor to put up the shingles, since Certainteed was kinda pricy. I will definitely be buying from Certainteed again, and I highly recommend you do the same. I recommend the Symphony edition as well.


Date created: 2011-03-22 Location: Hale, Michigan
Model: Skyline

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"CertainTeed shingles are the very best."
I have had CertainTeed shingles on my home since I built it in 2002. I installed these shingles myself and they were very easy to work with. I liked that they installed quickly and uniformly over the entire roof with very little effort. I did have some concerns about the marks that were left in the shingles by me walking on them during installation, but it was an unusually hot day for Michigan, upward of 90 degrees. I have never had occasion to repair or replace any of the shingles on my house despite the severe winds and crippling ice storms that we experience in our part of the country. CertainTeed shingles come in a variety of colors and designs that will match whatever the exterior decor of your home is. My house is protected by beautiful blue shingls that match our doors and shutters. I will always use this brand of shingle and would quickly recommend them to anyone.


Date created: 2011-02-26 Location: Baltimore, Maryland

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"My CertainTeed Shingles"
I have had my CertainTeed roofing shingles on my house for five years now. I am very satisfied with the quality of the shingles. The color has not yet begun to fade, nor have they begun to deteriorate. I was also pleased with the ease of the instalation. I did notice a drastic change in my heating bill for the better since I had them installed compared to my old slate roof. I am also very happy with the fact that my gutters are not filling up with the grit like substance that make up the shingles. My neighbors used a different brand and they are constantly having issues with their gutters clogging because of that grit. This is also causing the color of their shingles to fade. My main concern with my shingles is that when they were being installed it was very hot outside and I can still see some footprints and slide marks left on the shingles from them being so soft when people were walking and working on them. I have yet to have to make any repairs to the product though and I have recomended to my neighbor to have their roof redone with CertainTeed shingles to eliminate their gutter and color fading problem. I would definatley use CertainTeed shingles again if and when I ever move for my new house.


Date created: 2011-02-25 Name: richard burns
Location: St. Johns Mi
Model: Independence

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Bad Rooring materials"
Certain Teed warrantys are trash...we had a 50 year warranty on the independence shingle that was trash after 12 years...As a result of a class action suit I got a check in the mail for $492.44...It will cost approx $12,000 for a new roof 38 years to soon...Don't believe in warrantys...They don't honnor their written word and make it very dificult to file any type of a claim....


Date created: 2011-02-20 Name: ed zemantauski
Location: pottsville, Pa
Model: XT25

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"shingles blowing off eight year old roof nails sticking up in others"
The durability of the shingles stinks. after eight years theshingles started blowing off. Would never use them again.


Date created: 2011-02-03 Location: Manhattan, KS

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Affordable Protection, Outstanding Quality"
My husband and I bought our house about a year ago, and within a few months learned we would need to replace our roof. The previous roofing company did not install any vents on the roof, and the shingles were basically baking from the heat in the attic. We had our roofing contractor come out and take a look. He asked us what kind of shingles we were interested in, and I suggested I wanted to get new impact resistant shingles. He gave us a brochure about the Certainteed Landmark series and let us have a few days to look them over while he gave us a quote. The more I researched the shingles, the more I loved! They are impact resistant so they can withstand significant hail and wind resistance before getting any damage and have a 50 year warranty. I also learned that my insurance company would reduce our homeowner's insurance because of the impact resistance. The best part was the price. I was expecting the shingles to be much more than standard shingles, but the price only $300 more than the standard 20 year shingles. We've had the roof replaced for over six months now and I can't say enough good things about it. Definitely worh researching and looking up! I recommend this brand to anyone who mentions needing a roof replaced.

<< Previous12345678Next >>