Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Certainteed shingles

Certainteed Logo
Popularity:
#11  of 15 brands of shingles

30% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 72 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    17
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    5
  • Neutral
    3
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    46

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Certainteed shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous12345678Next >>

Date created: 2010-12-03 Location: Beaver Dam, WI

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"Certainteed Roofing Shingles"
I had Certainteed roofing shingles put on my house a year and a half ago in 2009. I liked the diverse color selection, there was a very large variety to choose from and I had difficulty deciding... which was a good problem. I think that the color I chose looks very good on my house. The architectural type shingles improved the curb appeal of my house. My major complaint was with the defective shingles that were installed. There was a recall, so I had to take off work to coordinate the roofing crew to tear off and re-install new shingles. I would recommend the product to a friend or even buy the same brand again myself because the company was honest with me about the defective shingles and replaced them at no cost to myself. I would not have known they were defective until years later unless they contacted me.


Date created: 2010-11-07 Location: Buffalo, NY

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"You Can Do Better For This Price!"
I had a new roof put on my house five years ago when I first moved in. At first, being strapped for cash, I planned on buying a cheaper shingle. However, I had a friend highly recommend the CertainTeed shingles, so I handed over the extra cash for a designer roof. I don't have any real complaints about the roof after five years. However, I have had to have a few shingles replaced. Though this was an easy process, I am slightly annoyed that, after the price that I paid for these, I am already doing repairs on what should be a 20 year roof. Granted, the shingles themselves do seem to be very sturdy. It is possible that the problem is with the tar paper and not the shingles. Still, I am not a roofer but I do not think I should be repairing such a costly roof so soon. I wouldn't recommend these to a friend. I think that, for this price, you can do a lot better.


Date created: 2010-08-30 Name: Diane V.
Location: Waterloo, IA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Owner"
I had my shingle replace with Certainteed in 2001. They started looking bad in 2008. I am having them replaced this year. I just sent my information in 2 wks ago and hope I will get some money back from them.



Date created: 2010-07-18 Name: bobbie b.
Location: Manila, Philippines

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"always blown off"
Our house was built in 2000 and has been fitted with certainteed asphalt shingles. We experience strong winds during the rainy season and four (4) times since 2000, we have had some of our shingles blown off. This year we're investing in a metal roofing over the shingles since we expect stronger windsdue the change in the weather patterns conditions.


Date created: 2010-06-18 Name: Rick Halver
Location: shakopee minn.

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"certainteed sealdon shingles"
Had a lacal roofer install sealdon 25 shingles 10 years ago at 7 years shingles started to curl on the south side of the house now at 10 years entire south side is curled up and will have to replace shingles on house and two garages, there is now a clss action suit on this very problem and i live in town of one of there factories. Never again will i purchase a certainteed product.


Date created: 2010-05-19 Name: Albert Nelson
Location: duluth mn

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"shingles warrenty"
Everybody who bought Certainteed shingles Good luck in trying to have them honor their warrenty I have the same problem everons else is having curling up and falling apart I contacted them and am getting the RUNAROUND AL NELSON


Date created: 2010-05-16 Name: Michael J Lovely
Location: Vernon, BC

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Charlie Homes Exteriors"
I have had the experience of buying every shingle available and after all the hand nailing ive done over the years I can confidenly say my money remains with Certainteed.


Date created: 2010-05-08 Name: meg
Location: omaha

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"shingle warrqanties are lies"
After seven years my shingles are evenly cracked over entire roo!!. No act of nature or damage- they were defective and a mere 7 years later I have to spend $8k to replace. Do not believe this 30 year warranty crap! Certainteed stinks!


Date created: 2009-09-19 Name: Phil Mausser
Location: Epworth, IA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Purchased in 1995"
The shingles on the south of side of house curled up. The house wasn't 10 years old when I first notice it.


Date created: 2009-09-18 Name: Lori Gunnelson
Location: Cambridge, WI

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Home owner"
I had a house build in 1997 and had 30 years Certainteed shingles put on and already at only 12 1/2 years I have to replace them. They look awful and are a very poorly made product. I hope the company will back up it 30 year life guarantee!!!

<< Previous12345678Next >>