Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Certainteed shingles

Certainteed Logo

Read 88 Certainteed Shingle reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#11   of 15 brands of shingles

26% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 88 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    17
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    6
  • Neutral
    3
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    61

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Certainteed shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous123456789Next >>

Date created: 2011-10-15 Name: T Robertson
Location: Concord, MA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Getting GAF shingles"
My parents had Certainteed shingles installed on the roof 6 years ago. I noticed during a heavy rainstorm that the gutters were working poorly. Upon investigating the cause I found the gutters had a 1/4 inch of material from the shingles in them. Plants were actually growing in the crap and sealing up the gutter. Last year's winter finished off what remained of the shingles and this morning we are having GAF shingles installed. In order to go through the warranty process with Certainteed, they asked us to take of a few feet of shingles and send it to them for inspection. Who the heck is going to do that? Better off getting rid of it.


Date created: 2011-05-15 Location: Lyman, Maine
Model: Horizon

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"CertainTeed Shingle Review"
We've had the shingles on the house since the late 1990's. They were okay for the first 2-3 years but quickly needed to be replaced in a few spots due to leaking. Most spots are okay, but by the gutters they peeld up about 4 feet in some spots. Happened in the summer so it wasnt ice buildup. I like CertainTeed shingles, but i wont buy this brand again if they even have it anymore. Have only used CertainTeed and these ones are the only ones i had a problem with. Probably will be switching to Metal Roofing on my next house.


Date created: 2011-05-15 Location: Falls Church, VA

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"The shingles seem cool!"
I have had these shingles by CertainTEED for a year and a half and I'm delighted with their reflectivity and durability. My home definitely stays cooler in the sunshine, and they held up under all the snow we had this winter. I also like the look of the white shingles with my blue and white house. I do, however, wish the white "sparkly" bits didn't come off and end up all over my porches, but that is a small price to pay and I have it on good authority that this should stop soon. In all the time I have had these shingles and through all the storms we've had, not one shingle has had to be repaired or replaced. I would definitely buy this type of shingles again and I have already suggested them to a friend who was researching new roofs.



Date created: 2011-05-09 Name: John S.
Location: Chicago, IL.
Model: Sealdon 30

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"30 Year Shingles Worn Out In 10"
I bought my second house in 2006 which had Certainteed Custom Sealdon shingles with a 30 yaer waranty installed in 2003 by the original owner. I was assuming that I would not have to replace the roof for a least 15 - 20 years. Like many others posting here, the south side roof shingles are curled up and falling apart. I just learned of the class action lawsuit regarding this and I'm going to file a claim, but I won't be expecting much in the way of reimbursment after reading other posts about Certainteed not honoring their wararnty. I definately WILL NOT be purchasing any Certainteed prudcts in the future and I suggest that you all do the same.


Date created: 2011-05-01 Location: Sioux Falls, SD

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Defective shingles with a neighborhood to match."
As the original owners of our house we were told that our shingles were under a 25 year warranty. Just over 10 years later, more than 60% of said shingles are warping and in need of replacing. As the title of this article describes, our entire neighborhood block is plagued with the same issue. I believe since 2009 there has been a class action lawsuit in the works and was settled later in 2010. Certainteed company was going provide a settlement for each original owner that met certain criteria. However the level of compensation was no where near the amount to even cover replacement costs. This class action lawsuit also nullified all existing 25 year warranties. As homeowners we are very disturbed by the outcome of this and will do everything in our power from buying from that manufacturer in the process. We currently do not have the funds available to replace the existing roof, however we do know people in the industry that are and have been willing to replace individual shingles for a minimal cost. Hopefully this will help to extend the life of the roof another few years.


Date created: 2011-05-01 Location: lake charles, louisiana

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"30 year architectural shingles"
When building our last home I installed architectural shingles that are manufactured by a company called CertainTeed. I live in southern Louisiana and our odds of getting hit by a hurricane are very large. I chose these shingles because I was told that they are the best on the market and hold up to 30 years on a home. After my home was blacked in we had shingled it with the shingles I have listed above and 1 week later Hurricane Rita hit us. After evacuating and driving back home and seeing many homes tore apart along with many shingles missing I arrived at my home. Upon arrival I was very surprised to see that not 1 shingle was missing. The following year after Rita hit Louisiana we were hit with another storm which did not affect the shingles either. Ever since these shingles were installed I have not had to make a single repair to them. I would definitely recommend them to anyone who is building or re-doing their roof.


Date created: 2011-04-21 Location: Nekoosa, WI
Model: Landmark 30

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Review of Certainteed Landmark Shingles"
I replaced the shingles on a house I own 6 years ago with Certainteed Landmark 30 year shingles. I was the one that did the installation and have done over twenty roofs since. The Certainteed brand is my favorite in overall product quality and apperance. With about 22 shingles per bundle, some brands tend to have a bad shingle mixed in with the bundle. Certainteed shingles seem to be manufactured to a higher standard. I have never had to replace one and don't plan to. A thirty year shingle does not mean it will last for 30 years. I will however last longer than a shingle meant for 20 or 25 years. This shingle was installed on a roof with a 5/12 pitch using 4 nails per shingle. I went with a light brown color due to its tendency to reflect more light than the traditional black shingle. This shingle is proven strong in the extreme climate changes experienced in Wisconsin.


Date created: 2011-04-18 Name: M. Glenn
Location: Amherstburg, ON
Model: Independence

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Certainteed is certain to fail"
We are the second owners of a home built in 1996. Certainteed Independence shingles were installed. We were told it is a 40 year shingle. These shingles are completely trashed and the roof needs to be replaced. The class action lawsuit that was settled between the lawyers and Certainteed would see us receiving only about $1k for a $18k roof. The lawyers are the ones making out like bandits and the company refuses to stand behing their shit. The company does not stand behind its warranty and has done and will, in my opinion, continue to do whatever is necessary to skirt its responsibilities. If this were the last shingle company on the face of the planet, I would not install this garbage on my house. I would fabricate by hand my own cedar shakes!


Date created: 2011-03-28 Location: Rockford, IL
Model: Landmark

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Pleased with Certainteed Landmark Shingles"
We purchased CertainTeed Landmark 30 year dimensional shingles 2 years ago. Considering we live in a climate which goes to weather extremes with the seasons, they have held up very well so far in my opinion. They look great from the ground. I am not willing to climb on some portions of our roof, but the areas I have been on to hang Christmas lights still look new even with the weathering. No signs of wear are evident. The manufacturer offers a great looking high profile ridge cap, but we did not purchase due to cost. The standard ridge cap colors blend in well with the shingles. The slightly different shades of color within each shingle (regardless of color selected) are not only are visually appealing, but in the event repairs are needed at some point in the future this should make it easier to blend in and repair. We would recommend this shingle/brand again based on what we have seen at this time.


Date created: 2011-03-22 Location: Huron, OH
Model: Symphony

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"Certainteed Roofing Shingles Positive Review"
I have owned my Certainteed Symphony Shingles for about 25 years, which works great with me. There has been a little damage, but it has been 25 years. These Shingles came with a decent warranty, and look pretty darn good. The customer service wasn't the greatest, which kept me in a runaround, but they worked out in the end. My friend bought these shingles as well, about five years ago, and he hasn't needed a repair since. He got the same edition as me, and they still have that new look. I may need a future repair, because the left side is falling apart, but they outlived the warranty by fifteen years! Compared to other prices and companies, these were actually cheaper than I thought. So overall these shingles should last you quite awhile, and this a is a great addition to any household. I got my neighbor to put up the shingles, since Certainteed was kinda pricy. I will definitely be buying from Certainteed again, and I highly recommend you do the same. I recommend the Symphony edition as well.

<< Previous123456789Next >>