Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

dotted nav bar
dotted nav bar

Consumer Reviews of Decra shingles

Popularity:
#7  of 13 brands of shingles

43% of customers recommend
3 of 5 stars 16 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    7
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    0
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    0
  • Very Unsatisfied
    9

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Decra shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

12Next >>

Date created: 2014-09-09 Name: Robert Carter
Location: altamonte springs, fl

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Total dissatisfaction"
The owner went bankrupt to avoid the financial responsibility of repairing the roofs, which begin to lose the ground stone composite, due to inferior adhesion to the metal underneath. My gutters are filled with the washed-off particles after every rain. The metal is beginning to show through. There is apparently no fix available from this highly crooked company.


Date created: 2014-07-08 Name: John Regan
Location: Lees Summit, Missouri
Model: Shake XD

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Love my Shake XD metal roof"
Everything wonderful, wish I had done a metal roof years ago, don't worry about fires at 4th July, looks very rich, enhances house, great warranty, good people to deal with.


Date created: 2014-07-05 Name: W Fernihough
Location: Surrey, BC

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"My Decra Roof is 10 years old"
The roof was installed 10 years ago, and from what I could find out about Decra back then, they ran a reputable business. I contacted a well known dealer in the Vancouver Canada area and the roof was installed promptly without any problem. About five years later a minor problem developed with water going between two membranes into the built in eaves trough, but the contractor fixed that promptly and no known problems since. It does, like any roof, grow moss, but it I let the summer heat kill the moss, it seems to remove easily.


Date created: 2014-07-03 Name: K. Sar
Location: Rockford, IL

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Decra Shake XD profile"
My husband and I are thrilled with our decision to use the Decra Shake xd on our home. Neighbors actually thought we installed wood shakes until we explained it is stone coated metal. As with any building material, the install is key so make sure you hire someone who has read the instructions and / or has good installs under their belt! In the last 3 years, our roof has weathered many storms, several bouts of hail, heavy snows and high winds with no issues.


Date created: 2014-07-02 Name: Dan and Kathy Dundon
Location: Erie PA
Model: Shake XD

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"DIY Installation"
We liked the appearance of Decra Shake xd. After seeing Shake xd no other metal shingles seemed as good... Quality wise nor appearance wise. Our 1950 ranch is 37 square... All hips and valleys, so installation was challenging, with all the cutting and fitting. We got much feed-back from passers-by during our 30 day installation (crew a couple of 62 year old retired folks with occasional outside assistance)... All remarks were positive and encouraging... Looks great... Best looking roof in town... Nice job etc. We are quite pleased with "the look" of our new roof!


Need a Roofing Contractor?

Find a Local Roofing Pro with this Free Service

* Replace or Repair Existing Roof
* Roof Maintenance and Pressure Cleaning
* Leak Detection, Waterproofing, and more

Date created: 2014-06-23 Name: G. Creasey
Location: Evansville IN

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Homeowner"
My Decra roof was installed by a Decra authorized roofer. The roof leaked from beginning. The roofer could never stop the leaks. The Decra representative was an rude and arrogant and would say anything to weasel out on the responsibility of his company. After three years I finally had the Decra roof removed. This roof cost me more than twice what I paid for my old asphalt roof which lasted twenty years. The Decra roofing system is fraudulent and their sales pitch is misleading. Do not buy it! It is junk!


Date created: 2014-02-14 Name: Gary L. Creasey
Location: Evansville, IN
Model: Shingle Plus

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Wasted money"
Decra Shingle Plus utilizing the double batton system has a design flaw that allows leakage. My installer was unable to prevent leaks and I had to replace the roof after multiple attempts at repair over a three year period. I wrote the manufacturer about the issue and got no response. I paid twice the amount for this roof and got a piece of crap! I feel like I have been defrauded. The manufacturer and sales people did not inform me that you could only walk on the cross batton part of the roof. They do not inform the purchaser of this issue and is only mentioned in the installation guide. Because of this issue, the product is almost impossible to install without leaving gaps between the adjacent side shingles. And is easily damaged by walking on it such as when making an inspection of venting pipes, etc. I am not a rich man and this company has taken complete advantage of me and would not even take the time to respond to my letter. I will never buy another Decra Shingle and I recommend to all who will listen to stay away from the Decra crooks.


Date created: 2014-01-21 Name: stretch5881
Location: Central WI
Model: Stone Coated

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Excellent product"
As a test, we installed Decra Stone Coated Shingles on our garage. They are now 2 years old. The garage is heated in snow county and no leaks or granule problems. We put it on ourselves using mostly youtube for instructions. Went on like a dream. Now we will be putting the same product on our house this spring.


Date created: 2013-06-16 Name: gwen wilbert
Location: New Hampshire

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Love my roof"
We wanted a metal roof on our house but didn't want the snow to just fly off like a regular metal roof because of my small son plays outside in the winter. We decided to have a Decra roof installed because the snow melted vs sliding off. We love our roof. It doesn't leak, the snow doesn't fly off - when the sun comes out the snow melts quickly. It looks like shingles - it is beautiful. I would do it again in a second. In reading the reviews, you need to get an installer that knows what they are doing!


Date created: 2013-05-14 Name: James Sana
Location: Loves Park, IL
Model: Shake XD

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Shake XD"
I have the Shake xd on my house and I am very pleased with its performance and design. I enjoy the compliments I receive on the roof also. After reading the scathing reviews on a product I own, I can only think that the contractor who slammed the product probably doesn't know how to install it (products overlap more than 2 inches). Just like any other building product, the product can only be as good as the install so hire a capable contractor that can read instructions and look at pictures of details! The instructions are clear, detailed and concise and all on the Decra website. Call the company with questions...I Found them helpful when installing the same product on a friend's cabin.

12Next >>
Find Local Roofers

My zip code is: