Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

dotted nav bar
dotted nav bar

Consumer Reviews of Decra shingles

Popularity:
#27  of 34 brands of shingles

33% of customers recommend
2.5 of 5 stars 9 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    3
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    0
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    0
  • Very Unsatisfied
    6

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Decra shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brandsWrite a review


Date created: 2014-01-21 Name: stretch5881
Location: Central WI

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Excellent product"
As a test, we installed Decra Stone Coated Shingles on our garage. They are now 2 years old. The garage is heated in snow county and no leaks or granule problems. We put it on ourselves using mostly youtube for instructions. Went on like a dream. Now we will be putting the same product on our house this spring.


Date created: 2013-06-16 Name: gwen wilbert
Location: New Hampshire

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Love my roof"
We wanted a metal roof on our house but didn't want the snow to just fly off like a regular metal roof because of my small son plays outside in the winter. We decided to have a Decra roof installed because the snow melted vs sliding off. We love our roof. It doesn't leak, the snow doesn't fly off - when the sun comes out the snow melts quickly. It looks like shingles - it is beautiful. I would do it again in a second. In reading the reviews, you need to get an installer that knows what they are doing!


Date created: 2013-05-14 Name: James Sana
Location: Loves Park, IL

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Shake XD"
I have the Shake xd on my house and I am very pleased with its performance and design. I enjoy the compliments I receive on the roof also. After reading the scathing reviews on a product I own, I can only think that the contractor who slammed the product probably doesn't know how to install it (products overlap more than 2 inches). Just like any other building product, the product can only be as good as the install so hire a capable contractor that can read instructions and look at pictures of details! The instructions are clear, detailed and concise and all on the Decra website. Call the company with questions...I Found them helpful when installing the same product on a friend's cabin.


Date created: 2013-03-06 Name: D. Bridges
Location: East TX

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Contractors are just as crooked as Decra"
I had a Decra stone coated steel roof installed in 2005 by a contractor who obviously did not know how to install Decra roofing. We didn't notice a problem for a few months because we had no rain but when it did rain our back porch was leaking very badly. When we called the contractor, he sent someone out after a couple of months. The problem persisted. We called again and once again someone came out after a lengthy wait. Again, no resolution plus the man had an attitude towards me. So we attempted to call the contractor again and he stopped answering our calls and would not return any calls after leaving numerous messages. We sent photos of the wood which by this time had started to rot. He would not respond so I contacted the bbb only to be told by them that the contractor had fulfilled his obligation. I asked how that could be when I was still having a problem that was getting worse with each rainfall. Then it hit me...the contractor pays the bbb for membership so who's side did I expect them to be on??? Stupid me!! The original contractor evaded me long enough so that I could no longer take action against him! Clever, don't you think? Now I have to have the entire roof removed and redone. My new contractor told me that the Decra was installed incorrectly from the very beginning. The starter course was not the correct one to use with the Decra, the seams line up (they should have been staggered) and they never installed a ridge vent which I specifically requested them to do! If that weren't enough, when yo stand in a certain spot in my driveway you can see daylight under the caps on the hip portion of the roof! Lovely! Also the problematic porch was done in the Decra which was the wrong material due to the slope of the roof! Not up to code by any standards! Lots of things were done improperly here and I also had problems with Decra also when I tried contacting them for assistance. They refused to reply to the many messages I left. So, I am having the garbage taken off my roof and having an impact resistant composite roof installed that will get me a similar discount on my insurance. If another problem arises, the pieces that need replacing can be replaced, vice having the entire roof torn off to repair one area! I could write a book about this experience, but just be warned that the product is only as good as the installation. I'm sure Decra if done correctly is a great product, but I will never again consider or endorse it. Stay away from it if at all possible. You do have choices that are comparable to Decra in many ways and you should definitely research those choices prior to deciding on a Decra shingle roof system.


Date created: 2013-02-06 Name: Modernroofer
Location: Florida

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"DECRA sells a horrible product!"
Decra not only doesn't honor the warranty but Decra has the worst customer service and staff. Steer clear if you expect any follow up. They are an overpriced system especially for anyone that is not located near any of their warehouses (ex. California or Texas); for some reason even if you are closer to Texas, they will ship from California, not sure till this day how that makes any sense. The shipping costs are enormous and the demand is just not there. If you want any clarification around installation guidance or costs per square for materials, do not ask Decra employees as they are useless. They will not provide accurate information. I'm not quite sure how they are still in business. They are a small company that do not stand by their customers but even worse, they hire incompetent employees. Not worth the hassle or the costs of installing this system.


Date created: 2012-05-04 Name: Dawn Massiah
Location: Delhi, Ontario

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Decra Shingle Plus is CRAP!"
I had a Decra Shingle Plus roof installed on my home in 2006. Shortly afterward I noticed water marks appearing around light fixtures and stuff. The installer kept saying it was condensation from somewhere else. Finally, in 2009, they came back and actually removed part of the roof, and I realized they hadn't put any underlayment on (which is National Building Code here in Canada folks!) so I successfully sued them to get the money to repair this roof ... the repair buys started the job, then stopped and said I had to contact the manufacturer because the panels are defective!!! Now I have to claim against their 50 year warranty. I think we all need to get together and start a class action law suit against these guys. They are producing a product that is not worthy of the market, and knowingly allowing non-compliant product to be installed on people's homes. My email kalikali@execulink.com. Name's Dawn. Let's go!


Date created: 2012-04-15 Name: Jason
Location: Canada

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't buy decra"
Just putting a warning out there for anyone considering buying Decra roofing products. I installed this stuff for a few years and over the course of my installer career I learned that this stuff is an absolute waste of money. In my own opinion complete garbage! For the price of Decra products you can replace a asphalt roof numerous times and won't have any of the problems associated with Decra. It got to the point where I was so disgusted with myself for putting such a bad product on peoples honest that I quit my job and switched careers. Beware, Decra is a complete sham and the so called 50 year warranty is a joke. Don't get tricked into buying it. Save your self a lot of stress and stick to asphalt or if you can afford it, buy slate roofing. It was good enough 100 years ago and I've seen many slate roofs that are well over 100 years old. Decra is garbage!


Date created: 2012-03-25 Name: Steve Austin
Location: Boulder Creek,CA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Decra Roofing Sucks"
In 2005 I had Decra Roofing Shingle Plus steel shingles installed on my roof by a roofer identified by Decra Roofing. The gravel started to wash off the roof immediately. Tony Tiapon from Decra came to my house and took pictures of the roof and said that the shingles were defective and that they would be replaced. In 2011 Decra said that my claim was approved and they would identify another roofer. I gave them a name of a local roofer that is familiar with the Decra products. That roofer has tried to contact Decra and Decra has not returned his calls. Decra is crooked and I will do whatever I have to recover the damage and cost for the damage their inferior products and dishonest business practices. Sue them. Do not buy decra roofing products. Sue them.


Date created: 2011-10-18 Name: sue slim
Location: Irving, Tx. 75062

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Decra Shake shingles"
I had Decra Shake shingles on my roof installed in 2004, the granules kept washing off, created a big mess on my yard, many leaks through the shingles, the worst roof I ever had, I paid $83,000, my house is 5100 square feet, still struggling with this roof, any class action law suits out there, count me in.

Find Local Roofers

My zip code is: