Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Decra shingles

Popularity:
#8  of 14 brands of shingles

41% of customers recommend
3 of 5 stars 24 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    10
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    0
  • Neutral
    1
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    0
  • Very Unsatisfied
    13

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Decra shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

123Next >>

Date created: 2016-02-05 Name: Jerry Hermes
Location: San Diego, CA

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Very, very happy"
My Decra tile roof was installed thirty years ago in 1986, and today, in 2016, it looks just as good as it did then. I have never had any problems whosoever regarding anything. It was significantly more expensive than the customary replacement but was well worth the extra money, as it is, as I said, thirty (30) years, and it will likely outlast the 50-year warranty. The only negative now is that many solar panel installers won't do an install on this type of roof. Of course, who was thinking about solar electricity in 1986? Not me.


Date created: 2015-12-07 Name: S McGinn
Location: IL

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Zero stars -stay away from Decra"
Do not buy this product. My poor parents have been dealing with the aftermath and expense for 2 years now and only got the run around from the Decra people - this should not be on the market, they need to be sued and owe their customers new roofs plus money to repair damage done by leaks. Shame on them... Run away from this company. They try to blame it both on installers and on the underlying roof when it is clearly their product.


Date created: 2015-03-25 Name: Roy Throne
Location: Ada, Ok
Model: Canyon brown

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Poor"
When it was time to replace our shingles we talked to a local lumber yard for contact info, several contractors came and gave estimates. We liked the idea behind Decra and chose them and their contractor, Robert Miller. The first rain after installation we had several leaks, we contacted the contractor and he came out and said it was a flaw in a couple of the shingles. He came back after the rain cleared, a few days later and "replaced" the flawed shingles. Next rain again we had leaks. We called the contractor back several times and still we had leaks. The Decra contractor disappeared. I called Decra and they had a Mr. Stick, their trouble shooter, come look at the roof. He stated the contractor had installed the underlayment incorrectly and all we could do is caulk the seams. He charged me $300 for this bit of useless information. I have caulked every joint, repeatedly and still have leaks. Decra hasn't tried to help in any way. Their "customer service" is terrible. The Warranty is useless. It looks like Litigation is our next step.



Date created: 2015-03-16 Name: R. B. Graves
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Model: Vintage Slate

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Would choose the same brand again"
I wanted my Decra shingles installation to be the last roofing job in my lifetime as I had faced a leaking asphalt shingle roof just months after major abdominal surgery. The roof has been in service for 10 years now and has been fully satisfactory. The original roof deck of 3/8" butt- joined plywood was showing early signs of sagging between the 24" spaced roof trusses. As a consequence, I added an additional layer of 5/8" tongue and groove roofing plywood over the 3/8", staggering the new sheets to cover the joins in the lower sheets, providing a very solid 1" roof deck. The screws used to install the metal shingles were hence very well anchored. Over the last 10 years the roof has faced the extremes of weather resulting from climatic change; very high winds that tore the asphalt shingles off my neighbor's roofs as well as very heavy rain- soaked snow loads. In addition, my next door neighbor had a house fire and I was happy that I had a fire resistant metal roof. The south-facing part of the roof looks as good as new after 10 years, with some signs of mold on the north face. I chose vintage slate to reduce the cooling load compared to the original black asphalt shingles and observed a reduction in peak attic temperature from 60c to 50c. Roof slope is 6/12 and faces an intense summer sun that is baking and curling my neighbor's asphalt shingles. I would choose the same brand again, while noting that a competent and conscientious installer is critical to overall success.


Date created: 2015-03-13 Name: Roy Throne
Location: Ada, OK
Model: Stone coated metal

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Customer service"
We looked at several shingle brands and decided the Decra shingles were the ones we wanted. We found a local contractor that was certified installer for Decra. The shingles were installed. When we got our first rain the roof leaked, the installer came back and worked on the roof said it was fixed. The installer was called back multiple times. Every rain it leaked. The installer disappeared Two years later and we are still dealing with leaks. We notified Decra and they sent their trouble shooter to the house, he charged us $300 and all he did was spread some caulk in the joints. The roof is still leaking we are going to have to replace the ceiling. The company customer service is terrible. Never buy Decra Roofing.


Date created: 2014-12-30 Name: todd smart
Location: United States

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"Decra improvement needed"
Decra is not too bad. Could use a universal tab so there's not so much waste and their cap tab could be bigger so there's more room for screw.


Date created: 2014-12-12 Name: D. de Verteuil Bump
Location: Victoria, B.C.
Model: Stone coated steel roofing syste

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"I am satisfied with my roof"
I love my Decra roof. The only thing I did not think about when having it installed was that I live under an Oak tree and every time an acorn or twig falls off it's loud! If I had to do it over again I would go for a recycled rubber roof which is much quieter, but they were more expensive. Over all I am satisfied with my roof and it was installed correctly - no leaks and holds up so well when we have winter storms here on the West Coast. No more shingles flying off the roof.


Date created: 2014-09-09 Name: Robert Carter
Location: altamonte springs, fl

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Total dissatisfaction"
The owner went bankrupt to avoid the financial responsibility of repairing the roofs, which begin to lose the ground stone composite, due to inferior adhesion to the metal underneath. My gutters are filled with the washed-off particles after every rain. The metal is beginning to show through. There is apparently no fix available from this highly crooked company.


Date created: 2014-07-08 Name: John Regan
Location: Lees Summit, Missouri
Model: Shake XD

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Love my Shake XD metal roof"
Everything wonderful, wish I had done a metal roof years ago, don't worry about fires at 4th July, looks very rich, enhances house, great warranty, good people to deal with.


Date created: 2014-07-05 Name: W Fernihough
Location: Surrey, BC

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"My Decra Roof is 10 years old"
The roof was installed 10 years ago, and from what I could find out about Decra back then, they ran a reputable business. I contacted a well known dealer in the Vancouver Canada area and the roof was installed promptly without any problem. About five years later a minor problem developed with water going between two membranes into the built in eaves trough, but the contractor fixed that promptly and no known problems since. It does, like any roof, grow moss, but it I let the summer heat kill the moss, it seems to remove easily.

123Next >>