Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Decra shingles

Popularity:
#7  of 14 brands of shingles

46% of customers recommend
3 of 5 stars 26 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    12
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    0
  • Neutral
    1
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    0
  • Very Unsatisfied
    13

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Decra shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

123Next >>

Date created: 2016-07-04 Name: Gary S
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Model: DecraTile

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"30 years and working well"
We bought our house 25 years ago and the Decra Tile roof had been placed on it about 5-10 years earlier. No leaks or problems the entire time. We do have a very simple roof. Installing solar panels on it 6 years ago was more expensive than if we had an asphalt roof.


Date created: 2016-06-28 Name: Bill Sanjuan
Location: Toronto Canada

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Decra Shingles still look brand new"
I installed a Decra Roof on my House fifteen years ago, and every year, friends and neighbours ask if I just had a new Roof installed. It still looks brand new, and I expect it will easily last my whole lifetime. I was a little surprised from some of the negative comments on such an excellent product,and I am going to offer some suggestions on the installation procedure. First of all, if at all possible, do not hire an asphalt shingler to install this product. This may sound a little strange, but you need someone closer to a Tin Knocker to do a proper job. A contractor that installs copper roofs,aluminum siding,soffit and facia,or even furnace ductwork, will have better technical skills to properly install this product. Second of all, do not strap over an old asphalt roof. Strip off all the old roof completely. Then the whole roof should be covered in weatherseal at the beginning of the installation. This way, all the new metal shingles will lie flat, and be evenly supported. This is not a roof that can be done properly in a day, even with ten guys. I installed mine by myself, and it took a month. The weatherseal can be done in an afternoon, and then you can continue installation over time, even with rain days in between. If you hire a contractor, and they do it in a day, that's an absolute guarantee they did it wrong. And third, and maybe the most important, is that the metal panels have to be properly locked together at every joint. This is where the Tin Knocking comes in. Think Copper Roof, Parliament Buildings. Walking on the joints will compromise the integrity of the water seal. When you install the roof, think like you're painting the floor of a room, and don't paint yourself into a corner. Plan your installation so you don't have to walk on it, as you build it. If you need to walk on the panels after installation, a 3/4 inch, 4ft. By 8ft. Sheet of plywood, laid gently on the roof, will spread your weight over a large area and will not damage the joint seals. So in summary, if installed properly, I believe this roof could easily last a hundred years, or more. I hope that I have been of some help to anyone who has installed the Decra Shingle, and has had problems. And also to anyone considering a new metal roof.


Date created: 2016-02-05 Name: Jerry Hermes
Location: San Diego, CA

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Very, very happy"
My Decra tile roof was installed thirty years ago in 1986, and today, in 2016, it looks just as good as it did then. I have never had any problems whosoever regarding anything. It was significantly more expensive than the customary replacement but was well worth the extra money, as it is, as I said, thirty (30) years, and it will likely outlast the 50-year warranty. The only negative now is that many solar panel installers won't do an install on this type of roof. Of course, who was thinking about solar electricity in 1986? Not me.



Date created: 2015-12-07 Name: S McGinn
Location: IL

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Zero stars -stay away from Decra"
Do not buy this product. My poor parents have been dealing with the aftermath and expense for 2 years now and only got the run around from the Decra people - this should not be on the market, they need to be sued and owe their customers new roofs plus money to repair damage done by leaks. Shame on them... Run away from this company. They try to blame it both on installers and on the underlying roof when it is clearly their product.


Date created: 2015-03-25 Name: Roy Throne
Location: Ada, Ok
Model: Canyon brown

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Poor"
When it was time to replace our shingles we talked to a local lumber yard for contact info, several contractors came and gave estimates. We liked the idea behind Decra and chose them and their contractor, Robert Miller. The first rain after installation we had several leaks, we contacted the contractor and he came out and said it was a flaw in a couple of the shingles. He came back after the rain cleared, a few days later and "replaced" the flawed shingles. Next rain again we had leaks. We called the contractor back several times and still we had leaks. The Decra contractor disappeared. I called Decra and they had a Mr. Stick, their trouble shooter, come look at the roof. He stated the contractor had installed the underlayment incorrectly and all we could do is caulk the seams. He charged me $300 for this bit of useless information. I have caulked every joint, repeatedly and still have leaks. Decra hasn't tried to help in any way. Their "customer service" is terrible. The Warranty is useless. It looks like Litigation is our next step.


Date created: 2015-03-16 Name: R. B. Graves
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Model: Vintage Slate

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Would choose the same brand again"
I wanted my Decra shingles installation to be the last roofing job in my lifetime as I had faced a leaking asphalt shingle roof just months after major abdominal surgery. The roof has been in service for 10 years now and has been fully satisfactory. The original roof deck of 3/8" butt- joined plywood was showing early signs of sagging between the 24" spaced roof trusses. As a consequence, I added an additional layer of 5/8" tongue and groove roofing plywood over the 3/8", staggering the new sheets to cover the joins in the lower sheets, providing a very solid 1" roof deck. The screws used to install the metal shingles were hence very well anchored. Over the last 10 years the roof has faced the extremes of weather resulting from climatic change; very high winds that tore the asphalt shingles off my neighbor's roofs as well as very heavy rain- soaked snow loads. In addition, my next door neighbor had a house fire and I was happy that I had a fire resistant metal roof. The south-facing part of the roof looks as good as new after 10 years, with some signs of mold on the north face. I chose vintage slate to reduce the cooling load compared to the original black asphalt shingles and observed a reduction in peak attic temperature from 60c to 50c. Roof slope is 6/12 and faces an intense summer sun that is baking and curling my neighbor's asphalt shingles. I would choose the same brand again, while noting that a competent and conscientious installer is critical to overall success.


Date created: 2015-03-13 Name: Roy Throne
Location: Ada, OK
Model: Stone coated metal

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Customer service"
We looked at several shingle brands and decided the Decra shingles were the ones we wanted. We found a local contractor that was certified installer for Decra. The shingles were installed. When we got our first rain the roof leaked, the installer came back and worked on the roof said it was fixed. The installer was called back multiple times. Every rain it leaked. The installer disappeared Two years later and we are still dealing with leaks. We notified Decra and they sent their trouble shooter to the house, he charged us $300 and all he did was spread some caulk in the joints. The roof is still leaking we are going to have to replace the ceiling. The company customer service is terrible. Never buy Decra Roofing.


Date created: 2014-12-30 Name: todd smart
Location: United States

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"Decra improvement needed"
Decra is not too bad. Could use a universal tab so there's not so much waste and their cap tab could be bigger so there's more room for screw.


Date created: 2014-12-12 Name: D. de Verteuil Bump
Location: Victoria, B.C.
Model: Stone coated steel roofing syste

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"I am satisfied with my roof"
I love my Decra roof. The only thing I did not think about when having it installed was that I live under an Oak tree and every time an acorn or twig falls off it's loud! If I had to do it over again I would go for a recycled rubber roof which is much quieter, but they were more expensive. Over all I am satisfied with my roof and it was installed correctly - no leaks and holds up so well when we have winter storms here on the West Coast. No more shingles flying off the roof.


Date created: 2014-09-09 Name: Robert Carter
Location: altamonte springs, fl

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Total dissatisfaction"
The owner went bankrupt to avoid the financial responsibility of repairing the roofs, which begin to lose the ground stone composite, due to inferior adhesion to the metal underneath. My gutters are filled with the washed-off particles after every rain. The metal is beginning to show through. There is apparently no fix available from this highly crooked company.

123Next >>