Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

dotted nav bar
dotted nav bar

Consumer Reviews of Decra shingles

Popularity:
#21  of 34 brands of shingles

50% of customers recommend
3 of 5 stars 14 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    7
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    0
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    0
  • Very Unsatisfied
    7

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Decra shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

12Next >>

Date created: 2014-07-08 Name: John Regan
Location: Lees Summit, Missouri

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Love my Shake XD metal roof"
Everything wonderful, wish I had done a metal roof years ago, don't worry about fires at 4th July, looks very rich, enhances house, great warranty, good people to deal with.


Date created: 2014-07-05 Name: W Fernihough
Location: Surrey, BC

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"My Decra Roof is 10 years old"
The roof was installed 10 years ago, and from what I could find out about Decra back then, they ran a reputable business. I contacted a well known dealer in the Vancouver Canada area and the roof was installed promptly without any problem. About five years later a minor problem developed with water going between two membranes into the built in eaves trough, but the contractor fixed that promptly and no known problems since. It does, like any roof, grow moss, but it I let the summer heat kill the moss, it seems to remove easily.


Date created: 2014-07-03 Name: K. Sar
Location: Rockford, IL

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Decra Shake XD profile"
My husband and I are thrilled with our decision to use the Decra Shake xd on our home. Neighbors actually thought we installed wood shakes until we explained it is stone coated metal. As with any building material, the install is key so make sure you hire someone who has read the instructions and / or has good installs under their belt! In the last 3 years, our roof has weathered many storms, several bouts of hail, heavy snows and high winds with no issues.


Date created: 2014-07-02 Name: Dan and Kathy Dundon
Location: Erie PA

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"DIY Installation"
We liked the appearance of Decra Shake xd. After seeing Shake xd no other metal shingles seemed as good... Quality wise nor appearance wise. Our 1950 ranch is 37 square... All hips and valleys, so installation was challenging, with all the cutting and fitting. We got much feed-back from passers-by during our 30 day installation (crew a couple of 62 year old retired folks with occasional outside assistance)... All remarks were positive and encouraging... Looks great... Best looking roof in town... Nice job etc. We are quite pleased with "the look" of our new roof!


Date created: 2014-06-23 Name: G. Creasey
Location: Evansville IN

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Homeowner"
My Decra roof was installed by a Decra authorized roofer. The roof leaked from beginning. The roofer could never stop the leaks. The Decra representative was an rude and arrogant and would say anything to weasel out on the responsibility of his company. After three years I finally had the Decra roof removed. This roof cost me more than twice what I paid for my old asphalt roof which lasted twenty years. The Decra roofing system is fraudulent and their sales pitch is misleading. Do not buy it! It is junk!


Date created: 2014-01-21 Name: stretch5881
Location: Central WI

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Excellent product"
As a test, we installed Decra Stone Coated Shingles on our garage. They are now 2 years old. The garage is heated in snow county and no leaks or granule problems. We put it on ourselves using mostly youtube for instructions. Went on like a dream. Now we will be putting the same product on our house this spring.


Date created: 2013-06-16 Name: gwen wilbert
Location: New Hampshire

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Love my roof"
We wanted a metal roof on our house but didn't want the snow to just fly off like a regular metal roof because of my small son plays outside in the winter. We decided to have a Decra roof installed because the snow melted vs sliding off. We love our roof. It doesn't leak, the snow doesn't fly off - when the sun comes out the snow melts quickly. It looks like shingles - it is beautiful. I would do it again in a second. In reading the reviews, you need to get an installer that knows what they are doing!


Date created: 2013-05-14 Name: James Sana
Location: Loves Park, IL

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Shake XD"
I have the Shake xd on my house and I am very pleased with its performance and design. I enjoy the compliments I receive on the roof also. After reading the scathing reviews on a product I own, I can only think that the contractor who slammed the product probably doesn't know how to install it (products overlap more than 2 inches). Just like any other building product, the product can only be as good as the install so hire a capable contractor that can read instructions and look at pictures of details! The instructions are clear, detailed and concise and all on the Decra website. Call the company with questions...I Found them helpful when installing the same product on a friend's cabin.


Date created: 2013-03-06 Name: D. Bridges
Location: East TX

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Contractors are just as crooked as Decra"
I had a Decra stone coated steel roof installed in 2005 by a contractor who obviously did not know how to install Decra roofing. We didn't notice a problem for a few months because we had no rain but when it did rain our back porch was leaking very badly. When we called the contractor, he sent someone out after a couple of months. The problem persisted. We called again and once again someone came out after a lengthy wait. Again, no resolution plus the man had an attitude towards me. So we attempted to call the contractor again and he stopped answering our calls and would not return any calls after leaving numerous messages. We sent photos of the wood which by this time had started to rot. He would not respond so I contacted the bbb only to be told by them that the contractor had fulfilled his obligation. I asked how that could be when I was still having a problem that was getting worse with each rainfall. Then it hit me...the contractor pays the bbb for membership so who's side did I expect them to be on??? Stupid me!! The original contractor evaded me long enough so that I could no longer take action against him! Clever, don't you think? Now I have to have the entire roof removed and redone. My new contractor told me that the Decra was installed incorrectly from the very beginning. The starter course was not the correct one to use with the Decra, the seams line up (they should have been staggered) and they never installed a ridge vent which I specifically requested them to do! If that weren't enough, when yo stand in a certain spot in my driveway you can see daylight under the caps on the hip portion of the roof! Lovely! Also the problematic porch was done in the Decra which was the wrong material due to the slope of the roof! Not up to code by any standards! Lots of things were done improperly here and I also had problems with Decra also when I tried contacting them for assistance. They refused to reply to the many messages I left. So, I am having the garbage taken off my roof and having an impact resistant composite roof installed that will get me a similar discount on my insurance. If another problem arises, the pieces that need replacing can be replaced, vice having the entire roof torn off to repair one area! I could write a book about this experience, but just be warned that the product is only as good as the installation. I'm sure Decra if done correctly is a great product, but I will never again consider or endorse it. Stay away from it if at all possible. You do have choices that are comparable to Decra in many ways and you should definitely research those choices prior to deciding on a Decra shingle roof system.


Date created: 2013-02-06 Name: Modernroofer
Location: Florida

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"DECRA sells a horrible product!"
Decra not only doesn't honor the warranty but Decra has the worst customer service and staff. Steer clear if you expect any follow up. They are an overpriced system especially for anyone that is not located near any of their warehouses (ex. California or Texas); for some reason even if you are closer to Texas, they will ship from California, not sure till this day how that makes any sense. The shipping costs are enormous and the demand is just not there. If you want any clarification around installation guidance or costs per square for materials, do not ask Decra employees as they are useless. They will not provide accurate information. I'm not quite sure how they are still in business. They are a small company that do not stand by their customers but even worse, they hire incompetent employees. Not worth the hassle or the costs of installing this system.

12Next >>
Find Local Roofers

My zip code is: