Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Dura-Loc shingles

Read 63 Dura-Loc Shingle reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#15   of 15 brands of shingles

1% of customers recommend
1 of 5 stars 63 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    0
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    1
  • Neutral
    1
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    60

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Dura-Loc shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

1234567Next >>

Date created: 2017-10-17 Name: Al
Location: Kalifornia

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Coating for Metal Shingles with Granuals Coming Off"
I've been looking for a solution for a while too. Ours is about 10 years old and the south facing shingles are looking bad. We are installing a pool and a solar heater. So we don't want the granules to collect on the pavers and in the pool. I've always been very careful to walk on it and I think they are in great shape. I'm also concerned with installing a $6,000 system on our roof. After doing some research I found a similar product by Decra. They show an acrylic layer, then a base coat, then the chips, then an acrylic over-glaze. Has anyone ever tried acrylic water-based elastomeric coatings or acrylic sealers like: XClear Hard Acrylic Clear Sealer? After online researching, contacting my roofer, and talking to many other roofers I decided to contact Decra who makes a very similar product. I asked to speak to an engineer and was transferred to Ken Sorensen who's title is Marketing Support Representative. He was very knowledgeable about the situation and said it's the acrylic coatings that fail to hold the granules. When they come off it takes off the top layers of paint. All of the base layers should still be in tack and continue to protect the metal for decades. It just looks horrible. He said every steel shingle manufacture struggles with this. The second thing they struggle with is how bad steel roofs are at transferring the heat to the attic. He said they have worked close with a coating manufacture with these issues. They have found a product called NXT Cool Zone developed exclusively by Nutech Paint. They are a proved company who has been coating roofs for over 40 years in Austrailia who has been doing these types of roofs for a long time. The NXT Cool Zone is a reflective coating system that includes a lower pressure cleaning to get rid of dirt, dust, loose material, bacteria, and mold. It also includes a primer coating and two coatings of the NXT Cool Zone. You can add granules into the primer to help add the to the 3D look. They offer a 12 year warranty. Ken gave me the phone number to the distributor in Southern California: http://nutechpaintsca.com/ info@nutechpaintsca.com (714)860-8195-Nick There are a couple of certified installers in Florida and in Arizona that I found. After calling Nick he quoted me $5,300 to complete my roof which is approximately 2,600 sqft. I decided to go with him and am very happy. During the install we agreed that most customers move before the 12 year warranty is up but he said if you plan on living in the house long term consider coating your roof every 10-15 years like to do when you paint your house. It's just coming into winter so I can't tell how well it works at keeping my house cool.


Date created: 2017-04-11 Name: Bennett on the River
Location: Ohio
Model: Continental Terra Cotta

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Massive loss of granules"
We installed about 46 squares of this Dura Loc in the Continental profile with a Terra Cotta color in 2002. We can confirm that the material we have installed has a steel core which was dipped in galvalume, then coated both sides with Kynar. These treatments were done while the steel was still in its coil (flat) form. It was then bent to shape after which time they sprayed a clear acrylic layer on each tile and embedded the granules. When new it look great. We had problems initially with the installer and when I tried to engage Dura Loc at the time (2002) for technical assistance I ran into the now infamous Alan Reid as well as a fast talker named Frank Underhill. We knew then that we would be on our own and that the Dura Loc company was a worthless piece of .... We then rode the installer like crazy to make sure everything was fastened and sealed and then we crossed our fingers. We were fine until about 2012 when the granules began to come off. Now, on the southern exposure where we get heavy sun we found accumulated granules almost 3" deep in the gutters. So we are in the same boat as the others on this blog. Now in 2017 we have many areas where the underlying base paint (Kynar) is exposed. It is Terra Cotta also so unless you know what you are looking for you might walk right past it. There are a few areas where workers have walked the roof and scratched the Kynar which exposes the galvalum. Not galvanized, Galvalum. Here is a link to help you understand what Galvalum is as opposed to plain galvanized... When we find damage we have the worker touch it up with cold zinc spray and dab it with an acrylic latex house paint in a color closely matching the Kynar base coat. Knowing we are screwed, and there is no relief from these scumbags, our plan is to maintain the roof as long as we can before re-coating it. When we have to re-coat this roof we will have it power washed (1,000-1,200 PSI max). We will then have a painter spray an appropriately colored acrylic latex base coat; and while it is wet we will have him broadcast 3M ceramic granules into it. These granules are called "color quartz" and have been used for years in epoxy floors with success. We believe it will be necessary to lock the granules in and we are looking into a clear acrylic spray that we can use for this purpose. (top coat) Our plan is to do a mockup first to determine if the system will perform optimally as explained or whether we need to tweak the procedures. We believe the trick will be to do the base coat application while the roof is cool and in the shade so that there will be enough time to broadcast the granules into a wet base coat. Obviously if it dries the granules will not adhere. If we can find a way to spray the granules wet in an acrylic slurry (hopper gun) we may have an alternate scenario that will also work. No matter what we do, this will be expensive. It is an experiment that we should never have had to do and the only satisfaction to come from this is that if and when we are able to document a remedial plan that we can share it with others in the hope it will help their situation.


Date created: 2016-10-26 Name: Scott King
Location: Palm City, FL

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Solution for Dura-Loc granular fall off"
I have gone through the almost entire complete loss of losing the granulars on my Blue wood shake style Dura-Loc roof. After two years of looking for a solution, I am having my fix completed in the next two days. It looks good and I have the first commercial contractor who has experience with applying the solution (to my residential home). I know all your frustrations having looked for a solution for the last three years (I.E. the Bankruptcy, lack of solutions provided for a fix by the installers, manufacturer that bought the assets out of bankruptcy, etc.)



Date created: 2016-06-22 Name: Duke
Location: Westminster, CA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Dura Loc Warranty"
I also have same problem as everyone here with Dura Loc metal tile roofing keep loosing granule and showing black mold. I had contacted them by mail and email then they asking me for roof inspection fees for their warranty which is ridiculous when they are at fault. I turn to Western roofing in Anaheim, California who was sold and installed my roof, they told me Dura Loc is out of business and not honor their original 50 years warranty so ask me to reroof cost 30k. I am looking into class action against Dura Loc and hope anyone know could help to add me to their class action case. We been cheated by Canadian/US companies


Date created: 2016-04-19 Name: Donna M Zynel
Location: Bonita Springs

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Scam Artist"
Original quote on roof was $8500.00 When they finally got out there, their field manager called me to let me know all of the Insulation was damaged. I signed their form to replace the Existing Insulation. (They only replaced a portion of the insulation) They tore off the Soffit and left it on the ground, when I called them about it, they said a tornado tore it off! My roof bill was $15,000.00 as opposed to their original quote,& I signed their agreement (no final price on it) for the insulation. Stay away, they are as dishonest, & prey on older single woman


Date created: 2015-07-10 Name: John Lorden
Location: Punta Gorda, FL

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Shedding roof"
Determined roof (Dura-Loc) has been shedding granules for sometime. Only in past 18 mos has roof developed dark areas of mold and in getting someone to wash roof found the problem of shedded granules, maybe 2 inches in the rain gutters. So far installer wont return calls. Many of these metal granular roofs (hundreds) were installed in this area following hurricane Charlie in 2004. It sounds from the reports I've read that getting someone to stand up to the warranty may be very difficult. Does anyone have any possible remedy?


Date created: 2015-05-27 Name: B. Morris
Location: oklahoma city, OK
Model: Metal Brown

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Duraloc Fiasco"
Well I did say I would try to keep people posted on the fiasco involving R. Allan Reid, president 604471 Ontario, Inc. And the Duraloc fraudulent product he has sold to Canadian and American consumers. On March 6, 2015, I contacted the Ontario Ministry of the Attorney General (MAG )and was in short told to seek a lawyer. Anyone seeking this correspondence feel free to contact me and I will be happy to provide it. Keep in mind, galvanized metal should not rust. My whole roof has basically turned a rust color. It was also presented to me that (Allan Reid) was instructed by 3M (makers of the granules) to use a UV protectant additive to the resin in order to prevent the breakdown. Bottom line I would not purchase another roof from any company associated with this product period! The representatives of Duraloc have on numerous occasions proved they cannot and will not honor the warranties on their product to a large number of us consumers!


Date created: 2015-03-06 Name: Brook Morris
Location: bamtamok@hotmail.com

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Dura-Loc Part 3"
I posted another review back on 2010-06-04, titled; "Maybe this is how they do business in Canada--DuraLoc". I went to Afghanistan for an extended time and are back and ready for a fight on this. I posted another earlier today and would also like to post this one with a question and a statement. 1. Has anyone contacted the Ministry of the Attorney General in Toronto, Ontario? If not I sent a request today directly to the minister asking how we submit a complaint against an Ontario based company for duping many, many people in the U.S. and Canada out of their monies. The contact information is as follows: E-mail at attorneygeneral@ontario.ca Mailing address: Ministry of the Attorney General McMurtry-Scott Building 720 Bay Street, 11th Floor Toronto, ON M7A 2S9 Telephone toll free: 1-800-518-7901 Fax: 416-326-4007 2. Maybe if we all flood the Ministers office, who knows we may get something. My email is: bamtamok@hotmail.com


Date created: 2015-03-06 Name: B. Morris
Location: Oklahoma City

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Lost aggregate, looks rusty red, warranty not honored."
I bought these 42 squares of Dura-Loc roof with the intentions of probably buying the best for the rest of my life. I would personally like to have a face to face come to Jesus meeting with this DuraLoc president, Al Reid. The roof is 10 years old and installed by a licensed Dura-Loc approved installer. It has lost much of its aggregate and looks a rusty red – primer color. It had a 50 year transferable performance warranty and a 25 year appearance warranty, Class 4 impact rating, highest uv rating (which is bs), but Dura-Loc is unwilling to honor anything associated with its warranty per email correspondence with Mr. Al Ried. So, after almost a year and half in Afghanistan I did a little online research. By all the research I could do, it seems Dura-Loc is now Gerard Roofing Technologies, aka Allmet. Is there anyone who can also verify this? It's amazing to me that we can't do something in the legal realm to track this him down and through the international trade laws hold him responsible. I paid over 26,000 dollars for this roof after the May 3d, 1999 tornado in Oklahoma City (actually two years later) when I lost everything and moved into a house 1-mile south of my house that we lost with all contents. Once they condemned the roof on this house the wife and I met with 5 different roofing dealers. I elected to go with this roof and would like nothing more than a new metal roof put on this house and to be candid it doesn’t have to be a Dura-Loc. I have also talked via email to Todd Miller, President Classic Products Inc 800-543-8938 ext 201 www.classicroof.com www.kasselandirons.com He did at least talk with me via email and was sympathetic to the situation, but his hands were tied as to what he can do. Sorry folks, if I sound extremely angry, you are correct! I have spent over 35 years now serving this country saving and scrapping along to get something that would benefit my family for a very long time. I have been deployed into hell several times over working my ass off to only make a better life for my children and grand kids and now have a $30,000 price tag hanging over our heads. As for you Mr. Al Ried, I truly believe that karma is a biter. You’re going to be faced one day with answering for the deception you have placed on us all. It may not be here on earth, but you will answer maybe not to us, but to your maker. I have wondered if you can honestly lay your head on the pillow at night and can sleep well knowing how you taken people for ride with your deception. If anyone can help point me and others in the right direction, I would appreciate it. I do have photos I can send and I was very fortunate as to gain the manufacturers manual with all spec's in it. Apparently there were two of them packed in the two pallets so the installer let me keep one and he kept one.


Date created: 2015-01-30 Name: Michael M.
Location: San Jose, CA.
Model: Metal Shingle - Looks Like Shake

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Dura-Loc problem - Gerard Metal Roof a solution"
I too bought Dura-Loc with the intention of buying the best. My roof is suffering from the same problems as reported. However, Gerard metal roofing materials manufactured by Headwater look to be a reliable replacement solution. Headwater purchased USA Metals, who purchased Dura-loc. Has anyone worked with Headwater to reach a agreement, or replaced with Gerard materials? Class action lawsuits may address the issue financially, but working to an agreement where the integrity of your roof is sound should be our ultimate goal.

1234567Next >>