Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Dura-Loc shingles

Read 62 Dura-Loc Shingle reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#15   of 15 brands of shingles

1% of customers recommend
1 of 5 stars 62 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    0
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    1
  • Neutral
    1
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    59

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Dura-Loc shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous1234567Next >>

Date created: 2011-05-12 Name: Smith
Location: Kingston

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Check your eavestrophes for stone aggregate"
My eavestrophes are full of disintegrated acrylic coating, and very fine stone aggregate. This is in spite of having very expensive metal gutter guards, with small holes covering the eavestrophing. Since this is heavy it can damage and bend the eavestrophing, as well as causing blockage. I will have to pay to have all this removed. Damage like this should be included in a lawsuit.


Date created: 2011-05-12 Name: Rick Barlow
Location: Guelph, Ontario

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worst metal shingles made"
Another consumer who is angry as hell. We had this roof installed 4 1/2 years ago and now the grit is really coming off. We live up here in Canada and were told it was well tested for this climate. Hey Jimmy, have you done anything further and what is your situation now? I always said a warranty is only as good as the paper it is written on. This is nothing but fraud.


Date created: 2011-05-10 Name: N. Kirenko
Location: Chatham, ON Canada

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"complete garbage"
I have the same issue. My roof started shedding after 4 years. After this past winter, most of the ag has disappeard. Looks like shit. Would love to join a class action lawsuit here in Canada!!! Please, someone with knowledge on doing that, please lets us know how we can help.



Date created: 2011-05-04 Name: Cathy B.
Location: Santa Clarita, CA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"They lied about a 'lifetime' warranty"
Our DuraLoc roof was installed in 1998 and has lost most of it's aggregate coating. We notice a great deal of granules on the ground after a rainfall. I'm not talking about a few granules here....we're sweeping up about a 1/2 bucketful each rainfall. Most of the roof is down to just red metal now. This is the shoddiest roofing product around and involves the shadiest business practices. It is outright deception to the consumer. We could have bought a cheap ashphalt roof--we regret we didn't. We contacted 604471 Ontario Limited a few years ago and they sent someone out to our house to inspect the roof. This was their response after the inspection: "Further to our inspection, there is no doubt the roof has experienced some coating trauma of nature. Please note that this is an aesthetic issue only and that the roof will continue to perform keeping the elements out and meeting its life expectancy." Can you believe this??? They basically said that yes, the roof has a problem with the coating on it but although it looks like crap, be happy, 'cuz that ugly roof of yours will keep the rain out. How inspiring. Their offer? To clean the roof, spray paint it and then seal it w/ an acrylic coat. But if you read the 'lifetime'warranty,you received when you purchased the roof, it says that any coating applied to the roof will null and void the warranty. Of course, it doesn't really make a diff since there really isn't any viable'lifetime warranty' anyways. PLEASE, count us in on a class-action suit if there are any gutsy (good) lawyers out there willing to take this on.


Date created: 2011-04-20 Name: J Lowy
Location: Sacramento, CA.

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Same Here"
I just purchased a home last year with a Duraloc system intstalled and have the same problems with my roof as everyone else. Here is the kicker to the situation after going through the previous owners files on the roof replacement. The roof was originally installed in 2001, after a year of fighting with Duraloc in 2007, finally duraloc came out and put a new roof on on 2008, now here we are in 2011 and the same problems are occuring with the new roof. If there is a class action suit count me in. This stuff is junk.


Date created: 2011-04-05 Name: L. Silver
Location: Ontario, Canada

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
" How can I contact others here regarding class action suit ?"
My dura lock roof has failed after 7 years. I just noticed the same problems described in other posts -- large brown patches, which appear to be primer. The aggregate is gone. My roof was installed properly, but I am very worried that without the stone coating it may not be water proof, and do damage to my home interior even before I can get a lawsuit underway. I am in Ontario Canada. How can I contact some of you ? You might be able to join a class action suit in Canada. I am not sure -- just starting on this.


Date created: 2011-04-04 Name: Smith
Location: Ontario Canada

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"terrible experience with Duraloc ( aka Allmet) in Ontario"
I am living the Duraloc nightmare. My beautiful roof was installed in 2004. It was this spring, 2011 that I first noticed rusty brown patches on the south side. My house and garage are large, so it was a 35,000 job. My installer did a good job. He had a very highly skilled team. He tells me that I am the second one in this area. He did about 50 others after me, so I expect them all to start to fail soon. I don't know if we can organize a class action suit, but it would be a good idea. At least my roof does not leak, but it is looking terrible. So far it is just one section about 20 ft. sq. but I dread the rest of the roof going too, and that seems inevitable. I assume it lets go all over. Has anyone had the damage restricted to one area ? I was hoping it might be a few defective tiles, but it seems from reading the other posts, the whole roof looses its aggregate. I could afford to replace a few, but not the whole roof. Is Allmet making a better tile now ? The problem seems to be what Al Reid did, but I am not sure. It is probably best to start out with a litigation lawyer. By the sounds of it the shell company is quite non-responsive. Hopefully a lawyer will get his attention, but it still looks like a nightmare. I would be glad to join a class action suit, and I think this situation really calls for one.


Date created: 2011-04-02 Name: Smith
Location: Ontario

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
" Is there a class action suit against duraloc, now Allmet"
I have all of the above problems with the brown primer being exposed, and looking terrible. Is there a class action suit I can join. I have a an appointment with my lawyer soon, and live in Ontario, Canada.


Date created: 2011-04-02 Name: Robert O'Flynn
Location: Ft Myers, FL
Model: 1,700,000

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Condo Assoc President"
We replaced concrete tiles on 62 houses with duraloc stone coated metal roofs 5 years ago. The granules are now washing off. The company has been sold and their successor seems to have no responsibility to honor the warranty, Has anyone found a reasonable way to recoat the roofs. Is any legal action underway?


Date created: 2011-04-02 Name: Smith
Location: Ontario

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
" Worried sick about my defective stone coated duraloc, now Allmet roof"
I am in the same boat as the other contributors to this site. My 7 yr. old $35,000 duraloc ( sold to Allmet Roofing Co. ) has a large area turning brown on my green roof. It was installed very well. It is the roofing material that is the problem. The company is not being helpful, and is trying to say it is something "environmental" that caused the primer to show through and look like rust. It is on the south side, and I read online that the sun breakes down the acrylic covering they use, so it starts on that side. I have contacted a lawyer, but a lawsuit will be expensive. Is there a class action lawsuit I can join ? I live in Ontario, Canada. I am very sorry about all the stress and worry everyone is having dealing with this company who does not want to honour a 50 yr. warranty. Is there a solution ? Can another acrylic coating be applied to correct the problem ?

<< Previous1234567Next >>