Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Dura-Loc shingles

Read 63 Dura-Loc Shingle reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#15   of 15 brands of shingles

1% of customers recommend
1 of 5 stars 63 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    0
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    1
  • Neutral
    1
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    60

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Dura-Loc shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous1234567Next >>

Date created: 2011-04-02 Name: Smith
Location: Ontario

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
" Worried sick about my defective stone coated duraloc, now Allmet roof"
I am in the same boat as the other contributors to this site. My 7 yr. old $35,000 duraloc ( sold to Allmet Roofing Co. ) has a large area turning brown on my green roof. It was installed very well. It is the roofing material that is the problem. The company is not being helpful, and is trying to say it is something "environmental" that caused the primer to show through and look like rust. It is on the south side, and I read online that the sun breakes down the acrylic covering they use, so it starts on that side. I have contacted a lawyer, but a lawsuit will be expensive. Is there a class action lawsuit I can join ? I live in Ontario, Canada. I am very sorry about all the stress and worry everyone is having dealing with this company who does not want to honour a 50 yr. warranty. Is there a solution ? Can another acrylic coating be applied to correct the problem ?


Date created: 2011-03-28 Name: R. Stephenson
Location: Independence, KS

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Do not buy!"
Had the Dura-Loc shingles installed in 2001. Parts of the roof have lost all granules and primer is exposed. Gutters have literally filled up with the granules. Not sure how to proceed with the warranty, but from the other posts it is probably a waste of time.


Date created: 2011-03-27 Name: S. Schwartz
Location: Sacramento, CA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Same as the rest"
Add me to the list for a class action suit. Pretty much the same story, except we actually got them to pay for a partial recoat that I was told would lock in the rest of the granules. A year later my roof is even worse. 100's of sf of bare tile.



Date created: 2011-03-05 Name: Samantha
Location: Orange County, CA: s_ctu@yahoo.com

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Dura-Loc"
I live in an townhouse community of 300+ units and about 7+ years ago we replaced our roofing with DuraLoc. There are units that experience higher granule losses than others due to their locations. We are currently working with an attorney and roofing inspector to evaluate what would be the best route to take to address the problem. If you are planning on some kind of class action lawsuit, please contact me for further discussion.


Date created: 2011-02-21 Name: Dianne Price
Location: Denham Springs, Louisiana 70726

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Richard & Dianne Price, Denham Springs, LA"
I once had a beautiful Dura-Loc roof installed in 2001 by a Dura Loc factory certified installer. In 2009, the factory certified installer was adding a new vent pipe onto my house and noticed that most all the granular flakes had disappeared, this is when i contacted Dura-Loc roofing Systems. I was told to contact the new company that had bought out Dura-Loc whcih was 604471 Ontario, Inc., P.O. Box 287, Courtland, ON - Canada NOJ 1E0, after approxiamtely 1 year + or -, a representative came to my house, in return i was sent a letter that the flakes were falling off due to workmanship, again the roof was installed by a certified factory installer by Dura-Loc. and inspected by two factory representatives after completion of the roof and accepted at which time my 50 year warranty was given me. I have cups of granular that have washed off my roof. If i could get the names and addresses of the other customers who bought this same roofing system with a 50 year warranty, i would like to file a class action lawsuite against the roofing company that sold the roof and the company they sold it to as a attachement to the suit. I recommend DO NOT BY A Roofing system from any company representating DURA-LOC Roofing. The warranty is only as good as the company/person issuing the warranty. If you are thinking about buying this type roof, e-mail me and i will send you pictures. DIANNE PRICE


Date created: 2010-11-01 Name: M shapiro
Location: Glendale AZ

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"This product is pure junk!"
I echo all the negative reviews from others. I even had my lawyer contact Dura-Loc as they had no intention of honoring their warranty....All they do is blame the installer or even the wholesaler for improperly storing the product and thus the product failed!!! Oh, they did send me a small baggie of granules and a tube of caulk! That was their warranty coverage! I sent them a defective shingle and tons of photos...not a single reply! I could have installed 3 high end asphalt shingle roofs for the price I paid for this junk! My granules failed within the first year and I live in ARIZONA!!!! The shingles are bent, rusted, coming up, and look simply dreadful. The sun has destroyed whatever protective coating they claim to have. Run far away from this company as fast as you can. If a roofer suggests this product go find another roofer! You have been Warned!


Date created: 2010-08-29 Name: Jimmy Smith
Location: Orange County, CA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Product failure"
I have the same granule loss as others have stated. I found this while looking for answers: "Hello ,I have seen memo sent to Dura-Loc roofing from 3m ,they are the folks that Dura-Loc bought the stone from that covers the Metal Panels,in the memo they told Dura-Loc that this type of stone was not approved for Metal Roofing and was only approved for covering Composition Roofing and Swimming Pools.The stone used is what they call TRANSLUCITE and lets the sun come through the stone and bakes it right off the METAL PANELS because it seperates it from the epoxy on the panels and then you are left with a brown or black paint or primer showing.I would try to contact 3m and see if you can get a copy of this memo.The product is only as good as it's warranty and beleive me the other products that are stone coated stand behind thier warranties,as far as you tearing off your roof it is not needed you can pressure wash it and use a good elasticmaric paint and give it what ever color you want.Good Luck" It was posted on a roofing experts forum and explains a lot. I am working on getting a copy of this memo.


Date created: 2010-06-28 Name: G. V. Stude
Location: Sandy, UT

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Dura-Loc (now AllMet) Product Fraud-B. Madoff isn't the only criminal ripping off the public!"
I too have the stand unacceptable performance experience from the Dura-Loc metal shake shingle finish. After 9 years, my blue-white roof is now mostly red (primer). The installer (Warburtons of Provo) is still in business but "really can't do anything short of paying for an entirely new roof". Dura-Loc folded into AllMet, who refuses to honor the Fraud of a 50 year written warrantee for this now defunct shingle finish. B. Madoff isn't the only criminal ripping off the public!


Date created: 2010-06-04 Name: Brook Morris
Location: Oklahoma City, OK

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Maybe this is how they do business in Canada--DURALOC"
I can tell you folks this company is a shame, and I mean its products don't stand up to even a 10 year capability! I had a nice brown metal panel roof put on and the granules have come off the metal is rusting. I have more granules in my driveway then I do on my roof! Anyone who doubts what I have alleged, please contact me and I will give you pictures of before and now! This company?s customer service is nothing more than a bureaucratic bunch of crap. I challenge DURALOC to come to my residence and take a look face to face with me and lets see if they still think it is 50 year product! The problem is this folks, those of us who dared to allow a company from Canada to provide us a product seems to think they have us all over a barrel. I plan on contacting my attorney generals office in Oklahoma and the US Attorney General to see what they can do. If there is a DURALOC representative in this part of the US please feel free to contact me at bamtamok@hotmail.com. Yes I am giving my email out by my own free will. Brook Morris


Date created: 2010-05-21 Name: Laurel Johnson
Location: Union City, CA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"granules coming off tiles turning brown or rust"
Beware as others have said granules coming off tiles and tiles are rusting, so much for a 50 year warrantee. Have see alot of other unsatisfied customers of Dura-loc, hey maybe we should get a lawyer and file a class action suit

<< Previous1234567Next >>