Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

dotted nav bar
dotted nav bar

Consumer Reviews of Elk shingles

Popularity:
#16  of 34 brands of shingles

50% of customers recommend
3 of 5 stars 14 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    6
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    1
  • Neutral
    1
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    5

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Elk shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

12Next >>

Date created: 2014-08-31 Name: Neal Z
Location: Houston Tx Area
Model: Mid-High Grade Shake

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"Elk Shingles at 18 years Gulf Coast weather"
My Elk shingle review at 18 years. I bought a fixer-upper in 1996. Houston Area. Gulf Coast weather is hot and often wet. The front of the house faces north. The back faces south. A local teacher was doing roofing during his summer break. He had high school kids working for him. He was nice enough and gave me a decent price. He recommended Elk brand which is now GAF / Timberline. I bought a mid-upper range shingle with shadows that looks like grey shakes. 30 year warranty. The shingles lost a lot of grain/gravel for the first 5-10 years. This sloughing tapered off somewhat as I approached the 10 year mark. We lost some fencing around the house in 2005 with Hurricane Katrina. Then came Hurricane Ike in 2008.(12 year roof) I lost quite a few shingles but what I noticed was that the contractor did not remove the cellophane from the sealing/tar strip on the back of most of the shingles. Shingles blowing off came from a poor install job! I will watch the next roofing crew carefully!! I have had many roof leaks from 12 to the 18 year mark on the back (South) side of my house. I caulked most of them up but I must now get at least half of the roof replaced. The shingles themselves are in Okay shape. They don't look ratty yet. There has been some streaking and darkening. They never sealed. I don't know if this was due to bad installation but the tabs never sealed. I must replace the back half of my roof. The front half looks Okay but does not leak. I am going with white on the south side because the energy savings will be significant and my attic temp will be about 10 degrees warmer than outside, not 50 degrees warmer than outside! I measured. The energy savings could be more than 100 per month. I will probably have to re-do the north side in a few years. It is a wait and see game. I keep and eye on the roof and attic wood. I am looking at Owens Corning mid-high grade for my next batch of shingles and you can bet I will watch the contractors like a hawk when the put the roof down! I am going to the local library and checking back issues of Consumer Reports to see what the long lasting shingles are! I appreciate the reviews written by Professional Roofers. Bottom line: I am getting 18 years out of a 30 year shingle with a lot of leaks and caulking on the back side of my house. 2.5 Stars. The front side looks okay with no leaks that I can see. No curling or ragged shingles yet. I am told that the front side will need replacing in the next few years. 3 Stars. I certainly could do worse as there are some bad shingles out there. I am trying to find better quality and get 30 years or better out of my next roof. I wonder if 30 years is possible with Gulf Coast weather.


Date created: 2014-01-24 Name: M. McCoy
Location: Minden, Nevada

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Prestige"
I had my Elk 50 year roof installed in the dead of winter 2004. I was advised by my roofer that there may be a problem with the adhesive sticking since the temperatures were below freezing and there was alot of snow. My roof has performed exceedingly well. I am in the process of having another 50 year Elk roof installed since I had an attic fire, had I not had a new roof installed and the old wooden shingles removed my entire house could have been lost. I love you Elk Brand Roofing!


Date created: 2013-09-13 Name: Herb Sullins
Location: Houston Texas

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Still look brand new"
We had elk shingles put on eight years ago and they still look brand new and have not faded.


Date created: 2013-05-15 Name: J. DENNISON
Location: arcadia, mo

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"DON'T BUY GAF-ELK SHINGLES"
We had elk shingles installed in may of 2007 on a mansard roof by a very experienced roofer that has worked for us for 20 years. As soon as they were installed, they started falling off. We contacted gaf and got 4 or 5 excuses as to why they were comming off. The shingles never did seal. They split and the bottom half of the shingle fell off leaving the tab still attached. We will never buy gaf shingles again nor will our and other roofer in our area install gaf shingles. Their company is one of the worst companies for warranties. Being senior citizens, having to replce a roof is quite expensive, we brought 30 year shingles thinking they would last. Beware of gaf and anyone associated with them.


Date created: 2012-08-01 Location: McMinnville, OR
Model: Timberline (50 Yr. fiberglass/co

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"The shingles on my roof are great"
My shingles are a 50 yr fiberglass/comp shingle. We recently put on an addition, so the roof is of two ages. The existing house was re-roofed 6 years ago. The addition was built two summers ago. We were able to match the Brand, style and color (phew!). The older shingles were from the Elk Corp., just before it was purchased by GAF. The new ones are GAF. The new and old are a perfect match. These are thick, heavy, stable shingles. They are nicely patterned to resemble "real" shingles. The thicker shingle, and the pattern in it look much better than a plain flat shingle. They look good. I thought the 50 year shingles were very reasonably priced when compared to a 20 or 30 year shingle. As I recall, only 5% more than the 30 year. We have had NO issues, period. We haven't had any Extreme wind (for here). I think the highest wind gusts were about 85mph. A couple storms a year with gusts 50-60 are normal. Everything stayed nice and tight. (unlike my neighbor's garage, who bought "cheap" ones) Summer - no problems. Snow - no problems. Rain - lots of rain, wind & rain, no problems. Ice / silver thaw - no problems. No curling, no loose edges, none have blown away. Would I buy them again? Yes! I already did. I would recommend them highly. If I ever build again, I would look at these first. I expect to be dead, buried and forgotten before there are any issues with this roofing!


Need a Roofing Contractor?

Find a Local Roofing Pro with this Free Service

* Replace or Repair Existing Roof
* Roof Maintenance and Pressure Cleaning
* Leak Detection, Waterproofing, and more

Date created: 2011-12-24 Name: B. Borer
Location: Hampstead, NC

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"Ilk /GAF shingles"
The Ilk/GAF shingle I had installed did not hold up to expectations. The guarantee was for 25 years. After 15 years they began to crumple, curl, crack and loose granules. Three roofers told me I need a new roof. I filed a claim with Ilk/GAF, paid $150.00 to a roofer to remove two shingles to send back to them for evaluation to support my claim. My claim was denied. Here I am again, 5 years later, having a new roof installed because of the same reasons. Gaf took over ilk so I filed my claim with them. Had to send tow shingles again but the shingles couldn't be taken off the roof in one piece. They crumbled when we touched them so I had to send pieces of the shingle. Another $150.00 spent. Plus postage. Waiting for outcome. Told by experienced roofer, don't get my hopes up, he has never heard of anyone filing a claim with gaf who won his case.


Date created: 2011-12-03 Name: R. Walter
Location: Seneca, S.C.

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Will not honor warranty"
Shingles are 10 years old, I have had shingles blowing off for 5 years. The tabs were not sealing. It is only happening to one part of the roof. The rest of the shingles are fine. I have had 3 roofers inspect the roof and they said the shingles were not sealing. I sent samples to Elk two time. On both occasions they said installation problems. It is funny the whole roof was installed by the same roofer but had a bad installation on one part of the roof. Elk will not honor their warranty. Will never have elk again.


Date created: 2011-10-24 Name: Sherril Stringfellow
Location: Nassau Bay, Texas
Model: Elk Prestique II

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"ELK Prestique II"
51 squares of Elk Prestique II were installed on my roof. The granules immediated began coming off. My roof now is very shiny, with very little granules. The claim was immediately denied by GAF, who says my shingles were made by Owens Corning. Their lab says they were unable to identify the manufacturer, but the receptionist Stacy Perl and her "supervisor" Linda B. say they were from Owens Corning! Passing the buck, no help, no warranty, no service. Beware of GAF and their warranty. The claims are immediately denied on all first attempts as their apparent policy.


Date created: 2011-05-01 Location: Somerset, Ky
Model: 0481258

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"Roofing isn't easy"
I have lived at the same location for the past 10 plus years. I had never had a roofing problem until 2 years ago when i had a tree limb snap out of a tree in the back yard during a powerful storm and do alot of damage to my roof. Tearing up 2 bedrooms, and a bathrooms roof. After replacing most of the framing the next step was to replace all of the broken and damaged shingles. So i did a lot of research online and found out a bunch of interesting things about shingles i had never known. After learning about all of these different types and brands of shingles it was a hard decision to make but i finally went with the brand name elk shingles. The best bang for your buck in my opinion. Good quality and also comes with a warranty, you can also pay extra for the longer warranties. In my opinion Elk is the way to go if you can afford it. Not had a single problem since. Not to bad for my first roofing project i'd say.


Date created: 2011-02-06 Location: Pittsburgh, PA

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"The wind is blowing, but my roofing is staying put."
Where I live the wind is very strong on top the hill. So having a strong roofing foundation is always good. The shingles that are on the house are about 2.5 years old and never had I have to replace one. With heavy winds and strong rains never has the roof leaked or a shingle blow off. The color is amazing and nothing as of right now would I say that i dislike about my shingles. If I ever needed to replace my roof or a grouping of shingles I would 100% go with ELK again.

12Next >>
Find Local Roofers

My zip code is: