Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Elk shingles

Elk Logo
Popularity:
#4  of 15 brands of shingles

43% of customers recommend
3 of 5 stars 16 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    6
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    1
  • Neutral
    2
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    6

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Elk shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous12

Date created: 2011-05-01 Location: Somerset, Ky
Model: 0481258

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"Roofing isn't easy"
I have lived at the same location for the past 10 plus years. I had never had a roofing problem until 2 years ago when i had a tree limb snap out of a tree in the back yard during a powerful storm and do alot of damage to my roof. Tearing up 2 bedrooms, and a bathrooms roof. After replacing most of the framing the next step was to replace all of the broken and damaged shingles. So i did a lot of research online and found out a bunch of interesting things about shingles i had never known. After learning about all of these different types and brands of shingles it was a hard decision to make but i finally went with the brand name elk shingles. The best bang for your buck in my opinion. Good quality and also comes with a warranty, you can also pay extra for the longer warranties. In my opinion Elk is the way to go if you can afford it. Not had a single problem since. Not to bad for my first roofing project i'd say.


Date created: 2011-02-06 Location: Pittsburgh, PA

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"The wind is blowing, but my roofing is staying put."
Where I live the wind is very strong on top the hill. So having a strong roofing foundation is always good. The shingles that are on the house are about 2.5 years old and never had I have to replace one. With heavy winds and strong rains never has the roof leaked or a shingle blow off. The color is amazing and nothing as of right now would I say that i dislike about my shingles. If I ever needed to replace my roof or a grouping of shingles I would 100% go with ELK again.


Date created: 2011-01-23 Location: Torrington, Wy

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"30 years and going!"
The shingles we have used have been up there for the past 30 years. The house itself is nearly 70 years old and we've yet to have even the most minor leaks. I am not a carpenter but I do know that shingles normally last 20 years maximum. The mileage of these shingles is nothing short of amazing. Eventually I may have to re-shingle the house and even if I pay somebody to do it, I'll provide the shingles and it will be Elk brand if I can find them in the area. To be honest, I barely even remember their color and only remind myself when I clean out the gutters every fall. Not a single one has fallen down that I've seen. Two years ago I helped a friend work on their roof and they ended up bugging me until I figured out what brand mine were. As I've had no problems, I have no real complaints.



Date created: 2011-01-21 Location: Susanville, CA

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Elk shingles are the best"
I had Elk brand shingles put on my house 3 years ago. The shingles are very tough and sturdy. They are rated for 30 years and i believe they will probaly last longer than that. I am a former roofer so I know a little about a good product. I like that the tar strip on the bottom actually works like it is supposed to. If i had one complaint about the product it would be the price, but that could be the store I got them from. I have had no repairs as of yet, and I have been on the roof just to check it out. I would definently recommend them to a friend for the fact that they last and are very easy to maintain and repair if ever needed. On a scale from 1-10 I would rate them a 9. They are only second best to a higher quality Elk shingle.


Date created: 2010-06-10 Name: ROBERT F .MINOTT
Location: MIAMI FL.

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"very poor products"
Elk ASPHALT SHINGLES IS OF EXTREME POOR QUALITY. THE SHINGLES ARE BRITTLE AND DISCOLORED AFTER 4 YEARS. ELK CUSTOMER SERVICE IS INSULTINGLY INEPT. 40 YEAR WARRENTIED SHINLES WAS NOT HONORED BY ELK.


Date created: 2010-04-05 Name: Mary T. Davis
Location: Irving, TX

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"90% aspahlt loss on 30 year roof that is 16 years old"
I recently had my insurance ajduster inspect my roof and they indicated I have 90% granular loss on my shingles due to faulty product. I contacted GAF (they purchased Elk) today and as I am the second home owner they are denying any claim. So I am left with a roof that will leak and looks awful. I would never recommend utilizing GAF or Elk shingle.

<< Previous12