Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of GAF shingles

GAF Logo
Popularity:
#6  of 15 brands of shingles

47% of customers recommend
3 of 5 stars 74 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    31
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    4
  • Neutral
    3
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    35

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about GAF shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

12345678Next >>

Date created: 2017-03-12 Name: Thompson
Location: Buyrlington ON
Model: Royal

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Nothing but problems"
They looked nice for about a year. (25 year shingles)Then after a windy day, most every shingle was standing straight up. Roofer came back and said glue was defective and glued them all down. This happened several times. The installer said not to bother going after Shingle manufacturer. They would blame everything from climate change to changing wind directions to number of vents (which they suggested) and would get out of replacing shingles. Finally they stayed down for a few more years. This year, they were all up again (16 years). We have chosen to replace our roof 10 years earlier than expected with a different shingle and different installer.


Date created: 2017-02-22 Name: Homayoun Moshiri
Location: Overland Park

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Bad batch was installed on my home they won't honor warranty"
Don't buy from them. I bought a new roof for my home 15 years ago, it had 30 years warranty, so said the roofer who installed it. He didn't tell me anything about transferring the warranty nor gave me any paper work on it, shortly thereafter I sold the house to my daughter and now she found out the material was faulty and per same roofer, it was a bad batch. Gaf won't cove it. They denied replacement on a bad batch, they know was faulty, because I didn't know and didn't transfer a warranty that I never got any paperwork on to my own daughter. Really! They don't back their warranty. The woman in the gaf company told me they have the warranty on the boxes. I asked what boxes? I never saw any boxes, The roofer bought and paid for and installed the material while I was at work, and removed the boxes. Even if there was a box how would I or you know to go read the box cover and find warranty transfer information? Don't buy from a company who doesn't honor their own product and knowing they had a bunch of bad batches, they won't replace them. For me, I will be seeking legal action.


Date created: 2017-02-14 Name: M.D.
Location: Virginia
Model: Architectural, Timberline

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worst Company / Product"
We had gaf Timberline High Definition Shingles (Fox Hollow Grey)installed to our roof in Spring of 2012. We specifically told the roofer we were unhappy that our older roof had black mold on it. We cleared away trees that were near the house. The roofer told us the gaf Timberline roof would not mold, so we got a light grey colored roof as we live in the South. In less than 5 years they have mold streaks on the side of the house with less sun. You also installed a Ridge Vent. We have contacted gaf with photos and descriptions of the problem. They are telling us to remove shingles from our roof as proof (photos are not enough) in addition, they suggesting we pay to put a cleaning solution on the roof to rid it of the mold. Why should we pay as it is under warranty. Why should we risk damaging our roof and yard with cleaning chemicals. They need to make a better product that they can back. Their warranty is crap. This company is the worst.



Date created: 2017-02-03 Name: David B
Location: Lakeland, FL

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Never buy GAF!"
I had my roof installed right before a storm and there was some deformed shingles throughout the pallet but because of the storm we couldn't stop. We had to get it done. I figured they would take care of it since they were bad. Well for months now I have been trying to do a warranty claim. They just keep sending lists of stuff they want you to do. Pictures, proof of ownership, samples, etc. And they want you to do all of that! They should have someone coming out and doing that. Why should I have to take care of their problem! Absolute worse company!


Date created: 2017-02-01 Name: James Ford
Location: Crescent City, CA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't buy from GAF!"
We put a roof on our Church about 6 years ago. The granules have come off the roof so much that all you can see is the fiberglass. We called gaf and they sent us a letter saying they would only pay a little over $4000.00. The replacement will cost $14,000.00 to remove their junk product and replace it with something that will actually last. We are currently looking for an attorney.


Date created: 2017-01-31 Name: CALVIN SCHNERCH
Location: Arizona City, AZ
Model: Timberline 30

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Bad Roofing"
We have 30 year architectural roofing that needs replacing in 12 years. Warranty?...forget about it. I would be embarrassed with this product performance. I don't know if all roofing companies are this bad, but you should go somewhere else because this one definitely is bad.


Date created: 2016-12-14 Name: Lisa
Location: Illinois
Model: Grand Sequoia

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't buy them!"
GAF doesn't stand behind their warranty. They are a pain to deal with. My shingles are faded in an angular patchwork formation, they say they don't cover fading. My shingles are cracking (mostly the ones that have faded) Every time I go on the roof I patch more cracked shingles. Some of the shingles are defective.


Date created: 2016-08-16 Name: J. Smith
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"GAF does not stand by their product"
GAF does not stand by their claims. They don't have insurance, they handle claims in house To skirt around paying claims. No better way to beat claims than to not pay them. They don't have a third party so as not to get in the way of beating claims. We are a commercial roofing contractor who they owe a lot of money right now. They sent defective material (storm guard) to several jobs one of which we were working on. They called it a "bad batch". Basically once this stuff was down for a bit it would de-laminate and start coming apart getting asphalt everywhere. Not only did the crap they sent out there make a mess had to be cleaned up and repaired but it also had to be covered for work to continue. GAF sent a "rep" to a meeting who agreed to remedy of repair and cover, which was cheap alternative... The owner and ae could have forced them to replace all the plywood and insulation that this stuff ruined =300k+. Later GAF made ridiculous low offers (on a 50k bill they offered 4k, then 5 then 6) to a bill that was sent and said that the Rep was no longer with GAF. This is one of the shadiest things I've ever seen. They are starting to act like the Garland Company. Rig things on the front end with AE's and then steal from owners and contractors on the back end. Fraud! Of course they are going to "stand by their legal wording".


Date created: 2016-07-15 Name: Don Bomkamp
Location: Janesville, WI
Model: Architectural

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't buy! They won't honor their warranty"
The shingles never sealed down. The replaced some shingles at first and said they would replace any others if the problem continues. They now are a problem and GAF refuses to honor their word!


Date created: 2016-06-13 Name: Ann Williams
Location: Columbia

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Cheap Product and Does Not Honor Warranty"
We had GAF shingles (three tabs) installed in January and the asphalt is already coming off. The roof is different colors and GAF states they see no color difference. Do not buy this product.

12345678Next >>