Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

dotted nav bar
dotted nav bar

Consumer Reviews of GAF shingles

GAF Logo
Popularity:
#3  of 14 brands of shingles

61% of customers recommend
3.5 of 5 stars 62 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    34
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    4
  • Neutral
    2
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    21

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about GAF shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

1234567Next >>

Date created: 2015-10-19 Name: G, Holder
Location: Canada
Model: Timberline

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Theyre popular because they are cheap"
The GAF Timberline shingles are cheap, that's why they are popular. I recently had a shingle contractor try to sell me a roof with GAF timberline shingles, or IKO Cambridge shingles as the 2 options he presented. Once he was finished his sales pitch I told him I had researched the brands and decided to go a different direction, the Malarkey Legacy. He flat out told me that he couldn't compete with the quality of Malarkey and that his customers choose him based on price, cheap, because his product is cheap. He admitted that the shingles were not of high quality but kept referencing "Americas #1 shingle brand" saying sure they wont last as long but they also are slightly less expensive. I would rather pay a few dollars more now, and have better shingles.


Date created: 2015-10-14 Name: Mad Customer
Location: Houston, Texas
Model: Slateline

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't use Slateline"
My house is an 8000 sf house so the roof is very expensive. The GAF Slateline shingles have started losing a lot of granular perhaps only 7 or 8 years after installation. It has deteriorated so much in the last few years that I had to replace some shingles and now the entire roof. I own more than 30 homes for more than 30 years so I know this is not normal for high end shingle like this. When I ask GAF for warranty compensation, they told me I didn't transfer the warranty properly so they denied it. Builder never gave any receipts to the previous owner. How can I transfer the warranty when the previous owner didn't have the receipts. If GAF doesn't want to back up their products, please just tell us and stop playing the warranty games to insult our intelligence.


Date created: 2015-10-12 Name: Cynthia Jacobs
Location: Sanford, NC

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Shingles lifting. Denied claim."
Called GAF and filed a claim as shingles were lifting. They needed me to send samples of the defective shingles, so I had to pay a contractor to take off the shingles and replace them so I could send the ones with the issues. After several requests for pictures, etc, they denied saying it must be a decking problem. They never came out to investigate. They refused to pay. I will never recommend them and am telling everyone I know not to go with any shingles represented by this company.



Date created: 2015-05-07 Name: Mike Gross
Location: Newburgh, Indiana
Model: Timberline

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Loose shingles 12 yr old roof"
After discovering copious loose shingles while investigating a water leak I called GAF in "Jersey" and was sent warranty info. GAF must have many, many issues with their inadequate product to have a lengthy warranty brochure within easy reach. The main focus is to intimidate the customer and insure impossible compliance with the instructions. After contacting a professional roofing firm I became to realize the futile efforts of any fair treatment and a honest adherence to their 30 yr warranty claim as stated on the product packaging. Do not purchase anything from this Corrupt outfit. The only satisfaction for me is the BBB claim I filed.


Date created: 2015-01-09 Name: V. Van
Model: 30 year

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Bent, Not enough tar"
In 2004 we built a new home. The shingles were installed according to GAF's instructions. In 2005 the shingles started blowing off. I repaired and replaced at least 2 bundles of shingles. The shingles did not have enough tar on them to stick, also when they were bent slightly, the shingles would break, even when they were were hot. Every spring the gutters would be half full of gravel. I have used GAF shingles in the past, but now the quality is very poor. I will not use GAF shingles in the future. -Owner/Builder


Date created: 2014-05-01 Name: A .G
Location: mi

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Scheme"
I had my shingles reinstalled in summer 2013. Then my nightmare started. I have water marks over the ceiling, cracks over the ceiling, drywall cracks. Worst of all, after waiting for their response for several months, they finally came with water test, which poured more water on my shingles. When I saw the new water marks appeared, they said they did not see it. When I sent the pictures to gaf to review, gaf thinks the roofer did a good job according the gaf standard. When I got the gaf stand from their technical department, and pointed out the flashing and shingles were not installed according to their standard, they sent my their inspector's report, which said that the roofer did a good job. I got the infrared test for the shingles, which shows the leakage over the ceiling is caused by the flashing and shingles. They kept silent after that. The roofer said that the inspector is on vacation. Do not believe their life time guarantee! And life time workmanship guarantee! My roof was installed just a few months, they just tried hard to deny their responsibility. They did not inspect the installation according to real gaf standard in paper. And used the wrong inspection result to support the roofer's bad workmanship. Who will think they will backup their guarantee 10 or 20 years later?! Nobody. They will have much to say at time, this is not because of the workmanship or quality of their product,this is because of the nature, the siding, the window etc., because you are silly to believe them.Do not Buy GAF! Unless you are a fool.


Date created: 2014-03-10 Name: Bob Sellman
Location: West Bloomfield MI
Model: Slateline

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Slateline streaking"
I built my home in 2001 and the last several years I have noticed the streaking down the side of the roof that is not exposed to the sun. I am not happy as I have paid to have cleaned and the streaking returned the next year. Has anyone else experienced this condition?


Date created: 2013-10-21 Name: J. Smith
Location: Tuscumbia, AL
Model: Natural Shadow Charcoal

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Shingles were flying off"
We install new 30yr Natural Shadow Charcoal shingles on front of a customers house. The granules started coming off very fast and the shingles were flying off due to not sealing. The gaf/elk rep came out. Well after 6 months the homeowner got a check for 1/2 of the amount. I called the rep and he said they are only paying for 1/2 the front of the house. He agreed the shingles would not match. The warranty manager would not give me a call back after numerous attempts. It has been 8 months and we are still waiting on a call back. I use to stand behind the shingles but know I will never use these shingles again. Terrible customer service and they do not stand behind their product. They hope you just go away.


Date created: 2013-06-21 Name: Jackie Steward
Location: Colonial Beach Virginia
Model: Camelot 30

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Placing burden homeowner"
J.Steward Colonial Beach, Virginia Iím reading some of the post as to how GAF handles claims, with no resolution other than placing the burden back on the homeowner and Iím flabbergasted. How is it that a company like GAF treats the very consumers who supports them, in this fashion? We are currently in the process of working with the claims division, submitting all the evidence requested; my only hope is that the end result will not be the same as some of the other homeowners who posted comments. Camelot 30 shingles look nice, however do not hold up in winds as the homeowner near Cape May New Jersey posted. Reading his post; sounds exactly like our current situation with our Camelot roof.


Date created: 2013-05-15 Name: E. EVE
Location: YOUNGSTOWN,OHIO

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"WARRANTY"
Gaf dosen't like when you question their procedure. I feel when you have their master elite contractor install their products,you should receive your warranty certificate at the time of your payment for completed job, after all it's part of the roofing package, not have to kiss everyones behind to get them to mail it in, then wait to get it. If you call, gaf, be real nice or they hang up on you or put you on hold to hell freezes over.

1234567Next >>