Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of GAF shingles

GAF Logo
Popularity:
#4  of 15 brands of shingles

52% of customers recommend
3 of 5 stars 67 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    31
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    4
  • Neutral
    3
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    28

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about GAF shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

1234567Next >>

Date created: 2016-08-16 Name: J. Smith
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"GAF does not stand by their product"
GAF does not stand by their claims. They don't have insurance, they handle claims in house To skirt around paying claims. No better way to beat claims than to not pay them. They don't have a third party so as not to get in the way of beating claims. We are a commercial roofing contractor who they owe a lot of money right now. They sent defective material (storm guard) to several jobs one of which we were working on. They called it a "bad batch". Basically once this stuff was down for a bit it would de-laminate and start coming apart getting asphalt everywhere. Not only did the crap they sent out there make a mess had to be cleaned up and repaired but it also had to be covered for work to continue. GAF sent a "rep" to a meeting who agreed to remedy of repair and cover, which was cheap alternative... The owner and ae could have forced them to replace all the plywood and insulation that this stuff ruined =300k+. Later GAF made ridiculous low offers (on a 50k bill they offered 4k, then 5 then 6) to a bill that was sent and said that the Rep was no longer with GAF. This is one of the shadiest things I've ever seen. They are starting to act like the Garland Company. Rig things on the front end with AE's and then steal from owners and contractors on the back end. Fraud! Of course they are going to "stand by their legal wording".


Date created: 2016-07-15 Name: Don Bomkamp
Location: Janesville, WI
Model: Architectural

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't buy! They won't honor their warranty"
The shingles never sealed down. The replaced some shingles at first and said they would replace any others if the problem continues. They now are a problem and GAF refuses to honor their word!


Date created: 2016-06-13 Name: Ann Williams
Location: Columbia

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Cheap Product and Does Not Honor Warranty"
We had GAF shingles (three tabs) installed in January and the asphalt is already coming off. The roof is different colors and GAF states they see no color difference. Do not buy this product.



Date created: 2016-06-03 Name: David Barclay
Location: Russellville

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Balding!"
I have a 20 square roof with factory defective shingles "Balding" per engineering firm. GAF claims I have no warranty because I did not transfer from previous owner! You would think a company of this size would stand behind their product when it falls apart in 10-12 years due to workmanship.. Keep writing your warranty's based on people moving on average every 7 years so you don't have to adjust your product that is sub par.


Date created: 2016-05-30 Name: Jayge
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Model: Timberline HD

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Inside home smell like tar in hot weather"
Outdoors around our home is a very strong smell of tar. Inside in our breakfast room with skylights, the odor burns my throat and eyes and nose during the hot part of the day. I feel miserable. I actually have to leave my home during the hot part of each day. I read if another person with same problem and is again experiencing it the second summer, went away in cool weather. No I would not recommend this brand again because I read similar complaints dating back several years.


Date created: 2016-05-02 Name: m gill
Location: north Carolina

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't use GAF"
GAF doesn't stand behind their product. Golden pledge warranty is worthless and they will not fix your roof without fighting you. The inspections are not done thoroughly or to protect the homeowner. My roof got a perfect score two times and recd a zero on the third inspection. Roof still isn't fixed after two years and stress of having to go to court. Would never recommend GAF or Master Elite roofers.


Date created: 2016-04-22 Name: Dominic
Location: mid Hudson NY
Model: All

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"A Roofers Note"
As a union roofer both commercial and residential for 20+ years you will find all fiberglass and asphalt shingle manufacturer's have similar reviews. To minimalize issues caused by winds, granular loss and color change try to have your roof installed between 700 and 90 degrees Fahrenheit for proper sealing, 6 nails per shingle in the nail line and the key is proper ventilation... Proper ventilation... Proper ventilation, be sure to have soffit vents and if not install them. Ridge venting with ridge vent and ridge cap double nailed - 4 nails per cap. Also consider an attic fan. As far as instillation consider a roofing specialist/inspector the $200 to $1000 up front cost will save you many thousands and give you peace of mind.


Date created: 2016-03-08 Name: Kim Owen
Location: El Cajon, CA
Model: Timberline

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Granual loss"
Have a GAF 30 year roof that is 9 years old with so much granual loss that the roofers say it looks 20 years old. Contacted GAF claims they offered $766 (71%) based on the cost of materials when the roof was applied. The roof is going to cost about $10,000 to replace. I'm going to send them my rejection letter and if they don't settle for 71% of what it cost today for labor and materials I'm going to take them to small claims court. Do not buy GAF. They're in a class-action lawsuit that people with curling and cracking roof's have won. GAF knew it's raw materials were defective from 1999-2009 and kept selling their product anyway. Why should consumers have the burden of paying labor twice and more in materials when their roof doesn't stand up to their warranty.


Date created: 2015-10-19 Name: G, Holder
Location: Canada
Model: Timberline

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Theyre popular because they are cheap"
The GAF Timberline shingles are cheap, that's why they are popular. I recently had a shingle contractor try to sell me a roof with GAF timberline shingles, or IKO Cambridge shingles as the 2 options he presented. Once he was finished his sales pitch I told him I had researched the brands and decided to go a different direction, the Malarkey Legacy. He flat out told me that he couldn't compete with the quality of Malarkey and that his customers choose him based on price, cheap, because his product is cheap. He admitted that the shingles were not of high quality but kept referencing "Americas #1 shingle brand" saying sure they wont last as long but they also are slightly less expensive. I would rather pay a few dollars more now, and have better shingles.


Date created: 2015-10-14 Name: Mad Customer
Location: Houston, Texas
Model: Slateline

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't use Slateline"
My house is an 8000 sf house so the roof is very expensive. The GAF Slateline shingles have started losing a lot of granular perhaps only 7 or 8 years after installation. It has deteriorated so much in the last few years that I had to replace some shingles and now the entire roof. I own more than 30 homes for more than 30 years so I know this is not normal for high end shingle like this. When I ask GAF for warranty compensation, they told me I didn't transfer the warranty properly so they denied it. Builder never gave any receipts to the previous owner. How can I transfer the warranty when the previous owner didn't have the receipts. If GAF doesn't want to back up their products, please just tell us and stop playing the warranty games to insult our intelligence.

1234567Next >>