Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

dotted nav bar
dotted nav bar

Consumer Reviews of GAF shingles

Popularity:
#3  of 13 brands of shingles

66% of customers recommend
3.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    34
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    4
  • Neutral
    2
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    16

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about GAF shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

123456Next >>

Date created: 2014-05-01 Name: A .G
Location: mi

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Scheme"
I had my shingles reinstalled in summer 2013. Then my nightmare started. I have water marks over the ceiling, cracks over the ceiling, drywall cracks. Worst of all, after waiting for their response for several months, they finally came with water test, which poured more water on my shingles. When I saw the new water marks appeared, they said they did not see it. When I sent the pictures to gaf to review, gaf thinks the roofer did a good job according the gaf standard. When I got the gaf stand from their technical department, and pointed out the flashing and shingles were not installed according to their standard, they sent my their inspector's report, which said that the roofer did a good job. I got the infrared test for the shingles, which shows the leakage over the ceiling is caused by the flashing and shingles. They kept silent after that. The roofer said that the inspector is on vacation. Do not believe their life time guarantee! And life time workmanship guarantee! My roof was installed just a few months, they just tried hard to deny their responsibility. They did not inspect the installation according to real gaf standard in paper. And used the wrong inspection result to support the roofer's bad workmanship. Who will think they will backup their guarantee 10 or 20 years later?! Nobody. They will have much to say at time, this is not because of the workmanship or quality of their product,this is because of the nature, the siding, the window etc., because you are silly to believe them.Do not Buy GAF! Unless you are a fool.


Date created: 2014-03-10 Name: Bob Sellman
Location: West Bloomfield MI
Model: Slateline

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Slateline streaking"
I built my home in 2001 and the last several years I have noticed the streaking down the side of the roof that is not exposed to the sun. I am not happy as I have paid to have cleaned and the streaking returned the next year. Has anyone else experienced this condition?


Date created: 2013-10-21 Name: J. Smith
Location: Tuscumbia, AL
Model: Natural Shadow Charcoal

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Shingles were flying off"
We install new 30yr Natural Shadow Charcoal shingles on front of a customers house. The granules started coming off very fast and the shingles were flying off due to not sealing. The gaf/elk rep came out. Well after 6 months the homeowner got a check for 1/2 of the amount. I called the rep and he said they are only paying for 1/2 the front of the house. He agreed the shingles would not match. The warranty manager would not give me a call back after numerous attempts. It has been 8 months and we are still waiting on a call back. I use to stand behind the shingles but know I will never use these shingles again. Terrible customer service and they do not stand behind their product. They hope you just go away.


Date created: 2013-06-21 Name: Jackie Steward
Location: Colonial Beach Virginia
Model: Camelot 30

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Placing burden homeowner"
J.Steward Colonial Beach, Virginia Iím reading some of the post as to how GAF handles claims, with no resolution other than placing the burden back on the homeowner and Iím flabbergasted. How is it that a company like GAF treats the very consumers who supports them, in this fashion? We are currently in the process of working with the claims division, submitting all the evidence requested; my only hope is that the end result will not be the same as some of the other homeowners who posted comments. Camelot 30 shingles look nice, however do not hold up in winds as the homeowner near Cape May New Jersey posted. Reading his post; sounds exactly like our current situation with our Camelot roof.


Date created: 2013-05-15 Name: E. EVE
Location: YOUNGSTOWN,OHIO

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"WARRANTY"
Gaf dosen't like when you question their procedure. I feel when you have their master elite contractor install their products,you should receive your warranty certificate at the time of your payment for completed job, after all it's part of the roofing package, not have to kiss everyones behind to get them to mail it in, then wait to get it. If you call, gaf, be real nice or they hang up on you or put you on hold to hell freezes over.


Need a Roofing Contractor?

Find a Local Roofing Pro with this Free Service

* Replace or Repair Existing Roof
* Roof Maintenance and Pressure Cleaning
* Leak Detection, Waterproofing, and more

Date created: 2013-03-27 Name: J.DENNISON
Location: ARCADIA, MO 63621

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"WILL NEVER BUY GAF SHINGLES AGAIN!!!!"
We had gaf shingles installed on our mansard roof and the shingles broke off due to not sealing. We filed a claim and have been denied twice saying it was the installation. The shingles started falling off as soon as they were installed. We sent in a letter from our roofer stating that the shingles did not seal. These are elk shingles. Gaf merged with elk and will not honor their warranties. There is not anywhere else to get help on this problem. We are facing installing a new roof all at our expense. Do not buy anything from gaf.


Date created: 2013-03-11 Name: David Campbell
Location: Bismarck, Missouri

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Very Sad"
I had the gaf 30 year shingles installed in July 1998. December 2012 my son noticed the ceiling paint peeling off, and the investigation began. I looked in attic and could see several places the rafters had stains from water damage. Called the roofer that installed them he came and inspected said the roof was no good. He called gaf and a warrenty claim was started (they have a claims department!!). In the end today my petty $1500 roof with over 15 years remaining on the warrenty is worth $201. Major damage to home and gaf should discontinue manufacture of shingles all together. I didn't put money back for a new roof because I expected the shingles to last at least a majority of the warranty. I will now contact an attorney because the company does not really stand behind their product. Very Sad.


Date created: 2013-02-12 Name: James Vallandingham
Location: Wildwood Crest NJ
Model: Prestique Lifetime

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Timberline Prestique Lifetime shingles"
Do not buy these shingles. We had them installed in 2008 and have had problems with wind blowing the shingles off. These shingles are supposed to be rated for 120 mph winds and are blowing off in 40 and 50 mile gusts. We had our installer back 4 times so far replacing missing and torn shingle. The last time was during Hurricane Sandy. We lost 3 bundles of shingles in winds that never exceeded 60 mile gusts. We are near Cape may and did not receive any winds near what they did in nort nj or ny. Our installer charged us $750 to reinstall the shingles this time. Gaf does not stand behind their warranty. They want me to send them a shingle to prove they did not seal down. I sent them eveything they asked for but did not have a "whole' shingle to send them. Where the hell am I supposed to get a Whole shingle? I sent them a tab that blew off, but they said "the tab wasn't enough". You could see that there was no evidence of the shingle trying to seal down on the back side of the tab. Wasn't good enough for them. The shingles look nice but do not hold up in the wind.


Date created: 2012-10-01 Name: T. Legere
Location: Danvers, MA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't buy these shingles"
The Architectural roof is 4 years old now and the roofer has been back 5 times to replace shingles on the ridge vent that tear and blow off. We now have major ceiling water damage which is beginning to mildew and may be very costly to repair. These shingles tear very easily and don't have the strength to stand up to even moderate winds. I would never buy this brand again.


Date created: 2012-09-09 Name: a anderson
Location: Paterson, NJ
Model: Timberline Prestique High Definition 30

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"disappointed with shingles"
Its been four years now since I have these shingle installed. When they where first installed it looked beautiful. After three years of weathering things started to go down hill. Currently shingles are lifted, blown off and some are sliding down. It a nightmare, even the contractor that installed this roof is hiding from dealing with it.. Was also dealing with the bbb, no help. Help!

123456Next >>
Find Local Roofers

My zip code is: