Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of GAF shingles

GAF Logo
Popularity:
#4  of 14 brands of shingles

57% of customers recommend
3.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    31
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    4
  • Neutral
    3
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    22

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about GAF shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

1234567Next >>

Date created: 2016-04-22 Name: Dominic
Location: mid Hudson NY
Model: All

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"A Roofers Note"
As a union roofer both commercial and residential for 20+ years you will find all fiberglass and asphalt shingle manufacturer's have similar reviews. To minimalize issues caused by winds, granular loss and color change try to have your roof installed between 700 and 90 degrees Fahrenheit for proper sealing, 6 nails per shingle in the nail line and the key is proper ventilation... Proper ventilation... Proper ventilation, be sure to have soffit vents and if not install them. Ridge venting with ridge vent and ridge cap double nailed - 4 nails per cap. Also consider an attic fan. As far as instillation consider a roofing specialist/inspector the $200 to $1000 up front cost will save you many thousands and give you peace of mind.


Date created: 2016-03-08 Name: Kim Owen
Location: El Cajon, CA
Model: Timberline

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Granual loss"
Have a GAF 30 year roof that is 9 years old with so much granual loss that the roofers say it looks 20 years old. Contacted GAF claims they offered $766 (71%) based on the cost of materials when the roof was applied. The roof is going to cost about $10,000 to replace. I'm going to send them my rejection letter and if they don't settle for 71% of what it cost today for labor and materials I'm going to take them to small claims court. Do not buy GAF. They're in a class-action lawsuit that people with curling and cracking roof's have won. GAF knew it's raw materials were defective from 1999-2009 and kept selling their product anyway. Why should consumers have the burden of paying labor twice and more in materials when their roof doesn't stand up to their warranty.


Date created: 2015-10-19 Name: G, Holder
Location: Canada
Model: Timberline

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Theyre popular because they are cheap"
The GAF Timberline shingles are cheap, that's why they are popular. I recently had a shingle contractor try to sell me a roof with GAF timberline shingles, or IKO Cambridge shingles as the 2 options he presented. Once he was finished his sales pitch I told him I had researched the brands and decided to go a different direction, the Malarkey Legacy. He flat out told me that he couldn't compete with the quality of Malarkey and that his customers choose him based on price, cheap, because his product is cheap. He admitted that the shingles were not of high quality but kept referencing "Americas #1 shingle brand" saying sure they wont last as long but they also are slightly less expensive. I would rather pay a few dollars more now, and have better shingles.



Date created: 2015-10-14 Name: Mad Customer
Location: Houston, Texas
Model: Slateline

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't use Slateline"
My house is an 8000 sf house so the roof is very expensive. The GAF Slateline shingles have started losing a lot of granular perhaps only 7 or 8 years after installation. It has deteriorated so much in the last few years that I had to replace some shingles and now the entire roof. I own more than 30 homes for more than 30 years so I know this is not normal for high end shingle like this. When I ask GAF for warranty compensation, they told me I didn't transfer the warranty properly so they denied it. Builder never gave any receipts to the previous owner. How can I transfer the warranty when the previous owner didn't have the receipts. If GAF doesn't want to back up their products, please just tell us and stop playing the warranty games to insult our intelligence.


Date created: 2015-10-12 Name: Cynthia Jacobs
Location: Sanford, NC

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Shingles lifting. Denied claim."
Called GAF and filed a claim as shingles were lifting. They needed me to send samples of the defective shingles, so I had to pay a contractor to take off the shingles and replace them so I could send the ones with the issues. After several requests for pictures, etc, they denied saying it must be a decking problem. They never came out to investigate. They refused to pay. I will never recommend them and am telling everyone I know not to go with any shingles represented by this company.


Date created: 2015-05-07 Name: Mike Gross
Location: Newburgh, Indiana
Model: Timberline

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Loose shingles 12 yr old roof"
After discovering copious loose shingles while investigating a water leak I called GAF in "Jersey" and was sent warranty info. GAF must have many, many issues with their inadequate product to have a lengthy warranty brochure within easy reach. The main focus is to intimidate the customer and insure impossible compliance with the instructions. After contacting a professional roofing firm I became to realize the futile efforts of any fair treatment and a honest adherence to their 30 yr warranty claim as stated on the product packaging. Do not purchase anything from this Corrupt outfit. The only satisfaction for me is the BBB claim I filed.


Date created: 2015-01-09 Name: V. Van
Model: 30 year

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Bent, Not enough tar"
In 2004 we built a new home. The shingles were installed according to GAF's instructions. In 2005 the shingles started blowing off. I repaired and replaced at least 2 bundles of shingles. The shingles did not have enough tar on them to stick, also when they were bent slightly, the shingles would break, even when they were were hot. Every spring the gutters would be half full of gravel. I have used GAF shingles in the past, but now the quality is very poor. I will not use GAF shingles in the future. -Owner/Builder


Date created: 2014-05-01 Name: A .G
Location: mi

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Scheme"
I had my shingles reinstalled in summer 2013. Then my nightmare started. I have water marks over the ceiling, cracks over the ceiling, drywall cracks. Worst of all, after waiting for their response for several months, they finally came with water test, which poured more water on my shingles. When I saw the new water marks appeared, they said they did not see it. When I sent the pictures to gaf to review, gaf thinks the roofer did a good job according the gaf standard. When I got the gaf stand from their technical department, and pointed out the flashing and shingles were not installed according to their standard, they sent my their inspector's report, which said that the roofer did a good job. I got the infrared test for the shingles, which shows the leakage over the ceiling is caused by the flashing and shingles. They kept silent after that. The roofer said that the inspector is on vacation. Do not believe their life time guarantee! And life time workmanship guarantee! My roof was installed just a few months, they just tried hard to deny their responsibility. They did not inspect the installation according to real gaf standard in paper. And used the wrong inspection result to support the roofer's bad workmanship. Who will think they will backup their guarantee 10 or 20 years later?! Nobody. They will have much to say at time, this is not because of the workmanship or quality of their product,this is because of the nature, the siding, the window etc., because you are silly to believe them.Do not Buy GAF! Unless you are a fool.


Date created: 2014-03-10 Name: Bob Sellman
Location: West Bloomfield MI
Model: Slateline

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Slateline streaking"
I built my home in 2001 and the last several years I have noticed the streaking down the side of the roof that is not exposed to the sun. I am not happy as I have paid to have cleaned and the streaking returned the next year. Has anyone else experienced this condition?


Date created: 2013-10-21 Name: J. Smith
Location: Tuscumbia, AL
Model: Natural Shadow Charcoal

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Shingles were flying off"
We install new 30yr Natural Shadow Charcoal shingles on front of a customers house. The granules started coming off very fast and the shingles were flying off due to not sealing. The gaf/elk rep came out. Well after 6 months the homeowner got a check for 1/2 of the amount. I called the rep and he said they are only paying for 1/2 the front of the house. He agreed the shingles would not match. The warranty manager would not give me a call back after numerous attempts. It has been 8 months and we are still waiting on a call back. I use to stand behind the shingles but know I will never use these shingles again. Terrible customer service and they do not stand behind their product. They hope you just go away.

1234567Next >>