Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of GAF shingles

GAF Logo

Read 80 GAF Shingle reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#6   of 15 brands of shingles

43% of customers recommend
3 of 5 stars 80 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    31
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    4
  • Neutral
    3
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    41

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about GAF shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous12345678Next >>

Date created: 2013-05-15 Name: E. EVE
Location: YOUNGSTOWN,OHIO

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"WARRANTY"
Gaf dosen't like when you question their procedure. I feel when you have their master elite contractor install their products,you should receive your warranty certificate at the time of your payment for completed job, after all it's part of the roofing package, not have to kiss everyones behind to get them to mail it in, then wait to get it. If you call, gaf, be real nice or they hang up on you or put you on hold to hell freezes over.


Date created: 2013-03-27 Name: J.DENNISON
Location: ARCADIA, MO 63621

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"WILL NEVER BUY GAF SHINGLES AGAIN!!!!"
We had gaf shingles installed on our mansard roof and the shingles broke off due to not sealing. We filed a claim and have been denied twice saying it was the installation. The shingles started falling off as soon as they were installed. We sent in a letter from our roofer stating that the shingles did not seal. These are elk shingles. Gaf merged with elk and will not honor their warranties. There is not anywhere else to get help on this problem. We are facing installing a new roof all at our expense. Do not buy anything from gaf.


Date created: 2013-03-11 Name: David Campbell
Location: Bismarck, Missouri

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Very Sad"
I had the gaf 30 year shingles installed in July 1998. December 2012 my son noticed the ceiling paint peeling off, and the investigation began. I looked in attic and could see several places the rafters had stains from water damage. Called the roofer that installed them he came and inspected said the roof was no good. He called gaf and a warrenty claim was started (they have a claims department!!). In the end today my petty $1500 roof with over 15 years remaining on the warrenty is worth $201. Major damage to home and gaf should discontinue manufacture of shingles all together. I didn't put money back for a new roof because I expected the shingles to last at least a majority of the warranty. I will now contact an attorney because the company does not really stand behind their product. Very Sad.



Date created: 2013-02-12 Name: James Vallandingham
Location: Wildwood Crest NJ
Model: Prestique Lifetime

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Timberline Prestique Lifetime shingles"
Do not buy these shingles. We had them installed in 2008 and have had problems with wind blowing the shingles off. These shingles are supposed to be rated for 120 mph winds and are blowing off in 40 and 50 mile gusts. We had our installer back 4 times so far replacing missing and torn shingle. The last time was during Hurricane Sandy. We lost 3 bundles of shingles in winds that never exceeded 60 mile gusts. We are near Cape may and did not receive any winds near what they did in nort nj or ny. Our installer charged us $750 to reinstall the shingles this time. Gaf does not stand behind their warranty. They want me to send them a shingle to prove they did not seal down. I sent them eveything they asked for but did not have a "whole' shingle to send them. Where the hell am I supposed to get a Whole shingle? I sent them a tab that blew off, but they said "the tab wasn't enough". You could see that there was no evidence of the shingle trying to seal down on the back side of the tab. Wasn't good enough for them. The shingles look nice but do not hold up in the wind.


Date created: 2012-10-01 Name: T. Legere
Location: Danvers, MA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't buy these shingles"
The Architectural roof is 4 years old now and the roofer has been back 5 times to replace shingles on the ridge vent that tear and blow off. We now have major ceiling water damage which is beginning to mildew and may be very costly to repair. These shingles tear very easily and don't have the strength to stand up to even moderate winds. I would never buy this brand again.


Date created: 2012-09-09 Name: a anderson
Location: Paterson, NJ
Model: Timberline Prestique High Definition 30

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"disappointed with shingles"
Its been four years now since I have these shingle installed. When they where first installed it looked beautiful. After three years of weathering things started to go down hill. Currently shingles are lifted, blown off and some are sliding down. It a nightmare, even the contractor that installed this roof is hiding from dealing with it.. Was also dealing with the bbb, no help. Help!


Date created: 2012-08-21 Location: Plano, TX
Model: 0201180

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"Not much to say but easy install."
Owned shingles since house was built, which was about 10 years ago. They're nothing special, but they were easy to install, so that was a plus. What wasn't great, though, was that there were an unusually high number of defected items in certain batches. Mind you, there were only a few of these bad batches, though there were a concerning amount of defect in the aforementioned batches. They have lasted hot humid summers and cool, dry winters, while never needing a single repair over the span of the ten years.


Date created: 2012-08-21 Location: Wichita, KS
Model: Weatherwise

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"GAF shingles really are weather resistant!!"
We had our GAF Weatherwise shingles installed 10 years ago when we bought our house and they still look great! They have worn well and we have had no leaks. I walk on the shingles each fall when putting up Christmas lights and decorations and I have not had a single one become loose. We also live in Kansas, also known as Tornado Alley and with the strong winds and large hail stones we get, these have held up great! Their color has even remained beautiful. People are shocked when they hear that they are 10 years old. They came with a 25 year warranty which covers labor and materials! Several of our neighbors have commented on how nice and uniform they look. We went with a lighter color which helps with the cooling costs. There is nothing to dislike about these shingles. I would definitely go with the same brand if I had another roof that needed to be done. I would recommend this brand to anybody who wants a quality roofing shingle at a very reasonable price that they can count on for years to come.


Date created: 2012-08-10 Name: kevin
Location: ocala Fl
Model: Grand Slate

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"warranty repairs"
Buyers beware if you plan to sell your home. The warranty must be transfer within 30 days or the new home owner won't get the lifetime warranty. I bought a home with 4 leaks and by the time I figure out the process of transferring the warranty I was told It was 45 days since the closing and the warranty was non-transferable.


Date created: 2012-05-21 Location: San Mateo, CA
Model: Fiberglass Asphalt Shingle Algae

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Happy owner of Grand Sequoia Roof Shingles"
We replaced the entire roof in 2007. Had it for almost 5 years now. The roof still looks like new. Knock on the wood, the roof has never leaked (thanks to good quality of work by installer too I think). We didn't have to replace or repair and don't expect to in the next decade or so. It supposed to last more than 25 years. The roof looks very attractive and I think it definitely increased the appeal and house. Our house resides in a subdivision that allows very limited types of shingles. This is the only composite kind that's approved by HOA. I would strongly recommend this to a friend and would buy the same brand and same color again. The price was very reasonable and I like the fact that it's light weight yet durable. It claims to be able to sustain 80mph wind. We live in earthquake prone California. It's important that the roof shingle is light weight.

<< Previous12345678Next >>