Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of GAF shingles

GAF Logo
Popularity:
#6  of 15 brands of shingles

47% of customers recommend
3 of 5 stars 74 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    31
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    4
  • Neutral
    3
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    35

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about GAF shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous12345678Next >>

Date created: 2012-02-16 Location: Nashville, TN
Model: Timberline 40

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"No better shingles on the market!"
I bought my GAF Timberline 40 shingles in August of 2008. The previous shingles we had, had not been replaced since we bought our house 20 years ago and it started to become noticeable. We had over 20 leaks in our roof; NOT GOOD! My husband's friend recommended GAF Timberline 40 shingles to us. He said they were a great product that he and his wife had used on their house. The first thing I noticed about these specific shingles were all the great reviews on it! The price was extremely reasonable also. There literally were no flaws to these shingles. We got them installed and have had no problems since. They look great as well as work great! Can't beat it! I would recommend this to my family and closest friends as it was recommended to me!


Date created: 2012-02-07 Location: Houston, TX
Model: TIMBERLINE

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"FOR A GOOD ROOF- GET GAF"
I've had this set of GAF shingles on my roof for about 10 years now. It's my second roof using this product. I purchased the lifetime warranty ones this time. My last roof was done with GAF and was nearing the end of its 25 year warranty when a major hurricane caused a few of the shingles to pull away from some of the exhaust vents for the hot water heater and bathroom. It's not that the roof leaked due to this, it just was beginning to look like it might eventually cause problems. Nearly everyone on my street had this type or more problems due to the high wind. I'm really happy with my current roof. It's water tight despite another smaller hurricane, several tropical storms and a severe drought. I like GAF shingles because they are reasonable in price, easy to install and they work well for me. If I had more money and needed a new roof, I would probably like to try one of the new metal shingles, but for right now, I'm happy with my GAF roof.


Date created: 2012-01-27 Location: Portland, OR
Model: Timberline

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"A review of my shingles"
I've had my Timberline shingles for about 3 years now. They were a step up from the old three tab style we used to have. Our old shingles were kinda plain and boring and these have added a nice look to the outside of the house. They weren't that much more expensive than the plain three tab ones so it's really been worth it. I haven't had any problems eith them needing repair or replacement yet and we get pretty strong wind from time to time. If they do need to be repaired or replaced the materials and labor are covered for up to 30 years so at least I wouldn't have to do it myself. Overall I am very satisfied with the shingles. They were reasonably priced, look good, have a good warranty and are made by a company who has been doing this for a while. I know they have preferred contractors that they work with and that have better labor warranties so that might be a good idea to have. I would buy the same brand again and recommend them to a friend.



Date created: 2012-01-18 Location: Patterson, CA
Model: 2350

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"GAF weather side shingles"
I have owned my weather side backer strip shingles for three months now. I had just bought a "fixer-upper" and I had to replace the shingles short after buying the house. I like that they were affordable for me because I have a restrictive income. I don't think there is anything I dislike about the shingles. Since they are new no I have not had to repair them since they have been put on. yes I would buy the same shingles again and I would most defiantly recommend them to a friend if they would need to replace their shingles. Each pack comes with enough backer strips to cover approximately one hundred square foot for thirteen dollars a package. the weather side backer strip shingles are black and nice a tough perfect for rain and any weather, I live in California so the weather gets pretty windy so we need something that wont rip or tear easy. I am very happy with the product.


Date created: 2012-01-18 Location: Sweet Home, Or
Model: 0201736

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"GAF 3 tab singles are a good buy for the price"
This summer I built a small room (10' x 12') off of my garage. I was doing it on the cheap and decided to go with three tab. After doing some shopping around I found it Home depot for a really good price. So I asked the guy behind the pro counter about them and he said that most of the people seemed to like them and that they did not have any of them returned at there store because of bad tiles in a bundle. I was a little worried about the quality because of the price but was pleasantly surprised when I got it out of the package. These tiles went up like normal tiles with very little ripping(which is common with cheap shingles). I did notice that they rely wanted to stick to one another when I tried to separate them. The best part is we just had two large wind storms in a row and I didn't lose a single tile. Which makes me happy because several of my neighbors did and they have architectural tiles.


Date created: 2012-01-03 Name: Rosalie De Fillippes
Location: Florham Park, NJ
Model: Timberline Prestique Grande

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't Buy"
My house was done in 2003 with Timberline gaf shingles ...... I have a mansard roof and since then I have black streaks coming down the front of my house all over the roof. I contacted gaf, sent them my shingles and was told this is mildew ...this is not mildew... my roof was suppose to be 30 warranty...what good is a warranty if the company does not stand behind their product...I Am putting this out there for anyone who wants to buy gaf shingles. DON'T... GAF Will do nothing about my roof.. now I want to sell my house and cannot do it with the roof like this....I Will never deal with gaf again...


Date created: 2011-12-22 Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Model: Slateline

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"GAF Slateline shingles well worth the price"
We installed GAF Slateline shingles in 2007. They are an architectural shingle with high wind resistance. The shingles are very handsome and really improved the look of the house. They are premium shingles and require copper flashing adding to the premium look of the shingles The extra wind resistance was really tested a year after installation when we experienced a ferocious storm. Our neighbors had roof damage and we had a large tree end up in the road pulled up by its roots but our roof was totally fine. These shingles are pricey and there is a premium for installation since they require the copper flashing and extra nails. That is really our only complaint and as they say, "You get what you pay for." We would buy these shingles again; they look good and handled the wind, which was the main reason for buying them. The shingles have never required a repair and we would be surprised if they ever did in our lifetime. We highly recommend these shingles.


Date created: 2011-12-14 Location: St. Petersbrg, Fl
Model: 0202736

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Great shingles that really hold up!"
Three years ago i replaced my preexisting shingled roof due to minor leaks. The old roof was just that, old. I was reccomended these shingles from a buddy of mine that is a roofer. So I purchased these shingles in the sovereign Silver color to match my homeowners associations colors. Which is a great thing abou these shingles, they come in so many colors. Also i was able to pick them up at a relativly low cost at my local big box home improvement store.He said that these are the shingles his company uses with no complaints. And just as he told me, it is three years later and i have had not a single issue with these shingles. When these shingles are worn out i will definitly be buying from the same brand. Could not ask for more they are attractive, readily available, and fully functional. I would recomend these shingles to anyone inquiring about roofing material due to their low cost and functionality.


Date created: 2011-12-12 Location: Portland, or
Model: 2387

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"I love my shingles"
I have had my house for almost 10 years and have yet to have a single problem with my shingles. They look very nice on my house and have never had to be replaced or fixed or anything. The quality of my shingles has pleased me a lot and I most defiantly recommend them to others.


Date created: 2011-12-09 Location: Alexandria, LA
Model: 0601180

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Shingles that Weather Storms"
Our shingles have been on the house for around two years now. Thus far, we've never had to repair them. They're the best shingles we've ever had on the roof - they've even weathered a terrible storm. It came through a year or so back and we were sure that our roof was all torn up. Our neighbors had shingles missing left and right, but it turned out that we didn't have a single one blown away. I honestly can't think of anything bad to say about them. I've recommended them to family members, friends, and neighbors. At least one of our neighbors had the same kind installed when they had to redo their roof after the storm. The shingles were well worth the money for the shingles as well as having them installed, and if we ever had to redo our roof for some reason, we would have the same brand and model of shingles put on again.

<< Previous12345678Next >>