Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of GAF shingles

GAF Logo

Read 79 GAF Shingle reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#7   of 15 brands of shingles

44% of customers recommend
3 of 5 stars 79 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    31
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    4
  • Neutral
    3
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    40

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about GAF shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous12345678Next >>

Date created: 2012-01-03 Name: Rosalie De Fillippes
Location: Florham Park, NJ
Model: Timberline Prestique Grande

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't Buy"
My house was done in 2003 with Timberline gaf shingles ...... I have a mansard roof and since then I have black streaks coming down the front of my house all over the roof. I contacted gaf, sent them my shingles and was told this is mildew ...this is not mildew... my roof was suppose to be 30 warranty...what good is a warranty if the company does not stand behind their product...I Am putting this out there for anyone who wants to buy gaf shingles. DON'T... GAF Will do nothing about my roof.. now I want to sell my house and cannot do it with the roof like this....I Will never deal with gaf again...


Date created: 2011-12-22 Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Model: Slateline

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"GAF Slateline shingles well worth the price"
We installed GAF Slateline shingles in 2007. They are an architectural shingle with high wind resistance. The shingles are very handsome and really improved the look of the house. They are premium shingles and require copper flashing adding to the premium look of the shingles The extra wind resistance was really tested a year after installation when we experienced a ferocious storm. Our neighbors had roof damage and we had a large tree end up in the road pulled up by its roots but our roof was totally fine. These shingles are pricey and there is a premium for installation since they require the copper flashing and extra nails. That is really our only complaint and as they say, "You get what you pay for." We would buy these shingles again; they look good and handled the wind, which was the main reason for buying them. The shingles have never required a repair and we would be surprised if they ever did in our lifetime. We highly recommend these shingles.


Date created: 2011-12-14 Location: St. Petersbrg, Fl
Model: 0202736

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Great shingles that really hold up!"
Three years ago i replaced my preexisting shingled roof due to minor leaks. The old roof was just that, old. I was reccomended these shingles from a buddy of mine that is a roofer. So I purchased these shingles in the sovereign Silver color to match my homeowners associations colors. Which is a great thing abou these shingles, they come in so many colors. Also i was able to pick them up at a relativly low cost at my local big box home improvement store.He said that these are the shingles his company uses with no complaints. And just as he told me, it is three years later and i have had not a single issue with these shingles. When these shingles are worn out i will definitly be buying from the same brand. Could not ask for more they are attractive, readily available, and fully functional. I would recomend these shingles to anyone inquiring about roofing material due to their low cost and functionality.



Date created: 2011-12-12 Location: Portland, or
Model: 2387

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"I love my shingles"
I have had my house for almost 10 years and have yet to have a single problem with my shingles. They look very nice on my house and have never had to be replaced or fixed or anything. The quality of my shingles has pleased me a lot and I most defiantly recommend them to others.


Date created: 2011-12-09 Location: Alexandria, LA
Model: 0601180

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Shingles that Weather Storms"
Our shingles have been on the house for around two years now. Thus far, we've never had to repair them. They're the best shingles we've ever had on the roof - they've even weathered a terrible storm. It came through a year or so back and we were sure that our roof was all torn up. Our neighbors had shingles missing left and right, but it turned out that we didn't have a single one blown away. I honestly can't think of anything bad to say about them. I've recommended them to family members, friends, and neighbors. At least one of our neighbors had the same kind installed when they had to redo their roof after the storm. The shingles were well worth the money for the shingles as well as having them installed, and if we ever had to redo our roof for some reason, we would have the same brand and model of shingles put on again.


Date created: 2011-12-06 Location: Champaign, IL
Model: Timberline Lifetime

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Roofing shingles: a investment in your home"
One of the first tasks I undertook when my wife and I purchased our home two years ago was reshingle the roof. Built in the mid-1980s and located in central Illinois, the house has seen a bit of rough weather over the years. Wind storms around here can be pretty impressive; there were several bare patches. The shingles that were there were worn with some blistering and cracking. Not knowing much about shingles, my wife and I placed the majority of our trust in the roofing contractor and paid attention primarily to the budget and, of course, the color. (I'll leave it to the reader to guess who was more concerned with which aspect!) Of the choices made available to us, the GAF Timberline in gray was most preferable. The cost was around three grand. Had I done it DIY, I'm guessing it would have ran about half that amount. That was two years ago. So far, so good! The roof still looks new; no blistering, good adherence, no complaints. Most importantly, the minor leaks that used to occur during heavy summer thunderstorms is long gone. Overall, we're very happy and would use a GAF product again ??" so long as my wife likes the color!


Date created: 2011-12-03 Location: Paonia Co, 81428
Model: 0202750

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"The shingles are great"
I have on the shingles for 11 years I have never repaired them they are great and do not dislike anything about them the warranty is good all around a good shingle for houses I would recommend this to a friend.


Date created: 2011-12-03 Location: Baltimore, MD
Model: Timberline

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Great GAF shingles!"
We had GAF timberline shingles recently installed on our house. We hired an experienced roofer that strongly recommend these shingles as they had a great reputation and a great warranty. We had the shingles installed because of the age of the house (life cycle; the old shingles were 20 years old). It was just time to have it done; we didn't have any leaks or failures that required the replacement. We have had the new shingles for about 4 years now. They have been performing very well and they look great too. They really made the house look new. We really like the architectural look of the shingles. The shingles also have a slight hint of the colors of the house, which really adds to the character of the house. No dislikes whatsoever. We would definitely purchase the same brand again and would absolutely recommend to friends; in fact, we already did and they are very happy with their roof too!


Date created: 2011-12-03 Location: Chandler, Arizona
Model: Timberline HD

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Timberline Shingles- GREAT!"
I've had these shingles on my roof since 2003. Great quality and the build is solid. No loose shingles, etc. I live in AZ and it has withstood heat, rain, and other adverse weather conditions. Light color also reflects the sun and keeps the house cool.


Date created: 2011-06-29 Name: A. Strasser
Location: Sleepy Hollow, NY 10591-1104

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Defective shingles"
These shingles installed in October 2008 started blowing off a new roof in less than a year in a windy storm (60 mph max.) The continued to do so periodically until a leak occurred in 2011. The contractor said they did not seal, but would do so in the summers, which after 2 summers they did not. GAF said they would pay for re-sealing only and requested bids. Three contractors inspected the roof, said 90% of shingles were unsealed and said resealing would not work and refused to bid. GAF requested and I sent shingles for their exam and they concluded they were "defective" and agreed to replace them. I requested the reason for being defective and a copy of their lab report, but they stated that's proprietary and their lab report is their property! The settlement they then offered was to provide replacement shingles and ridge vents for the roof and less than 50% of the $ labor cost, claiming that's all their warranty allows since I got 29 months use out of the roof (yes with repairs and leaks! So much for their great warranty.). I reluctantly agreed, but would not use GAF shingles again if I had the choice.

<< Previous12345678Next >>