Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of GAF shingles

GAF Logo
Popularity:
#6  of 15 brands of shingles

47% of customers recommend
3 of 5 stars 74 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    31
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    4
  • Neutral
    3
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    35

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about GAF shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous12345678Next >>

Date created: 2011-12-06 Location: Champaign, IL
Model: Timberline Lifetime

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Roofing shingles: a investment in your home"
One of the first tasks I undertook when my wife and I purchased our home two years ago was reshingle the roof. Built in the mid-1980s and located in central Illinois, the house has seen a bit of rough weather over the years. Wind storms around here can be pretty impressive; there were several bare patches. The shingles that were there were worn with some blistering and cracking. Not knowing much about shingles, my wife and I placed the majority of our trust in the roofing contractor and paid attention primarily to the budget and, of course, the color. (I'll leave it to the reader to guess who was more concerned with which aspect!) Of the choices made available to us, the GAF Timberline in gray was most preferable. The cost was around three grand. Had I done it DIY, I'm guessing it would have ran about half that amount. That was two years ago. So far, so good! The roof still looks new; no blistering, good adherence, no complaints. Most importantly, the minor leaks that used to occur during heavy summer thunderstorms is long gone. Overall, we're very happy and would use a GAF product again ??" so long as my wife likes the color!


Date created: 2011-12-03 Location: Paonia Co, 81428
Model: 0202750

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"The shingles are great"
I have on the shingles for 11 years I have never repaired them they are great and do not dislike anything about them the warranty is good all around a good shingle for houses I would recommend this to a friend.


Date created: 2011-12-03 Location: Baltimore, MD
Model: Timberline

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Great GAF shingles!"
We had GAF timberline shingles recently installed on our house. We hired an experienced roofer that strongly recommend these shingles as they had a great reputation and a great warranty. We had the shingles installed because of the age of the house (life cycle; the old shingles were 20 years old). It was just time to have it done; we didn't have any leaks or failures that required the replacement. We have had the new shingles for about 4 years now. They have been performing very well and they look great too. They really made the house look new. We really like the architectural look of the shingles. The shingles also have a slight hint of the colors of the house, which really adds to the character of the house. No dislikes whatsoever. We would definitely purchase the same brand again and would absolutely recommend to friends; in fact, we already did and they are very happy with their roof too!



Date created: 2011-12-03 Location: Chandler, Arizona
Model: Timberline HD

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Timberline Shingles- GREAT!"
I've had these shingles on my roof since 2003. Great quality and the build is solid. No loose shingles, etc. I live in AZ and it has withstood heat, rain, and other adverse weather conditions. Light color also reflects the sun and keeps the house cool.


Date created: 2011-06-29 Name: A. Strasser
Location: Sleepy Hollow, NY 10591-1104

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Defective shingles"
These shingles installed in October 2008 started blowing off a new roof in less than a year in a windy storm (60 mph max.) The continued to do so periodically until a leak occurred in 2011. The contractor said they did not seal, but would do so in the summers, which after 2 summers they did not. GAF said they would pay for re-sealing only and requested bids. Three contractors inspected the roof, said 90% of shingles were unsealed and said resealing would not work and refused to bid. GAF requested and I sent shingles for their exam and they concluded they were "defective" and agreed to replace them. I requested the reason for being defective and a copy of their lab report, but they stated that's proprietary and their lab report is their property! The settlement they then offered was to provide replacement shingles and ridge vents for the roof and less than 50% of the $ labor cost, claiming that's all their warranty allows since I got 29 months use out of the roof (yes with repairs and leaks! So much for their great warranty.). I reluctantly agreed, but would not use GAF shingles again if I had the choice.


Date created: 2011-05-21 Location: Charles City, Iowa

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"3-Tab asphalt shingles is whats on my roof."
I replaced my roof shingles 3 year ago. My friends and I put them on during some weird weather. Rained, Snowed, even 75 Degrees to exact. So I believe they proved themselves worthily. If the shingles and tar strips getting hot & cold and still not tearing, I would defiantly recommend this brand to my friends.


Date created: 2011-05-15 Location: Chicago, Illinois
Model: Marquis Weather Max

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"GAF Roofing Shingles"
A few years ago, after a severe storm here in my hometown, the roofing shingles on the top of my house, and the roofing shingles on the top of my sister-in-law's house was left in shambles. Of course, I myself know nothing about roofing shingles, but I started doing some research online and found out that GAF roofing shingles came highly recommended, so that's the manufacturer I had my roofing guys shingle my house with (my sister-in-law did as well). 3 and a half years later, I have still had no problems out of my roof, despite the fact that it has endured several hail storms. Also, about 6 months ago, a very large branch from a huge pine tree in my backyard landed square on my roof and there was absolutely no damage. There has been no rain to leak into my house, either. Needless to say, I have not had to do any repairs on my roofing shingles. I will only buy GAF roofing shingles from now on. I would (and have) recommended this brand to my friends. I am very satisfied with my roof now.


Date created: 2011-05-15 Location: Nashville, TN

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"The Shingles on my roof."
I drive up my drive way and the first thing I look at is my roof. Why? I do not really know to be honest but it is probably because I am worried I might have to get up there soon to and get the roof replaced. That was me 2 weeks before I got my roof replaced. I now have GAF Royal Sovereign 3-tab roof shingles and they are a beauty. Every time I drive up my driveway I see my roof and I smile. Not only because they look great but they came with a 25 year warranty and I have heard that GAF will soon be putting all of their roof products under lifetime warranty but this sounds too much to me at the moment. I only thing I do not like about these shingles is that they were free! But not much in life is free. I have had these shingles for almost a year and I have no complaints and I would definitely go with GAF again when I need to replace my roof.


Date created: 2011-05-15 Location: Wausau, WI
Model: Timberline Prestique 30

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Very satisfied with GAF-ELK"
We recently had the GAF-Elk shingle installed on our two story cottage. It is what's known as a painted lady and the shingles we chose complimented the overall look of the home. The work was done by an exteriors company in our town. These are a 30 year shingle which we love because it will probably be the last roof we install. The shingles went on very quickly and very well. 4 or 5 nails per shingle were used. We have received many compliments on how they look. I would certainly recommend them to others.


Date created: 2011-05-07 Name: D. Maass
Location: Sleepy Hollow, NY
Model: Timberline Natural Shadow

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Bad experience"
I installed GAF Timberline 30-year shingles, in 1972. They were cedar blend, and, IIRC, 340 pounds per square. At 20 years they were shedding their granules rather heavily and some exposed asphalt edges were beginning to break off. When contacted, GAF denied they sold shingles of that weight and with a 30 year warranty, and in effect, blew me off. My neighbor had Timberlines installed on his roof in October, 2008, and that winter and the next the shingles blew off his roof, despite no winds higher than 60 mph. GAF is stiffing him on the warranty. They'll pay only to have the shingles "resealed", and then won't warranty the resealing. He'll probably sue. I'm going to use a different brand.

<< Previous12345678Next >>