Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Iko shingles

Iko Logo
Popularity:
#14  of 15 brands of shingles

18% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 180 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    32
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    2
  • Neutral
    2
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    143

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Iko shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous123456789101112131415161718Next >>

Date created: 2012-03-28 Name: r.huppert
Location: red wing,mn
Model: belmont

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"resident"
Bought iko belmont 30 year shingles in 2007, and 5 years later the shingles have already cracked. Took almost three months to get a response from the company in which they denied the warranty unless I legally go after them, there's nothing I can do. Please let me know if anyone else had this same cracking issue that I had.


Date created: 2012-03-22 Name: Amy C.
Location: Michigan

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"My Roof Is Falling Apart As We Speak"
Built home 1996, almost immediately there were spots of degranulation and excessive wear. Now the gutters are full of the granules. When the snow melted I found whole tabs and degranulated felt-like "chunks" on the ground. I pray every time the wind blows that we won't lose more shingles. The roofer was out this week for a quote for a tear-off and new non iko roof. I am keeping all samples and had the roofer take pictures and submitted my name for the class action suit as dealing with iko sounds like an exercise in futility.


Date created: 2012-03-21 Name: Gail
Location: Rochester, NY
Model: Aristocrat 25

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Pure Junk"
We had an IKO roof put on our home in 1999. 25 year shingles? Ha... no way! They started curling, cracking and separating after 5 years. We had an IKO rep come to look at the roof and they said because the roof wasn't "failing" that there was nothing they would do about it. Horrible people to deal with. Now 13 years later we are forced to pay $9,000 for yet another roof that was suppose to last 25! I am upset that I didn't know about the class action lawsuit. I would have joined had I known! Bottom line....stay away from IKO



Date created: 2012-03-15 Name: S Richard
Location: Chatham, Ontario
Model: GXL 30

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"They all suck"
I have been building and roofing houses for over 30 years. For the last 20 all Iko shingles I have installed of any type have not lasted half as long as promised. I have successfully filed a number of warranty claims so they were installed properly. They have cut their warranty to only the prorated cost of the singles only where they used to cover prorated labor as well. I do not know if any of the other companies are any better because they are only 5 to 7 years old but I do not use Iko any longer. Fyi any singles replaced under warranty are only covered for the period of time require to complete the original shingle warranty. For this reason you should deal with a supplier who handles more than one manufacturer. File your claim, have them invoice but not deliver from your original manufacturer. Return the invoice for credit and purchase the other manufacturer to get a full warranty on the new ones. Joining the iko lawsuit may be wise as well Good Luck and go metal if you can afford it!


Date created: 2012-01-20 Name: JRS
Location: Clayton, NC
Model: Royal Victorian

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"IKO should not be allowed to sell this product"
Purchased a custom built home new in late 1999. The home is a Victorian style so Royal Victorian iko shingles were installed. The home was a Parade home winner for the builder here in North Carolina. The shingles started losing the granuals almost from the beginning. It has gotten so bad now that very little of the granuale is left. The shingles have holes, many pieces broken off in strange ways. For instance the ends are still attached by the sealer but center sections of the shingles are missing. This shingle is an organic type. The builder listed it as a 30 year shingle. The shingles on my utility building are not iko and of a lesser brand (at the time) they look like new and the iko look like they are well past 30 years. Stay clear of iko.


Date created: 2011-12-28 Name: KENT L
Location: WINNIPEG, MB
Model: CHATEAU

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"CHATEAU IKO"
I am a contractor of 35 years built my own house in 2000, $20,000.00 dollars for the best iko shingle I paid and that was not retail. 2009 I started to notice crumbling, deformation and even on the cold side north where no heat sun is in summer. 35 years sure.


Date created: 2011-12-27 Name: Syd Gatenby
Location: London, Ontario
Model: Rennaisance XL25

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"More IKO Problems"
Replaced 90 bundle roof May 2003 in preparation for retirement 2012 thinking roof would last to 2028. Eaves are continuous vented, with 23" rafter mate in every truss space and roof is r-50 insulated. Noticed cracking almost immediately and in 2009 cracking, degranulation, and curling. Reported to iko and filed accordingly. Iko never reported receiving paperwork and refiled 2010. Iko offered 49 bundles 30 year Cambridge product only. If accepted I would not be able to join class action lawsuit. I declined and joined the class action lawsuit. Seven year old roof on a 25 year warranty is worth 52% of product without removal, disposal and installation. Crap.


Date created: 2011-12-15 Name: Tony
Location: Massachusetts
Model: Renaissance

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Better off using plastic sheathing"
My IKO roof shingle is at best 13 years old and when purchased they had a 25yr warranty. I built my own house so I know that everything was done right and I am in the building industry. My shingles are losing the granules and are cracking to the point where it looks like I have just felt paper on the roof. My advice to all my customers now is stay away from IKO and stick with the better brands like Certainteed or BP. Also the folks at IKO don't really seem to care regarding their customer service. Never again IKO.


Date created: 2011-12-07 Name: D.B.
Location: Ontario, Canada
Model: Renaissance GXL 30

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Extremely poor quality"
I have a 52 year old house and had the iko shingles installed on the roof in 2002. The roof underneath was in absolute pristine condition at the time. Our family has owned the house since it was first built and we have never had anything even remotely close to a problem with the roof......until now. These shingles have completely deteriorated to the point where they do not offer any more protection. This has resulted in a leak into one of the bedrooms and now about 1/3 of that room's ceiling has collapsed. The shingles are completely shot and need to be replaced immediately before winter. I will now have to pay for another roofing job about 10 years earlier than expected and pay for repairs and clean- up of the mess that these shingles produced. Disappointed is an understatement when you think of a company claiming to manufacture high- quality products would produce such an inferior one.


Date created: 2011-12-07 Location: Bangor, ME
Model: Cambridge AR

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"IKO Cambridge AR a decent shingle"
I just put the IKO Cambridge AR shingles on my barn this fall. I feel the best attribute of theses shingles is that they look really nice. I got the gray ones and the way they are colored and the multi-layer design gives them a real nice 3-d look. The shingles were easy to install myself and had good directions on the back. They laid real nice and were easy to line up. There is even a line drawn on them so you know where to nail them. Some complaints I have though are the plastic bundles are easily damaged they rip real easy and the directions will wash off if they get wet. Also there were some shingles that weren't glued together correctly or mangled so that I couldn't use them. I haven't had them long enough to tell how durable they are they've only been up for about 3 months and I've had no problems so far. There price is reasonable for what your getting. I would buy them again even though they aren't perfect.

<< Previous123456789101112131415161718Next >>