Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Iko shingles

Iko Logo

Read 185 Iko Shingle reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#14   of 15 brands of shingles

18% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 185 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    33
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    2
  • Neutral
    2
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    147

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Iko shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous12345678910111213141516171819Next >>

Date created: 2012-04-26 Name: YATER
Location: rayland, ohio
Model: Aristocrat 25 (Calgary)

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"THEY SUCK"
13 years they are shot. Don't buy them anyone who is satisfied with these shingles had to have just purchased them. Just got my letter back from their warranty department, just threw it in the garbage. No satisfaction.


Date created: 2012-04-16 Name: K.G.
Location: Ontario
Model: Cambridge 30AR

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"What Junk"
Installed iko shingles in October. We had some 80+ days and still shingles have not sealed. Have had to replace shingles numerous times as they keep blowing off. Now we have a 10x10 section missing. Don't buy this product. Can Canadians join class action lawsuit and if so, who do we contact?


Date created: 2012-04-04 Name: Nate Charon
Location: Albany, NY
Model: Cambridge LT

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Quality"
As a homeowner. Do yourself a favor and get a sample of each shingle manufacturer you are thinking of using. Touch and feel the difference of each product. Lighter and flimsy is not a good characteristic of a quality shingle. Thicker and heavier are better and will last longer. This is something they never tell the homeowner. Check out the IKO product and you will see the advantages for yourself. It is no comparison.



Date created: 2012-04-04 Name: Joe Vail
Location: Schenectady, NY
Model: Cambridge LT

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Real Shingles Still exist"
I have been using GAF for years. Tried the IKO product and realized that the GAS product has very light from removing asphalt from the product for years. Iko is a heavy product that feels durable the gaf feels flimsy. I was short on every GAF job because they only ship a partial sq compared to the iko full sq in three bundles. 20 sq job I was buying 4 more bundles of the gaf for no reason wasting more than $100 every time. Try iko they are great.


Date created: 2012-03-28 Name: JAMES V Di FORTI
Location: TANNERSVILLE PA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"WARRANTY DISPUTE"
My builder used 25 year shingles on my new home in 1998. 10 years later the shingles started to deteriorate, curling and cracking. When I contacted iko and submitted the information they asked for. I was offered less than 500.00 dollars to replace the entire roof, even after 3 roofers told me the shingles failed and were defected. Iko refused to come up with any more money, it ended up costing me 6000.00 to replace the entire roof after only 10 years. They even ignored a letter from the roofer, needless to say, think twice before you buy there products.


Date created: 2012-03-28 Name: r.huppert
Location: red wing,mn
Model: belmont

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"resident"
Bought iko belmont 30 year shingles in 2007, and 5 years later the shingles have already cracked. Took almost three months to get a response from the company in which they denied the warranty unless I legally go after them, there's nothing I can do. Please let me know if anyone else had this same cracking issue that I had.


Date created: 2012-03-22 Name: Amy C.
Location: Michigan

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"My Roof Is Falling Apart As We Speak"
Built home 1996, almost immediately there were spots of degranulation and excessive wear. Now the gutters are full of the granules. When the snow melted I found whole tabs and degranulated felt-like "chunks" on the ground. I pray every time the wind blows that we won't lose more shingles. The roofer was out this week for a quote for a tear-off and new non iko roof. I am keeping all samples and had the roofer take pictures and submitted my name for the class action suit as dealing with iko sounds like an exercise in futility.


Date created: 2012-03-21 Name: Gail
Location: Rochester, NY
Model: Aristocrat 25

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Pure Junk"
We had an IKO roof put on our home in 1999. 25 year shingles? Ha... no way! They started curling, cracking and separating after 5 years. We had an IKO rep come to look at the roof and they said because the roof wasn't "failing" that there was nothing they would do about it. Horrible people to deal with. Now 13 years later we are forced to pay $9,000 for yet another roof that was suppose to last 25! I am upset that I didn't know about the class action lawsuit. I would have joined had I known! Bottom line....stay away from IKO


Date created: 2012-03-15 Name: S Richard
Location: Chatham, Ontario
Model: GXL 30

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"They all suck"
I have been building and roofing houses for over 30 years. For the last 20 all Iko shingles I have installed of any type have not lasted half as long as promised. I have successfully filed a number of warranty claims so they were installed properly. They have cut their warranty to only the prorated cost of the singles only where they used to cover prorated labor as well. I do not know if any of the other companies are any better because they are only 5 to 7 years old but I do not use Iko any longer. Fyi any singles replaced under warranty are only covered for the period of time require to complete the original shingle warranty. For this reason you should deal with a supplier who handles more than one manufacturer. File your claim, have them invoice but not deliver from your original manufacturer. Return the invoice for credit and purchase the other manufacturer to get a full warranty on the new ones. Joining the iko lawsuit may be wise as well Good Luck and go metal if you can afford it!


Date created: 2012-01-20 Name: JRS
Location: Clayton, NC
Model: Royal Victorian

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"IKO should not be allowed to sell this product"
Purchased a custom built home new in late 1999. The home is a Victorian style so Royal Victorian iko shingles were installed. The home was a Parade home winner for the builder here in North Carolina. The shingles started losing the granuals almost from the beginning. It has gotten so bad now that very little of the granuale is left. The shingles have holes, many pieces broken off in strange ways. For instance the ends are still attached by the sealer but center sections of the shingles are missing. This shingle is an organic type. The builder listed it as a 30 year shingle. The shingles on my utility building are not iko and of a lesser brand (at the time) they look like new and the iko look like they are well past 30 years. Stay clear of iko.

<< Previous12345678910111213141516171819Next >>