Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Iko shingles

Iko Logo

Read 191 Iko Shingle reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#14   of 15 brands of shingles

19% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 191 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    35
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    2
  • Neutral
    2
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    151

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Iko shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous1234567891011121314151617181920Next >>

Date created: 2017-06-10 Name: Hutton roofing campbellville
Location: Campbellville ontario
Model: All

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Hutton roofing Toronto Ontario"
I used to be an Iko certified installer. Toured the manufacturing plant knew all the reps, and sold only exclusively until the problems started coming in with all my customers after 6-7 yrs, degranulating, curling, blow offs, a lot of blow offs,the shingle has to much filler and is dry right out of the pack, I keep in touch with the former formulist who used to work in the lab balancing the mixtures of the product, if you add more than a few percent filler, I call it hamburger helper to the asphalt the durability goes away. It's easy to compare lay an Iko shingle in the sun along with a say Certainteed then stick your thumb on the seal strip. You will see right away why the Iko blow off all the time like I said dry. I am a boutique high quality by the book installer here in southern Ontario mostly work for engineers property managers I don't advertise all my work is referral and I have built it this way using the better products, when you look at the Iko stuff in the bundle you can see they are all cut to varying sizes that's because if you tour the plant you will see the equipment is some,leftover stuff from the Second World War.also since the company is owned by a single Jewish family and not a publicly traded one they don't have responsibility to the shareholders so they make this junk and don't have to answer to anyone, as a certified installer I would have thought they would have taken care of my customers when the product failed but this company has the worst of all warranties in that it is product only, meaning that when they approved all my claims they sent singles only to the address in question, well my customers didn't want more of the same they wanted to switch and this is why I don't install them anymore,you can't imagine how many subdivisions or complexs I see that are 15 yrs old on a supposed 25 yr shingle and we are harvesting all the houses prematurely. I love Iko only for one reason in that they keep us busy.


Date created: 2017-06-09 Name: William Morgan
Location: Moncks Corner SC

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"3 leaks within 3 years!"
I had a brand new reroof job installed in 2014. Ive had 3 leaks within 3 years. I guess this is why the contractor left me with about 100 yards of felt, and 5 packages of shingles that were left over from the install...so that I could do the repairs myself! Im now about to roll the dice on Atlas Pinnacles... I'll let you know the outcome in a few years. :)


Date created: 2017-05-29 Name: Mike
Location: Garson
Model: Cambridge

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Terrible"
Do not buy these shingles. A slight breeze and they blow off as they do not glue together. Garbage!



Date created: 2017-05-28 Name: Frank P
Location: central wi.
Model: Biltmore

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"More junk"
Keep trying to sell and promote IKO. There are enough people protesting their product that out number anything positive and a warranty that isn't worth the paper it's written on. New construction in April 2015. March of 2017 blow offs from not locking. The locking strip does not compare to others. visible when laid next to another shingle, even from the shingle I used (IKO builtmore) compared to the Iko cambridge! Claim denied based on improper installation. Any time one nail isn't exactly where they say it should be they can reject your claim. You are at their will and mercy. They will not send a rep out to inspect.I had 3 roofers at my home. All inspected my roof. All 3 indicated faulty shingles not locking. All 3 have been roofing for over 25 years. I'm not talking about a couple roofs a year I'm saying millions of dollars in business every year. I purchased the IKO product based on the shingle life and warranty not the price. The IKO product was recommend to me by the installer I hired. Be advised, people that post negative reviews on them have a good reason to.I've been in skilled trades for years. This is a shame for anyone to deal with.


Date created: 2017-05-23 Name: D. Domino
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"By Far a Superior Product"
I have been an IKO distributor for over 10 years and have sold approximately 1.5 million squares of IKO Cambridge in that period of time. I have never had issues with IKO. They are by far a superior product to all other shingles out there. They are larger, heavier, with a heavier fiberglass mat than any shingle out there. They contain more asphalt than any shingle. Their 5-7/8" exposure puts all other shingles to shame. The elegant appearance on the roof cannot be matched. Anyone complaining about this shingle should look into the installation workmanship. Many roofer high nail the shingles which causes blow offs. The adhesive on the IKO shingles is second to none. The colors are beautiful and their algae resistant granules are better than the competition. By far, the best shingle on the market.


Date created: 2017-05-22 Name: Rick Wilson
Location: Denver, St. Louis, Charlotte, Raleigh, New Jersey and Palm Beach
Model: Cambridge

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"High Performance Product! Well done!"
I am the owner of Great American Roofing and Restoration. We have offices in 6 Cities. We use IKO in our Denver location and I wanted to share a real life experience that we had recently in Colorado Springs. Earlier this year that area experiences 110 MPH winds. I am happy to say that all of our competitors had broken shingles that were at a 45 degree angle and the homes we did with IKO had no damage! Kudos to the new seal technology. We are switching all of our offices to IKO!


Date created: 2017-05-14 Name: Mary
Location: Lynn MA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Unhappy Consumer Installed"
I put these shingles on my roof and have had nothing but trouble. With in the first year of putting them on I had to replace several sections after a rainstorm. They do not have enough glue and lift easily and snap in half. After they were installed we have had to replace many 6 different times. They should be banned they are a waste of money. Due to the fact that I am a senior citizen and on a fixed income I cannot afford to rip them off and replace them with a good shingle. I highly recommend no one ever use them. Also, there is no representative in the area and the form they ask you to fill out for a complaint is ridiculous. Installed 2010


Date created: 2017-04-26 Name: Dan
Location: East Aurora, NY
Model: Chateau

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"After 17 years, my 35 year shingles are completely shot"
I built my house at the end of 1999, and have just been noticing how the shingles are all curled and falling apart. I'm definitely going for a lawsuit, be it with the Class Action, or personally. Now that I see the terrible reputation this company has, I will make sure they make this situation right.


Date created: 2017-04-06 Name: James Costello
Location: Flat Rock, Michigan
Model: Cambridge

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Junk"
Bought a new home 3 years ago. First 45-50 mile per hour wind blew off half the roof. Looked at the Iko shingles that blew off and found that not one of the shingles had sealed down. We found the roofer and he said they would not blow off unless it was more than 50 mph. It could have been over 50, needless to say he won't do a damn thing. I Looked at oc duration with sure nail technology and the youtube video and I am convinced with using 6 nails and the quality of their adhesive that they will not blow away even at 100 mph.


Date created: 2017-04-02 Name: Jim Wheaton
Location: Clayton Ny
Model: Chateau

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worst roofing ever"
30 year shingles with half there life and are total trash.

<< Previous1234567891011121314151617181920Next >>