Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Iko shingles

Iko Logo
Popularity:
#14  of 15 brands of shingles

19% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 171 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    31
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    2
  • Neutral
    2
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    135

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Iko shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous123456789101112131415161718Next >>

Date created: 2016-02-10 Name: J Zalinsky
Location: Downers Grove, IL
Model: Cambridge AR

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Good Project, Good Product!"
Have to say what a great shingle and install we picked. Project done in May of 2011 and sealed down within a week(first or second day all but north side). Had a small amount of granule wash in beginning but since have had virtually none. The shingles have a great blend of color and many of the neighbors have asked or even commented on who's shingles those were and how they liked the appearance over others in neighborhood. All in all the crew we selected were top notch and were a certified contractor as well as fully licensed, insured, and bonded. They came in with all the proper equipment and had the project completed in one day. We have approximately 2500 sq ft of roofing that is mostly 6/12 pitch. Everything has been great from start to finish. The asphalt shingles that most use today are fiberglass(which we researched) and are not of much concern like the old days were organic shingles were used, and have to say we couldn't be happier. We would recommend the Cambridge shingle by IKO to others as well as working with a certified contractor in your area.


Date created: 2016-02-02 Name: Doreen Michalak
Location: Peterborough, NH
Model: Chateua 30

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Embarrassing Warranty"
Builder installed a 30 year roof in 2006 on a beautiful timber frame home. It is so embarrassing to have all the shingles all curled up on the sides, the roof looks ridiculous, and is starting to leak. Iko pretty much laughed in our faces about getting some sort of compensation. They "apologize" for the inconvenience... Now instead of having another 20 years with this roof, we will need to replace it and pay another $20,000 out of pocket for a new product and installation.


Date created: 2016-01-02 Name: Ed friedrich
Location: Vermont
Model: Chateau

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Poor warranty"
I had a new roof installed in 2003 they are chateau shingles after 4 years they started curling and I was told it was lack of venting or insulation. It worked in IKO favor know my shingles are shot and out of the kindness in there heat they will pay 1100.00 of 10,000.00 for a new roof when the whole time they new it was there defective product. So if you are looking for a stand up product with a great warranty do not use IKO.



Date created: 2015-12-23 Name: Wayne Millen
Location: Maine
Model: Cambridge AR 50

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"IKO Cambridge Failure to Seal"
We installed IKO Cambridge AR 50 in 2008. Several sections have slipped down over the 7 years due to a lack of sealing. Many have even failed on the south side of the roof. Our contractor has tested surrounding shingles as he has replaced the failed ones and he estimates at least 30% of the shingle sections never sealed. The company will not warrantee this as a defect and if it happens after 5-years due to wind lift. Our local building company stopped carrying IKO due to their poor customer service and poor warrantee.


Date created: 2015-12-18 Name: Susan W. Longley
Location: Maine
Model: Cambridge Architectural

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"IKO Blow-off's & Ice Dams & Roof Leaks"
In my opinion, the following: Save yourselves $10,000's of dollars, years of roof leaks and ice dams and blow-off's. Iko is will cost you. In my case, I paid $5000 for a new roof less than 5 years ago. Since, I have had ice dams and leaks and blow-off's. Yesterday, IKO informed me that they were denying my claim because their IKO shingles do not seal if put on a roof in the winter, where the cool temps do not allow proper sealing. Maybe IKO's grand-dad (Isadore Kosinsky, the Polish immigrant) had standards, but this generation sell expensive junk that does not seal, causes ice dams and leaks and shingle blow-off's and customer blow- off's too. See why I say save yourselves the $10's of $1000's of dollars? I highly recommend you save yourselves and also your family, friends and neighbors the time and money on iko junk... and, P.S. IKO is the subject of a nation-wide class action suit, as well.


Date created: 2015-12-16 Name: John Lucking
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Model: Chateau

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Useless Warranty"
Bought a home built in 2003. Had 30 year Iko Chateau shingles - after 12 years they are failing and crumbling. The warranty is useless to a subsequent purchaser. Ignore all the warranties on roofing shingles sold by anyone - they are laughable once you understand the fine print. Determine the best shingle based on reviews and reputation within your budget and find the best contractor. Ignore the warranty.


Date created: 2015-12-04 Name: Gilles
Location: Espanola CA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Poor Quality shingles"
Just put up Christmas lights and my shingles are falling apart after only 11 years. Looking to join class action lawsuit.


Date created: 2015-11-30 Name: Marty
Location: Niagara Ontario
Model: Cambridge 30

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Settlement via roofing contractor"
Our bought the snapstone tile to lay in my basement after an "Exclusion Clause" on our roof. The Iko Cambridge 30 year shingles were installed in 2008 and are now uninsurable. First I called the local distributor (iko Dealer) and was told that once the product leaves his site he has nothing to do with it. So I called the roofing contractor who advised to send pictures and he would get back to me. After almost one year and many calls to the roofing contractor nothing happened as the contractor did not even reply. I launched legal action against the contractor and recently had our preliminary day in court. The contractor pleaded that his work was good. I countered that how can the work be good if my roof is uninsurable? The contractor then explained to the judge that the product installed was defective and there was no manufacturer support. The judge then clarified the channels of a warranty claim and advised the roofing contractor that if he cannot settle this matter in the specified time, and if it comes back before him, the contractor better have a manufacturing representative present or he will be taking responsibility of the problem. It appears that the warranty is based on contract law. My contract was with the roofer,and if the roofer wants protection, he will have to take the supplier to court as that is where he purchased the shingles and has a contract. Then the supplier, if he does not want to be burdened with an expenditure, he will have to take the manufacturer to court as that is the entity that he has a contract with. Interesting to note that iko want homeowners to send defective single samples directly to them. In short if this policy is noted, there are no contracts between the roofing contractor and homeowner. Could that be the reason why the end user or homeowner is stuck with the problem?


Date created: 2015-11-20 Name: Peter
Location: vancouver

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"Stay away from Iko"
I have delivered every nearly every brand of shingles in 15 years and Iko has the worst reputation by far. Dont put them on your dog house, take a look at Landmark or Gaf.


Date created: 2015-11-05 Name: Helen
Location: Toronto, Canada
Model: 25 year Aristocrat Shingles

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Very disappointed in IKO"
I've owned this home for 46 years and have never had problems with my shingles prior to having Iko shingles installed in 2007. A few weeks ago I noticed water dripping from the lighting fixture in the kitchen after it rained, so I had the roof inspected to try and determine the source of the leak. The tradesman discovered that the shingles had begun to curl and crack despite being advertised as having a 25 year lifespan. I believe the problem to be poor product quality as the roofers who installed the shingles came highly recommended by a trusted friend and know their trade well. In light of this, I would recommend that others stay away from IKO shingles.

<< Previous123456789101112131415161718Next >>