Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Iko shingles

Iko Logo
Popularity:
#14  of 15 brands of shingles

19% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 171 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    31
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    2
  • Neutral
    2
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    135

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Iko shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous123456789101112131415161718Next >>

Date created: 2015-08-04 Name: Richard
Location: Calgary
Model: Rennisance

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worst Ever"
Time for a new roof after 12 years... When I built my home I upgraded to a "25" year shingle. 12 years later and I'm in for $15,000 on a new roof. At this point I am trying to get something from Iko - however I do not want some prorated portion in shingles. I will not use Iko shingles on my new roof. Extremely poor warranty, no accountability, and a very poor product. Very misleading selling us on a 25yr shingle.


Date created: 2015-07-29 Name: I.March
Location: Toronto Canada
Model: Marathon

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Beware or Be Aware"
New roof 2007. Tabs blowing off 2011. Leaking 2012. Roofer fixed leaking area 2012. 2013 many areas tabs tearing off in wind. Roofer inspects no glue in many areas. 2014 before 100% warranty expires warranty claim with photos showing many deficient areas put in to Iko, they test two shingles. Result nothing wrong they blame roofer although they never inspected the installed shingles they claimed the roofer did not install nails flat therefore roof could not seal! Photos taken for record. Although problem is obvious! Warning - they will not honor their warranty I am a Realtor and have so far told a number of people, my experience, when they have asked about roofs. I certainly would not use Iko again.


Date created: 2015-06-23 Name: MMFIC
Location: New England
Model: Chateau

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Trouble Above"
Our house was constructed in 2000 with 30 year Iko Chateau architectural shingles, and only halfway into their warranted lifespan they are in dire need of replacement. Being in the construction industry, I have reputable builders and roofers consistently explain how they encounter premature Iko shingle failure on a regular basis. With multiple leaks, I just had my first claim with my insurance company, and the adjuster said this is a common occurance, and that I need a completely new roof. Now I'm facing a $20,000+ project. Exploring my legal options.



Date created: 2015-06-02 Name: The Millers
Model: Cambridge Dual Black

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"What a Nightmare!"
Two year old home with Iko Cambridge Dual Black. Roof started blowing off before we moved in! Roofer got so tired of us calling to hand glue shingles that he quit responding. Iko offered small settlement that will not even come close to hand gluing all the roof. This roof won't last, and they will not stand behind their product. It is very apparent that the glue did not adhere, even though it was professionally installed in the middle of summer. This product is garbage!


Date created: 2015-05-22 Name: P. Proulx
Location: Ottawa, ON

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Do Not Buy"
Installed Iko 30year shingles 15 years ago. For the past 3 years the shingles have deteriorated to a point where the covering was warn off almost completely. We had to re-roof this year. We had installed 30 year shingles to last through our retirement years, yet here we are having to re-roof early. This unscheduled expense has really hit hard.


Date created: 2015-05-17 Name: Merv
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Model: Cambridge

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Bad Company"
Installed shingles 5 years ago on a 30 year shingle. Believe there is not enough tar to help hold down the shingles, which is also separating from the top layer of the top layer, again not enough tar. I built a shed around the same time and used a cheap brand and it has lasted longer than the house, more expensive shingles. Submitted a claim and when I called after the claim was declined, a manager also stated I did not have any tall trees around the house to also act as a wind break? Would never recommend this company or their products. In the process of installing a metal roof.


Date created: 2015-05-10 Name: J Mackenzie
Location: Calgary
Model: Renaissance

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Disaster"
IKO Renaissance shingles were used on most houses built on our street. Without exception, they have all failed prematurely: cracking, lifting, leaking. Every insurance company and every roofer knows what a disaster these shingles are but IKO is oblivious. Class action suit pending, and IKO feels its best strategy is to hide behind lawyers rather than stand behind its product. Good luck getting a dime.


Date created: 2015-04-12 Name: Robert Mycroft
Location: Patten, ME
Model: Cambridge

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Run away from Iko"
Iko shingles are poorly designed. My Iko Cambridge shingles discolored, fell apart and tore off my roof. The roof is properly ventilated and they were properly installed, the product is just inferior. You will not believe this, but Iko doesn't want to hear it. No wonder there is a class action lawsuit pending against iko. You were warned, stay away from iko...


Date created: 2015-04-09 Name: jay
Location: ottawa

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Poor install"
For most of the comments I see about shingles blowing off in storms or leaking issues I would bet my career 95% of these are bad installs most roofers dont even know or care about the importance of nail patterns either nailing to fast making the gun drive the nail on an angle or to cheap/stupid to recognize when a 6 nail pattern is needed afterwards blaming the manufacturer instead of taking responsibility.


Date created: 2015-04-03 Name: A. Mullen
Location: Felton, DE
Model: Royal Victorian

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Terrible Product and IKO Won't Honor Warranty"
We built our house in 2002, our small outbuilding in 2003, and our barn in 2004. Each roof has IKO Royal Victorian shingles on them. Every one of them has a deteriorating roof. We asked a well known and respected roofer in our area about the situation and he told us this was a big problem with IKO shingles and that IKO wasn't honoring their warranties. He was right! Shady business practices and they're still selling faulty shingles! Pick another brand.

<< Previous123456789101112131415161718Next >>