Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Iko shingles

Iko Logo
Popularity:
#14  of 15 brands of shingles

19% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 171 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    31
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    2
  • Neutral
    2
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    135

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Iko shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous123456789101112131415161718Next >>

Date created: 2015-04-03 Name: C. Moore
Location: Billings MT

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Horrible!"
We built our house in 2008 and within a year we had several blow off. ..And again a year later. We had some high winds (not a tornado by any means) and we lost probably a good 100 shingles with probably a quarter of the entire roof having loose ones. This company will not stand behind its product at all. The sales rep is of no help, pretty much told us good luck with getting help.


Date created: 2015-03-22 Name: Ed Lehman
Location: Edgerton, Oh.

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Failed to Honor Warranty"
New IKO roof on 5 years. Granule wash became extreme to the point of filling the trough completely over next 2 years twice. IKO refused to honor its warranty period. Local dealer also said the wash problem was a major issue with other local buyers of IKO shingles. He said IKO was not helping in any way.


Date created: 2015-02-18 Name: B westover
Location: Clearfield coounty, Pa.

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"Improperly nailed"
I wonder how many of you unsatisfied Iko shingle people's shingles were nailed on by a contractor using an air gun. Iko recommends roofing nails and a hammer (hand nailing). We had Iko's put on our roof ten years ago by a contractor who used air gun and they slid off last summer. About the same time we built a shed on another property we own and used the leftover shingles from our house. They are still perfect. We hand nailed those shingles on.



Date created: 2015-01-27 Name: A. Ames
Location: Campton NH
Model: Aristocrat 25

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Needs replacement at 12 years"
I was told these would last 25 years. They do not.


Date created: 2015-01-14 Name: Larry Johnson
Location: Terre Haute, IN
Model: Biltmore 50 year

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Bad - Vertical angle cracks."
We purchased the Biltmore 50 year shingles and some started vertically angle cracking within the first year. I have to tar them every year - not what I paid for.


Date created: 2014-12-27 Name: M. Welt
Location: Maine
Model: 30 Year Architectural

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Bad shingles, Bad company!"
Our new house was built in 2001 and shingled with iko 30 year architectural. Now in 2014 the whole roof needs to be re-shingled. The iko shingles have just fallen apart in many places. I put a claim into he company which they denied. They blamed it on "improper ventilation of our enclosed attic space". Interesting since we have cathedral ceilings everywhere and no attic. Several roofers told me I would get no satisfaction from iko and they seem to be correct. So I say bad product and bad company. Stay away!


Date created: 2014-10-16 Name: John Perkins
Location: Location Midwest.
Model: Cambridge Weatherwood

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"I purchased a new IKO Cambridge Weatherwood roof and am 100% satisfied with it"
I purchased a new IKO Cambridge Weatherwood roof and am 100% satisfied with it. The color matches my siding and brick and the shingle were heavier than many of the competitors shingles that were shown to me during the quoting process. I even went with the Shield PRO Plus contractor that was listed on their website and now have a complete roofing system on my house, which extended my warranty. I had to purchase a new roof because my Certainteed XT failed with granule loss and constant blow-offs. Shingle failure started happening after 6 years- and I had to constantly repair.


Date created: 2014-10-13 Name: Midwest Roofer
Model: Cambridge

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Do not use IKO"
Installed a roof with Iko Cambridge shingles. These were professionally installed and 5 nailed. Within 3 months they were blowing off in numerous sections. Company wouldn't warranty it and wanted us to turn it in to insurance. Bad company and bad product!


Date created: 2014-10-10 Name: RMC
Location: Maine

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"What a disaster"
These shingles were installed in 2001 on the home we bought in 2004. Immediately after moving in we noticed they constantly rained black pieces of roofing on the deck and yard below. Several years ago they failed almost completely and we contacted Iko and their wonderful warranty. The roof was +\- 10 years into its 30 year span and they offered us $400. Seriously? No thank you. We need an entirely new roof. There is or was a class action lawsuit against the company and I can not believe with all the horrible reviews and photos against this company they aren't being held responsible.


Date created: 2014-09-30 Name: Dirk
Location: northeast

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"IKO shingle failures due to poor quality organic binder"
We had a new roof professionally installed using IKO shingles in ~2007. Last year, our roofer mentioned the southern exposure shingles were curling up badly and needed replacing. He previously told us in 2007 that IKO's problem with the organic binders breaking down prematurely had been resolved - apparently not true.

<< Previous123456789101112131415161718Next >>