Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Iko shingles

Iko Logo
Popularity:
#13  of 14 brands of shingles

19% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 163 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    30
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    2
  • Neutral
    2
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    128

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Iko shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous1234567891011121314151617Next >>

Date created: 2014-06-18 Name: Doreen
Location: Saskatchewan
Model: Cambridge

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Tearing off"
Had shingles done in October of last year and they were installed as specified by Iko for our "extreme" weather area and they have been tearing off ever since. It's a brand new house and they claim no responsibility. They keep asking for more proof and won't even send a rep.


Date created: 2014-04-08 Name: B. Campbell
Location: Sacdramento, CA
Model: Dual Brown

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Very satisfied"
I love my iko roof...very surprised to hear such bad reviews...my contractor, whom I have trusted for years told me about the iko shingles. When I told him I had heard a few bad things about iko, (from other contractors I entertained bids from) he told me that I shouldn't worry, that the majority of roof related problems are due to improper installation, and that he had been installing iko for years and had never had a problem. I went with a Cambridge Shingle, the color is dual brown, and it is beautiful!


Date created: 2014-03-31 Name: M. Smith
Location: Wheatfield, New York
Model: 25 year Cambridge

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"IKO shingles installed by David Homes"
I have had to hire contractors every year to fix shingle blow offs since the house was built in 2001. The last three contractors have each told me the iko shingles are crap and the entire roof needs to be replaced. I believe David Homes uses the cheapest materials possible. Contact me before you use David Homes and iko shingles.



Date created: 2014-03-19 Name: J.M.
Location: Quinte Area
Model: Renaissance

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Yet Another Dissatisfied Customer"
Installed 25yr iko Renaissance Shingles in 2000. In 2013 (that's only 13 yrs folks) the shingles have deteriorated to crap. They must be replaced this spring. I need 100 bundles; iko offered a credit for 19 bundles and no compensation for labor. Very poor product and even worse manufacturer!


Date created: 2014-02-27 Name: F Burchett
Location: Grayson
Model: Dimensional

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Defective roof"
Please don't use these shingles! I am a contractor who has been in business for 10 years and I was talked into changing from Owens Corning to iko. The first house I shingled in iko had a major shingle flaw. They did not seal. So IKO's idea of making this right is putting caulking on the shingle. In what world will caulk last 30 years? I pretty much have to acquire an attorney to fight this and spend my own money to replace the defective shingles and keep my good business name. Again, I urge you to never use this product!


Date created: 2013-11-22 Name: M. Smith
Location: Wheatfield, New York 14120
Model: Driftwood

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"IKO Shingles are Garbage"
My house was built 10 years ago. I have had constant problems over the 10 years with shingle blow offs. Three separate contractors I hired to repair the roof each told me the shingles are garbage and the entire roof needs to be replaced. Iko warranty claim form asks for all kind of information I don't have and my builder can't provide. I'll submit as much information they request as I can but I'm pretty sure I'm just wasting my time. Will definitely be keeping my eyes open for any class action lawsuit.


Date created: 2013-10-18 Name: Carol Conforti
Location: Spring Brook Twp. Pa.
Model: IKO Renaissance XL

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Whole roof is shot"
Built in 1999 used Iko Renaissance XL 25 year Harvest Slate shingles, at this point we are told the whole roof is shot. Shingles are curling, cracking coming off. Called Iko and was sent out a warranty packet. Have to supply two shingles, 7 pictures, copies of the invoice, they want a picture of the ventilation system that we have for the roof. From everything I am reading this looks like this is going to be a nightmare. We live in Northeast PA. Does anyone know if a class action for our area is going on?


Date created: 2013-10-11 Name: Maj M.A. Grigel
Location: Vermont

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Bottom feeders"
These are substandard when compared to Owens Corning. These shingles leech oil that stains the facia and soffit. Beware if you have stone or brick features without a substantial over hang. These stains are not water soluble and thinner must be used to remove them. However you are not done they will return in 60 days and again and again. In two years I have cleaned the house 11 times. Company solution: cover the stains with gutters. Brilliant when you receive 80 inches of snow annually. Sub Standard and poor leadership.


Date created: 2013-09-23 Name: Steve J.
Location: Agawam, MA
Model: 3 tab Arct. shingle

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"IKO Arc. 3 tab"
I had the 35 year shingles but on in 2004 and I noticed they were starting to curl after about 3 to 4 years on the south side of the house, now they are curling on all sides of the house. I was wondering is anyone had gotten any money from Iko under warranty and what was the percentage people are getting back if any. Should I try to go through Iko or join the lawsuit. The roof is not leaking yet.


Date created: 2013-09-17 Name: sfa
Location: North bay

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Garbage!"
Shingles curled after 2yrs started taking pictures and contacted the warranty department. Spoke to multiple people in this department and they requested the same things repeatedly more Samples/pictures/receipts/my property Tax bill? Seriously. I spoke to a guy Nick at Iko and he told me my samples were shingles were faulty and that they would be warrantied. I call back two weeks later and Nick didn't work there anymore? Then they told me it was the installation "high nailing" they would cover nothing. My house is now 4 the roof looks 20 and I have a yard full of shingles that have now blown off. I am paying for a new roof on my 4yr old home. This has been check by three different contractors and they all said its the shingles. I've never been ripped off like this before!

<< Previous1234567891011121314151617Next >>