Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

dotted nav bar
dotted nav bar

Consumer Reviews of Iko shingles

Popularity:
#30  of 34 brands of shingles

17% of customers recommend
1.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    16
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    2
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    86

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Iko shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous1234567891011Next >>

Date created: 2011-08-30 Name: R
Model: Cambridge 30

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"IKO shingles won't stay on"
My new house was built in 2006. I bought this house in 2007. The roof started blowing off in 2008, eight times that year. So our contractor put a new Iko cambridge 30 roof over the old in 2009. Now in 2011 they started blowing off again. About half of the shingles are not sealed. I submitted a claim and iko said the wind blew to hard. So it's not their problem. My house was the only house that lost shingles in our subdivision . So now I get to take two lyers of bad shingles off and start all over. This time it won't be Iko.


Date created: 2011-08-30 Name: Cannata building
Location: Massachusetts
Model: Cambridge 30

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"IKO Shingles worst product ever. They dont seal and blow off"
Iko Cambridge 30 shingles are the worst product ever! They blow off as they do not seal. The company and its representative try to blame it on the nailing pattern and lay it on the installer when any one with half a brain knows all of the resistance to wind comes from the melting together that they should do. After that, the nails simply keep the shingles from sliding down the roof. Even if you nail on the nail line as they claim they just snap off at the nail line instead. Crap spineless company with crap product. Join forces builders with the class action suit .


Date created: 2011-08-08 Name: L. Garber
Location: Sugarcreek OH
Model: Renaissance GXL 30

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't make the same mistake!"
First time these Iko Renaissance GXL 30 shingles were applied they lasted about 14 years. Iko and roofer said it was a "bad batch" and we foolishly replaced with iko again. This time, after 7 years, they began loosing grit and deteriorating. Terribly inferior produce.


Date created: 2011-08-07 Name: Scot Wheeler
Location: Helena, MT
Model: Cambridge 30

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"ONLY THE BEST!"
Iko Cambridge 30 year shingles are simply the best! I have roofed in central Montana for 20 years and if I can, sell nothing but iko Cambridge 30 year shingles. The only way to beat there quality is to upgrade to a Life Time shingle, which in many cases is about double the cost. I pay more for iko, so make less off a roofing job but have never had a problem with them. I have replaced many brands of shingle that have failed after a decade of service, some much less, but during tear off usually find a defect in the installation. Contractors are just beginning to understand how important adequate ventilation is to roofing product durability, not to mention ice damning protection at eaves and valleys. I think there are two major factors in roofing, number one is correct installation, which includes sufficient ventilation, and then there is the quality of product. Take the square weights of three well known 30 year shingles, Malarkey- 240 pounds per square, Certainteed- 245 pounds per square and iko- 249.9 pounds per square. I'll take the IKO'S.


Date created: 2011-07-29 Name: Luther Riley
Location: Roseville, Michigan
Model: Renaissance XL 25

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Very disappointed"
In October of 1997 I had a contractor install a new roof using iko Renaissance XL 25 shingles on my 1700 sq. foot ranch home. The job included ice and water shield on the eves and valleys with nine new roof vents. The roof looked fine for the first ten years but I did notice a lot of granules in the gutters. In the last four years the shingles have lost the majority of the granules and began cracking and curling up. I will have to have it re-shingled this year before cold weather.


Need a Roofing Contractor?

Find a Local Roofing Pro with this Free Service

* Replace or Repair Existing Roof
* Roof Maintenance and Pressure Cleaning
* Leak Detection, Waterproofing, and more

Date created: 2011-07-27 Name: W. Caines
Location: Ontario, Canada
Model: Renaissance GXL 30

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Buyer"
Renaissance GXL 30 is a very poor shingle cracks, delaminating and curling. Started failure after 3 years. Would not recommend.


Date created: 2011-06-15 Name: SK
Location: Covington, OH
Model: Cambridge LT

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Love These Shingles"
I love these shingles!!! My roof was replaced in 2008. The roof was finished 1 week before the major wind storm. All my shingles sealed down and I didn't loose a single shingle. The contractor that roofed my house checked the roof to make sure all was good and said that everything was fine. No blow offs and nothing lifting.


Date created: 2011-04-29 Name: S
Location: Ontario, Canada

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Oh God"
My roof was up Sep 2006, Jan 2009 till now, the shingles keep blow off by wind and flopped up but attached to nails. Shingles seal strip failed to seal to roof! We repaired and repaired - the problem never end ---- The roof is under full warranty for first 5 years. Don't even put claim in and waste you money. Do not buy IKO products they should be out of business.


Date created: 2011-04-23 Name: Issy
Location: VhZaoyfSxPAuZkApjn
Model: Marathon 20

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"daThHEYudqRLGiuTm"
YMMD with that aneswr! TX


Date created: 2011-04-15 Name: Edward Harezlak
Location: Wenona, Illinois
Model: Biltmore

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Warranty department is terrible"
House was built in 2007. Started to replace blowoffs (7 times since) the fall of 2009. Submitted a claim and was told that the wind exceeded the 70mph warranty. Researched the wind speed the highest recorded wind since 2007 was a 59mph gust. Spoke with warranty manager and was informed once the claim was ruled upon there is nothing else I can do. What happened to companies that stand behind their products and don't lie to the customer? Good luck to anyone who tries to submit a warranty claim.

<< Previous1234567891011Next >>
Find Local Roofers

My zip code is: