Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

dotted nav bar
dotted nav bar

Consumer Reviews of Iko shingles

Popularity:
#30  of 34 brands of shingles

15% of customers recommend
1.5 of 5 stars 88 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    12
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    2
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    73

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Iko shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brandsWrite a review

<< Previous123456789Next >>

Date created: 2010-10-27 Name: E. Van
Location: Cape Cod , Ma

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"cambridge"
Started leaking after 12 years, no help from iko in resolving issue. They do not stick behind thier faulty products, thus the multible lawsuits. Bad company with bad products.


Date created: 2010-09-11 Name: M. Geiser
Location: Massena, N. Y.

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Disappointing!"
A professional roofer recommended we use 20-year IKO shingles in 1998. By 2009, the shingles were seriously failing...curled, cracked, shedding. Called the same roofer, who said there was was extensive paper work involved in filing a claim, and that we'd probably not receive compensation after all. The roofer has not returned our follow-up calls. Why do contractors continue to recommend a product with such a poor reputation? We need to replace the roof, at about $10,000., and wouldn't dream of using IKO again.


Date created: 2010-09-07 Name: Peter Yoanidis
Location: Cambridge, ON. Canada

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"IKO Renaissance 25 year"
IKO SHINGLES ARE GARBAGE!! PLAIN AND SIMPLE. I had them installed on 3 roofs in 1998, 2000 & 2002. I noticed small cracks everywhere on the first roof in 2000 but was assured by IKO that this was a normal characteristic of the brand. WRONG!!!!! I was dupped into putting them on the other 2 roofs and HAVE REPLACED THE FIRST 2 ROOFS TO DATE. AND THE THIRD NEXT SUMMER WHEN I GET SOME CASH. I'm sueing IKO for 19K in Small Claims Court on Friday September 2010. I will not loose. Every one should do this and put them out of bussiness.


Date created: 2010-09-01 Name: S Baillargeon
Location: McGregor, Ontario

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"IKO What Not to Buy!!!"
Had a professional roofer intall IKO shingles and 3 months later they were flying in the wind. Had IKO representatives take samples, said they were defective. A year later still fighting with roofer and IKO to have them replaced. IKO does not stand behind their product, wants you to go through enough red tape to discourage you to continue. I will be contacting BBB for this is unacceptable for any company to get away with this when you have paid over 6 grand for a new roof and all you receive is stress and promises from roofer and IKO and none of them deliver.


Date created: 2010-08-19 Name: S.Abraham
Location: Pickering, Ontario

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Dont buy IKO"
Had Rennaisance shingles installed and after less than 7 years they've deteriorated to the point that aesthetically I need a re-roof. Curling, cracking etc. I expect leaks soon. Followed the ridiculous warranty claim process and was basically brushed off. BRUTAL customer service....they know there is a problem with their product but can't admit liability or will suffer too much financially. I'm researching the class action suit in order to join.


Date created: 2010-08-11 Name: A. Tessier
Location: tessieraw@xplornet.com

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Never Again"
Built my house in 2001. Roofing was done by pros. using iko renaissance shingles. I live along a river, with lots of High winds. I have had to replace shingles, ripped off by the wind 5 times over 9 years. Had to redo all of the roof in the back of the house 2 years ago. I am waiting for a contractor to again replace some shingles. So never again will I buy Iko products which are manufactured in my home town.


Date created: 2010-08-08 Name: Tony Rizzuto
Location: Chatham. On

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Buyer Beware"
I purchased IKO Renaissance 25 year shingles 10 years ago and had them professionally installed. Well those 25 year shingles I am told by 2 independent roofers were defective - they do not stand up - no really - roof leaks, cracked and curling appearance yep sounds like a crappy product to me after less then half its advertised life. It is now costing me over 8K to have a new roof installed and you can bet your donkey that I will not be using IKO shingles.


Date created: 2010-07-27 Name: H. Siebert
Location: Oakville, ON

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Shingle Failure"
In 1998 I had a local roofer with an excellent reputation replace my old roof with a new one. He used IKO shingles and assured me that I would have no problems. About 5 years ago I noticed that some of the shingles started curling and cracking. When I spoke to the roofer, he assured me that there are no problems and that this is a minor appearance issue and not covered under warranty. Well by now many of the shingles have failed completely and are breaking off. I am beginning to have serious leakage problems. The answer from the roofer: "12 years is about normal and it's time to completely replace the roof - $8400 please. And BTW its not worth contacting IKO about any warranty". Does anyone have any idea what happened to the class action suit?


Date created: 2010-07-17 Name: G. Urban
Location: Toronto, Ontarion, Canada

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Iko sucks"
Iko shingles installed by expensive contractor in 1996. Shingles, after only 14 years are brittle, cracking, flacking and leaking and a couple have been broken and blown off from the top of the roof by minor wind. Roof needs replacement!


Date created: 2010-07-08 Name: C. Brooks
Location: New Hampshire

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"No complaints on my architectural shingles"
I had 30-year Iko Cambridge Seal-O-Matic architectural shingles installed on my home in November 2009. They've gone through their first New England winter, and I've had no complaints whatsoever. However, since the shingles and labor are covered under warranty for the first year, -- and we're still within that period -- I suppose they haven't really been put to the test yet. ;-)

<< Previous123456789Next >>
Find Local Roofers

My zip code is: