Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

dotted nav bar
dotted nav bar

Consumer Reviews of Iko shingles

Iko Logo
Popularity:
#13  of 14 brands of shingles

16% of customers recommend
1.5 of 5 stars 137 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    20
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    2
  • Neutral
    2
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    112

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Iko shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous1234567891011121314Next >>

Date created: 2012-08-01 Name: Grant
Location: Quebec, Canada
Model: Aristocrat 25 (Calgary)

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Taking to court"
Aristocrat shingles were starting to "blister" after 2 years. Called roofer, he called iko, they sent an "inspector", who was actually a sales rep from one of their dealers. First, he said the ventilation was not sufficient on my new extension of the house. So, I said, "ok, I'll call my roofer and contractor and tell them they designed the roof and ventilation wrong.". The inspector goes "no, no, don't do that!", Because he didn't want me to piss off their customers. So they did nothing. Now after 8 years the shingles sre starting to fall apart. Sent a letter to iko, told them I was going to redo the whole roof ($8k), and sue them in Small Claims Court, which is free here. They didn't reply, until a Court in Ontario granted a law firm permission to go ahead with a class action lawsuit for the whole country. Now iko wants me to file a claim, so they can give me a few free shingles. If thousands of complainants in Canada get shingles and labor, iko is out business.


Date created: 2012-07-26 Name: S.W.H.
Location: Louisville, KY

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't stand behind problems."
We are a roofing distributor that sold iko for a short time in the past. I was aware of past issues and was warned by others that when you had a complaint, iko would not stand behind their product. Had complaints on the first 3 jobs we sold and even after the iko sales rep agreed to replace them with labor, it took over 2 years to resolve. We would not sell iko again regardless of their very cheap price. The old adage "you get what you pay for" certainly applies. Labor, tear off, and accessory costs are the same, which is 2/3 of the job cost, regardless of what shingles are applied. Spend a little more on your shingles to get a roof that the manufacturer will stand behind. Avoid iko and any contractor that promotes them!!!


Date created: 2012-07-24 Name: R Brogna
Location: East Stroudsburg PA
Model: Aristocrat 25

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Burning mad"
My house was built in 1998 it has iko aristocrat shingles its a new home development, I noticed most of my neighbors were replacing their roof on 12 to 14 year old homes this made no sense to me until my roof started leaking. When I called iko they refused to stand behind their 25 year warranty, rude lady who had a good luck sue us attitude, I contacted the builder lts in Stroudsburg pa who refused to help also this is criminal I will never buy and will spread the word about the company until I hear they went bankrupt from all the suits and if not for that karma gonna get you. Ronald



Date created: 2012-07-20 Name: k.bracken
Location: altoona pa
Model: 30AR

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"IKO does not stand behind warranty"
After 6 months my shingles did not seal properly and they are curling. Had rep and my contractor take sample of shingle and rep said there was no problem, that every thing was done right and there would be no problem with warranty. Claimed denied by iko, said it was nail improperly. Called rep and he would not reply. Called iko and they said go ahead and sue us. They did not care, they were not going to warranty our brand new roof that cost us $20,000.00. So, if you are thinking about iko, think twice, because a lifetime warranty ends as soon as they get your money.


Date created: 2012-07-05 Name: Audrey
Location: Timmins, CA
Model: Marathon 25

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Extremely upset with product"
These shingles are warranteed for 25 years and our roof is just barely 4 years old. Shingles are breaking and blowing off. They do not seal...many, many shingles have not sealed even though we have had extremely hot weather since being installed. This is not a good brand and would never use them again. My husband is older and he is on the roof quite often to replace missing shingles and retar places. What a shame!


Date created: 2012-07-02 Name: Kevin J. Harris
Location: Jackson, Missouri
Model: Cambridge LT

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Architectural Dual Brown"
The shingles failed to adhere during successive 100 degree days. Moderate winds cause flapping, and the subsequent nailing of the nails. Blow off within 1 year. Iko refuses to honor their warranties.


Date created: 2012-06-28 Name: Grant
Location: Montreal, Canada
Model: Aristocrat 25 (Calgary)

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Problems after 2 years"
Shingles started blistering after 2 years. IKO wouldn't do anything about it, taking them to court.


Date created: 2012-06-12 Name: Very Discusted Customer
Model: Cambridge 30

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"JUNK"
Junk! Our shingles started blowing off not long after we built out house. We had our contractor come out and replace the ones that blew off. The shingles continued to blow off. We could see daylight out of the peak of the roof, so we sent in the samples to the Iko "warranty" place. It took them forever(2.5 months) to get back to us to tell us they were not going to replace/fix our roof. So I called the company and the lady proceeded to tell me that we had had 115 mile per hour winds. I asked her where they get their information from...the place she told me is over 20 miles from where we live. She argued with me for a while and was very rude. Please choose wisely when picking out shingles! Don't go with Iko...they are crap and the company won't stand behind their product.


Date created: 2012-05-23 Location: Erie, PA
Model: Cambridge 30 AR

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Use IKO Cambridge 30 AR"
The IKO Cambridge 30 AR Shingles on my house are holding up well. I have had them for 3 years now and have not had any problems. I do not know much about shingles but these were recommended to me by a friend and I think I got the best deal for my money. There are no leaks anywhere and they look nice on top of the roof. They seem stylish when I look at them from the road. I have not had to do any repairs and they have been through a lot of storms. Also I have been out on my roof a few times laying on it watching the stars and have not had any problems. I would definitely buy the IKO Cambridge 30 AR shingles again and also would recommend them to my friends. We will see how these shingles hold up in the future and whether or not I have to replace them.


Date created: 2012-05-04 Name: Jim
Location: Vancouver B.C. Canada
Model: Chateau

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
" Roof is completely failed!"
Had premium iko chateau 30 year warranty roof installed in 1995. Have been watching the roof deteriorate before my eyes. This year, 2012 the entire roof must be replaced, curling , lifting, cracking , twisting and falling apart. $8500.00 estimate for new roof and won't be iko !!!

<< Previous1234567891011121314Next >>