Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Iko shingles

Iko Logo
Popularity:
#14  of 15 brands of shingles

19% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 167 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    31
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    2
  • Neutral
    2
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    131

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Iko shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous1234567891011121314151617Next >>

Date created: 2014-06-23 Name: DeGonia
Location: Illinois
Model: Dual Black Cambridge

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Cambridge roof from IKO"
I just purchased IKO's Cambridge roofing shingle and was impressed with heavy weight and the color offering of this product. I had research other products similar in appearance but they did not seem the same quality. I am very satisfied with my Dual Black Cambridge roof.


Date created: 2014-06-23 Name: A Happy Home Owens
Location: Wilmington DE
Model: Royal Estate

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Best Buying Decision"
I recently replaced my roof with IKO's Royal Estate Shadow Slate. This iko roofing shingle appearance has greatly enhanced the aesthetic of the outside of my home and the high quality - double layer protection provides added depth. One to the best buying decision I have ever made.


Date created: 2014-06-22 Name: Jeff
Location: Waukon, IA
Model: Weatherwood

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Costly Mistake"
We built an addition 3 years ago and needed to shingle the entire house. Our lumberyard only had Certainteed on hand and although we liked the color of the Iko (both had the same color name just shading a little different) timing was an issue so we went with Certainteed for the backside of the house. In the meantime, we ordered Iko's Weatherwood for the front, since you would never see both sides at one time....it would work. One year later, the Iko shingles came off during a storm. We were told they were improperly installed (nailing) and would not warranty them. This year (2014) another storm and more shingles off and now once again (6-22-14)another storm and more than half of the Iko shingles blown off one of our roofs. Seems odd the Certainteed are hanging in there great! I would advise not to buy Iko! We made a costly mistake.



Date created: 2014-06-18 Name: DON SMITH
Location: HURON,SD

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Unsatisfied Contractor"
Very unsatisfied with the way the shingles don't stick together and small winds will blow them off, then talk to them and they do nothing about it. But they come up with ways to not help me out with the cost of replacement.


Date created: 2014-06-18 Name: Doreen
Location: Saskatchewan
Model: Cambridge

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Tearing off"
Had shingles done in October of last year and they were installed as specified by Iko for our "extreme" weather area and they have been tearing off ever since. It's a brand new house and they claim no responsibility. They keep asking for more proof and won't even send a rep.


Date created: 2014-04-08 Name: B. Campbell
Location: Sacdramento, CA
Model: Dual Brown

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Very satisfied"
I love my iko roof...very surprised to hear such bad reviews...my contractor, whom I have trusted for years told me about the iko shingles. When I told him I had heard a few bad things about iko, (from other contractors I entertained bids from) he told me that I shouldn't worry, that the majority of roof related problems are due to improper installation, and that he had been installing iko for years and had never had a problem. I went with a Cambridge Shingle, the color is dual brown, and it is beautiful!


Date created: 2014-03-31 Name: M. Smith
Location: Wheatfield, New York
Model: 25 year Cambridge

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"IKO shingles installed by David Homes"
I have had to hire contractors every year to fix shingle blow offs since the house was built in 2001. The last three contractors have each told me the iko shingles are crap and the entire roof needs to be replaced. I believe David Homes uses the cheapest materials possible. Contact me before you use David Homes and iko shingles.


Date created: 2014-03-19 Name: J.M.
Location: Quinte Area
Model: Renaissance

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Yet Another Dissatisfied Customer"
Installed 25yr iko Renaissance Shingles in 2000. In 2013 (that's only 13 yrs folks) the shingles have deteriorated to crap. They must be replaced this spring. I need 100 bundles; iko offered a credit for 19 bundles and no compensation for labor. Very poor product and even worse manufacturer!


Date created: 2014-02-27 Name: F Burchett
Location: Grayson
Model: Dimensional

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Defective roof"
Please don't use these shingles! I am a contractor who has been in business for 10 years and I was talked into changing from Owens Corning to iko. The first house I shingled in iko had a major shingle flaw. They did not seal. So IKO's idea of making this right is putting caulking on the shingle. In what world will caulk last 30 years? I pretty much have to acquire an attorney to fight this and spend my own money to replace the defective shingles and keep my good business name. Again, I urge you to never use this product!


Date created: 2013-11-22 Name: M. Smith
Location: Wheatfield, New York 14120
Model: Driftwood

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"IKO Shingles are Garbage"
My house was built 10 years ago. I have had constant problems over the 10 years with shingle blow offs. Three separate contractors I hired to repair the roof each told me the shingles are garbage and the entire roof needs to be replaced. Iko warranty claim form asks for all kind of information I don't have and my builder can't provide. I'll submit as much information they request as I can but I'm pretty sure I'm just wasting my time. Will definitely be keeping my eyes open for any class action lawsuit.

<< Previous1234567891011121314151617Next >>