Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Iko shingles

Iko Logo

Read 186 Iko Shingle reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#14   of 15 brands of shingles

18% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 186 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    33
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    2
  • Neutral
    2
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    148

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Iko shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous12345678910111213141516171819Next >>

Date created: 2015-05-17 Name: Merv
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Model: Cambridge

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Bad Company"
Installed shingles 5 years ago on a 30 year shingle. Believe there is not enough tar to help hold down the shingles, which is also separating from the top layer of the top layer, again not enough tar. I built a shed around the same time and used a cheap brand and it has lasted longer than the house, more expensive shingles. Submitted a claim and when I called after the claim was declined, a manager also stated I did not have any tall trees around the house to also act as a wind break? Would never recommend this company or their products. In the process of installing a metal roof.


Date created: 2015-05-10 Name: J Mackenzie
Location: Calgary
Model: Renaissance

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Disaster"
IKO Renaissance shingles were used on most houses built on our street. Without exception, they have all failed prematurely: cracking, lifting, leaking. Every insurance company and every roofer knows what a disaster these shingles are but IKO is oblivious. Class action suit pending, and IKO feels its best strategy is to hide behind lawyers rather than stand behind its product. Good luck getting a dime.


Date created: 2015-04-12 Name: Robert Mycroft
Location: Patten, ME
Model: Cambridge

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Run away from Iko"
Iko shingles are poorly designed. My Iko Cambridge shingles discolored, fell apart and tore off my roof. The roof is properly ventilated and they were properly installed, the product is just inferior. You will not believe this, but Iko doesn't want to hear it. No wonder there is a class action lawsuit pending against iko. You were warned, stay away from iko...



Date created: 2015-04-09 Name: jay
Location: ottawa

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Poor install"
For most of the comments I see about shingles blowing off in storms or leaking issues I would bet my career 95% of these are bad installs most roofers dont even know or care about the importance of nail patterns either nailing to fast making the gun drive the nail on an angle or to cheap/stupid to recognize when a 6 nail pattern is needed afterwards blaming the manufacturer instead of taking responsibility.


Date created: 2015-04-03 Name: A. Mullen
Location: Felton, DE
Model: Royal Victorian

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Terrible Product and IKO Won't Honor Warranty"
We built our house in 2002, our small outbuilding in 2003, and our barn in 2004. Each roof has IKO Royal Victorian shingles on them. Every one of them has a deteriorating roof. We asked a well known and respected roofer in our area about the situation and he told us this was a big problem with IKO shingles and that IKO wasn't honoring their warranties. He was right! Shady business practices and they're still selling faulty shingles! Pick another brand.


Date created: 2015-04-03 Name: C. Moore
Location: Billings MT

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Horrible!"
We built our house in 2008 and within a year we had several blow off. ..And again a year later. We had some high winds (not a tornado by any means) and we lost probably a good 100 shingles with probably a quarter of the entire roof having loose ones. This company will not stand behind its product at all. The sales rep is of no help, pretty much told us good luck with getting help.


Date created: 2015-03-22 Name: Ed Lehman
Location: Edgerton, Oh.

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Failed to Honor Warranty"
New IKO roof on 5 years. Granule wash became extreme to the point of filling the trough completely over next 2 years twice. IKO refused to honor its warranty period. Local dealer also said the wash problem was a major issue with other local buyers of IKO shingles. He said IKO was not helping in any way.


Date created: 2015-02-18 Name: B westover
Location: Clearfield coounty, Pa.

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"Improperly nailed"
I wonder how many of you unsatisfied Iko shingle people's shingles were nailed on by a contractor using an air gun. Iko recommends roofing nails and a hammer (hand nailing). We had Iko's put on our roof ten years ago by a contractor who used air gun and they slid off last summer. About the same time we built a shed on another property we own and used the leftover shingles from our house. They are still perfect. We hand nailed those shingles on.


Date created: 2015-01-27 Name: A. Ames
Location: Campton NH
Model: Aristocrat 25

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Needs replacement at 12 years"
I was told these would last 25 years. They do not.


Date created: 2015-01-14 Name: Larry Johnson
Location: Terre Haute, IN
Model: Biltmore 50 year

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Bad - Vertical angle cracks."
We purchased the Biltmore 50 year shingles and some started vertically angle cracking within the first year. I have to tar them every year - not what I paid for.

<< Previous12345678910111213141516171819Next >>