Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

dotted nav bar
dotted nav bar

Consumer Reviews of Iko shingles

Popularity:
#13  of 14 brands of shingles

16% of customers recommend
1.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    16
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    2
  • Neutral
    1
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    92

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Iko shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous123456789101112Next >>

Date created: 2011-12-07 Name: D.B.
Location: Ontario, Canada
Model: Renaissance GXL 30

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Extremely poor quality"
I have a 52 year old house and had the iko shingles installed on the roof in 2002. The roof underneath was in absolute pristine condition at the time. Our family has owned the house since it was first built and we have never had anything even remotely close to a problem with the roof......until now. These shingles have completely deteriorated to the point where they do not offer any more protection. This has resulted in a leak into one of the bedrooms and now about 1/3 of that room's ceiling has collapsed. The shingles are completely shot and need to be replaced immediately before winter. I will now have to pay for another roofing job about 10 years earlier than expected and pay for repairs and clean- up of the mess that these shingles produced. Disappointed is an understatement when you think of a company claiming to manufacture high- quality products would produce such an inferior one.


Date created: 2011-12-07 Location: Bangor, ME
Model: Cambridge AR

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"IKO Cambridge AR a decent shingle"
I just put the IKO Cambridge AR shingles on my barn this fall. I feel the best attribute of theses shingles is that they look really nice. I got the gray ones and the way they are colored and the multi-layer design gives them a real nice 3-d look. The shingles were easy to install myself and had good directions on the back. They laid real nice and were easy to line up. There is even a line drawn on them so you know where to nail them. Some complaints I have though are the plastic bundles are easily damaged they rip real easy and the directions will wash off if they get wet. Also there were some shingles that weren't glued together correctly or mangled so that I couldn't use them. I haven't had them long enough to tell how durable they are they've only been up for about 3 months and I've had no problems so far. There price is reasonable for what your getting. I would buy them again even though they aren't perfect.


Date created: 2011-11-10 Name: Phil
Location: North Carolina
Model: Cambridge 30AR

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Tired of replacing"
30 year Architech were installed 2 years ago. Not 6 months afterward large sections started to lift up and slide down the roof. I assumed excessive wind was to blame so it was repaired. Since then it has been repaired 3 more times in different areas of the roof. The roof was originally installed correctly with 5-6 roof nails in each shingle along the tar strip, but the tar strips will not adheve and they keep lifting up. Since they were installed as a roof over covering the first layer, I know the manufacturer will not warranty them. I would recommend a different brand of shingle to anyone in the market for a new roof.


Date created: 2011-10-24 Name: Darcy Beckstrom
Location: Arkport, NY
Model: Cambridge 30AR

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Terrible Product - Warranty is useless"
I had a complete tear off job done with iko Cambridge 30AR shingles and within 2 years they were blowing off the roof in sections. The sealant was so thin and weak that they never properly sealed so every wind just worked them loose. When I contacted the company regarding the defective shingles they refused to admit responsibility and wouldn't stand behind their product. Stay as far away from this product as you can get. They are junk. I had the roof replaced and the new shingles sealed tight within 1 day.


Date created: 2011-10-19 Name: Todd
Location: Bay City, MI

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"faulty sealant on shingles"
Wouldn't recommend iko brand shingles to my enemy. Had 250k dollar home built which the builder used iko shingles and within months of completion I had shingles blowing off, followed the iko process of faulty shingle reporting and got nowhere with it. Had roof inspected and they still fail to stand by their product. Product sucks, company sucks worse, avoid iko.


Need a Roofing Contractor?

Find a Local Roofing Pro with this Free Service

* Replace or Repair Existing Roof
* Roof Maintenance and Pressure Cleaning
* Leak Detection, Waterproofing, and more

Date created: 2011-09-17 Name: Jake S.
Location: Midwest
Model: Renaissance GXL 30

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Didn't last 10 years"
They put Renaissance GXL 30 Iko shingles on our manufactured home and we hit the 10 year mark and they are curling, and flaking apart. Trying to get warranty to replace and only info I have is that they put them on. Iko needs proof of purchase and how many bundles they put on. Of course I tried to call manufacturer and they said records was burned in a "fire". So any ideas on what I can do now to get something out of them. I have sent in pictures, samples, my proof of purchase on the home and a letter from the company saying that there was a fire and no paper work. Any suggestions would be helpful. Thanks


Date created: 2011-09-11 Name: J. Whitney
Location: Acton, ME

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"architectural type"
Our architecturally designed home was built in 1999. In about 8 years. Shingles began to crack, crumble and deteriorate. After sending samples, and overall pictures, they sent out a Representative who said the roof was improperly vented. No way!! It was properly vented! Our continued letters have been unanswered. This company should be out of business! Warranty? What Warranty? Buyer beware!


Date created: 2011-08-30 Name: R
Model: Cambridge 30

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"IKO shingles won't stay on"
My new house was built in 2006. I bought this house in 2007. The roof started blowing off in 2008, eight times that year. So our contractor put a new Iko cambridge 30 roof over the old in 2009. Now in 2011 they started blowing off again. About half of the shingles are not sealed. I submitted a claim and iko said the wind blew to hard. So it's not their problem. My house was the only house that lost shingles in our subdivision . So now I get to take two lyers of bad shingles off and start all over. This time it won't be Iko.


Date created: 2011-08-30 Name: Cannata building
Location: Massachusetts
Model: Cambridge 30

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"IKO Shingles worst product ever. They dont seal and blow off"
Iko Cambridge 30 shingles are the worst product ever! They blow off as they do not seal. The company and its representative try to blame it on the nailing pattern and lay it on the installer when any one with half a brain knows all of the resistance to wind comes from the melting together that they should do. After that, the nails simply keep the shingles from sliding down the roof. Even if you nail on the nail line as they claim they just snap off at the nail line instead. Crap spineless company with crap product. Join forces builders with the class action suit .


Date created: 2011-08-08 Name: L. Garber
Location: Sugarcreek OH
Model: Renaissance GXL 30

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't make the same mistake!"
First time these Iko Renaissance GXL 30 shingles were applied they lasted about 14 years. Iko and roofer said it was a "bad batch" and we foolishly replaced with iko again. This time, after 7 years, they began loosing grit and deteriorating. Terribly inferior produce.

<< Previous123456789101112Next >>
Find Local Roofers

My zip code is: