Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

dotted nav bar
dotted nav bar

Consumer Reviews of Iko shingles

Popularity:
#30  of 34 brands of shingles

16% of customers recommend
1.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    15
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    2
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    83

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Iko shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous1234567891011Next >>

Date created: 2011-07-29 Name: Luther Riley
Location: Roseville, Michigan

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Very disappointed"
In October of 1997 I had a contractor install a new roof using iko Renaissance XL 25 shingles on my 1700 sq. foot ranch home. The job included ice and water shield on the eves and valleys with nine new roof vents. The roof looked fine for the first ten years but I did notice a lot of granules in the gutters. In the last four years the shingles have lost the majority of the granules and began cracking and curling up. I will have to have it re-shingled this year before cold weather.


Date created: 2011-07-27 Name: W. Caines
Location: Ontario, Canada

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Buyer"
Renaissance GXL 30 is a very poor shingle cracks, delaminating and curling. Started failure after 3 years. Would not recommend.


Date created: 2011-06-15 Name: SK
Location: Covington, OH

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Love These Shingles"
I love these shingles!!! My roof was replaced in 2008. The roof was finished 1 week before the major wind storm. All my shingles sealed down and I didn't loose a single shingle. The contractor that roofed my house checked the roof to make sure all was good and said that everything was fine. No blow offs and nothing lifting.


Date created: 2011-04-29 Name: S
Location: Ontario, Canada

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Oh God"
My roof was up Sep 2006, Jan 2009 till now, the shingles keep blow off by wind and flopped up but attached to nails. Shingles seal strip failed to seal to roof! We repaired and repaired - the problem never end ---- The roof is under full warranty for first 5 years. Don't even put claim in and waste you money. Do not buy IKO products they should be out of business.


Date created: 2011-04-23 Name: Issy
Location: VhZaoyfSxPAuZkApjn

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"daThHEYudqRLGiuTm"
YMMD with that aneswr! TX


Date created: 2011-04-15 Name: Edward Harezlak
Location: Wenona, Illinois

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Warranty department is terrible"
House was built in 2007. Started to replace blowoffs (7 times since) the fall of 2009. Submitted a claim and was told that the wind exceeded the 70mph warranty. Researched the wind speed the highest recorded wind since 2007 was a 59mph gust. Spoke with warranty manager and was informed once the claim was ruled upon there is nothing else I can do. What happened to companies that stand behind their products and don't lie to the customer? Good luck to anyone who tries to submit a warranty claim.


Date created: 2011-02-28 Location: Montgomery IL

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Dual Grey Architectural Ahingles"
I am a contractor and I have done many roofs. Including my own. I have put on every type of roof there is, shake, roll, three tab, and architectural shingles. My favorite of these are architectural shingles. They look the cleanest after putting them on the roof, you cannot tell where the seams are and where you start or stop. From a standpoint of installing them they are the easiest. Keeping them straight and mailing them is so much easier than three tabs. They have a wide range of colors to choose from which helps in the look of the home. They give better protection to the roof I believe than any other type of roof covering other than steel. Every roof in install I suggest putting architectural shingles on the roof because of the coast difference to the way they make the house look and the protection they provide it is worth the extra eight to ten dollars a bundle.


Date created: 2011-02-07 Name: Dave S
Location: Jarvis, Ontario

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Skyline 25"
My shingles failed as soon as they were put on. They were the 'Skyline 25'. They never layed flat and within a week every corner was curling. I have proper venting. Tar paper was used on the entire roof. New everything was used to do my roof. The problem was the shingles had too much moisture in them from the factory. There are ashphalt shingles and organic shingles. My 1st house so I didn't know there were 2 different kinds. Mine are 'organic'. IKO stopped making them now because they were crap. Organic will not last as long as ashphalt. I will never use IKO again. I tried to deal with this manufacturer for 3 yrs now & I'm where I was to begin with. IKO does not deal with warranty claims. IKO claimed my shingle same was normal, when the roofer packaged it you could see the corners were curled up & they were 'fish mouthing'. A sample sent to an independant lab showed way too much moisture in the shingles. I learned that too late to. I have joined a civil lawsuit against IKO. A friend had a GAF roof installed & it was defective. They just sent GAF a shingle sample and an estimate for the replacement & GAF sent them a cheque to cover the new roof. If you intend to use IKO/Canroof shingles, I strongly suggest you research them on the internet first. A roof costs a lot of money & you only want to do it once every 20 yrs, not every 1 or 2.


Date created: 2011-01-29 Name: J. Bianchi
Location: Detroit, Michigan

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"BEWARE of IKO shingles!"
My 25-year warranted IKO shingle roof on a new home lasted only 9 years, IKO will only pay $900 for shingle and substrate roof replacement costing $10,000 or more. Before you buy IKO shingles, see class action suit at www.ikoshingleslawsuit.com.


Date created: 2011-01-03 Name: RK

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"IKO very poor quality on our new home"
We designed and built our dream home back in 1996 and the roofing sub contractor installed IKO Chateau Shadow with a 30 year warranty. Last year I called in a new roofer to look over the roof because all the shingles were cracking, warping and just plain comming apart. Absolutely nothing wrong with the installation according to the new contractor. Vents were correct, application was correct, the shingles were just coming apart! We had to have the entire roof redone and IKO just sent us a letter saying they were going to only cover 23 squares out of 92 and at a highly reduced price, take it or join the class action suit against them.

<< Previous1234567891011Next >>
Find Local Roofers

My zip code is: