Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

dotted nav bar
dotted nav bar

Consumer Reviews of Iko shingles

Popularity:
#29  of 34 brands of shingles

17% of customers recommend
1.5 of 5 stars 95 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    15
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    2
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    77

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Iko shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous12345678910Next >>

Date created: 2011-02-28 Location: Montgomery IL

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Dual Grey Architectural Ahingles"
I am a contractor and I have done many roofs. Including my own. I have put on every type of roof there is, shake, roll, three tab, and architectural shingles. My favorite of these are architectural shingles. They look the cleanest after putting them on the roof, you cannot tell where the seams are and where you start or stop. From a standpoint of installing them they are the easiest. Keeping them straight and mailing them is so much easier than three tabs. They have a wide range of colors to choose from which helps in the look of the home. They give better protection to the roof I believe than any other type of roof covering other than steel. Every roof in install I suggest putting architectural shingles on the roof because of the coast difference to the way they make the house look and the protection they provide it is worth the extra eight to ten dollars a bundle.


Date created: 2011-02-07 Name: Dave S
Location: Jarvis, Ontario

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Skyline 25"
My shingles failed as soon as they were put on. They were the 'Skyline 25'. They never layed flat and within a week every corner was curling. I have proper venting. Tar paper was used on the entire roof. New everything was used to do my roof. The problem was the shingles had too much moisture in them from the factory. There are ashphalt shingles and organic shingles. My 1st house so I didn't know there were 2 different kinds. Mine are 'organic'. IKO stopped making them now because they were crap. Organic will not last as long as ashphalt. I will never use IKO again. I tried to deal with this manufacturer for 3 yrs now & I'm where I was to begin with. IKO does not deal with warranty claims. IKO claimed my shingle same was normal, when the roofer packaged it you could see the corners were curled up & they were 'fish mouthing'. A sample sent to an independant lab showed way too much moisture in the shingles. I learned that too late to. I have joined a civil lawsuit against IKO. A friend had a GAF roof installed & it was defective. They just sent GAF a shingle sample and an estimate for the replacement & GAF sent them a cheque to cover the new roof. If you intend to use IKO/Canroof shingles, I strongly suggest you research them on the internet first. A roof costs a lot of money & you only want to do it once every 20 yrs, not every 1 or 2.


Date created: 2011-01-29 Name: J. Bianchi
Location: Detroit, Michigan

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"BEWARE of IKO shingles!"
My 25-year warranted IKO shingle roof on a new home lasted only 9 years, IKO will only pay $900 for shingle and substrate roof replacement costing $10,000 or more. Before you buy IKO shingles, see class action suit at www.ikoshingleslawsuit.com.


Date created: 2011-01-03 Name: RK

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"IKO very poor quality on our new home"
We designed and built our dream home back in 1996 and the roofing sub contractor installed IKO Chateau Shadow with a 30 year warranty. Last year I called in a new roofer to look over the roof because all the shingles were cracking, warping and just plain comming apart. Absolutely nothing wrong with the installation according to the new contractor. Vents were correct, application was correct, the shingles were just coming apart! We had to have the entire roof redone and IKO just sent us a letter saying they were going to only cover 23 squares out of 92 and at a highly reduced price, take it or join the class action suit against them.


Date created: 2010-12-21 Name: JC

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"IKO"
I have an IKO roof with a 30Yr shingle. I have had it for over 22yrs. They look like I put them on a couple years ago. Why, because I have the proper ventilation in my house. My Soffit and my ridge vent is not blocked. They are on a 8-12 roof pitch. My roof does not leak, and if it did, it wouldn't be from the shingles. Most likely from the contractor screwing something up during installation then blaming the manufacturer, why, because the home owner doesn't know better. Why would the manufacturer pay out if your roof is cooked because the person who installed them blocked the ventilation which there fore your roof will deteriate sooner than it should. Ford isn't going to give you a new car if Joe's auto shop forgot to put the oil cap back on and your engin cooks right? A professional contractor should be aware if there is no ventilation or it is blocked and should tell you that the shingles will cook sooner if this is not taken care of. Mine did and my roof looks great after all these years. This goes for any other brand as well. The home owner should do their research on the contractor just as they should on the roofing manufacturer. IKO has the thickest and heaviest shingle on the market. The thicker it is, the less chance of heat getting into your house and the longer it will last with the proper ventilation.


Date created: 2010-11-30 Location: Marietta, GA

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"Alright Roofing Shingles."
Ive had these shingles on the roof of my house for about 10 years now, They are fairly decent for the price, But seem to give out a lot quicker than others. Ive had a few minor repairs on my roof with these certain shingles, But nothing really you can avoid (hail,thunderstorms etc..) I just seem to be the only one getting repairs on my roof after certain weather. Would definitely recommend to a home where weather isn't crazy, but for houses with scares weather exposed to them, definitely get something stronger. Definitely not buying again where I live.


Date created: 2010-10-27 Name: B Scheelar
Location: Chestermere, Alberta

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Rennaisance - 25 year"
Bought a new house in 1999, builder/roofer installed IKO Rennaisance 25 year shingles, in fact they struck out the original 20 year warranty and put in 25 year warranty. I am in the process of having the shingles replaced due to cracking and deteriorating, I have had [3] quotes done and all of the firms that inspected the roof recognized the fact that the original shingles were the IKO Rennaisance which apparently have an inherent problem. This is not covered by insurance.


Date created: 2010-10-27 Name: E. Van
Location: Cape Cod , Ma

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"cambridge"
Started leaking after 12 years, no help from iko in resolving issue. They do not stick behind thier faulty products, thus the multible lawsuits. Bad company with bad products.


Date created: 2010-09-11 Name: M. Geiser
Location: Massena, N. Y.

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Disappointing!"
A professional roofer recommended we use 20-year IKO shingles in 1998. By 2009, the shingles were seriously failing...curled, cracked, shedding. Called the same roofer, who said there was was extensive paper work involved in filing a claim, and that we'd probably not receive compensation after all. The roofer has not returned our follow-up calls. Why do contractors continue to recommend a product with such a poor reputation? We need to replace the roof, at about $10,000., and wouldn't dream of using IKO again.


Date created: 2010-09-07 Name: Peter Yoanidis
Location: Cambridge, ON. Canada

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"IKO Renaissance 25 year"
IKO SHINGLES ARE GARBAGE!! PLAIN AND SIMPLE. I had them installed on 3 roofs in 1998, 2000 & 2002. I noticed small cracks everywhere on the first roof in 2000 but was assured by IKO that this was a normal characteristic of the brand. WRONG!!!!! I was dupped into putting them on the other 2 roofs and HAVE REPLACED THE FIRST 2 ROOFS TO DATE. AND THE THIRD NEXT SUMMER WHEN I GET SOME CASH. I'm sueing IKO for 19K in Small Claims Court on Friday September 2010. I will not loose. Every one should do this and put them out of bussiness.

<< Previous12345678910Next >>
Find Local Roofers

My zip code is: