Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Malarkey shingles

Malarkey Logo
Popularity:
#3  of 14 brands of shingles

64% of customers recommend
3.5 of 5 stars 14 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    8
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    1
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    0
  • Very Unsatisfied
    5

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Malarkey shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

12Next >>

Date created: 2016-04-21 Name: B. Simmons
Location: Dallas, TX

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Great Shingle. The Best Class 4 Shingle"
I have been building and remodeling homes for over 30 years and as far as roofing Malarkey Legacy Class 4 Shingle is my go to shingle. I have only had 2 issues with their shingles and those were the 30 year not the Legacy Class 4. I the manufacturer, the rep showed up in 2 weeks or less and they quickly remedied the problem by shipping new product and paying all labor and haul off cost. The Legacy Class 4 has always held up on all my projects with no signs of damage where the hail did not exceed golf ball size, just as stated. Go Malarkey, the other manufactures have always tried to dodge their product problems or caused me stay on them about any issue. In construction and manufacturing there will be problems, it is more important how the company handles it and accepts fault and remedies it with out burden to the owner / purchaser. Malarkey in my books is #1.


Date created: 2015-10-28 Name: Dayton
Model: Legacy

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"10 yrs and they look good as new"
Make sure your contractor is doing a proper installation. After much research I have learned that most shingles fly off because of contractors not installing properly. I inspected my roof while they were working to make sure it was installed correctly. 10 years later not a single issue, and the still look amazing! Oh and make sure you have your home properly ventilated so the don't blister and wear out prematurely.


Date created: 2015-10-19 Name: John
Location: Saskatchewan
Model: Legacy

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"The best performing shingle I have seen."
Disclaimer I am a roofing company owner this is just one of the brands we now install. I have been in the industry for 21 years. I have installed many brands of shingles over the years and inspected countless roofs. I could go into details about why many roofs fail early. Installation issues and attic ventilation/insulation issues are usually the case. However with this shingle we are seeing much longer lifespan and resilience than other brands of Laminated shingles. Through storms, hail, high winds etc, they are simply the best. I have recently been in neighbourhoods where the only roof that didn't need replacing was the Malarkey Legacy installed roof. Every other roof had hail damage, or blown off shingles.



Date created: 2015-06-27 Name: Robert Hughbank
Location: Arlington, TX
Model: Legacy class 4

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Blisters"
We bought a Legacy class 4 shingle with a 40 year warranty. After only eight years the shingle has blistered all over and some of the blisters have popped. Malarkey won't do a thing about it. The warranty is worthless!


Date created: 2015-02-19 Name: Bob Reyes
Location: United States

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"22 years strong"
We got a new Malarky roof after hurricane Andrew (1992). Went through a little Katrina (110 mph, here) and a Wilma (112 mph). Only house on the block that did not lose a single shingle. Roof looks a bit drab after nearly 23 years, but still tight as a drum. No maintenance, no leaks, no problems. Too bad they don't sell them down here anymore.


Date created: 2014-06-14 Name: Anthony Davis
Location: Arlington wa
Model: Highlander

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Terrible to hear"
As a contractor I understand your problems. The shingle blow offs are caused from poor workmanship or bad attic ventilation, I know most roofing companies never are too educated in the field of ventilation. Usually when I bid against big companies I'm the only one that understands it. The blow offs, find a company that does good work, find a company that you like and ask for some of there oldest references 10+ time is the factor when it comes to quality.


Date created: 2014-04-18 Name: Andy Wirth
Location: East Helena, Mt.
Model: Hifhlander-CS

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Ends should be covered"
I have never seen a roofing shingle installed with the butt ends exposed, the ends should be covered by a tab from the shingle that is laid down on top of it. I called this to the attention of the contractor and he said that is the way they are supposed to be installed, if it is so then they will not stand up to our winters or summers, I feel they are junk. I would not recommend this shingle to anyone or use it again.


Date created: 2013-12-16 Name: Barb Winston
Location: Amarillo, Tx

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"50 yr warranty is useless"
I had a Malarky roof put on in 2004. In June of 2013 in Amarillo, Texas we had a want to be tornado in my neighborhood. We had hail and lots of wind. I had my insurance company come out and look at my roof. I figured that the Malarky Company would be paying for the repair. No they said. No company warrants hail. Well if I am not mistaken, I was told that hail and 110 mild winds was their warranty for 50 years. I was told the warranty is that I get a reduction on my insurance premiums. Woopie. So I have been telling everyone and their brother that this is the best roof. I even went to the place I bought the shingles. Again the salesman who has been working there for a long time, thought what I thought about the warranty. We both have been told some incorrect information. I am not happy about this turn of events as of now.


Date created: 2013-08-16 Name: Susan Hopper
Location: Newport, OR
Model: 50 Year

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Very pleased with product"
We installed Malarkey 50 year according to manufacturer specifications - extra roofing cement on each shingle - and are very pleased. We are on the Oregon coast and get hurricane force winds probably 4 to 6 times every winter. After 3 years the roof is tight and looks as if it were new. Very satisfied with the product.


Date created: 2012-11-12 Name: J. Joyner
Location: Buckeye, AZ
Model: Highlander-CS

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Unhappy"
I had my shingles for just under 3 years. First wind storm (08/04/2011) and a 8ft by 6ft section was blown off. My insurance has a $1000 deductible so I had to pay for it out of my own pocket($320) and now, 11/11/2012 another section, this time in front of my home blew off! I will have to eat this one too!!! I would not ever use Malarkey shingle again! Ever!!! I've tried to get Malarkey to back up their warranty but have not got any replies. Do not use malarkey, poor shingles and worse service.

12Next >>