Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

dotted nav bar
dotted nav bar

Consumer Reviews of Malarkey shingles

Popularity:
#22  of 34 brands of shingles

50% of customers recommend
3 of 5 stars 8 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    3
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    1
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    0
  • Very Unsatisfied
    4

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Malarkey shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review


Date created: 2013-12-16 Name: Barb Winston
Location: Amarillo, Tx

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"50 yr warranty is useless"
I had a Malarky roof put on in 2004. In June of 2013 in Amarillo, Texas we had a want to be tornado in my neighborhood. We had hail and lots of wind. I had my insurance company come out and look at my roof. I figured that the Malarky Company would be paying for the repair. No they said. No company warrants hail. Well if I am not mistaken, I was told that hail and 110 mild winds was their warranty for 50 years. I was told the warranty is that I get a reduction on my insurance premiums. Woopie. So I have been telling everyone and their brother that this is the best roof. I even went to the place I bought the shingles. Again the salesman who has been working there for a long time, thought what I thought about the warranty. We both have been told some incorrect information. I am not happy about this turn of events as of now.


Date created: 2013-08-16 Name: Susan Hopper
Location: Newport, OR

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Very pleased with product"
We installed Malarkey 50 year according to manufacturer specifications - extra roofing cement on each shingle - and are very pleased. We are on the Oregon coast and get hurricane force winds probably 4 to 6 times every winter. After 3 years the roof is tight and looks as if it were new. Very satisfied with the product.


Date created: 2013-06-27 Name: Barb Winston
Location: Amarillo, Tx

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"50 yr warranty is useless"
I had a Malarky roof put on in 2004. In June of 2013 in Amarillo, Texas we had a want to be tornado in my neighborhood. We had hail and lots of wind. I had my insurance company come out and look at my roof. I figured that the Malarky Company would be paying for the repair. No they said. No company warrants hail. Well if I am not mistaken, I was told that hail and 110 mild winds was their warranty for 50 years. I was told the warranty is that I get a reduction on my insurance premiums. Woopie. So I have been telling everyone and their brother that this is the best roof. I even went to the place I bought the shingles. Again the salesman who has been working there for a long time, thought what I thought about the warranty. We both have been told some incorrect information. I am not happy about this turn of events as of now.


Date created: 2012-11-12 Name: J. Joyner
Location: Buckeye, AZ

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Unhappy"
I had my shingles for just under 3 years. First wind storm (08/04/2011) and a 8ft by 6ft section was blown off. My insurance has a $1000 deductible so I had to pay for it out of my own pocket($320) and now, 11/11/2012 another section, this time in front of my home blew off! I will have to eat this one too!!! I would not ever use Malarkey shingle again! Ever!!! I've tried to get Malarkey to back up their warranty but have not got any replies. Do not use malarkey, poor shingles and worse service.


Date created: 2012-01-23 Name: Steve
Location: Iowa City Ia. 52240

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"I have been using Malarkey roofing"
I have been using Malarkey roofing products for several years now with the 1st Legacy roof installed in 1998 other than some minor fading issues which is common in any product subject to sunlight. In the years that we have been using Malarkey products we have not had one shingle blow off as we have had with other manufactures that we apply for general contractors that supply their own materials. Also I have had some of the best customer service that can be asked for not like some other manufactures that seem to only want to sweep their problems under the rug.


Date created: 2011-09-08 Name: moe
Location: kansas

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"blistering"
The 50 year warranty shingles blistered and needed to be replaced after only 3 years. They did stand behind the product and paid to replace the roof. We'll see what happens in 3 years!!


Date created: 2011-06-03 Name: Nicholas Andersen
Location: Sioux Center, IA

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Outstanding"
To start off I am a shingle distributor. I have been involved with multiple brands of shingles over the years and there are good and bad out there. But I must say, the Malarkey Legacy has been the finest product we have sold. Our customers have applied them in extreme cold, summer heat and we have witnessed roofs after severe hail. There have been zero complaints and much praise. And to top it off, when issues have arisen with the 30 year product, the warranty department handled it quickly (with money)...I don't want to go on and on, but please make a thorough search of online reviews and see for yourself what the majority of users have experienced with this product. Thanks for your time, Nick


Date created: 2011-03-31 Name: Martin Mueller
Location: Cheyenne WY

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"poor quality"
My 50 year malarkey shingles that were installed 5 months ago are blowing off my roof. They will not stick down in the wind and I have foud several of them laying in my yard. I am very unhappy. As I write this the shingles are lifting up in the wind and then breaking off and blowing off the roof.

Find Local Roofers

My zip code is: