Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

dotted nav bar
dotted nav bar

Consumer Reviews of Owens Corning shingles

Popularity:
#7  of 34 brands of shingles

87% of customers recommend
4.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    43
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    5
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    2
  • Very Unsatisfied
    5

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Owens Corning shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous123456Next >>

Date created: 2011-05-01 Location: Battle Creek, MI

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Owens Corning Laminate Amber Fiberglass Roofing Shingle"
I have just recently bought the house, so I've only owned these shingles for about a week or so. The thing that I like about the shingles is the color. There were so many different kinds of shingles out there, but when I saw this one I fell in love. There are no other roof shingles down my road that color matches mine, which was what I was going for because I didn't want to have the same roof color as someone else. I also liked the fact that it had a 130 mph wind resistance with limited warranty. The only thing that I will say I disliked about it was the price. I think that 30 dollars was a bit expensive, but again I liked the color so I sucked it up and bought it anyways. Since I just bought the house I don't really know how many year it went without a new roof, but the realtor said it would be in our best interest to just buy a new roof because it would be better for our house insurance. I would defiantly recommend the brand to a friend; I just hope they wouldn't get the same color. But the brand I know is a good brand, I have read a lot of different review that stated that this brand was good.


Date created: 2011-04-06 Location: Hackensack, NJ

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"my roofing nightmare gone good"
I just got my roof redone about a year ago and I used Owens Corning Shingles. I had a lot of problems with the roof that came on the house. We were always replacing shingles and had leaks so finally my wife had me replace it. I really did not think it was worth the money to have done but we did it anyway. I must say when I first came home from work and saw them boy did they make a difference on the house. It looked 100 times better. I finally made it through a winter without having to shovel out money for the roof so It was worth it for me just to save myself the head ache. I recommended the Owens Shingles to the guy across the street and he got them too. He was having the same problems were. I have been worry free since we got them and in the future to come if I need to.


Date created: 2011-04-06 Location: Forest Hills, NY

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"New Shingles Bring New Relief"
During the extensive renovation of my roof five years ago, I was recommended by my contractor to use Owens Cornering shingles. His recommendation was based on the beach weather I receive year round because of the close proximity to a beach. The salt air has a habit of eating away at traditional shingles and to make matters worse the winds produced by the storms are powerful enough to pull the shingles off. However, Owens Cornering shingles are laminated which means they are resistant to salt air and rotting. In addition to this unique quality, they are also rated up to 110mph in winds. These are two of my favorites likes about this product, not to mention they are Energy Star qualified. Since their installation no repairs or replacement have been made and I would definitely recommend this product to friends and family. With the success I've had with these shingles on my house, I decided to use them on the roof of my garage.


Date created: 2011-03-22 Location: Olean, NY

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Great Product for a Great Price"
Approximately 16 months ago, I was in the market for a new roof. I had hired a crew to replace my roof and I was provided a few options on which shingles would be used as replacement. Due to the cost effectiveness and the look of these shingles, I decided on Storm Cloud Grey (High-Ridge) shingles from Owens Corning. These shingles provided fantastic lines to create a great look for my home. It was not only a functionality improvement but an aesthetic improvement as well. I have yet to see any functionality flaws to date and they have held up fantastically to harsh winters in the north eastern United States. I have not run into an instances where replacement or repair was necessary. But, if it were to happen, I do have extra shingles stored for replacement. I would definitely purchase products from this company again in the future. Not only is the price point very reasonable, the product is also very reliable. Due to the easy of installation, the roofing crew was here for only a short period of time and the overall project was a great success. My experience with this product would definitely lead to my recommendation of products by Owens Corning to my friends and family. I would hope that everyone could experience such a great product for such a great price.


Date created: 2011-03-22 Location: Crookston Mn

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Ownes Corning Classic 3 tab shingle review"
I installed Owens Corning classic 3 tab shingles 18 months ago. They where purchased to replace my 16 yr old Owens Corning shingles that where damaged In a hail storm. I have been pleased with the performance of the shingle, they hold their color for many years. The shingles also hold their shape and do not curl as some other brands tend to do over years. They where also easy to install and the price was reasonable.


Date created: 2011-03-04 Name: John
Location: Connecticut

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Great Shingle"
We are an 87 year old roofing contracting company. Never a callback on Owens Corning shingles. We have used many brands over the years. Highest wind resistance compared to other brands. Accessories like hip & ridge, underlayment, ice & water barrier, starter rolls, etc. also top notch.


Date created: 2011-02-06 Location: Orlando, Fl

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"A Roof Worth Having"
I am so happy with my roof and the roofing products that have gone into it. Our roof has endured some really tough weather, taken a beating from trees, and it still functions without a problem or leak; all of this since it was installed twenty years ago. Living in Florida can be completely draining on a shingle system, as we have experienced a few times. Our family had a turn of good luck when our contractor recommended we use an Owens Corning brand shingle system. I really like that they come in a variety of styles and colors. The only major thing I dislike about the shingles is that they have a tendency to come wrapped in plastic that can be blown all over the yard. Our contractor cleaned up the mess after installation, for which we were glad. Another con about the shingles is that they have a tendency to come with extra granules that get washed into our gutter system, but it isn't a really pain to clean them out of the gutter. The only repairs I've ever had to undertake while using this current system was a few minor cracks in the roof sealant around our stacks and water-heater stack. I really believe that was a failure of a different compound rather than the shingle system though. I would definitely buy Owens Corning for my next house or roof I needed. Any of my friends who need to have their roofs or new houses re-roofed will definitely get an earful about how good these shingle systems from Owens Corning can really be. The cost really does buy you a quality shingle system.


Date created: 2011-02-03 Location: North Babylon, NY

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Awesome Shingles!"
I have owned my shingles going on eleven years now. When i say that they are great, they are great. Rain never drips into my house or anything! Somehow, i am not sure how, but after i got them, there has been a decrease in the range of temperatures in my house. Before i got them the house would either be very cold in the winter, or very hot in the summer, but these shingles provide a sort of insulation that helps make it stay a comfortable temperature. I only have had to repaire them twice, but that was do to human error. I was cleaning out my gutters one day from leaves, and the pole i used accidentally cause it to lift up. But dont worry it was an easy fix up. I would no doubt about it recommend it to a friend!.


Date created: 2011-01-28 Location: Columbia, SC

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"My 35 year Architectural Shingles"
I bought my shingles from Home Depot about eight years ago. So far I have been very impressed with the quality, not only have they stood up to several severe wind and hail storms, but they haven't lost any significant granular material. The shingles I replaced were terrible, even small hail punched gouges in the face right down to the fiberglass matting. I had them for about twelve years and by the time I replaced them they had almost no granular material on them at all. They were twenty year 3-tab shingles which are not worth the money you pay for them. The extra money I spent on thirty five year shingles has been well worth it. I would buy Owens Corning Architectural shingles again, and I suggest you do too.


Date created: 2011-01-23 Location: Crookston, MN

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"No leaks about it!"
I had to replace my shingles sometime in the middle of this year, due to my old ones becoming damaged and coming off. They were fairly good quality, and the process of replacing the shingles was with very little error or other problems. Since installing them, I've had no problems, and not one has come off. I had very little trouble in the process of purchasing them, as well. The people who helped my find and install them were great to work with, and I would definitely work with them again, especially to support an independent group of people like that. The texture is excellent, and the colouring fits the standard that you would expect to see in shingles. They are roughly as good as the average roofing shingle; I would definitely recommend that people try these, if only because they're the only shingles I've had experience with installing. I think that they will be pleasantly surprised with the quality and ease of use.

<< Previous123456Next >>
Find Local Roofers

My zip code is: