Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Owens Corning shingles

Owens Corning Logo

Read 66 Owens Corning Shingle reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#2   of 15 brands of shingles

75% of customers recommend
4 of 5 stars 66 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    45
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    5
  • Neutral
    1
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    3
  • Very Unsatisfied
    12

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Owens Corning shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous1234567Next >>

Date created: 2011-12-06 Location: Haysville, Kansas
Model: Weather Guard HP

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
""I Love my Shingles""
I live in Kansas where "a home on the plains" means two things......wind and hail. A home can have the best looking shingles in the world, but if they can't stand up to heat up to 115 degrees, cold down to 20 below, ice that lifts up the shingles, snow that makes them rigid, 100mph winds and hail that can knock cracks and holes in them, then they are junk. Either way...all this adds up to LEAKS! However, I'm a woman....seriously...If I'm gonna spend 3-4 thousand dollars on a roof...it better look GOOD! These Owens Corning shingles come in a variety of colors (I wanted black) and they look like they are staggered and not flat. The variety in the texture makes the roof look great! Shallow I know, but other homes in the neighborhood had flat step shingles and they looked OLD even when they were BRAND NEW. I thought that was dumb. After a tornado, the isurance company would only pay so much but I sprung for the added cost (about 600 bucks) to upgrade the shingle to the 30 year, 130 mph wind resistant and algae resistant shingles. This roof already had 2 layers on it at the time and the roofer told me that shingles work better in ONE layer only because it is more solid and when the hail hits and it bounces off. Muliple layers create a spongy mattress kind of affect that hail can sink into and make cracks and holes that leak. I told this so my insurance company and because of the specs of the shingles from the company the insurance company also paid for the tear off. Now my singles are now only beautiful, but wind, hail and freezing and heat resistant. On top of that, this higher quality shingle also lowered my insurance premium by 300 dollar a year! That means the extra 600 I spent for the upgrade paid for it's self in two years. These shingles on my home now are 3 or 4 years old and have already survived several serious hail storms and wind storms that had my neighbors on their roof caulking up the cracks and lifted up shingles. I can't recommend these shingles enough.


Date created: 2011-12-03 Location: Newark, De.
Model: Duration

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Happy overall, I would suggest 30 year to anyone"
Overall I am happy with the product. I put them on my self about two years ago and they still look as amazing as the first day I put them up. They also seem a lot thicker then my old shingles. The only down side is I should have gotten something that is Algae resistant.


Date created: 2011-06-02 Location: Marion, Iowa

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"WeatherGuard HP Shingles: Well Worth The Cost"
Three years ago I purchase a home that had sat empty for about three years, the result of an estate sale. During the process of completing the extensive renovations it needed my general contractor recommended that I upgrade the roof the was being replaced to Owens Corning shingles. I was surprised by his recommendation of a specific brand; Mark, (the contractor), didn't usually state a brand preference when he was telling I needed work done . After doing some online research I decided on OC's WeatherGuard® HP shingles. The shingles were available in the color I wanted and also qualified for a substantial discount on my homeowner's insurance. The fact they came with a limited lifetime warranty, a 130mph wind resistance warranty and a 10-year algae resistance warranty were also major consideration in my decision to purchase them. The fact that the roofer I had already hired to install my roof was certified as an Owens Corning "Platinum Preferred Contractor" was the final factor in my selection. I've just completed my fourth Iowa winter with this roof and have had no issues with these shingles. In fact the only roofing issue I've had was a problem with ice dams that was resolved by the roofing contractor, at to no cost to me. The shingles are as brightly colored as they were the day they were installed, have suffered several hail storm with no damage and generally have met my expectations. I would, and have, recommended Owens Corning to anyone needing a new roof. The caveat is that I advised them that Owens Corning products are not cheap, so they need to be prepared for the fact they are looking a premium product.



Date created: 2011-06-01 Location: Bellevue NE
Model: Laminate Amber Fiberglass

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Owens Roofing Shingles are great shingles"
Owens Corning Laminate Amber Fiberglass Roofing Shingles are a overall great product. I have had them on my roof for a year now. Even though they were purchased recently I can tell that they are a great quality and very durable. They have been able to deal with all sorts of weather including a lot of snow and high wings. I like the color and the amount of options I had when purchasing. I also love how easy they were able to be installed. The only flaw I would say they have is that they are affordable but I think they could have been a little cheaper. I havent had to change anything since installation. There have been no repairs done to them at all. Overall I would recommend to a fried for sure. Even though they are a tad bit high I would purchase this item all over again.


Date created: 2011-05-28 Location: Pensacola, FL
Model: 304013

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"These are pretty good shingles"
These shingles were installed on January 22, 2011. I love the look that they have and the ease of installation. The coloring, as well as the texture of the shingles was very good, and my wife loves them as well. I get compliments from all my neighbors on how great of a job I did. I have no clue what I was doing, but looked online and was able to redo my whole roof in a day. I am very satisfied with these shingles, and I think they will last a long, long time. I would definitely recommend these to anyone in the market for shingles. There is no doubt in my mind that these shingles are top of the line quality, and at a reasonable price too! There is no sense in buying shingles that are twice the price of these that look just as good. Anyone in the market for shingles....GO FOR GOLD WITH OWENS SHINGLES!!!!!


Date created: 2011-05-28 Location: Dundas, MN
Model: SA01

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Owens Corning Review"
I have had the Owen Corning Fiberglass roofing on my house for Three years now. It was a great investment. Thing that I like the most about the Owen Corning Shingles is that there is a 25 year warranty on the product and can handle wind 60 MPH. So far in the three years that I've had my new shingles I have not had to do any repairs. And this is after more then a few storms since the installation. They look just as good as they did as the day they were installed. I don't have any dislikes about my product protecting my investment. I would highly recommend to anyone to go with Owen Corning Shingles you will not regret the decision.


Date created: 2011-05-28 Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Model: DN59

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"My Roofing Shingles Rock!"
My Roofing Shingles Rock! First off there a Laminate Amber Fiberglass Roofing Shingle. They have Limited lifetime warranty they have a crazy 130-MPH wind resistance limited warranty!! High-performance, dimensional laminate shingles Extensive collection of soft color blends. Basically my roofing shingles rock! Best roofing shingles I ever owned. Love these because no rain gets in ever.


Date created: 2011-05-28 Location: Muskegon, MI

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Owens Corning 3-Tab Estate Gray Fiberglass Roofing Shingles"
I purchased these shingles from Lowe's home improvement store in the Summer of 2010. I installed them on an addition to the house that had begun to leak. These shingles are very easy to work with and very good quality. A year later, they are still looking great and haven't really faded a bit. That being my first time roofing, I liked that there were simple, easy to follow instructions on the packs of shingles, which I have found to be absent on other brands. The only downside I could see, would be that other brands seem to sell a couple more square feet of product for the same amount of money. I have since used the leftover shingles to repair portions of my garage roof, and they worked well. I would recommend these shingles to a friend, along with any other Owens Corning roofing material.


Date created: 2011-05-21 Location: Phoenix, Arizona

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"Owens Corning 3 Tab Fiberglass Roof Shingles"
This review concerns the Owens Corning Fiberglass roof shingles. I have owned these shingles for around 3 years now, and overall I have been satisfied. The shingles I have installed are grey in color and lay flat on the roof for a flat, smooth unobtrusive look, which is perfect for my neighborhood. They included a 25 year warranty, but thus far have not given me any trouble, such as leaks or damaged shingles, so I doubt the warranty length will be an issue. My home is in Arizona where there is not much rain so algae growth on the shingles is not an issue as it is in other, wetter, parts of the country. According to the manufacture website, the shingles are also available in multiple colors which is great for various home paint shades. When the time comes to repair my roofing shingles due to age, I will not hesitate to use these 3 tab estate shingles again for my roof. Owens Corning has my vote!


Date created: 2011-05-18 Location: Clarksville, TN

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Satisfied consumer with Owens Corning shingles!"
I recently had to get my roof re-shingled and I went down to my local home depot store to shop around. I wanted something traditional with a solid warranty. I went with Owens Corning brand shingles due to their good reputation and affordability. I am completely satisfied with my purchase and the shingles make my house look great! I should of replaced them forever ago! Highly recommended they come in all kinds of colors and you can't beat the price.

<< Previous1234567Next >>