Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Tamko shingles

Tamko Logo
Popularity:
#12  of 15 brands of shingles

22% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 112 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    22
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    3
  • Neutral
    2
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    2
  • Very Unsatisfied
    83

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Tamko shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous123456789101112Next >>

Date created: 2011-05-01 Location: South Carolina

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"Stopped My Leaky Roof Problems"
I chose to have Tamko Elite Glass Seal roofing shingles installed in November, 2006 on my older home. The previous owners had left the roofing pretty much undone and I had had some major leaking problems with the roof. I had looked into alternative types of roofing for this older home I own that was built in the 1940's. I checked with several area roofers and chose the appropriate company for me and decided to just have shingles put on again. There were many old layers of shingles they had to remove and repairs done where there had been lots of leaking. I like the Tamko Shingles due to the wide color selection and chose their Tweed Blend. This made my older home look so much better. So far, I haven't had any problems to date with these shingles. I feel that I got a good product for a fair price in the Tamko and got a new updated color as well. I also finally got the problems fixed with the leaky roof I had giving me so many problems and worries. I would probably recommend this shingle brand to others.


Date created: 2011-04-13 Name: John Dole
Location: Bellevue, NE
Model: 25 Year 3 tab

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Tamko does not stand behind their product!"
I am 14 years into a 25 year roof. I have probably 4 dozen shingles that have a 3-4 inch cracks in the exact same spot. This is an obvious manufactor defect (why else cracking in the exact same spot of the shingle) I contacted Tamko about the warranty and becuase the ownership of the house was passed to me from my mother they will not honor the warranty. I would understand if I bought the house from someone else but I have lived in the house for 25 years. My parents were divorced so I took over the house payment. Tamko has an obvious faulty product and is refusing to uphold the warranty.


Date created: 2011-03-10 Name: Zack
Location: Oklahoma city, ok

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Warrenties"
I had received a bad batch of 50 year shingles after multiple calls from me and my contractor. They finally send out a guy to put us on a waiting list to send a adjuster out. After 4 months of fighting them they send us some shingles out along with a check for the contractor which was not even enough to cover there labor.



Date created: 2011-02-22 Location: Topeka, KS

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"No more leaks and a great appearance!"
When we decided to redo our roof, we went with Tamko because my wife's cousin had just gotten a new roof, and we were really impressed with their finished results. It made their house look ten times better and we wanted our house to look like that too. We have had our shingles for ten years, and we are really impressed with the way that they have stood up to hail and high winds. They are slate shingles, and have a great gray and blue color. The only problem we have ever had is when a tornado came through the area several years ago. The high winds tore off 2 shingles, which is actually really great considering how damaged some of our neighbors houses and roofs turned out. Since replacing our old wooden shingles, everyone has been really impressed with the look of the new ones. The part of the process I liked the most is the fact that once we decided on what style we wanted, the installation happened really quickly.


Date created: 2011-02-19 Name: k. hon
Location: oklahoma city, ca
Model: Heritage 30

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"my house was build in 2000"
i have the same problem. the shingle is flying off on one side of the house. 2 roofer said the same thing about tamko "bad shingle". they also said that tamko have improve. after reading the past posted, i think im going with a diff. brand. ty for the warning.


Date created: 2011-02-19 Name: Mark McIntos
Location: Gouverneur, NY
Model: Heritage 30

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worst shingle I have seen in my life"
I bought a new modular home with 7/12 pitch roof in summer of 2007. It was put together in June, so the shingles had plenty of warm weather to seal. That same winter, I had to replace shingles 5 times, basically every time time we got significant wind. The company who sold us the modular home, came and replaced a section of the roof, sealed along the drip edge, etc. Good all summer, come winter, shingles blowing off again, some in the same area, some in other areas. Both on the North and South sides of the roof. Tamko shingles are absolute garbage in my opinion, at least here in the north where we get real winter weather. I have seen cheap IKO 3 tabs on a relatively flat roof that hold up in wind better than these Tamkos. Definitely recommend staying away from this brand.


Date created: 2011-02-06 Location: Columbus, Ohio

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"My Ashpalt Shingles"
I have had my Tamco Roofing Shingles on my home for 5 years years now. I like that I still have had not one leak since I purchased Tamco shingles. They all are in one color and good on my eyes. The only thing I think I dislike about is the pricing, this is the only reason I am somewhat satisfied, other than that I am completely satisfied and I have recommended them to a lot of my friends, not all of them have took the suggestion but a few have. I haven't had to repair them yet and sure hope i won't have to. We had this horrible windstorm a while back and after I went outside, parts of trees were down, and a lot of my neighbors shingles were missing or damaged but mine surprisingly weren't. And if I was ever to move from my current home of 10 years I would most definitely buy the same brand, they are amazing.


Date created: 2011-01-28 Location: Tampa, FL

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Tamko Roofing Sheild Review"
The Tamko roofing shingles on my house have been on my roof for going on 7 years now. I first purchased them because in all of the online reviews, they maintained to be in the top five roofing shingle brands to buy. Many people online are getting 25-30 years on the houses, which is incredible for asphalt shingles. The pros of my shingles are that Tamko was rated very high for high heat environments such as Florida where I reside. Also, Tamko had one of the longest life expectancies on the market. The only con that I have is that Tamko did not have the exact color that I was looking for that some other brands had, but that is a small price to pay for a durable practical product. So far there have been no leaks or signs of wear which means I haven't had to jump up on the roof and do repairs. I would recommend Tamko brand shingles to any friend, and I certainly would buy them again.


Date created: 2011-01-13 Location: Seattle, WA

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"A Review of TAMCO roofing shingles: The best shingles a home owner could ever ask for"
I have been a homeowner since 1989 in a small community of custom homes in Seattle. The climate is generally damp, resulting in moss accumulation on the roof shingles. The first year I owned the home; I replaced the rotten shingles with TAMCO laminated shingles. TAMCO offers a wide variety of colors to expertly match the decor of the home. I loved the fact that every TAMCO shingle was exactly the same with no flaws whatsoever. The original shingles on my house were multi-colored and leaked water in heavy windstorms. TAMCO shingles were all the same color and left me more than satisfied under heavy rain conditions. The only quarrel I have with TAMCO shingles are the price. That is the only thing I disliked about the shingles. I have never had to replace one shingle on my house after 20 years of ownership. I would definitely recommend TAMCO shingles to every homeowner wishing to never replace a single shingle again. If I ever had to replace a shingle, I would definitely replace them with TAMCO.


Date created: 2010-12-17 Location: Tampa, Florida

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Great Shingles"
Hey, I have owned the Tamko Lamarite composite shingles for over three years now. I am a construction worker and so I know a lot about quality products. The shingles are really easy on the eyes and are made of new and revolutionary materials. The shingles, if bought from the manufacturer come with a 50 year warranty. The shingles on my house are great for insulating the hot Florida sun and are very enduring when we get hurricanes. Might I also add, the shingles are Class A fire resistance and I would consider one of the best in the industry. Two years ago we had high wind hurricanes and none of my shingles were damaged. I came outside to check on my roof a day after the high speed winds and other houses around ours had damaged shingles or missing shingles. I was reassured that I had bought a quality product.

<< Previous123456789101112Next >>