Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Tamko shingles

Tamko Logo
Popularity:
#12  of 15 brands of shingles

22% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 105 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    22
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    2
  • Neutral
    2
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    78

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Tamko shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous1234567891011Next >>

Date created: 2011-01-28 Location: Tampa, FL

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Tamko Roofing Sheild Review"
The Tamko roofing shingles on my house have been on my roof for going on 7 years now. I first purchased them because in all of the online reviews, they maintained to be in the top five roofing shingle brands to buy. Many people online are getting 25-30 years on the houses, which is incredible for asphalt shingles. The pros of my shingles are that Tamko was rated very high for high heat environments such as Florida where I reside. Also, Tamko had one of the longest life expectancies on the market. The only con that I have is that Tamko did not have the exact color that I was looking for that some other brands had, but that is a small price to pay for a durable practical product. So far there have been no leaks or signs of wear which means I haven't had to jump up on the roof and do repairs. I would recommend Tamko brand shingles to any friend, and I certainly would buy them again.


Date created: 2011-01-13 Location: Seattle, WA

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"A Review of TAMCO roofing shingles: The best shingles a home owner could ever ask for"
I have been a homeowner since 1989 in a small community of custom homes in Seattle. The climate is generally damp, resulting in moss accumulation on the roof shingles. The first year I owned the home; I replaced the rotten shingles with TAMCO laminated shingles. TAMCO offers a wide variety of colors to expertly match the decor of the home. I loved the fact that every TAMCO shingle was exactly the same with no flaws whatsoever. The original shingles on my house were multi-colored and leaked water in heavy windstorms. TAMCO shingles were all the same color and left me more than satisfied under heavy rain conditions. The only quarrel I have with TAMCO shingles are the price. That is the only thing I disliked about the shingles. I have never had to replace one shingle on my house after 20 years of ownership. I would definitely recommend TAMCO shingles to every homeowner wishing to never replace a single shingle again. If I ever had to replace a shingle, I would definitely replace them with TAMCO.


Date created: 2010-12-17 Location: Tampa, Florida

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Great Shingles"
Hey, I have owned the Tamko Lamarite composite shingles for over three years now. I am a construction worker and so I know a lot about quality products. The shingles are really easy on the eyes and are made of new and revolutionary materials. The shingles, if bought from the manufacturer come with a 50 year warranty. The shingles on my house are great for insulating the hot Florida sun and are very enduring when we get hurricanes. Might I also add, the shingles are Class A fire resistance and I would consider one of the best in the industry. Two years ago we had high wind hurricanes and none of my shingles were damaged. I came outside to check on my roof a day after the high speed winds and other houses around ours had damaged shingles or missing shingles. I was reassured that I had bought a quality product.



Date created: 2010-11-03 Name: Jeff
Location: Oklahoma

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Heritage (Black Walnut)"
My home was built in 1999 and I chose Tamko shingles based on their written warranty. A couple of years ago I had a couple of shingles that came apart where the asphalt did not properly adhere the two sections together. Since then I have had huge sections that have done the same and had to be replaced. My roof has two powered thermostatically controlled ventilators and soffet vents every few feet around the home, so it is well ventilated. I have just initiated a claim with Tamko and will see if they stand behind their product. If not, I am glad I have two attorneys.


Date created: 2010-10-18 Name: C. Thomas
Location: Russellville,Ky.

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"poor product"
Built home in 2001 shingles already coming off roof on we st side of home.Had a roofer repair them today and he said i need new shingles.My home has roof vents and gabel vents,next roof job will be a metal one thanks to TAMKO SHINGLES and their so called warranty.


Date created: 2010-10-16 Name: Richard West
Location: Logan, Ut

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Richard West"
I called Tamko about my shingles which had been installed in 1999. They told me I couldn't be helped because I was not the orginal owner. My insurance said that this is the worst product failure they had ever seen. Too bad Tamko can't stand behind what the manufacture and sell. I let everybody know not to buy their shingles not only because of poor product but also because of poor customer satisfaction.


Date created: 2010-10-03 Name: A. Town
Location: Gastonia, NC

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Not happy with shingles on my home"
I have roofers on my house as we speak. We had a total roof replacement 10 years ago and my guy is telling me that we will need to have the whole thing done again in 5-6 years. One unhappy home owner.


Date created: 2010-09-27 Name: S.Passmore
Location: Indiana

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Eight year old shingle"
I purchased a brand new home, eight years ago with Tamko shingles they are curling and braking off they are the organic shingle. I followed the paper work for the claim, I just got the respose letter in the mail and they will only give me a three tap shingle 16 Sq. I called to let them know how un happy I'am and I tried to get a hold of the Tamko President, they kept giving me the run around and for me to leave a message they wouldn't do anything to help me.I have a lawyer involved seeing what they can do to help.


Date created: 2010-07-03 Name: Roofer man

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"The problems you have"
I have been a roofer for many years and I can tell you that 90% of the problems that people are reporting on here is not because the shingles are bad, its because your roof isnt properly ventilated. You have to have many soffit vents and either whirly birds or ridge vents for it to be ventilated right. Most ppl just have whirly birds or ridge vents and not soffit vents. If you dont have soffit vents the air cant circulate through the roof and out the whirly birds so if you think just putting whirly birds or ridge vents on your house will help you are very wrong. You have to have soffit vents. The reason why shingles curl up and start to become brittle before the 20 or 30 year warranty is because the shingles are getting too hot and you dont have the proper ventilation!


Date created: 2010-05-06 Name: Jose A. Perez
Location: DeBary, Florida

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Tamko shingles are crap"
I purchased a house built in 2000, roof got damaged during storm Fay. Seal between shingles broke loose and debris was found under shingles all over roof due to winds of 75 miles per hour. Took me 2 years to take insurance company to court in order of replacing my roof shingles. I consider TAMKO shingles of inferior quality not suitable to roof not even a barn.

<< Previous1234567891011Next >>