Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Tamko shingles

Tamko Logo

Read 121 Tamko Shingle reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#12   of 15 brands of shingles

23% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 121 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    24
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    4
  • Neutral
    2
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    2
  • Very Unsatisfied
    89

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Tamko shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous12345678910111213Next >>

Date created: 2012-02-28 Name: N. McClan
Location: dekalb, IL
Model: Heritage 30

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"very unhappy"
I had my roof put on in 2006 and never was told by roofers that there was a problem with theses shingles. But once the roof was put on at least two to three shingles would come off with a wind storm. Now in jan 2012 I had the whole top of my roof come off and had to replace it with three new bundles. I called tamko and got a very rude lady on the phone. I was sent the warranty packet and filed it out and placed about 25 pictures of the defective shingles and the pictures they wanted. The wait begins after I waited over a month and half I called them to be told that they just pulled my file out and to wait to hear something. The main problem with theses shingles is there is not enough tar on them or no tar on them so they don't adher to the other shingles. I finally talk to someone today and was told that they did replace the shingles but not the labor costs. Even after they told me they knew it was a defective product and that is why they replaced the shingles under their warranty. So they know they have a problem and could stand behind there product but decide not to 100%. Okay I will give them 5% credit they sent the replacements out half of the bill. Would consumers knows that there shingles are bad the day they get a new roof, its not until after they are on and we start to have problems with them that we are aware of the problem sometimes well after a warranty would cover. After theses replacement shingles are done I will never put tamko products on my roof again. This company does not 100% stand behind their product. Consumer beware.


Date created: 2012-01-18 Location: Duluth, MN
Model: Heritage Premium

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Tamko Heritage Premium Painted Desert Shingles provide stand-out quality"
I had Tamko Heritage Premium Painted Desert shingles installed when I had to re-roof in 1999 following a hailstorm in Duluth, Minnesota. I found out about the brand from my neighbor when he re-roofed his house following the same storm, and they came highly recommended. I have been very pleased with the shingles in the nearly thirteen years since. While Tamko makes a variety of different styles of shingles and in various color patterns, this one goes well with a white house. As it is lighter in color, it can help keep the roof and attic somewhat cooler in the summer as opposed to a darker color shingle. The quality is above average for an asphalt shingle and was immediately noticed by others in the neighborhood. Another neighbor who had to re-roof in 1999 commented "You got the really good ones!" once he saw my finished roofing job. I have not had the problems caused by the hailstorm since, nor have I needed any repairs. We have had a few episodes of high winds in our area over the years since 1999, but these shingles still appear in excellent condition. The only issue I've had since then is some ice damming during a couple of high snowfall winters that had longer stretches of sub-freezing temperatures, but I think this was more due to not getting the snow cleared off quickly enough and some inadequate attic ventilation. I am still hoping for another 15 years or more out of these shingles before replacing them, but when I do, I'd definitely consider a Tamko product at that time.


Date created: 2012-01-13 Location: Poplar bluff MO.
Model: ar30

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Heritage Laminated Asphalt Shingles"
As a home owner and contracter there is oly one choice in shingles and thats Tamco. What I love the most is the random sawtooth design which prevents zip patterns and lines. Theres nothing worse then climbing down off the job to look back and see a pattern line. I was a little worried about fading because I choose the oxford gray color but after 7 years the roof looks like is was just layed this summer. With both sides covered with weather grade asphalt and double layered for extra durability, you wont find a better shingle to stand the test of time and mother nature. 3 years ago my house was in the outside path of a Tornado and i lost a few section of my roof and I was extremly surprised to find out how easy it was to tie the new heritage shingles into the old ones and after a good rain you could barly tell the difference. Every friend thats ever ask my advice about shingles gets the same answer, go with a Tamco shingle and your getting a product that not only gives your home the protection it needs but is also backed up with a 30 year warrenty. With that kind of deal you cant go wrong.



Date created: 2011-11-20 Name: D. Magno
Location: Arlington Heights, IL
Model: Heritage 50

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Tamko doesn't honor warranty"
We had our house completely re-roofed 5 years ago. Within two years there were problems with the tamko shingles and the installer suggested that we file a claim with tamko. The claim process was very complicated and involved many steps. The installer actually had to come out an help by removing some of the faulty shingles and take pictures of the roof areas in question. TAMKO denied the claim. The installer suggested that we re-file the claim and we had to go through the same process again. That was spring 2011 and I have yet to hear from TAMKO or the installer about any decision. TAMKO touts a great warranty but it appears that they bail out of their responsibility citing some inconsequential reason for the failure of the product. Don't buy TAMKO.


Date created: 2011-11-09 Name: DOUG WRIGHT
Location: talorville il
Model: Heritage 30

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"non seal"
Built a new house put nice 30 year tamko's on. Storm hit pulled off half a square off roof. Had extra shingles went up in fixed. Next spring big storms ripped more off, my friend pro roofer had more came over fixed, no charge. From then on every high wind (20mph or more) shingles a flying. Roofer said those shingles never seated. Sent in to scamko oh no you didn't nail em right. Had inspector come out these never sealed. Another roofer "these never sealed" scamko wouldn't fix. My roofer won't ever use them again. Beware.


Date created: 2011-11-02 Name: P. Lee
Location: Southern Middle TN
Model: Heritage 30

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Very satisfied with Tamko"
My builder recommended the Tamko Heritage 30-year shingles when we built my house in 2000. After 11 years, I have had absolutely no problems -- no leaks, no loose shingles. However, due to a massive freak hailstorm a couple of weeks ago, a great number of homes in my city will be getting new roofs from their insurance companies. Mine is one of those, but the insurance adjuster said that the damage to my roof is not an emergency and can wait up to six months. That speaks well for the shingles, considering that the turtle vents look like someone stepped on them. I will be using Tamko Heritage shingles again. As for some negative reviews, remember that every application is different (pitch, direction, prevailing winds, temperature extremes, temperature at installation) and installers vary greatly in competency.


Date created: 2011-09-25 Name: Fred K.
Location: Missouri
Model: Heritage 30

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Junk Shingles and Lousy Customer Service"
4 years after install we started losing shingles every time there was a thunder storm. Roofer (30 years experience) said shingles not sticking down and are defective. I went on roof - lots of shingles not sticking down. Sent warranty info and samples to Tamko. They denied and said wind had gone over limit in our area (they defined this as our county or any surrounding county - this means it could have been 100 miles away). They also said shingles were installed wrong (never even sent anyone out to look and they were installed properly). They just basically made up a ton of excuses not to pay anything. Never buy Tamko again.


Date created: 2011-09-07 Name: Gilbert L. Shelton
Location: Altamont,Il.
Model: Heritage 30

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Great Company and People"
Had trouble 5 years into 30 year shingles. They were cracking in the same spot, causing leakage as expected. Sent a sample to Tamko. They took responsibility and covered the expense of replacing them. Thanks to Kathy and Terry in the Claims Department.


Date created: 2011-06-26 Name: P. Powers
Location: Brookings, SD
Model: Phillipsburg 0313

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Tamko shingles are a very bad product!"
Tamko shingles are a very bad product! The have no tar on them to seal down and the wind tears them off very easy. Do not buy this product as it is a poor product! These shingles shingles fly off easily and the warranty does not hold up. Buy another brand of shingles.


Date created: 2011-05-01 Location: South Carolina

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"Stopped My Leaky Roof Problems"
I chose to have Tamko Elite Glass Seal roofing shingles installed in November, 2006 on my older home. The previous owners had left the roofing pretty much undone and I had had some major leaking problems with the roof. I had looked into alternative types of roofing for this older home I own that was built in the 1940's. I checked with several area roofers and chose the appropriate company for me and decided to just have shingles put on again. There were many old layers of shingles they had to remove and repairs done where there had been lots of leaking. I like the Tamko Shingles due to the wide color selection and chose their Tweed Blend. This made my older home look so much better. So far, I haven't had any problems to date with these shingles. I feel that I got a good product for a fair price in the Tamko and got a new updated color as well. I also finally got the problems fixed with the leaky roof I had giving me so many problems and worries. I would probably recommend this shingle brand to others.

<< Previous12345678910111213Next >>