Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Tamko shingles

Tamko Logo

Read 117 Tamko Shingle reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#12   of 15 brands of shingles

23% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 117 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    23
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    4
  • Neutral
    2
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    2
  • Very Unsatisfied
    86

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Tamko shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous123456789101112Next >>

Date created: 2016-10-07 Name: Chris Chola
Location: NM

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Very Bad Quality"
Installed new roof about 8 years ago to replace hail damaged roof. Within 4 years severe loss of granular coating with about 80% gone now. Will not use such a low quality product again. Do not buy from this company. One quarter the price would be too much.


Date created: 2016-10-03 Name: J, Ames
Location: Springfield, Mo

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Warranty"
Tamko shingles are the worst. Mine had degranulation and Tamko said my warranty was not transferred properly. None of the roofers would recommend Tamko shingles, one said he would only use Tamko if shingles if I paid him to nail each shingle with and extra nail or he would not stand behind his warranty.


Date created: 2016-09-17 Name: Jon Ames
Location: Springfield, Mo

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Degranulated and leaking"
Tamko has no intention of standing behind their warranty. I have 10 year old shingles that degranulated and are leaking all over the house. Tamko will not stand behind their advertised 30 year warranty because the warranty, printed on the shingle packages was not followed correctly. I ask, What homeowner reads the packaging on shingles. They are deceptive and crooked. The roof cost $15,600 which insurance denied because of the defective shingles and Tamko denied paying anything.



Date created: 2016-08-30 Name: David Perry
Location: Louisville, KY
Model: Heritage

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Tamco Heritage severely de-granulated"
Heritage brand severely de granulated. Filed a claim with Tamko. Received a ridiculous packet that, among others things, requires me to hire a roofer. The expectation is that the consumer will incur additional charges and jump through hoops before Tamko will even consider standing behind their product. The entire process is geared to discourage consumers from making claims. I'm told by a local roofer Tamko is the lightest, thus poorest quality, shingle. Roofers push it on consumers because of the margin. Buyer beware!


Date created: 2016-06-10 Name: George oviatt
Location: Jasper mo
Model: Heritage

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Tamco Heritage 80% de granulated at 11 years"
Bought Tamko Heritage for our new house 11 years ago. Within the first two years granuals began to appear in the gutters after a rain. Now roof is 80% devoid of any granuals. Filed a complaint wit Tamko and they replied with offer for 18 sq out of 30 sq replacement with no labor for install or tear off.


Date created: 2016-04-27 Name: Brandon

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Horrible shingles"
Worthless customer service and worthless warranty and worthless shingles.


Date created: 2016-02-12 Name: Nick Hanzel
Location: Franklinville, NJ
Model: Heritage

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Most problems due to improper installation"
I have read about 5 pages of these reviews. Also read reviews for GAF, ocf, and ct on this same site. Based on over 40 years as a residential roofing contractor, I believe that the majority of the issues that homeowners are experiencing are due to improper installation of the shingles. It doesn't matter what brand you use - if the manufacturer's installation directions are not followed, they will not honor their warranty. If the warranty instructions for transfer to a successive owner are not followed, they will not honor their warranty. This not just Tamko. They are all the same. We have been installing Tamko shingles since they came to NJ in the early 80's and we have had one warranty claim for defective shingles, which Tamko settled to the complete satisfaction of the homeowner.


Date created: 2016-01-17 Name: Derrick
Location: Oklahoma
Model: Heritage Plus

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Extremely "Limited Warranty" (read the fine print)"
I am honestly surprised TAMKO Building Products is still in business. I recently purchased a home (Sept 2015) with TAMKO Heritage Plus shingles. With the product purchase, TAMKO provided a 10 year transferable warranty to cover possible defects, cracking, undue wear, etc. It was a great selling point on the home and we were happy to have it, and not to mention a great looking new roof! Well, by the time we settled into our new home (Dec 2015/Jan 2016), I called this so called "reputable" business to transfer the warranty to my name, only to be told that my warranty had expired. Lo and behold, if only I had read the fine print of the warranty, I would have known I only had 30 days to transfer the warranty before it became null and void. 30 days! I'm not even unpacked and I'm expected to read the fine print of a TAMKO warranty within the first 30 days of closing on a house. The roof is only 6+ months old and in great condition, but the company would not honor the transferable warranty, which in reality, I would likely never use. One thing is for sure, TAMKO has lost a customer in me, and certainly whoever else they have treated this way in the past. I hope they will review their policy and make exceptions for cases such as mine in the future. It is much easier to keep customers by doing the right thing, than to try and lure in new customers through sneaky tactics. I will make a point to purchase Owens Corning or other similar products in the future. Goodbye TAMKO.


Date created: 2016-01-08 Name: Arch Boston
Location: Louisville, KY

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Warranty is a joke!"
I had my roof replaced about 8 years ago with Tamko shingles. Started having problems within 5 years - not 25years. After jumping through the warranty hoops they finally offered me 22 squares of shingles to compensate me for the 33 squares which were used for my roof. I get stuck with the tab for their removal, disposal and if I am stupid enough to buy 11 more squares of Tamko shingles, underlayment and labor to fit replacement shingles. Will I have problems with Tamko shingles if I have them used again? I loose about $6,000 because I got crappy Tamko shingles! Any offers for 22 squares of Tamko shingles for their outhouse?


Date created: 2015-12-30 Name: Ed Seute
Location: Leavenworth Ks.

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Granule loss"
My four year old roof has lost sand terrible. Many, many bare spots all over the roof. I contacted Tamko but they don't warrant any defects that don't result in a leak. These shingles are obviously defective, their manufacturing had problems when these were produced. Their warranty is a license to manufacture crap and get away with it. Buy at your own risk.

<< Previous123456789101112Next >>