Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Tamko shingles

Tamko Logo
Popularity:
#11  of 14 brands of shingles

25% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 92 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    21
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    2
  • Neutral
    2
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    66

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Tamko shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous12345678910Next >>

Date created: 2015-05-18 Name: H. Whitney
Location: Custer, SD
Model: Heritage IR

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"Tamko Heritage 30-Year Impact-Resistant (IR)"
Roof was installed Sep 2013. So far so good. Has anyone had experience with the hail-resistant roofing we bought (IR)? We paid extra to avoid another roof replacement at the next hail storm. Insurance agent recommended this type roofing. But am discouraged by all the negative ratings which I had not read prior to purchase.


Date created: 2015-04-09 Name: D Hoskins
Location: Oklahoma City OK
Model: Heritage

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Good shingles"
Google any other manufacturer and see that the majority of reviews are negative. Ive been in the construction industry for many years and seen every product I've ever used fail at some point or another. Tamko is a family owned business. As is mine. And I don't always use their product but they stand by their products better than most companies. The reviews I've seen on here are just ridiculous and completely people making stuff up because they are butt hurt. Customers just do that for some reason. Bottom line don't look into the reviews online too much. Get the color and profile of shingle you like at price you can afford. Make sure to read the fine print on any warranty on anything you ever buy and you won't be disappointed or surprised when you need to contact the manufacturer. I have TAMKO on my house and a lot of jobs I've done. I've put other brands on my house and other jobs. TAMKO in comparison to others... I like the warranty. My wife likes the look. My roofing crew likes when I pay them to nail it on. Good shingles. End of story.


Date created: 2015-04-01 Name: rose vasalech
Location: arizona

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Fraud, misleading the consumer"
Do not under any circumstances use heritage shingles from Tamko. They have class action lawsuits in every state and have since they produce the product in 2001. They left out a component (the most expensive) so they can make more money. They continue to make the same product and sell them, misleading the consumer and that now falls into the fraud category. I am going to contact the fbi and file charges against this company/corporate office in Joplin Missouri. Get ready Tamko your about to get what's coming to you.



Date created: 2015-03-20 Name: rose vasalech
Location: sun city az

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worse shingle ever made"
I have owned many a home, flipped homes too. I can't believe I bought a home with the worse shingles ever made. If I had known prior to my purchase I won't have cared if I lost my earnest money. Never and I repeat never buy or purchase Tamko shingles no matter what they tell you. They don't honor warranties, they lie to you. They covered one person home and the one next to them they refuse. This company flat out needs to be put out of business. I will be the one that does it.


Date created: 2015-02-22 Name: J Lewis
Location: Boulder, CO
Model: Heritage 40 year

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Use a great roofer and get better results!"
I had Tamko shingles applied in 2002. I was recently looking for some information on the roof since I'm changing my home insurance company and I came upon this website of roofing reviews. My roof hasn't lost any shingles (and we're in a high wind area), there's no curling, and I haven't noticed any color change or failure to seal. I'm picky, so I'd notice and report any problems. This roof has been entirely great and my roofer has done many other projects for me beautifully. I think that the reported problems might be due to poor application because I know that my roofer is great and I've had no problems at all in thirteen years.


Date created: 2015-02-02 Name: Tom Grant
Location: Panama City,Fl.
Model: Heritage AR 30yr

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Irresponsible roofing supplier or cheat"
The Heritage AR series 30 year shingles are granulating and beginning to curl after after 4-6 months. They are very poor in composition and will not last half their advertised life. The claim to be designed to resist mildew hinges on fraud. When the company is contacted they make it so difficult to get them to assist that it is best to use a class action suit. Do you know anyone that will come to your home and remove and reinstall shingles for $100.00. Nope! Me neither. Garbage Product


Date created: 2015-02-01 Name: Steve
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Model: Rustic Black Heritage Architectu

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Replaced under warranty"
Had Tamko Heritage architectural shingles (Rustic black) installed on our house in 2013. By mid 2014, we began seeing some discoloration on what seemed to be 90% of the shingles, on all surfaces / exposures of our roof. I contacted Tamko, followed all their instructions on how to submit a warranty claim, found their rep Cheryl to be extremely accommodating when I called, and they did honor the warranty and my roof was just replaced. Per the warranty, which I knew in advance, Tamko covered the cost of the replacement shingles and the labor to install. I had to eat the cost of the tear off and removal of the defective shingles. Overall - while we were certainly disappointed that the product failed in the first place, we found dealing with Tamko for resolution under warranty to be a positive experience, and we are very happy with the replaced shingles.


Date created: 2015-01-31 Name: susan walker
Location: Redford Michigan

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Tamco heritage shingles don't live up to 25 year warranty"
My roof is 10 years old. When high winds come I lose a huge chunk of the shingles off my roof every time. Roof already looks old and the shingles never adhered to each other. Like they should have. Getting a new roof in the spring. So much for the 25 year warranty! No more Tamko for me!


Date created: 2015-01-31 Name: james
Location: Jacksonville, Fl
Model: 35 Year Architectural

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Short life of shingle"
I am in Jacksonville, FL and put a Tamko 35 year rated architectural shingle on my home. By year 13, there was so much shingle granular material on the ground and so much fiberglass showing on the shingle that the roof should have been replaced. The shingles did seal well to each other and the 30 lb felt used at that time has kept me for the most part water resistant. I am sensitive to proper roof venting problems in FL so I added 2 additional vents when these shingles were installed.


Date created: 2015-01-08 Name: Jackie Traverson
Location: Bolivar MO United States

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Tamko 7 year at best"
These shingles are the worst I have ever seen and I was married to a roofing contractor. I bought a brand new house in Nov 2006 and in July I about lost my whole roof, water pouring in every room due to shingles flying off like frisbees. They are half the thickness of most and don't have enough tar to make them stick together. What a nightmare with buckets all over my 4 bedroom house, water pouring in like the falls in every room, in the middle of the night, while listening to shingles flapping all over the roof. Every room had to be treated for stains and painted. Don't buy Tamko!

<< Previous12345678910Next >>