Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

dotted nav bar
dotted nav bar

Consumer Reviews of Tamko shingles

Popularity:
#29  of 34 brands of shingles

25% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 60 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    13
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    2
  • Neutral
    1
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    43

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Tamko shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous123456Next >>

Date created: 2012-06-12 Name: M Bard
Location: Chambersburg, PA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Tampko Shingles suck"
Our Tampko shingle have lost all of the grit. They are only 6 years old. Because we are not the original owners, Tamko will not provide any warranty service to us. These shingles and the Tampko suck!!


Date created: 2012-06-04 Name: Cynthia Waller
Location: Plattsmouth, NE

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't Buy Tamko Organic Seal Down 25"
Roofed 2007, started to curl 2011, terrible in 2012. Had areas where the ply got wet and started to have leaks. The 25 year warranty doesn't mean anything if the product does not include the installation costs because that is what is expensive. Costs to remove the bad shingles, replace the plywood and material, then the shingles. Do not waste your money on Tamko products.


Date created: 2012-05-31 Name: Steve Decker
Location: Eureka, MO

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Next to worthless warranty after 5 years"
My 30 year roof has had excessive wear and gradual loss beginning shortly after installation. 6 years after installation I filed a claim, recommended by my contractor. Tamko gave me a prorated offer of 75% of my shingles, good for 1 year. However they would pay none of the cost of the installation. Labor is the largest cost of replacing a roof. Buyer beware of this outfit. Warranty personnel are very defensive and unfriendly to deal with.


Date created: 2012-05-30 Name: Travis H.
Location: Oklahoma City, OK

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Junk Shingles"
Built a new home in 2009 and we used Tamko Heritage 30 year shingles. They are so cheap and they keep flying off in every storm. They were installed correctly and in the summer. They should have bonded together but they are built so cheap that they don't have enough sticky stuff. Don't waste your money on Tamko shingles.


Date created: 2012-05-17 Location: Dallas,TX

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Heritage Vintage Shingles Look Great"
I live in tornado alley and prior to buying Tamco Heritage shingles I had to replace my roof every few years. After having bits and pieces of the roof repaired every Spring, I decided to buy Tamco shingles and absolutely love them. They look so sophisticated and sharp because they are multicolored and layered to have a mottled look. I have had them for almost 4 years now and been through several horrific storms with baseball size hail and yet I have not had to replace one shingle on my roof. With other brands I would have to replace them each year. I'm very glad I chose this product and would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a good roof. The best thing about these shingles is definitely the durability but they also look remarkable and come in so many different varieties. There isn't one thing I dislike about these shingles.


Date created: 2012-04-04 Name: S.Metzinger
Location: Quincy,Il

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Terrible tamko"
Buyer beware... Of Tamko roofing shingles!!! We had the Heritage 40 yr. Shingles installed by a reputable contractor in 2000. Beginning in 2008 we had massive black streaking on front of our home, green mold growing under our dormer windows, grit flowing from the shingles into our gutters (which now are a mess also). We jumped through all of Tamko's hoops as dictated by their obnoxious snotty residential "customer service" girl. Today we received their response: nothing to do with their product -- they say our roof wasn't installed correctly. We are looking into a class action lawsuit -- unbelievable!!!


Date created: 2012-03-27 Name: D. Stotts
Location: Hot Springs, AR

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't buy Tamko"
I had a new roof put on, had complete tear off done. I thought this roof would be good for at least 20+ years. Six years in and half of the shingles are curling up. Who can afford to re-roof with shingles like this???? Will not ever buy this product line again. Trusted my very experienced roofer to pick the best shingles.


Date created: 2012-03-13 Location: Nothbrook, IL

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"New roof for beauty & peace of mind"
Our home was built in 1950 and is located in a sleepy green suburb outside of Chicago. This past summer, about 8 months ago, we decided to have new shingles put on our roof. This was due in part to the fact that our old roof was old and we wanted to replace it before there were any problems, and also because we had plain black shingles on our roof which were not at all attractive. We wanted to give our house a fresh look and fell in love with TAMKO's Heritage Woodgate shingles. The woodshake style of the shingles really updated and upgraded our home. We also have peace of mind with the 30 year warranty. The shingles have stayed clean and require no effort to maintain. We would absolutely buy Heritage Woodgate shingles again and could not be more pleased with this investment in our home.


Date created: 2012-02-28 Name: Mark
Location: Vancouver Island Canada

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Failed at 13 years - warrany denied"
If you haven't already experienced TAMKO's lack of business integrity, then this email serves as a warning to you and your customers that TAMKO is does not stand behind its products. In turn, your customers are likely to turn the blame onto you, the Dealer. I live in a wet climate in western Canada. In January 2012 I initiated a legitimate faulty shingle claim with TAMKO. A highly reputable professional installer applied TAMKO roofing shingles to my home. TAMKO offered the guise of a 30-year product commitment yet the shingles failed to hold out rain within 13 years. Despite my well-ventilated attic, I am now left with saturated wet, decaying and molding plywood sheeting due to chronic seepage through the TAMKO shingles. Not only need I replace the shingles but I also need to replace the underlying plywood... to the tune of an additional $3,000. TAMKO is well aware of its product defect yet, after a period of less than half the product's 30-year claim, the company has no credibility or business integrity to honor even a portion of its product warranty. Be forewarned. Save your business reputation - dump the TAMKO supplier.


Date created: 2012-02-28 Name: N. McClan
Location: dekalb, IL

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"very unhappy"
I had my roof put on in 2006 and never was told by roofers that there was a problem with theses shingles. But once the roof was put on at least two to three shingles would come off with a wind storm. Now in jan 2012 I had the whole top of my roof come off and had to replace it with three new bundles. I called tamko and got a very rude lady on the phone. I was sent the warranty packet and filed it out and placed about 25 pictures of the defective shingles and the pictures they wanted. The wait begins after I waited over a month and half I called them to be told that they just pulled my file out and to wait to hear something. The main problem with theses shingles is there is not enough tar on them or no tar on them so they don't adher to the other shingles. I finally talk to someone today and was told that they did replace the shingles but not the labor costs. Even after they told me they knew it was a defective product and that is why they replaced the shingles under their warranty. So they know they have a problem and could stand behind there product but decide not to 100%. Okay I will give them 5% credit they sent the replacements out half of the bill. Would consumers knows that there shingles are bad the day they get a new roof, its not until after they are on and we start to have problems with them that we are aware of the problem sometimes well after a warranty would cover. After theses replacement shingles are done I will never put tamko products on my roof again. This company does not 100% stand behind their product. Consumer beware.

<< Previous123456Next >>
Find Local Roofers

My zip code is: