Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Tamko shingles

Tamko Logo
Popularity:
#12  of 15 brands of shingles

22% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 109 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    22
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    3
  • Neutral
    2
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    2
  • Very Unsatisfied
    80

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Tamko shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous1234567891011Next >>

Date created: 2012-01-13 Location: Poplar bluff MO.
Model: ar30

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Heritage Laminated Asphalt Shingles"
As a home owner and contracter there is oly one choice in shingles and thats Tamco. What I love the most is the random sawtooth design which prevents zip patterns and lines. Theres nothing worse then climbing down off the job to look back and see a pattern line. I was a little worried about fading because I choose the oxford gray color but after 7 years the roof looks like is was just layed this summer. With both sides covered with weather grade asphalt and double layered for extra durability, you wont find a better shingle to stand the test of time and mother nature. 3 years ago my house was in the outside path of a Tornado and i lost a few section of my roof and I was extremly surprised to find out how easy it was to tie the new heritage shingles into the old ones and after a good rain you could barly tell the difference. Every friend thats ever ask my advice about shingles gets the same answer, go with a Tamco shingle and your getting a product that not only gives your home the protection it needs but is also backed up with a 30 year warrenty. With that kind of deal you cant go wrong.


Date created: 2011-11-20 Name: D. Magno
Location: Arlington Heights, IL
Model: Heritage 50

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Tamko doesn't honor warranty"
We had our house completely re-roofed 5 years ago. Within two years there were problems with the tamko shingles and the installer suggested that we file a claim with tamko. The claim process was very complicated and involved many steps. The installer actually had to come out an help by removing some of the faulty shingles and take pictures of the roof areas in question. TAMKO denied the claim. The installer suggested that we re-file the claim and we had to go through the same process again. That was spring 2011 and I have yet to hear from TAMKO or the installer about any decision. TAMKO touts a great warranty but it appears that they bail out of their responsibility citing some inconsequential reason for the failure of the product. Don't buy TAMKO.


Date created: 2011-11-09 Name: DOUG WRIGHT
Location: talorville il
Model: Heritage 30

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"non seal"
Built a new house put nice 30 year tamko's on. Storm hit pulled off half a square off roof. Had extra shingles went up in fixed. Next spring big storms ripped more off, my friend pro roofer had more came over fixed, no charge. From then on every high wind (20mph or more) shingles a flying. Roofer said those shingles never seated. Sent in to scamko oh no you didn't nail em right. Had inspector come out these never sealed. Another roofer "these never sealed" scamko wouldn't fix. My roofer won't ever use them again. Beware.



Date created: 2011-11-02 Name: P. Lee
Location: Southern Middle TN
Model: Heritage 30

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Very satisfied with Tamko"
My builder recommended the Tamko Heritage 30-year shingles when we built my house in 2000. After 11 years, I have had absolutely no problems -- no leaks, no loose shingles. However, due to a massive freak hailstorm a couple of weeks ago, a great number of homes in my city will be getting new roofs from their insurance companies. Mine is one of those, but the insurance adjuster said that the damage to my roof is not an emergency and can wait up to six months. That speaks well for the shingles, considering that the turtle vents look like someone stepped on them. I will be using Tamko Heritage shingles again. As for some negative reviews, remember that every application is different (pitch, direction, prevailing winds, temperature extremes, temperature at installation) and installers vary greatly in competency.


Date created: 2011-09-25 Name: Fred K.
Location: Missouri
Model: Heritage 30

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Junk Shingles and Lousy Customer Service"
4 years after install we started losing shingles every time there was a thunder storm. Roofer (30 years experience) said shingles not sticking down and are defective. I went on roof - lots of shingles not sticking down. Sent warranty info and samples to Tamko. They denied and said wind had gone over limit in our area (they defined this as our county or any surrounding county - this means it could have been 100 miles away). They also said shingles were installed wrong (never even sent anyone out to look and they were installed properly). They just basically made up a ton of excuses not to pay anything. Never buy Tamko again.


Date created: 2011-09-07 Name: Gilbert L. Shelton
Location: Altamont,Il.
Model: Heritage 30

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Great Company and People"
Had trouble 5 years into 30 year shingles. They were cracking in the same spot, causing leakage as expected. Sent a sample to Tamko. They took responsibility and covered the expense of replacing them. Thanks to Kathy and Terry in the Claims Department.


Date created: 2011-06-26 Name: P. Powers
Location: Brookings, SD
Model: Phillipsburg 0313

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Tamko shingles are a very bad product!"
Tamko shingles are a very bad product! The have no tar on them to seal down and the wind tears them off very easy. Do not buy this product as it is a poor product! These shingles shingles fly off easily and the warranty does not hold up. Buy another brand of shingles.


Date created: 2011-05-01 Location: South Carolina

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"Stopped My Leaky Roof Problems"
I chose to have Tamko Elite Glass Seal roofing shingles installed in November, 2006 on my older home. The previous owners had left the roofing pretty much undone and I had had some major leaking problems with the roof. I had looked into alternative types of roofing for this older home I own that was built in the 1940's. I checked with several area roofers and chose the appropriate company for me and decided to just have shingles put on again. There were many old layers of shingles they had to remove and repairs done where there had been lots of leaking. I like the Tamko Shingles due to the wide color selection and chose their Tweed Blend. This made my older home look so much better. So far, I haven't had any problems to date with these shingles. I feel that I got a good product for a fair price in the Tamko and got a new updated color as well. I also finally got the problems fixed with the leaky roof I had giving me so many problems and worries. I would probably recommend this shingle brand to others.


Date created: 2011-04-13 Name: John Dole
Location: Bellevue, NE
Model: 25 Year 3 tab

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Tamko does not stand behind their product!"
I am 14 years into a 25 year roof. I have probably 4 dozen shingles that have a 3-4 inch cracks in the exact same spot. This is an obvious manufactor defect (why else cracking in the exact same spot of the shingle) I contacted Tamko about the warranty and becuase the ownership of the house was passed to me from my mother they will not honor the warranty. I would understand if I bought the house from someone else but I have lived in the house for 25 years. My parents were divorced so I took over the house payment. Tamko has an obvious faulty product and is refusing to uphold the warranty.


Date created: 2011-03-10 Name: Zack
Location: Oklahoma city, ok

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Warrenties"
I had received a bad batch of 50 year shingles after multiple calls from me and my contractor. They finally send out a guy to put us on a waiting list to send a adjuster out. After 4 months of fighting them they send us some shingles out along with a check for the contractor which was not even enough to cover there labor.

<< Previous1234567891011Next >>