Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Tamko shingles

Tamko Logo
Popularity:
#12  of 15 brands of shingles

22% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 105 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    22
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    2
  • Neutral
    2
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    78

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Tamko shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous1234567891011Next >>

Date created: 2011-09-25 Name: Fred K.
Location: Missouri
Model: Heritage 30

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Junk Shingles and Lousy Customer Service"
4 years after install we started losing shingles every time there was a thunder storm. Roofer (30 years experience) said shingles not sticking down and are defective. I went on roof - lots of shingles not sticking down. Sent warranty info and samples to Tamko. They denied and said wind had gone over limit in our area (they defined this as our county or any surrounding county - this means it could have been 100 miles away). They also said shingles were installed wrong (never even sent anyone out to look and they were installed properly). They just basically made up a ton of excuses not to pay anything. Never buy Tamko again.


Date created: 2011-09-07 Name: Gilbert L. Shelton
Location: Altamont,Il.
Model: Heritage 30

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Great Company and People"
Had trouble 5 years into 30 year shingles. They were cracking in the same spot, causing leakage as expected. Sent a sample to Tamko. They took responsibility and covered the expense of replacing them. Thanks to Kathy and Terry in the Claims Department.


Date created: 2011-06-26 Name: P. Powers
Location: Brookings, SD
Model: Phillipsburg 0313

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Tamko shingles are a very bad product!"
Tamko shingles are a very bad product! The have no tar on them to seal down and the wind tears them off very easy. Do not buy this product as it is a poor product! These shingles shingles fly off easily and the warranty does not hold up. Buy another brand of shingles.



Date created: 2011-05-01 Location: South Carolina

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"Stopped My Leaky Roof Problems"
I chose to have Tamko Elite Glass Seal roofing shingles installed in November, 2006 on my older home. The previous owners had left the roofing pretty much undone and I had had some major leaking problems with the roof. I had looked into alternative types of roofing for this older home I own that was built in the 1940's. I checked with several area roofers and chose the appropriate company for me and decided to just have shingles put on again. There were many old layers of shingles they had to remove and repairs done where there had been lots of leaking. I like the Tamko Shingles due to the wide color selection and chose their Tweed Blend. This made my older home look so much better. So far, I haven't had any problems to date with these shingles. I feel that I got a good product for a fair price in the Tamko and got a new updated color as well. I also finally got the problems fixed with the leaky roof I had giving me so many problems and worries. I would probably recommend this shingle brand to others.


Date created: 2011-04-13 Name: John Dole
Location: Bellevue, NE
Model: 25 Year 3 tab

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Tamko does not stand behind their product!"
I am 14 years into a 25 year roof. I have probably 4 dozen shingles that have a 3-4 inch cracks in the exact same spot. This is an obvious manufactor defect (why else cracking in the exact same spot of the shingle) I contacted Tamko about the warranty and becuase the ownership of the house was passed to me from my mother they will not honor the warranty. I would understand if I bought the house from someone else but I have lived in the house for 25 years. My parents were divorced so I took over the house payment. Tamko has an obvious faulty product and is refusing to uphold the warranty.


Date created: 2011-03-10 Name: Zack
Location: Oklahoma city, ok

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Warrenties"
I had received a bad batch of 50 year shingles after multiple calls from me and my contractor. They finally send out a guy to put us on a waiting list to send a adjuster out. After 4 months of fighting them they send us some shingles out along with a check for the contractor which was not even enough to cover there labor.


Date created: 2011-02-22 Location: Topeka, KS

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"No more leaks and a great appearance!"
When we decided to redo our roof, we went with Tamko because my wife's cousin had just gotten a new roof, and we were really impressed with their finished results. It made their house look ten times better and we wanted our house to look like that too. We have had our shingles for ten years, and we are really impressed with the way that they have stood up to hail and high winds. They are slate shingles, and have a great gray and blue color. The only problem we have ever had is when a tornado came through the area several years ago. The high winds tore off 2 shingles, which is actually really great considering how damaged some of our neighbors houses and roofs turned out. Since replacing our old wooden shingles, everyone has been really impressed with the look of the new ones. The part of the process I liked the most is the fact that once we decided on what style we wanted, the installation happened really quickly.


Date created: 2011-02-19 Name: k. hon
Location: oklahoma city, ca
Model: Heritage 30

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"my house was build in 2000"
i have the same problem. the shingle is flying off on one side of the house. 2 roofer said the same thing about tamko "bad shingle". they also said that tamko have improve. after reading the past posted, i think im going with a diff. brand. ty for the warning.


Date created: 2011-02-19 Name: Mark McIntos
Location: Gouverneur, NY
Model: Heritage 30

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worst shingle I have seen in my life"
I bought a new modular home with 7/12 pitch roof in summer of 2007. It was put together in June, so the shingles had plenty of warm weather to seal. That same winter, I had to replace shingles 5 times, basically every time time we got significant wind. The company who sold us the modular home, came and replaced a section of the roof, sealed along the drip edge, etc. Good all summer, come winter, shingles blowing off again, some in the same area, some in other areas. Both on the North and South sides of the roof. Tamko shingles are absolute garbage in my opinion, at least here in the north where we get real winter weather. I have seen cheap IKO 3 tabs on a relatively flat roof that hold up in wind better than these Tamkos. Definitely recommend staying away from this brand.


Date created: 2011-02-06 Location: Columbus, Ohio

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"My Ashpalt Shingles"
I have had my Tamco Roofing Shingles on my home for 5 years years now. I like that I still have had not one leak since I purchased Tamco shingles. They all are in one color and good on my eyes. The only thing I think I dislike about is the pricing, this is the only reason I am somewhat satisfied, other than that I am completely satisfied and I have recommended them to a lot of my friends, not all of them have took the suggestion but a few have. I haven't had to repair them yet and sure hope i won't have to. We had this horrible windstorm a while back and after I went outside, parts of trees were down, and a lot of my neighbors shingles were missing or damaged but mine surprisingly weren't. And if I was ever to move from my current home of 10 years I would most definitely buy the same brand, they are amazing.

<< Previous1234567891011Next >>