Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

dotted nav bar
dotted nav bar

Consumer Reviews of Timberline shingles

Popularity:
#16  of 34 brands of shingles

60% of customers recommend
3.5 of 5 stars 25 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    12
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    3
  • Neutral
    1
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    0
  • Very Unsatisfied
    9

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Timberline shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

123Next >>

Date created: 2013-03-02 Name: J Berry
Location: Camden NC

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Do not buy GAF shingles"
Gaf Timberline 30 year shingles were put on our home and appeared to look great from the outward appearance. Twelve years later we had a rotted roof. Still looking good from outside but leaks everywhere in the attic. A roofing contractor checked our roof and said that it was apparent that the shingles never sealed. When we filed a warranty claim with gaf they said that their warranty only covered shingles that were unsealed for the first 5 years. They treated shingles that never sealed the same as if they sealed and then came unsealed for some reason. My contention was that they still looked ok from the outside so how could we know there was a problem until the roof started leaking. I feel that gaf has not stood behind their warranty. I would not advise anyone to buy the timberline shingle made by gaf.


Date created: 2012-08-10 Name: Louise Bohmbach
Location: Elk River Mn

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"timberline 40 year warranty shingles cracking at 13 years"
I recently found out the ceiling damage in 2 rooms is due to shingles cracking up long before they should need replacement. Very upsetting! We will see how the gaf company deals with the issue.


Date created: 2012-07-19 Location: Toms River, NJ

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"Roofing Shingles"
I've owned my shingles for about 5 years and they were placed on my brand new built home. I like that they protect my roof and keep the flow of water fairly decent down into the gutters. I dislike that on a section of my roof in the back of my house(thankfully), the rain water drains off to a lower part of my roof on a different piece and over the five year period; weathering made the lower part of the roof a bright orange color. I have not needed to repair any yet, but I am thinking about doing so on the mentioned spot. Most likely I would not recommend or buy the brand again. I'm pretty neutral with the brand considering that all other parts of the roof are in good shape just the back of my house on the roof is really a eye-catcher and it sticks out like a sore thumb on the roof.


Date created: 2012-07-06 Location: Salt lake City UT

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"My Timberline Shingles"
Five years ago i had to re roof my house. I looked at many facotrs before choosing the material that i would use on my house. The most inportant factors ended up being in order. Quality, Cost and Apperance. I used the Timberline because they have a lifetime warranty. They did cost a bit more but five years later i am very satisfied with my choice. They still look as good today as they did they day i installed them. I used the charcoal color shingles because my house is white. The dark black roof and the white house look great together. The contrast in colors was a great addition to the look of my home. They old shingles had been a light grey color and did not complment the house nearly as well. The shingles were very easy to install and as a do it yourself kind of guy that is important to me. They are clearly marked on the backside so alignment was a breeze. I would recomend this shingle to anyone who was going to re-do their roof. And i would buy this same product again if i had another roofing job to do.


Date created: 2012-06-19 Location: Kenilworth, NJ

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Timberline Premium Architectural Shingles 30 Review"
After purchasing my house about 2 years ago, I decided the first thing I needed to do was to change the roof shingles. The existing shingles were old (more than 15 years), ugly (green) and no longer water tight (home inspection findings). We set out to obtain several quotes from roofing contractors and almost without fail, these roofing contractors came with samples of the Timberline Shingles. We did some research of the Timberline series and decided to go with the Timberline Premium Architectural Shingles 30, which are supposed to be good for 30 years. I'm pleased to say after 2 years, the shingles look great. We choose the black and the color has not fade at all in the harsh New Jersey weather. These shingles had withstood several winter storms and a small hurricane and as far as I can tell, all the shingles are in their place and working great. There was one repair we had to make several months ago when a tree branch fell and broke through the roof sheathing. Fortunately the repair took no more than an hour after we found a repair man and these days I'll be hard-pressed to tell where the repair spot was. All in all, I think these Timberline shingles are going to last us a while and I definitely would not hesitate to recommend them to anyone who's looking to replace their roof.


Date created: 2012-03-14 Location: Liberty, NC

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Heritage 30 year"
I had to replace the shingles on my house approximately 4 years ago due to wind damage. I had them replaced with a 30 year Timberline Heritage Shingle green in color. First, I thought they were very cost comparative. For the quality of shingles i received they really were not over pricedat all. The design and color of the shingles are absolutely beautiful and exactly what i wanted. While they are only 4 years old they have experienced several storms, snow, hail, and heavy winds. They still look brand new and I have had to have no maintenance done to them. The only dislike would be the vent caps on the very top of the house, But after looking at other houses and paying more attention, I realize that that is just how they are, and that i have as good as I can get. I am very pleased with Timberlines shingles and would recommend their Heritage 30 year shingles to anybody. If i ever have a need to buy more shingles or redo my roof i plan on using the same shingles, that is unless the repair is due to an unforeseen malfunction with the current shingles but i do not for see that as happening. I bought 3 extra bundles of shingles just in case i ever needed to replace or repair some and still have them unopened in my barn. I am VERY pleased with the outcome of my current roof with the Timberline Heritage Shingles.


Date created: 2012-02-16 Location: Union, NJ

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Timberline Roof looks like cedar shake"
We installed a new roof on our house about three years ago. We never had a leak or any shingles falling off. The material used was very durable. We purchased a new home and tore off our existing roof. We had two layers of shingles and two layers of cedar shake. The new roof that we installed was a Timberline Ultra High Definition. The color that we chose was Barkwood. We hired a local roofer. The roofer recommended the Timberline because it was very durable and it had a great warranty. We wanted a roof that matched the original cedar shake to the house and the shingles looked very much like the shake at about half the price. It took the roofers about a week to finish the entire house and the results were amazing. All my neighbors complemented us on how wonderful the house looked and even took our roofers contact information.


Date created: 2012-01-27 Location: Bloomsburg , Pa

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Investment of the Year: Timberline Shingling"
As I have not had them for more than 6 months, I can't be certain. However, up to now the fresh installation of my Timberline American HD Shingles was a fantastic idea. They look brand new after 6 months. (6 months of severely heavy rain mind you, some of the worst flooding in 30 years, along with hail storms.) These conditions permit me to say these shingles can certainly take a beating. They look gorgeous. My homes value was even elevated according to an appraisal. The roofer said they were very easy to work with as well. So I can say I certainly appreciate the apparent toughness and beauty combination. As I've had compliments from neighbors and friends. My house appears in contrast to other homes, and the roof of mine is definitely more appealing. The cost was certainly a good bit higher than other roofing options I could have selected. So the value end isn't the best. As a tin roof would be just as effective, albeit cheaper. But the gorgeous look of my roof I feel is worth it. I would certainly buy this brand again, and I've recommended it to everyone who cares to hear. The look of shingling is definitely nicer than that of tin or many other roofing options.


Date created: 2011-12-20 Location: West Haven, CT

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Why I love Timberline Roofing Shingles"
When I bought my house, about two and a half years ago, I noticed water stains on the ceiling in a few of the rooms. The home inspection had revealed nothing wrong with the roof, so I assumed they were old stains. A few months later, during a very bad thunderstorm, there was water coming through my kitchen ceiling. I was told that the valley of the roof had been done improperly and had to be retarred. The following year, same issue. Then came leaking in my bedroom. This past Summer, I decided my best bet was to have the entire roof replaced, if only for peace of mind. I received quotes from a number of roofers, but the sample shingles I loked the best were from Timberline. While not the cheapest quote, they offered the best warranty and seemed durable. When the roofing repairs were completed, I was taken aback at how beautiful the shingles looked. Two weeks later, Tropical Storm Irene came through. Branches flying and falling, very strong winds and heavy rains pounding my house, and no damage to my roof. I was very pleased and would definitely recommend the shingles to anyone looking to repair or replace their roofing.


Date created: 2011-12-06 Location: Richmond, Va.

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Keeping me good and dry."
I am the proud owner of the Timberline Lifetime shingles. I live in an area where the weather is not always favorable. We have heavy snow and wind and rain throughout much of the year. This is why I decided to go with a quality roofing shingle for my home. I chose Timberline shingles. I love these shingles. They have been on my roof and garage for two years now, and I have not had to do any sort of maintenance whatsoever. There is nothing to dislike about them, except they are a fairly costly investment. Nonetheless, you get waht you pay for, and I am happy. My old shingles were constantly causin a problem. Not these. I have never had to repair or replace any of these, and I would definitely suggest anyone with taste and desire to have a good shingle, investigate Timberline. You will certainly get the most bang for your buck out of these shingles.

123Next >>
Find Local Roofers

My zip code is: