Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Timberline shingles

Timberline Logo
Popularity:
#5  of 14 brands of shingles

51% of customers recommend
3 of 5 stars 29 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    12
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    3
  • Neutral
    1
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    0
  • Very Unsatisfied
    13

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Timberline shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

123Next >>

Date created: 2016-04-06 Name: M.Nielsen
Location: Ellicott City, MD

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Total failure and aggravation"
We re-roofed our house with 60 squares of GAF Timberline 30-year shingles in 1997 during a major remodel project. By 2007 we started getting numerous wet spots in upstairs ceilings, outer walls etc. By 2010 we had to bring in roofers regularly to do patch and repair jobs. The shingles were cracking left and right. New leaks were appearing with each rainstorm. Several squares of replacement shingles were needed over time to patch all the leaking spots. The roof looked like a patchwork quilt of moldy old tiles and new ones. Yikes! By 2014 it was so bad we had to make the hard call to get the whole thing redone. GAF gave us about 20% of the cost of the new Certainteed shingles as part of the class action lawsuit settlement over their faulty product. It was far too little to cover the interior drywall repairs, repainting and the cost of having 14 sheets of rotten roofing plywood replaced. It did nothing to assuage the frustration, turmoil and anxiety created by living 7 years with dripping ceilings, moldy drywall and the fear of every incoming rainstorm. I profoundly hate GAF and their products!


Date created: 2016-02-17 Name: Greg
Location: Seattle Washington
Model: Ultra

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Bottom of the barrel"
Had the Timberline shingles put on 4.5 years ago. Gaf preferred installer installed per recommendation. Water is dripping off the front and back of the fascia boards. Problem has been getting worse. This year the sheeting is wet in 3 places. Say no to Gaf.


Date created: 2015-01-07 Name: C P
Location: Minnesota
Model: 40 year

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worst shingles"
We installed 40 year Timberline shingles in 2008 on our second home. During this 6 year period we have repaired/replaced shingles 4 or 5 different times which not only includes installing new shingles where they went missing but also using tar to seal down the ones that are left and about to blow off next. Homeowners insurance suggests not to file a claim with them as the difference between the deductible and cost to repair is minimal and will only cause the rates to go up. Guess I am going to research the class action lawsuit against them in hopes to recover the cost of the shingles and the repeated repairs.



Date created: 2014-12-15 Name: Mrs. Robinson
Location: Houston, TX

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"GAF Timberline"
Our roof aged prematurely. Developed dark streaks within 5 years. Began eroding at ten. Now at 15+ years it has become sooty and the soot is everywhere... on our cars, landscaping and trees. I could not recommend it.


Date created: 2013-03-02 Name: J Berry
Location: Camden NC

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Do not buy GAF shingles"
Gaf Timberline 30 year shingles were put on our home and appeared to look great from the outward appearance. Twelve years later we had a rotted roof. Still looking good from outside but leaks everywhere in the attic. A roofing contractor checked our roof and said that it was apparent that the shingles never sealed. When we filed a warranty claim with gaf they said that their warranty only covered shingles that were unsealed for the first 5 years. They treated shingles that never sealed the same as if they sealed and then came unsealed for some reason. My contention was that they still looked ok from the outside so how could we know there was a problem until the roof started leaking. I feel that gaf has not stood behind their warranty. I would not advise anyone to buy the timberline shingle made by gaf.


Date created: 2012-08-10 Name: Louise Bohmbach
Location: Elk River Mn

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"timberline 40 year warranty shingles cracking at 13 years"
I recently found out the ceiling damage in 2 rooms is due to shingles cracking up long before they should need replacement. Very upsetting! We will see how the gaf company deals with the issue.


Date created: 2012-07-19 Location: Toms River, NJ
Model: Natural Shadow Shingles

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"Roofing Shingles"
I've owned my shingles for about 5 years and they were placed on my brand new built home. I like that they protect my roof and keep the flow of water fairly decent down into the gutters. I dislike that on a section of my roof in the back of my house(thankfully), the rain water drains off to a lower part of my roof on a different piece and over the five year period; weathering made the lower part of the roof a bright orange color. I have not needed to repair any yet, but I am thinking about doing so on the mentioned spot. Most likely I would not recommend or buy the brand again. I'm pretty neutral with the brand considering that all other parts of the roof are in good shape just the back of my house on the roof is really a eye-catcher and it sticks out like a sore thumb on the roof.


Date created: 2012-07-06 Location: Salt lake City UT
Model: 0601180

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"My Timberline Shingles"
Five years ago i had to re roof my house. I looked at many facotrs before choosing the material that i would use on my house. The most inportant factors ended up being in order. Quality, Cost and Apperance. I used the Timberline because they have a lifetime warranty. They did cost a bit more but five years later i am very satisfied with my choice. They still look as good today as they did they day i installed them. I used the charcoal color shingles because my house is white. The dark black roof and the white house look great together. The contrast in colors was a great addition to the look of my home. They old shingles had been a light grey color and did not complment the house nearly as well. The shingles were very easy to install and as a do it yourself kind of guy that is important to me. They are clearly marked on the backside so alignment was a breeze. I would recomend this shingle to anyone who was going to re-do their roof. And i would buy this same product again if i had another roofing job to do.


Date created: 2012-06-19 Location: Kenilworth, NJ
Model: Architectural Shingles 30

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Timberline Premium Architectural Shingles 30 Review"
After purchasing my house about 2 years ago, I decided the first thing I needed to do was to change the roof shingles. The existing shingles were old (more than 15 years), ugly (green) and no longer water tight (home inspection findings). We set out to obtain several quotes from roofing contractors and almost without fail, these roofing contractors came with samples of the Timberline Shingles. We did some research of the Timberline series and decided to go with the Timberline Premium Architectural Shingles 30, which are supposed to be good for 30 years. I'm pleased to say after 2 years, the shingles look great. We choose the black and the color has not fade at all in the harsh New Jersey weather. These shingles had withstood several winter storms and a small hurricane and as far as I can tell, all the shingles are in their place and working great. There was one repair we had to make several months ago when a tree branch fell and broke through the roof sheathing. Fortunately the repair took no more than an hour after we found a repair man and these days I'll be hard-pressed to tell where the repair spot was. All in all, I think these Timberline shingles are going to last us a while and I definitely would not hesitate to recommend them to anyone who's looking to replace their roof.


Date created: 2012-03-14 Location: Liberty, NC
Model: Heritage 30 year Shingles

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Heritage 30 year"
I had to replace the shingles on my house approximately 4 years ago due to wind damage. I had them replaced with a 30 year Timberline Heritage Shingle green in color. First, I thought they were very cost comparative. For the quality of shingles i received they really were not over pricedat all. The design and color of the shingles are absolutely beautiful and exactly what i wanted. While they are only 4 years old they have experienced several storms, snow, hail, and heavy winds. They still look brand new and I have had to have no maintenance done to them. The only dislike would be the vent caps on the very top of the house, But after looking at other houses and paying more attention, I realize that that is just how they are, and that i have as good as I can get. I am very pleased with Timberlines shingles and would recommend their Heritage 30 year shingles to anybody. If i ever have a need to buy more shingles or redo my roof i plan on using the same shingles, that is unless the repair is due to an unforeseen malfunction with the current shingles but i do not for see that as happening. I bought 3 extra bundles of shingles just in case i ever needed to replace or repair some and still have them unopened in my barn. I am VERY pleased with the outcome of my current roof with the Timberline Heritage Shingles.

123Next >>