Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Timberline shingles

Timberline Logo
Popularity:
#6  of 15 brands of shingles

48% of customers recommend
3 of 5 stars 31 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    12
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    3
  • Neutral
    1
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    0
  • Very Unsatisfied
    15

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Timberline shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

1234Next >>

Date created: 2016-05-17 Name: Fred
Location: Auburn Washington
Model: 50 year + Systems Plus

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Water under the shingles"
I have water dripping down the front and back of the fascia board. There is water under the shingles. It has gotten progressively worse. I am 4 years into a 50 year roof. The new nails visible in the attic are rusty. The roofer that put them on believes there is a problem, as do I. This is not the only problem roof this roofer has with GAF 50 year material. The sales rep showed up. He wanted to look in the attic. Oh, you can't have gable end vents with a ridge vent and soffitt vents, you have a ventilation problem he says. Need to block off the gable vents. I asked him how a ventilation problem was causing water under the roofing material and on top of the Tyvek. Yeah, crickets. Pass on GAF roofing materials.


Date created: 2016-05-08 Name: Majorly Irritated
Location: Orlando, FL
Model: Timberline 30 Year

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Defective shingles"
We purchased the the GAF Timberline 30 year warranty shingles. Thirty years-HA! Try ten years, over $11,000. I have been trying to negotiate with GAF to replace the shingles and pay fora portion of the labor. They do not want to take responsibility for their defective product. They were willing to send me shingles, but I would need to pay the shipping costs. What a joke. It is despicable that a company that makes so much money off the backs of working people can sit by and continue to advertise 30 year shingles that do not last even 1/3 of their promised life. A class action suit was recently settled whereby GAF lost due to the defective shingles. It seems as though they did not lose enough money in that class action and are seeking more losses. Do not go with the GAF Timberline 30 year shingles!


Date created: 2016-04-06 Name: M.Nielsen
Location: Ellicott City, MD

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Total failure and aggravation"
We re-roofed our house with 60 squares of GAF Timberline 30-year shingles in 1997 during a major remodel project. By 2007 we started getting numerous wet spots in upstairs ceilings, outer walls etc. By 2010 we had to bring in roofers regularly to do patch and repair jobs. The shingles were cracking left and right. New leaks were appearing with each rainstorm. Several squares of replacement shingles were needed over time to patch all the leaking spots. The roof looked like a patchwork quilt of moldy old tiles and new ones. Yikes! By 2014 it was so bad we had to make the hard call to get the whole thing redone. GAF gave us about 20% of the cost of the new Certainteed shingles as part of the class action lawsuit settlement over their faulty product. It was far too little to cover the interior drywall repairs, repainting and the cost of having 14 sheets of rotten roofing plywood replaced. It did nothing to assuage the frustration, turmoil and anxiety created by living 7 years with dripping ceilings, moldy drywall and the fear of every incoming rainstorm. I profoundly hate GAF and their products!



Date created: 2016-02-17 Name: Greg
Location: Seattle Washington
Model: Ultra

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Bottom of the barrel"
Had the Timberline shingles put on 4.5 years ago. Gaf preferred installer installed per recommendation. Water is dripping off the front and back of the fascia boards. Problem has been getting worse. This year the sheeting is wet in 3 places. Say no to Gaf.


Date created: 2015-01-07 Name: C P
Location: Minnesota
Model: 40 year

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worst shingles"
We installed 40 year Timberline shingles in 2008 on our second home. During this 6 year period we have repaired/replaced shingles 4 or 5 different times which not only includes installing new shingles where they went missing but also using tar to seal down the ones that are left and about to blow off next. Homeowners insurance suggests not to file a claim with them as the difference between the deductible and cost to repair is minimal and will only cause the rates to go up. Guess I am going to research the class action lawsuit against them in hopes to recover the cost of the shingles and the repeated repairs.


Date created: 2014-12-15 Name: Mrs. Robinson
Location: Houston, TX

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"GAF Timberline"
Our roof aged prematurely. Developed dark streaks within 5 years. Began eroding at ten. Now at 15+ years it has become sooty and the soot is everywhere... on our cars, landscaping and trees. I could not recommend it.


Date created: 2013-03-02 Name: J Berry
Location: Camden NC

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Do not buy GAF shingles"
Gaf Timberline 30 year shingles were put on our home and appeared to look great from the outward appearance. Twelve years later we had a rotted roof. Still looking good from outside but leaks everywhere in the attic. A roofing contractor checked our roof and said that it was apparent that the shingles never sealed. When we filed a warranty claim with gaf they said that their warranty only covered shingles that were unsealed for the first 5 years. They treated shingles that never sealed the same as if they sealed and then came unsealed for some reason. My contention was that they still looked ok from the outside so how could we know there was a problem until the roof started leaking. I feel that gaf has not stood behind their warranty. I would not advise anyone to buy the timberline shingle made by gaf.


Date created: 2012-08-10 Name: Louise Bohmbach
Location: Elk River Mn

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"timberline 40 year warranty shingles cracking at 13 years"
I recently found out the ceiling damage in 2 rooms is due to shingles cracking up long before they should need replacement. Very upsetting! We will see how the gaf company deals with the issue.


Date created: 2012-07-19 Location: Toms River, NJ
Model: Natural Shadow Shingles

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"Roofing Shingles"
I've owned my shingles for about 5 years and they were placed on my brand new built home. I like that they protect my roof and keep the flow of water fairly decent down into the gutters. I dislike that on a section of my roof in the back of my house(thankfully), the rain water drains off to a lower part of my roof on a different piece and over the five year period; weathering made the lower part of the roof a bright orange color. I have not needed to repair any yet, but I am thinking about doing so on the mentioned spot. Most likely I would not recommend or buy the brand again. I'm pretty neutral with the brand considering that all other parts of the roof are in good shape just the back of my house on the roof is really a eye-catcher and it sticks out like a sore thumb on the roof.


Date created: 2012-07-06 Location: Salt lake City UT
Model: 0601180

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"My Timberline Shingles"
Five years ago i had to re roof my house. I looked at many facotrs before choosing the material that i would use on my house. The most inportant factors ended up being in order. Quality, Cost and Apperance. I used the Timberline because they have a lifetime warranty. They did cost a bit more but five years later i am very satisfied with my choice. They still look as good today as they did they day i installed them. I used the charcoal color shingles because my house is white. The dark black roof and the white house look great together. The contrast in colors was a great addition to the look of my home. They old shingles had been a light grey color and did not complment the house nearly as well. The shingles were very easy to install and as a do it yourself kind of guy that is important to me. They are clearly marked on the backside so alignment was a breeze. I would recomend this shingle to anyone who was going to re-do their roof. And i would buy this same product again if i had another roofing job to do.

1234Next >>