Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Timberline shingles

Timberline Logo
Popularity:
#7  of 15 brands of shingles

48% of customers recommend
3 of 5 stars 31 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    12
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    3
  • Neutral
    1
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    0
  • Very Unsatisfied
    15

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Timberline shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous1234Next >>

Date created: 2011-01-28 Location: Mechanicsburg, PA

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Amazing Appearance, Leak-Proof"
The brand of shingles that I purchased when redoing my roof three years ago was Timberline, because of a special discount they were offering at the time, which helped compensate for the slightly higher cost. I paid a local Amish business to install it for me, and the results have been great. My roof had always been leaky before, especially in the winter with the accumulation of snow on the roof. I was always scrambling to empty the contents of my closet, which was right below the leak. However, with the new shingles, the house not only keeps more heat (you can tell because the snow on the roof melts more slowly) but it also does not leak anymore. I have not had to have any repairs done on the shingles yet, and they still look just like they did the day we finished having them installed. The shingles I selected are uniquely shaped, and they took the appearance of my house from dowdy to HGTV quality. I would recommend Timberline shingles to anyone who can spare a little extra money for long term quality.


Date created: 2011-01-21 Location: Detroit, MI

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"GAF Timberline 30 roofing shingles still shining after 10 years."
We had our roof redone about 10 years ago. Our contractor suggested the GAF Timberline 30. They match so well with the rest of the house and after ten years they still look great. The only thing I dislike about then was they were a little more expensive than some other brands on the market which looked the exact same. The time it took to do the whole roof was amazingly fast. I thought it would be a whole day job. There were 4 men and it took about 2 and a half hours. We have never replaced or repaired a single shingle and also still have a great warranty for another 10 years. I would definitely buy this brand again even at its higher price. I have and will continue to recommend the timberline 30 to friends, family and co-workers alike. They put the old sun worn, gray colored, dull shingles that lay upon my home previously to shame.


Date created: 2011-01-21 Location: Green Bay, WI

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"Asphalt Roofing Shingles Review"
I have had my new shingles on the roof for about a year. I chose to go with Asphalt because of the low cost and they are easy to install. I wanted to get shingles I could install myself and save money by not needing professional help. My roof did bulge a little after installing the shingles but is now settled and flat. I have had a couple blow off during bad weather but almost all of them are still in place. This happened about 6 months after putting them on and have since been replaced. It is very easy installing these shingles. I would recommend these to someone looking to fix their roof at low cost. These are also great for someone who wants instead shingles themselves without needing professional help or a lot of experience. I would buy the same brand again because they are staying in place and look very nice.



Date created: 2011-01-14 Location: Salt Lake City, Utah

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"My review on my roofing shingles"
I have owned my Timberline roofing shingles for about a year now and am somewhat satisfied. I like the way that they look, they look very crisp and professional. I like the texture and the way the lay on the roof. I dislike the thickness of them. They seem to be overly thick for my taste. I have only ever had to repair a few shingles one time after a fairly bad wind storm we had after about six months of having the shingles on. The repair was fairly routine and easy. I would possibly buy this brand of shingles again. I would want to look into other brands and other types. As far as reccommending them to a friend I would tell them that I really haven't had any problems with them so far and would reccommend them. They have been good shingles and I presume they will last me a very long time.


Date created: 2011-01-10 Location: Sturgis, MI

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"Timberline Shingles+++"
I re-roofed my house a year and a half ago using Timberline shingles. I was not impressed with their color selecting, but they came highly recommended by my contractor. Although I am not 100% happy with the color I have, I cannot say anything negative about the quality of the shingle. I have had no leaks, fading or damage so far. I have noticed on other new roofs that the granules will flake off significantly on newer cheap roofs. I have not noticed this with this brand of shingle. It is a more expensive line of shingle, but comes with a good warranty and user rating. I am very satisfied with my shingles at this point.


Date created: 2010-12-03 Location: Jane, MN

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Shingles For All Types of Weather"
Our 1918 farmhouse was badly in need of a new roof, especially the porch, and since cash flow problems necessitated that the job be done piecemeal, we chose Timberline shingles because they blend in so well with the rest of the roof. They resemble the much older shingles which have held up for 30 years with no leaks. The Timberline shingles are readily available at stores like Home Depot, have a good reputation in this area, and are reasonable in price. The hunter green color we chose is very attractive. Best of all, they are easy to install, even for do-it-yourselfers. Although we've only had these a few months, we used Timberline shingles on a small outbuilding, and they have survived subzero temperatures, high winds, snow and ice, and hot sun. Other buildings on the property need new roofs as well, and we have plans to dress them all up in Timberline shingles.


Date created: 2010-12-01 Location: Winston Salem, NC

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Great shingle for the money"
I have had these shingles for about three months now. They are a thirty year warranty, architectural shingle, with algae resistance built in. Algae is the staining you almost always see on the north side of everyones roof after about seven to eight years. We purchased them at Home Depot and they were chosen for their low cost even though they still have the same warranty as more expensive shingles. They are a little thinner than some of the other 30 year warranty, architectural shingles that we considered. We installed these shingles over the existing shingles which meets building code in our area, as long as you have no more than two layers of shingles total. After the installation, by a professional general contractor, we have had no problems with these shingles. There was a slight color variation even though all the shingle bundles had the exact same lot number printed on the packaging. My roof is a three / twelve pitch which made the color variation all but impossible to see from the ground or from the road in front of my home. If they had been installed on a higher pitched roof the color variation would have been very noticable. I would probably reccommend these shingles to a friend since the salesman from Home Depot was ready to take care of the color match issue for me immediately.


Date created: 2010-11-19 Location: derry, NH

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"roofing shingles"
We have had our shingles on our roof for almost six years and they seem to have done their job well. i like the color of the shingles and the colors that are available. i did not like the way the roofer installed them because it was not well done. we have had to repair a few shingles but only because of the bad job previously done on our roof. I always rely on this brand for roofing. i would recommend for a friend. i also love the 30 year warrenty.


Date created: 2010-04-09 Name: J Smith
Location: Kansas City Missouri

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Shingle defects"
40 year Timberline shingles came flying off roof in 60-80 mile per hour winds. The shingles had been on 6 years and it appears they never sealed to the shingles below them. Plastic strip on tar appears to have never melted to seal to other shingle.


Date created: 2009-06-17 Name: Tammy Moen
Location: Rothsay, MN

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"woodwind or something like that"
they are supposed to be guaranteed to 105 miles - we built our home 3 years ago and have yet to have 105 mph wind - yet are repacing shingles CONSTANTLY

<< Previous1234Next >>