Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Zappone shingles

Popularity:
#9  of 15 brands of shingles

37% of customers recommend
2.5 of 5 stars 8 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    3
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    0
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    0
  • Very Unsatisfied
    5

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Zappone shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review


Date created: 2016-05-13 Name: David
Location: Durand

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Junk"
This product is very difficult to work with. I've been installing roof and siding for over 15 years and this stuff is not user friendly. Not to mention it comes degrees out of the box. Also way to thin for aluminum panels. Did I mention that the water channels and flashings are to small and will be leaking at some point. I'm praying the underlayment and 12 pitch will keep me from getting phone call in future.


Date created: 2015-05-05 Name: E Bruya
Location: Spokane, WA
Model: Dark Gray Aluminum

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Best Roof Ever"
We had the Zappone aluminum shingles in dark gray and they have performed incredibly well for us. They wear well and we have had zero problems with it. Not only do the shingles reflect the sun's energy and keep our home cool (which is nice given the high energy costs these days) but it also is an incredibly good-looking roof! We live on a street with many walkers and I can't count the number of people that literally stopped by and commented on how great our roof looks. The company was great to work with and met every deadline and budget item. I highly recommend them and we give our full endorsement behind the Zappone product. You won't regret using such a reputable company, brand and product.


Date created: 2015-03-24 Name: Chris
Location: Inland Northwest
Model: Copper and Aluminum products

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Helpful service and impressive products."
My wife and I had a Zappone roof installed in 2007. Working with Mr Zappone was a pleasant experience as I was unfamiliar with roofing products at the time. He worked with me to get a competent installer and oversaw the install himself. The contractor moved fast, was clean and most importantly to my wife and I, did a great job. We have had several snowy winters and heavy driving rain storms without a single problem. I would say it looks the exact same today as it did on install day. The roof often gets complements (Charcoal Gray Alum) from neighbors and the walkers passing by. We have also worked with Mr Zappone and his copper products. We love the tarnished copper look and had Zappone's installers put copper roofs on our barn and sheds. They look great in the country setting. Mr Zappone worked closely with us on choosing the copper look we wanted. He informed us on how to keep the roofs "Golden" color and how we can make it turn green quickly. We opted to allow the roof to age naturally and loved watching it progress. We have since sold the home but I must add the Zappone Roof was a major selling point for the house. The curb appeal it provided was impressive. We are now on a new property and Mr Zappone will be a part of our remodel next summer. The roofs on the house, barn and sheds will all be copper soon. Thank you Zappone's for your great help and beautiful products.



Date created: 2015-03-11 Name: robert karpovich
Location: hawaii

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Zappone is a decorative cover"
I installed Zappone copper on a my new house because I liked the look. Luckily I used a top quality peel and stick underneath on a 5/12 and a 3/12 pitch roof. The Zappone shingles absolutely leak in a heavy rain and I consider them nothing more than a decoration to keep the sun off of the peel and stick. The side locks are too small and their flashing system is worthless, you are better off designing your own change of pitch and roof meeting wall flashings. But for the expense, I would tear the Zappone off and sell the copper, I am wondering how long the peel and stick will keep the structure water tight. I recommend you buy a few shingles and look at them before committing to this product.


Date created: 2014-09-23 Name: Dick Johnson aka Coppershark@nwhomefit.com
Location: Sandpoint Id

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"There are better products"
I have installed Zappone roofing since 1996. In that 18 year time span I have seen both good and bad product come from Zappone manufacturing. And like with the first lady from Hawaii Joe Zappone doesn't answer my calls anymore because I sent product back to his shop that was unsatisfactory. I have more experience with the Zappone copper & aluminum than any of his approved installers and the simple fact is that Joe has a hard time admitting when he is wrong. I would advise anyone using the Zappone product to use Ice and water shield on the entire roof deck, and with the copper shingle have your pipe flashings made at a sheet metal shop, the rubber on oatley pipe flashing cooks off in about 10 years. And to anyone dealing with Joe or his lackeys, good luck


Date created: 2013-08-03 Name: Teresa Shurilla
Location: Maui
Model: Aluminum

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"50 year warranty"
I have a problem with this product, and the company. We bought our house almost new. We loved the way the aluminum shingles looked. A year after we purchased our house, the roof started to peel, and when we contacted Zappone they told us there was a problem with the primer and somewhat agreed to rectify the problem. At first it was only a small problem, now the entire roof has peeled. They will not contact me now, I continue to write emails and send photos, nothing. They also refused to get back to the better business bureau, I am at a lose, I would not recommend this company, they do not stand behind their product or right the wrong!


Date created: 2012-03-04 Name: Lee Russell
Location: Spokane, WA
Model: Series 3000 aluminum

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Excellent Product"
Our experience with the Zappone shingles has been very good. Several years ago we had our composition roof replaced with a Zappone Aluminum Shingle system. Zappone Manufacturing was pleasant, courteous and professional in figuring out what materials we would be needing. We especially appreciated the help they gave us with the questions we had. Their customer service was exceptional. The roofing company we hired for the installation had no problems with the installation and the job passed inspection with no issues at all. Our Zappone roof has been in place for a number of years and has held up great to the rain, wind and snow we have here in the Northwest. If we ever buy a different home, without a doubt, I would have Zappone Shingles put on it.


Date created: 2010-08-30 Name: T.A. Becker
Location: Miranda, California

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Aluminum Roof / 50 year warranty"
Installed in 2005, leaked each year. Zappone would recommend a "fix we would follow their guide lines and each year was worse than the previous year. Sent a formal warranty claim in March of 2010 / No response. After several weeks of trying to reach owner Joe Zappone I finally did, he stated that the roof must have been installed wrong so he said that we needed to fly one of his installers down here to inspect the job and he gave me his word that if it was installed correctly he would "make it right and reimburse me for all of the travel expenses". Zappone installer stated that the roof was indeed installed correctly and now Joe Zappone refuses to honor his word to me and or to honor his 50 year warranty. Zappone is now blaming the underlayment, we used Titanium after clearing its use with Zappone Sales Rep. / The damage to the interior of our home is extensive. Using family labor we removed the failed Zappone Roof and installed a 30 year Comp. Roof in July of 2010. We have lost over $23,000.00 on this failed Zappone Roof all we are asking for from Zaponne is a refund of the Purchase price of the Zappone materials. No response at all from the owner. When we tore off the Zappone roof it was evident that the roof was leaking on all pitches 3/12, 4/12, 6/12 and 8/12. The sheathing (3/4 inch plywood) was installed new in 2005 and the water stains were extensive, even nail heads showed rust. We are very dissapointed in our Zappone Aluminum roof and the owner of the company Joe Zappone's complete lack of communication.