Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Sunforce solar panels

Read 27 Sunforce Solar Panel reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#4   of 9 brands of solar panels

92% of customers recommend
4.5 of 5 stars 27 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    16
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    9
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    2
  • Very Unsatisfied
    0

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Sunforce solar panels

Read reviews of other Solar Panel brands
Write a review

<< Previous123Next >>

Date created: 2011-02-06 Location: NW Suburbs of Chicago, IL

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"Solar Panels in NW Subarb of Chicago, IL"
When I originally chose to install solar panels on my home, I was expecting to be able to 1.) Install them wherever I wanted on my roof 2.) Get an enormous return on investment (ROI) from them 3.) To not have too many panels installed on my roof (so my house still looked classic) 4.) Not have to worry about weather issues affecting the roof So far, none of these have come true. Item by item, this would be my breakdown. 1.) You are required to install the panels on the most "sun effective" area of the roof so that it is exposed as much as possible. I was planning on having them installed on the side of my roof that faces my backyard, but was unable to because there was not enough sun exposure. 2.) Thus far I have not had a large cost savings on my electrical bills (around 25%) vs. what I thought I would get (around 60%). From the cost of installing the panels, it will take me around 18 years to recover my initial investments. 3.) I had to install many more panels that I originally anticipated 4.) During winters, the panels get covered in snow and I have to manually sweep them off after ever little "dusting" of snow comes. Overall, I'm not very satisfied with my decision.


Date created: 2011-01-25 Location: Richmond, VA

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Solar Panels Worth It"
I have owned solar panels now for close to 3 years and overall I have been satisfied with them. The solar panels themselves can be rather unattractive if placed in a spot visible to the public therefore I had to place them on the back of my house. Although this seems like a good thing, there are multiple trees behind my house which cause some shady spots therefore limiting the sun. Even with this in mind though, I receive sufficient energy from the panels and they have functioned well. The only real negative is that the initial cost of buying the solar panels was rather high but the money it saves in the long run is worth it. The panels themselves are very reliant as I have not had to replace or repair them at all. I have cleaned the panels twice though just to keep them in good condition since leaves and other materials constantly fall on them. I would definitely recommend these panels to any of my friends and I would have no problems convincing them with the overwhelming positives associated with the panels. Sunforce panels are worth the money.


Date created: 2011-01-21 Location: San Diego, CA.

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"I wish my sunforce sola panels gave out more amps."
I had my Sunforce 50012 1.8 watt solar panel for about a year now, and over all I am happy with it, but I wish it generated more amps. The main thing I like about it was the price. Beside the fact it does not meet the amps that I need for my out door activities, I wish the product was a more portable maybe if it folded for more secure transporting. So far I have never had any problems with it or had to have any repairs to it. I am not to sure if I would recommend it to a friend, but I might try there new solar panel that does fold, but right now I feel that it is over priced, so maybe in the future when the price comes down. If there was an alternative brand that meets my outdoors need and for the right price I would be more then happy to try it.



Date created: 2011-01-03 Location: San Marcos, CA

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"Expensive but Worth the Buy:"
My husband and I have owned our solar panels for about one year now. After looking them up online and seeing a friend of ours with them, my husband convinced me that we needed to add them to our new home. The thing I love about my new panels is that we have saved a lot of money on gas and electric bills. My greatest dislike about the solar panels is that they were a painfully expensive buy. They were well over eight thousand a piece! However, I feel they will be fully worth the money in a couple years. So far we have never had to repair or fix them for any reason. I would recommend them to a friend if they were buying or remodeling a home, but only if they can afford them. Overall I am happy with the purchase because I feel as if I am helping the environment in some way.


Date created: 2010-12-15 Location: Tampa, FL

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"Free Energy with a Cost"
I have owned this kit for a little over a year. It was very expensive when I picked it up, but green-energy obviously comes with a price. I paid $300 for the Sunforce 50044 - which worked out to around $5 per watt. In Florida, we have horrible storms and massive winds - but my panels are still one piece and running strong. Initially the power output was around 60 watts (give or take 5 watts, depending on sunlight), but as time passed the power started to decline, but not much. I believe my top output is around 50 watts, which is still good in my opinion. Other than that, I haven't had any major technical issues. But there is another drawback: the panel itself is huge! I have another similar panel that is nearly 1/4th of the size! The included inverter is not the best, but works for low drain electronics such as cell phone or iPod charging. I once tried to plug in a blender to the inverter and it exploded with noise, forcing me to allow it to recharge. Overall, I would recommend this kit to a friend if it were just a little less expensive.


Date created: 2010-12-15 Location: Roscoe,IL

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Solar Panels"
I have owned my solar panels for 3 months. I recently got the Sunforce 39810 and i have noticed quite the difference with the energy cost. We are all trying to save money these days so every penny counts so if you are looking to save money this is something you will want to look in too. I was expecting to see i little more of a difference and that is the only bad thing but then again it is saving and i cant complain about that. I have never had anything go wrong with it yet so i am very satisfied. I would Recommend it to people and i already have to my friends and it is just a very nice thing to have. So if you are looking to save money for the rest of your lives then i recommend the Sunforce 39810. I will point out the fact that i have only had it for 3 months now so we will see in the future about the repair part of it all but i know it wont ever stop saving me money.


Date created: 2010-12-09 Location: Corban, Indiana

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Review of Sunforce NT-175U1 solar panels"
In 2008 I bought the Sunforce NT-175U1 solar panels. They are 175-Watts. They also have the Multi Purpose with Sharp Module features that I think are very beneficial. Overall I have been very pleased with these panels, although they have not cut down out electric bill as much as I would have liked. The think that I like most about these panels are that they make the neighbors jealous; they just look that sharp. They were also extremely easy to install. I thought that they would be difficult to patch into the electric grid, but the instructions were really great. Like I said, the only think that I dislike is that they only save us a little bit of money every month. What people don't realize is that solar panels take sixty years to pay for themselves. So far I have not had to make any repairs. I would definitely buy more of these panels and would recommend them to a friend without reservations.


Date created: 2010-11-24 Location: Chandler, Arizona

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Light Up Your LIfe with Solar Panels"
I bought this solar panel kit about six months ago. It was pretty easy to assemble-- I had to go out and get the batteries, but it came with all other pieces. I have not yet had to have this repaired, but I feel confident that if I did, it would not be difficult. I currently have it plugged into marine batteries with an inverter that goes through the wall. The inverter is indoors while the batteries are outdoors, and I can just plug things in the inverter inside. I love that convenience. It is great for charging phones and other electronic devices. But be warned-- do NOT plug high electricity drawing appliances into it, like the vacuum. I did that once, and the inverter alarm went off and the whole thing had to reset for awhile. I do not like the fact that this system is not efficient enough to go off the grid, but it has been a good experience for me and it saves a little on my electricity bill. If you are interested in solar power at all, I would recommend this product without hesitation.


Date created: 2010-11-18 Location: San Gabriel, CA

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"Sunforce panel good starter"
I've owned the panel for two months, I like the size of these panels. I don't like the weight of these, these can be heavy. The positive and negative are backwards. One of the panels were defective, I had to pay shipping to get it replaced from manufacture. I would not recommend this product to a friend, but I am not totally displeased with my purchase.


Date created: 2010-10-16 Location: lackawana, PA

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"My new solar panels"
I've had my solar panels for the last two years. They were a great addition to my house. I love the fact that I'm getting my energy from sunlight. It cut the cost of my heating bills which is a big plus. The solar panels seemed like it would cost more than I saved but in the end it really didn't. It is saving my money all the time. Since my house is in a place that is very well lit by sunlight they work great. I don't see any difference in using solar panels than using gas heating. The only thing I dislike about them is how they look on my house. It is very noticeable and kind of stands out. I so far have not had to repair them. I would recommend this brand to a friend because it seems to be working just fine and wasn't too expensive. Overall I am happy with my choice.

<< Previous123Next >>