Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Sunpower solar panels

Read 21 Sunpower Solar Panel reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#10   of 10 brands of solar panels

33% of customers recommend
2.5 of 5 stars 21 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    7
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    0
  • Neutral
    1
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    12

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Sunpower solar panels

Read reviews of other Solar Panel brands
Write a review

123Next >>

Date created: 2017-11-03 Name: Tennille DeLaTorre
Location: Vacaville, CA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Haven't been working in 6 months"
Do not go with this company! This is the worst experience I have ever had with any company ever! So, first off There have been atleast 4 different times I have had the contractor come out to fix one thing or another. The last time was due to faulty wiring from the installers. I thought ok, that's cool they came out and fixed it. turns out that my panels haven't been working in 6 months! I found that out when I got my $5000 dollar PG&E trueup bill! I called sunpower and told them I wasn't going to pay their lease payment until this situation got resolved. They never called me back and now I have a creditor calling me telling me he is disconnecting my solar panels, when I told him I was going to consult a lawyer he emailed back and gave me a deal to pay 1/2 and sunpower will defer the other 1/2 to the end of the contract... WTF No! They also told me I didn't have a credit for that period either but now they are sending me a credit? This company is a joke and I am filing a lawsuit it may even turn out to be a class action law suit by the way these reviews are going and what I have read in them?


Date created: 2017-10-26 Name: S Nowak
Location: Phoenix AZ

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Stay away or you'll be sorry"
Absolute worse decision I made was going with this company. I was led to believe that they would monitor things. When my system had been down for a bit, I called and asked about the monitoring and was told it was a "shared responsibility". Meaning, if the customer doesn't watch this everyday and the system goes down, the customer gets screwed. Customer service is terrible - absolutely no accountability and the communication is not much better. My system is constantly down and they could care less, it's constant being on hold and then "I'll get back to you". This solar company is a huge thorn in my side.


Date created: 2017-10-19 Name: CL
Location: San Diego

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Avoid this company"
My system was installed in 2007, three years later the SunPower inverter was recalled and was replaced, then 7 yrs later that inverter quit working. The company contracted to service SunPower products evaluated the system and spent hrs on the phone with SunPower trouble shooting and finally concluded that the inverter needed to be replaced while it was still under warranty. However, a rep in The Philippines decided that it was not under the warranty. After 4 calls I reached the Phillipino's supervisor who argued that it had been more than 10 yrs since the system was installed. I reminder her that the 2nd inverter was still under the 10 yr warranty by three years. Being consistent with almost all other SunPower customer service online reviews her rudeness was startling disappointing, but consistent with the apparent SunPower employee mission statement: "Let's not be helpful." Then I called her supervisor 6 times with no response or message. Another phone call later I was placed on hold for 26 minutes while her supervisor was attempted to be reached. No success! No surprise there! Then a phone call from a rep in Austin, TX. Same poor customer service with an admitted unwillingness to stand behind the faulty products SunPower sells because "SunPower doesn't manufacture the inverters and the manufacturer won't honor the warranty." Even though SunPower sold the faulty product as part of their system they will not help the consumer that they sold the product to. In summary SunPower has a top to bottom customer service attitude of don't return phone calls to customers, Do not be helpful, and offer excuses that SunPower is not responsible for faulty products that SunPower promotes & sells because SunPower doesn't manufacture them. Avoid this company at all costs!



Date created: 2016-08-23 Name: Olga Hernandez
Location: Loma Linda, ca

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"Lien on my house"
Sunpower put a lien on my house and did not tell me they would do that. That's not cool. I didn't find out until I went to refinance. It's now delayed my refinancing.


Date created: 2016-08-04 Name: kenneth brenner
Location: somerset nj
Model: Inverter

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Inverter fail"
Inverter failed after 2 years. Took 7 weeks and many phone calls to get replacement. No financial compensation is available for lost revenue on electric bill or scrac.


Date created: 2016-08-03 Name: David Trujillo
Location: Castaic, ca

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worst Customer Service Ever"
Too many mistake and issues to list, just poor customer service, Installers damaged personal property, late on every occasion, poor followup, no one takes ownership or responsibility of customers issues, worst customer experience ever.


Date created: 2016-01-11 Name: E ESTRADA
Location: LAKESIDE

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Very Unreliable Poor Customer Service"
When we signed they said it would be 8to14 weeks before it was up and running. Here it is 7 months and 5000 dollars in bill later still not on. They don't return our phone calls. Oh yeah in the middle of all this they said they were sorry for dropping the ball on us because someone had gone out on pregnancy leave and so they just left us on the back burner for who knows how long without any notice. I wish I would of known this back then. I work for Sunrun Solar and my company doesn't run their business like that. I don't recommend them to anyone nor solar energy which they are contracted with.


Date created: 2015-11-03 Name: Michelle Schumacher
Location: San Clemente, CA

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Love love love our Panels and SunPower"
We have had our panels now for 3 years - the billing team and company over all has been incredible to work with. I cant say between the professionalism when I call with questions and to update my card billing they have been great. The panels are the best efficiency on the market. Cant wait to get a new system installed in our rental property.


Date created: 2015-09-22 Name: JOHN
Location: SPARTANBURG,SC

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Sunpower reliability"
System in for 3 yrs 1 month 6000 inverter went down?. Had sunstore replace inverter (took 2 weeks ???) New inverter in 4 hours ,then dead (again) Sunpower sent installer re-furbished inverter. Sunpower looks like it's a very unreliable company. They also changed their so-called monitoring system so you cannot see what your inverters are doing and no more warnings are given to let you know there is a problem.


Date created: 2015-04-08 Name: M. Edward
Location: waterbury, CT
Model: E20 327 Watt

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"21 sun power panel installation"
We had 21 Sunpower e20 panels rated at 327 Watts each. Needless to say at the peak of the day when you expect to get the most out of the panels. Each panel was a minimum of 340 watts and 2 were putting out a little over 350 watts. To say they met my expectations is an understatement. The panels were combined with solar edge optimizers and inverter which is working out excellent.

123Next >>