Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

dotted nav bar

Consumer Reviews of Sunpower solar panels

Popularity:
#38  of 43 brands of solar panels

37% of customers recommend
3 of 5 stars 8 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    3
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    0
  • Neutral
    1
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    0
  • Very Unsatisfied
    4

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Sunpower solar panels

Read reviews of other Solar Panel brandsWrite a review


Date created: 2013-08-12 Name: D. Aguilar
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Buyer beware!"
Terrible company! Buyer beware! This company will place a lien on your house and not disclose it at all. I found out through my bank when requesting a second. They never disclosed that information at all! It took forever for them to install the system completely but insisted on sending the bills monthly for payment. I refused to make payments to sce and them.


Date created: 2013-06-17 Name: Jessica
Location: Murrieta, Ca

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Horrible Company"
1. "Engineer" who came out to turn on my system was subcontracted, knew nothing about my solar system, and stayed 4 hours for something that should have taken 10 minutes. 2. Found out from another solar company (had another company come out to install more solar panels) that I had a broken solar panel with my Sunpower system. Sunpower apparently doesn't monitor the system, that is MY responsibility as a customer. So, if their system isn't working, they would never notify me. I would have to get onto the monitoring site every day to track my production. Also, because they never gave me documentation to show me how much my panels should produce, the monitoring system (only shows how much panels produce, not how much they SHOULD produce) does absolutely NOTHING!. 3. Called customer service to get panel fixed. At first I was told that the customer service rep didn't have access to any information regarding my solar system. Then I was told I would need to contact my installer (who they subcontracted to) in order to have my panels looked at and POSSIBLY fixed. Next I was told, I would need to get up on the roof and take pictures of the damaged panel in order to get someone to come out and assess the situation. Horrible customer service! Do not go with this company if you are looking to go solar.


Date created: 2013-02-25 Name: A Koleszar
Location: Palm Springs, CA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Something ie VERY WRONG at SUNPOWER"
I signed a contract with Sunpower on June 7, 2012. It is now late February, 2013, and I just recevied a notice from Sunpower that they won't be issuing "Notice to Proceed" until Mid-March or April. A Sunpower employee told me that it has to do with their bank. All that sounds like bad news to me. If I knew back in June of last year what I know today, I would never do business with them.


Date created: 2012-08-13 Name: J. john
Location: San Diego, Ca

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Waiting much too long to get anything installed"
We have been trying to get Sunpower solar panels since the beginning of May 2012 and over three months later we have nothing. We have been promised several times and given several different dates that the system would be installed; but upon each promised date, they change the installation date to a latter date; nothing done. The Electric company have installed the meter to run backwards and that's all. Damn. I wish we had never signed the papers with them. We should have chosen another Company and a different panel and have in writing a deadline date for instillation. Now they have reset the date to four months.


Date created: 2011-05-01 Location: Modesto, CA

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Pleased Customer"
I have had my Sun Power solar panels in my home for two years now and I am pleased with the panels' performance. Efficiency and aesthetics are the two main things I like about my solar panels. The panels do not have any unsightly metal grid lines and look better than most other solar panels. The solar panels have an efficiency of 18% which is relatively high for solar panels. As a result most months I generate my own electricity and will be able to recoup my investment in less than eight years. My only qualm with my solar panels was the high price. As of yet I have not had to repair or replace any part of my installation. I would highly recommend Sun Power to any of my friends and if I ever needed to purchase more solar panels I would definitely consider buying from Sun Power first.


Date created: 2011-02-06 Location: Sunnyvale, CA

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Why pay for electricity? Go Solar!"
My Sunpower solar panels are excellent. They look great on my roof and have dropped my electricity bill from fifty dollars per month to less than ten dollars per month. I like that they work great, take very little effort, and essentially no maintenance. I only wipe them off when I am up on the roof cleaning out my gutters. They also give you a sense of helping the environment and the world and look very nice on the roof. I have no complaints about my system at all. They were relatively inexpensive to install because of all the generous tax incentives, and will pay for themselves in a couple years. I would certainly purchase the same brand again. Sunpower solar panels offer the highest amount of power for a given area. I have recommended these solar panels to many friends who have purchased them and are also happy with their systems.


Date created: 2011-01-21 Location: allentown, PA.

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"talk about saving money"
I have had my SunPower solar powered panels for about three years and in that I have saved a couple thousand dollars. The solar panels work just like the company said they would if not better. The SPR 215 model solar panel which is the model I currently own features a very aesthetically pleasing black roof mounted design. Who every said solar power can't be aesthetically please obviously never seen the SPR 215 solar panels. But with a warranty like below and with all the money you save why wouldn't I recommend this product to a friend. "SunPower Solar Panels come with a 25-year manufacturer's warranty on the power output. SunPower guarantees that there will be 90% of the rated power output for the first 12 years from the date of supply and 80% of the rated power output for the entire 25 years. SunPower further warrants that their solar panels will be free from defects for 10 years from date of supply. Defective panels in the first 10 years will be replaced free of costinstall"


Date created: 2010-12-10 Location: Bangor, ME

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"Somewhat Satisfied"
SunPower solar modules may offer higher efficiency than other models but all that means is a slightly smaller footprint. Hardly worth the much higher price. SunPower 200 through 230 watt solar modules offers one of the poorest negative tolernce ratings on the market when compared to most other modules. Rated at negative 5% tolerance, SunPower will only guaranty that their 230 Watt module will produce 218.5 Watts new right out of box. Also SunPower modules are made in China. I have owned my two panels for about 3 years and have been lucky so far because no repairs have been necessary. I would buy then again based on these facts.

Find Local Roofers

My zip code is: