Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Sunpower solar panels

Popularity:
#9  of 9 brands of solar panels

46% of customers recommend
3 of 5 stars 15 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    7
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    0
  • Neutral
    1
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    0
  • Very Unsatisfied
    7

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Sunpower solar panels

Read reviews of other Solar Panel brands
Write a review

12Next >>

Date created: 2016-01-11 Name: E ESTRADA
Location: LAKESIDE

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Very Unreliable Poor Customer Service"
When we signed they said it would be 8to14 weeks before it was up and running. Here it is 7 months and 5000 dollars in bill later still not on. They don't return our phone calls. Oh yeah in the middle of all this they said they were sorry for dropping the ball on us because someone had gone out on pregnancy leave and so they just left us on the back burner for who knows how long without any notice. I wish I would of known this back then. I work for Sunrun Solar and my company doesn't run their business like that. I don't recommend them to anyone nor solar energy which they are contracted with.


Date created: 2015-11-03 Name: Michelle Schumacher
Location: San Clemente, CA

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Love love love our Panels and SunPower"
We have had our panels now for 3 years - the billing team and company over all has been incredible to work with. I cant say between the professionalism when I call with questions and to update my card billing they have been great. The panels are the best efficiency on the market. Cant wait to get a new system installed in our rental property.


Date created: 2015-09-22 Name: JOHN
Location: SPARTANBURG,SC

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Sunpower reliability"
System in for 3 yrs 1 month 6000 inverter went down?. Had sunstore replace inverter (took 2 weeks ???) New inverter in 4 hours ,then dead (again) Sunpower sent installer re-furbished inverter. Sunpower looks like it's a very unreliable company. They also changed their so-called monitoring system so you cannot see what your inverters are doing and no more warnings are given to let you know there is a problem.



Date created: 2015-04-08 Name: M. Edward
Location: waterbury, CT
Model: E20 327 Watt

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"21 sun power panel installation"
We had 21 Sunpower e20 panels rated at 327 Watts each. Needless to say at the peak of the day when you expect to get the most out of the panels. Each panel was a minimum of 340 watts and 2 were putting out a little over 350 watts. To say they met my expectations is an understatement. The panels were combined with solar edge optimizers and inverter which is working out excellent.


Date created: 2015-03-09 Name: Eddie
Location: Long Island , N Y
Model: 327w

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Long Island Solar System"
We had our Sunpower 327w panels installed by KPS Solar. The install was seamless, aside from 2 panels from the factory were bad. Sunpower monitoring notified KPS the system was not performing at optimal performance. Kevin McCleod of KPS came out personally and installed the new ones upon arrival. Since the install May 2013, I have not paid .01cent to LIPA. Now the new scam is the power companies are raising the meter charges due to numerous solar systems. I applied my credit from my annual bank of usage toward my meter charge so it has left me even since. I would recommend both companies as I am 110% satisfied.


Date created: 2014-09-10 Name: Matt McCormick
Location: Waxhaw NC

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Horrible Service and Support"
We purchased our solar system through our builder - Meritage Homes. Sunpower subs its contract work to local installers. Initial system installed was wrong type of inverter - Had to take time off of work for their product swap. Post installation I had to constantly call to get the service operational. Installer came but took the wrong paperwork, left our home after another day of work taken off promising to call us to reschedule. Days went by, nobody would call, multiple phone calls to Sunpower and they finally told me to turn the system online. After turning online, nothing happened, their installers failed to test if it was even hooked up, Sunpower rep stated they must have forgotten the disconnect in the attic. Another week of no service and multiple phone calls, finally got the installer here, mind you they were working in our development the whole time but couldn't be bothered to call us or stop by. After an hour they determined it was a pinched wire - had they checked the system when it was installed they would have seen no power. System is finally online almost 30 days after installation. It worked for a total of 4 days before I came home to their system off again - no power. Called Sunpower repair line who couldn't find my serial number in their system, because unless you pay for their monitoring station which is the only way to even see what your system is producing power wise, they don't register the systems. After an hour of speaking to a foreign individual they told me the installers would have to fix. 10 days later, multiple phone calls, texts to the sales rep, calls to the installer, they haven't even bothered to schedule an appointment to repair their equipment. $14,000 for a 10 panel system, and all we have experienced is faulty wiring, defective products, and countless promises of return phone calls or scheduling of an appointment but they do not follow through with anything. I have lost an entire month and a half of solar power in peak summer temperatures, 3 days of lost work, 4 hours of phone calls, and zero response from the company except empty promises. I have never in my life experienced such poor customer service and lack of any customer loyalty or interest in servicing their equipment. They are a scam once they have their money they have no obligation to repair or replace any service in any time period. Their website support chat is useless, it is likely outsourced overseas, the person I chatted with today who took forever to respond used the phrase "query" which is common with Indian tech support companies. Their service technical support when you call them knows nothing about the products or how to schedule service calls. The worst part is without a monitoring system I have no means to watch what my system is doing, and after this many failed attempts at even getting operational, I question whether it is even hooked up properly to offset my own power usage. When the system was "on" I noticed zero decrease in energy usage at my bi-directional meter, and the technical support reps don't know how it's supposed to work or how to check if it is working. I would not recommend this company to anyone looking for a quality product, or quality support, you will not receive it from Sunpower, so save your money and buy a paperweight instead, it's about as useful as our system is on our home and absolutely no end in sight for repair or quality of service even if the magic green light is ever to come online again. Mind you, I have been assured the entire sales management, customer service management and support management are aware of my issues for over a week now, and even as of today, nobody has even bothered to call the installer to have them come and even look at our system. They themselves take weeks to get back in touch with people if ever at all, so a terrible company with Sunpower and just as poor with their subcontractors.


Date created: 2014-08-29 Name: Daryl Thomas
Location: Temple City,CA

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Retired Electrical Contractor California C10"
Just finished first year. Generation 112% of Low Estimate and 101% of High Estimate. Check Installers for Quality as my Installer was very poor. System is excellent.


Date created: 2013-08-12 Name: D. Aguilar
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Buyer beware!"
Terrible company! Buyer beware! This company will place a lien on your house and not disclose it at all. I found out through my bank when requesting a second. They never disclosed that information at all! It took forever for them to install the system completely but insisted on sending the bills monthly for payment. I refused to make payments to sce and them.


Date created: 2013-06-17 Name: Jessica
Location: Murrieta, Ca

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Horrible Company"
1. "Engineer" who came out to turn on my system was subcontracted, knew nothing about my solar system, and stayed 4 hours for something that should have taken 10 minutes. 2. Found out from another solar company (had another company come out to install more solar panels) that I had a broken solar panel with my Sunpower system. Sunpower apparently doesn't monitor the system, that is MY responsibility as a customer. So, if their system isn't working, they would never notify me. I would have to get onto the monitoring site every day to track my production. Also, because they never gave me documentation to show me how much my panels should produce, the monitoring system (only shows how much panels produce, not how much they SHOULD produce) does absolutely NOTHING!. 3. Called customer service to get panel fixed. At first I was told that the customer service rep didn't have access to any information regarding my solar system. Then I was told I would need to contact my installer (who they subcontracted to) in order to have my panels looked at and POSSIBLY fixed. Next I was told, I would need to get up on the roof and take pictures of the damaged panel in order to get someone to come out and assess the situation. Horrible customer service! Do not go with this company if you are looking to go solar.


Date created: 2013-02-25 Name: A Koleszar
Location: Palm Springs, CA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Something ie VERY WRONG at SUNPOWER"
I signed a contract with Sunpower on June 7, 2012. It is now late February, 2013, and I just recevied a notice from Sunpower that they won't be issuing "Notice to Proceed" until Mid-March or April. A Sunpower employee told me that it has to do with their bank. All that sounds like bad news to me. If I knew back in June of last year what I know today, I would never do business with them.

12Next >>