Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Master Shield gutter guards

Popularity:
#6  of 7 brands of gutter guards

30% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 10 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    3
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    0
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    0
  • Very Unsatisfied
    7

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read reviews of other Gutter Guard brands
Write a review


Date created: 2015-08-19 Name: Jane Schwarz
Location: Medford, MA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"I thought Master Shield is a reputable company"
My story is the similar to Stuart Marcus', Landing, NJ, and Mike Austen's, Ontario, Ohio. I paid $4786.00 to have a Master Shield gutter guard system installed over the gutters in my home. That's a lot of money for just gutter guard; the gutters and downspouts were there already. I didn't notice any difference in the performance but what can one do when the money is already spent and the gutter system installed. Last winter was particularly bad in one corner and an ice dam built up. After the winter season, I noticed green shoots growing from the gutter. I had to prop ladders against the wall to clean the debris that is on top of the gutter guards and I suspect that there is debris retention inside the gutters. The problem is that you cannot remove the gutter guards yourself. I went to Master Shield's website and called the 877 number. I spoke to a person called Anthony and he asked right away if I wanted to schedule an appointment for an estimate. I told him I already have a Master Shield gutter system but I want to know how I can get it cleaned. Immediately, I got cut off and when I called the 877 number back (several times), it went to the voice mail of pic homepros. I left my message and phone number but I am not at all optimistic that I will get contacted. The sad thing is I went online to do research and according to Tim Carter at Ask The Builder highly recommended Master Shield. I have lost faith in our society's definition and standard of professionalism, and I feel scr#$%! #Notomastershield #bewareofmastershield


Date created: 2015-08-10 Name: Stuart Marcus
Location: Landing, NJ
Model: Gutter Guard

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Dissatisfied"
I had MasterShield Gutter Guard installed 7 years ago. After about 2 years, we noticed that during the winter, icicles were hanging off of the gutters. We didn't worry about it until the spring, when the melting ice starting coming into the house through the window frame. Over the next couple of years, during rain storms, I've noticed the rain water running over the gutters and not into and through it. I tried reaching out to the contractor that installed it, but they are apparently out of business. I then tried to reach out directly to MasterShield, and all that I keep getting is e-mails from them saying that they are trying to reach us to provide a free estimate. I keep responding that I'm trying to resolve water damage that is apparently being caused by either poor installation or a poor product. Finally received an e-mail from someone at MasterShield and when I asked them to call me to discuss this issue, no further communication or response. So, now I have an ongoing problem of water damage around a window and no help from the company, showing that they don't stand behind their products. I urge anyone reading this to stay away from MasterShield and don't believe their hype.


Date created: 2015-07-27 Name: Mike Austen
Location: Ontario, Ohio

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Poor product performance and contracting."
I had Master Shield installed two years ago. After the product was installed, the contractor, Lloyd Parker from northwest Ohio, promised that the gutters would function as I requested and never would I have a clogged gutter again. My roof is steep and his work "launched" the water at the downspout over the gutter washing out the flower beds. Lloyd said that he would return to correct the problem and charged me additional for special valley fittings. They failed as well. He failed to finish the job to correct the dams he built that collected leaves at the bottom of the valleys. On two occasions through this fiasco he stood me up after I burned vacation days to meet him at the house. The last email I sent returned no response. Email me at mausten@gormanrupp.com and I'll send you a video of the gutter performance. Guests cannot use the front door during a hard rain unless they want drenched in runoff... twice. The product is poor performance and the contracting was worse. Absolute poor aftermarket service.



Date created: 2015-02-06 Name: J.miller
Location: silver spring md

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Not worth the money"
I now have water coming through my ceiling. My roofer told me it's ice damming: ice getting under the shingles due to these guards. When Master Shield installed these guards they broke the seal of the shingles. Now I have ice backing up under the shingles and leaking into my ceiling. I never had this problem before. My roof is 4 years old. The gutters were installed in the spring.


Date created: 2013-06-06 Name: Frigid
Location: Wisconsin

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Junk!"
We have had this stuff on our house for three years. After trying to fix the problem of massive icicles and a skating rink underneath due to the system freezing up during the freeze/thaw cycles, we are getting this stuff removed before another winter. Since I cannot find any other contractor than the one that initially installed it (they claim proper installation, of course), I do not know for sure if I was installer error or bad product. Either way, we are getting this junk removed. It has only been a pain and a waste of money.


Date created: 2012-07-17 Name: S. Dorcus
Location: Nebraska

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Terrible"
This product has not worked for us at all! We are having to replace everything after trying for five years to think it will get better. The screens have gotten dirty and no water can get through them at all. The water just runs over the side. In the winter we get icicles which hang dangerously over our driveway. We contacted our salesman for suggestions and he just yelled at us that he hadn't promised they would work well, only that leaves wouldn't get in the gutters. Too bad water won't get in them either.


Date created: 2011-03-17 Location: Long Island, NY
Model: (unknown)

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Pretty Amazing Gutter Guard"
So let me start from the begging. About two to three years ago I had my Mastershield micro-mesh gutter guard installed on my one story house in Long Island. I had never used a micro-mesh gutter guard before but thought I would try it out because of all the hype, and I'm really glad I did. I have really bad knees so anytime I have to get on the roof or clean out the gutters is a real pain in the neck. Luckily I haven't had to clean my gutters out almost at all with the micro-mesh gutter guard. After almost three years of the random leaves and debris that ends up on my roof living in New York, my gutters are looking pretty good. The micro-mesh pretty much eliminates the need to clean your gutters. The only thing I had to deal with was a very little bit of fine debris that really doesn't even need to be cleaned out, but is very easy to wipe away. I'd definitely recommend this gutter guard to anyone who hates cleaning out their gutters.


Date created: 2011-01-31 Location: Greensboro, NC

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"MasterShield Micro-mesh guards review"
I have had a great experience with the MasterShield Micro-mesh gutter guards! While they were a tad bit expensive, they were very effective. I have had zero problems with them since I purchased them two years ago. Living in North Carolina, we used to get a ton of debris from the trees that would get caught in the gutters. Now that we have the MasterShield gutter guards, we have no problem at all with even thinking about worrying whether or not the debris that falls will get stuck. These guards catch leaves/twigs/any and all tree debris that normally gets caught up there and are filtered with ease. This company really lives up to their promise of never having to clean the debris out of the gutters. The gutters keep themselves clean! The technique in which they do this is simple and fantastic. I dislike nothing about them and recommend them to anyone looking to purchase a great,reliable, and effective gutter guard.


Date created: 2010-12-15 Location: Derry,NH

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Gutter guard"
I have had the mastershield gutter protection for 10 years. i absolutely love them. the good thing is it has a lifetime warrenty. another good thing is if something goes wrong you can have your insurance refund too. i do not like that the leaves and pine needles get stuck in it and you have to clean it. I have not had to repair it yet. they have worked wonders on my house and i absolutely would refer them to a friend who is looking for gutter protection. i would use these same gutters if i ever moved. i am very satisfied with them. they can last for many many years which is also a very good thing. they are reliable and dependable. very very awesome. i would tell anyone to buy these.


Date created: 2010-10-08 Location: Charlotte N.C

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"My Master shield testimony"
I have owned master shield gutter guards for two years now.It has been a great two years without incident. I like that it keeps my gutter work down to a minimum.If it has to be cleaned at least it's not a deep muck of a mess as it is without them.I would never go back to having no guards.Now that my lower back is in bad shape I For me Master Shield is my savior. I don't really dislike anything about them other than the fact the are not 100% effective but still come in at a good 90%.I would say 90% is about the best you could get with any gutter system not perfect but yes all large debris are filtered out true to the company's claim. Never had to do a repair yet.That is the most fun to say because I have a couple of spare days in the season now for family and not for dirty time consuming housework. Yes I would buy again It is a quality product and I have recommended it to friends and family already.That is saying a lot coming from me because a product has to have a great benefit for me to become a salesman.