Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of BP Solar solar panels

Popularity:
#5  of 9 brands of solar panels

81% of customers recommend
4.5 of 5 stars 11 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    8
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    1
  • Neutral
    1
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    0
  • Very Unsatisfied
    1

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about BP Solar solar panels

Read reviews of other Solar Panel brands
Write a review

12Next >>

Date created: 2011-11-07 Name: Robert Thayer
Location: Davis, California

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't Buy These Panels!"
We had bp solar panels installed on our roof in 2008, a 3.2 kW, 24 panel array. An identical system was installed on our nearby neighbors' roof as well. We live in Village Homes in Davis, California, a world-renowned solar community. Our neighbors' system started failing one panel at a time, and they went through a one-two year nightmare of warranty claims. Now that nightmare has come to haunt us as well, as one panel after another fails, taking the entire string out of production. Dealing with bp warranty contractors has also been a nightmare, because they stonewall us as one panel after another fails. We would like to have the entire faulty array replaced, but cannot seem to raise any action at bp. After attempting to find the proper corporate customer service hierarchy to pursue, we were informed that bp is getting completely out of panel manufacturing, which means that the gulf between their corporate headquarters and your rooftop is only getting wider. The bottom line: DO NOT BUY BP SOLAR PANELS, or you will experience a warrant nightmare like we have!


Date created: 2011-03-22 Location: Kent, WA
Model: BP 4175B

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Helping the Environment and Saving Money"
I got some solar panels from BP Solar about three months ago and I am loving them. Despite living in an area with frequent cloud cover and being the worst time of the year for solar power I already feel that they have made a difference this winter. I was forced to start small and only have part of my roof covered so far but they are already making a difference. Because I had to buy so few panels and live where I do it is unlikely that I will be going off the grid any time soon but it saves me some money and helps the environment as the same time which makes me feel good. I suppose my only real complaint about the solar panels is how poorly they are designed when it comes to dealing with falling leaves. Because of a tree near by my roof I have to go up and clean fallen leaves off my solar panels more often than I have to clean out my rain gutters. Besides that one hang up I look forward to being able to buy more solar panels in the future. I do hope that future models are better suited for a dealing with trees.


Date created: 2011-02-06 Location: Kansas City, MO

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"My favorite BP Solar Panels"
I've owned these BP Solar 350J panels for about six months now and I couldn't be more satisfied. These panels helped lower my bill by quite a bit during the summer and sunnier months. These panels are definitely one of the best purchases for my house that I have ever made. It's not so much the monetary benefit of owning this, it's the feeling that you're doing something good for the environment. I have these installed on the top of my house and it's like a beacon to all of my neighbors just how much good I am doing for the environment. For one, I definitely plan on buying these again, because they have not appeared to have degraded in the least and they were easy to install. For any one of my friends who ask me about them, I would recommend these BP Solar panels to them with enthusiasm.



Date created: 2011-01-31 Location: San Diego, CA

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"The Joy of My Solar Panels"
I've owned my BP Solar Panels for about eight years now and I must say I am incredibly pleased with the electricity the panels have provided me with saving me a huge amount on my electricity bill. The biggest thing I like about these solar panels is the change in the price of my electric bill. I no longer have to worry about huge electricity bills and in the savings that came from my solar panels, they paid for themselves in a matter of a couple of years. The only thing I dislike about my solar panels is that they were not very cheap to first install. But like I said, after a few years, they completely pay for themselves and it is completely worth it. I have never had to repair, replace, clean or do anything to these solar panels. There is absolutely no maintenance required and I would recommend these panels to anyone and purchase them again if i needed too or had the chance.


Date created: 2011-01-23 Location: Point Pleasant, NJ

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"BP SOLAR IS THE BEST"
BP Solar panels work so well, i have owend them for over a month and im so happy i purchased them they look beautiful and i havent had a single problem yet, the savings so far are astronmical and i reccomend this to everyone


Date created: 2011-01-23 Location: Los Angeles, CA

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"Consumer review of Bp solar panels"
The reason that I purchased my solar panels was that I was part of a solar powered race, therefore the factors that I took into account were slightly different than the average consumer. I wanted light weight panels, that were durable, and could withstand being transported multiple times. I was also limited to the amount of wattage that was allowed in the race. Because of these limiting factors, and also my budget, I choose to purchase two Bp solar panels. I have owned my Bp panels for over five years now and on the whole have been completely satisfied. What I don't like about the panels is the heaviness of the glass panel on top. If I could design my own panel, I would omit the heavy glass. I have not needed to repair the panels, and without a doubt I would recommend these panels to my family and friends. Alternative energy is something that more people should be concerned about, and get involved in.


Date created: 2011-01-21 Location: Bryan, TX

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Solar Panel Satisfaction: Harnessing The Sun's Energy While Saving Money"
Despite the stares from strangers as well as neighbors, I recently decided to purchase a set of BP Solar Panels and see just how well they really work. To my astonishment, they have lived up to the promising future ideas they gave way to when they entered the consumer market. After being a skeptic myself I had little faith in what my BP Solar 3230 T Solar Panels were going to offer. However, after a smaller utility bill in the amount of $13.28 appeared the following month, I quit working on my finances and was back online purchasing several more panels. I was going to see just how effective a roof lined with solar panels and providing electricity to various things throughout my household was. I was soon receiving utility bills that were now $100 cheaper than I had ever experienced. In little to no time, I had solar panels that were able to justify the decent chunk of change which I had put into the purchase of the solar panels themselves. They even went on to pay for themselves entirely. I think that statement alone is reason enough to purchase the listed product.The downside of the panels are that they are somewhat unappealing and the installation process can be somewhat troublesome when it comes to the wiring. However no cons outweigh the numerous pros that these BP Solar Panels have provided me with. I am now able to use that extra money for other things such as placing so much towards savings and allowing the left over amount to purchase the things I need or at times just want. I would definitely recommend these products to others and would encourage them to save money, as well as the planet for ourselves and future generations.


Date created: 2011-01-03 Location: Phoenix, AZ

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"Solar panels aren't worth it without tax breaks."
I love the idea of solar panels. Being able to sell my electricity back to the electric company when I'm not at home is nice, too. The panels themselves have been great since I bought them a couple years ago, but I've blown out two inverters (solar panels supply DC power and need to have it converted to AC power to be used in the house) and have had to have the guys who did the installation back over more than enough to keep stuff working. Fortunately I'm not some weirdo trying to live off grid and the panels weren't critical to important stuff like food storage. They're also not exactly the prettiest things to have on the house. Sure they get you "green points" from the environmentally conscious neighbors, but they're really just big, black, rather too shiny rectangles on the roof of the house. I'm surprised neighbors haven't complained about the glare. Finally, if I hadn't gotten a major tax break from buying and installing the panels, there's no way they'd ever have been able to pay for themselves before they can be expected to stop working (or at least before the warranty runs out).


Date created: 2010-12-09 Location: dallas, tx

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Good for the enviorment"
A year ago I decided to get solar panels installed on my house to try to offset the cost of the continually rising energy cost. I love the fact that I am doing something good for the environment and saving a little money in the long run. There are tax credits that are also available. The only draw back in that they are initially expensive. This cost will definitely be offset as you continue to use you solar power. Also if you have any left over energy you can sell it back to the power company. I would definitely buy panels from BP again. I am very impressed with the level of service and overall affordability. On more than one occasion I have recommended these to my friends and co workers. I have actually talked a few of them into getting them; thus making out carbon footprint a little smaller one person by one.


Date created: 2010-11-10 Location: Park City, UT

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"World Class Solar Panels"
I have had the BP solar panels for close to two years now. There are great in that they provide 200 Watts of power and thus far they have been reliable. As far as longevity is concerned I fear that these panels would not stand the test of time in a snowy town at the heart of the Rocky Mountains. I definitely recommend the BP Solar panels although you might think that BP is only good at producing oil, let me tell you these are one kind of panels that are both reliable and powerful. When I said reliability, my words are backed by the photovoltaic solar cells and modules technology used to build these panels. In fact, this technology ensures the highest level of performance and safety. BP Solar products are used also at many of BP Company's facility that proves their panels are so useful that one of the biggest Oil drillers not only builds them but uses them too.

12Next >>