Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Certainteed shingles

Certainteed Logo

Read 88 Certainteed Shingle reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#11   of 15 brands of shingles

26% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 88 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    17
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    6
  • Neutral
    3
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    61

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Certainteed shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous123456789Next >>

Date created: 2015-09-25 Name: David Crispo
Location: Foxborough, MA
Model: Landmark

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Not getting them now!"
I met with a roofer here in MA. Today. He told me that they used Certainteed shingles and gave me a sample to show my wife. I was a roofer for 22 years. When the roofer left, I looked over the shingle that he left me. It is thin to the touch and easy to break. In my 20 year roofing career I have not ever seen anything like it. The quality seems very poor. I then went online and found all of your reviews. I believe that the 30 "Very Unsatisfied" ratings are real and true and that the 15 "Very Satisfied" ratings are false. I am not going with this roofer. As much as I do not want to, I will hire my own crew and get going. For the gal who said there were not 6 nails per shingle, my guess is the thin shingles simply tore in the wind.


Date created: 2015-05-22 Name: Gabriella Mattucci
Location: Newark, Delaware

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"Most of these issues due to installation errors"
If your shingles are blowing off and/or falling off of your roof chances are it has very little to do with the manufacturing of the shingle itself. It has to do with improper installation techniques (not using the nail line, not using 6 nails per shingle, installing in weather that is too cold for the shingles to seal properly, etc.) You should be contacting the company that installed your roof. Always be sure to get a workmanship/labor warranty from the company that installed the roof. The manufacturer warranty is only good on defects in the product - not how the product was installed!


Date created: 2015-04-10 Name: L. Koochi
Location: Mililani, Hawaii
Model: Landmark Premium/Architect 80 AR

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Warranty Useless! Don't Go With This Company!"
I purchased the Landmark Premium/Architect 80 AR-Algae Resistance with a Warranty of 50 years from CertainTeed. The services were rendered on August 2010. Four years later, December 2014, I've noticed that my Asphalt shingles in different areas of my roof appeared dark. Called my roofer and was told that he is not responsible for the defeated material he purchased. He referred my problem to the local distributors here in Hawaii who purchased the material from the manufacture, CertainTeed located in Philadelphia. I called CertainTeed and was inform to file a claim. I was instructed to remove two shingles from the area in question along with my letter of explanation and pictures as proof. I Fed Ex the requested material with no reimbursement. Weeks later, I received a letter informing me that my roof is experiencing an algae staining/fungus growth and recommended that an algaecide/fungicide be used to alleviate this problem. I was instructed to hire a roofer to spray the algae/fungus area. Well, the area was sprayed as instructed with no change. I was also informed that it was my responsibility to periodically inspect my house roof and continue this preventative measure that will only slow the growth but will eventually spread. I called the manufacture Technical Service Rep and asked how could this matter be resolved. I was told to read my Warranty. Warranty states only if material is defected, CertainTeed may replace it but no labor will be provided. Therefore, I would have to pay my roofer again to re-roof which the labor/cost would be higher than the materials paid. And who pays to remove and reinstall my solar? Unfortunately, To date, CertainTeed have not provided customer service. I paid a higher cost for a product that is rubbish and a 50 Warranty that does nothing. CertainTeed should be responsible for the defected materials sold and the cost/labor to correct this matter. Everyone who I paid for services are happy! They got paid and I got the defeated materials and taking a big lost. Beware! Do not purchase materials from CertainTeed. Poor customer service and I'm the victim.



Date created: 2015-02-19 Name: John Stedman
Location: Tecuimseh, Ontario
Model: Landmark Shingles

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Lost entire side"
Installed this product in June of 2013 and by the winter time we had lost an entire side to a wind storm. Was told they were the best but in the end only got a 10 year upfront warranty. Elite Roofing Construction in Windsor, Ontario sold us a warranty that was worth nothing but the paper it was written on. In their presentation they had said they had researched all products on the market and this is the best and that's why they sell it. They even had a fancy comparison chart showing theirs to be the best. All I can say is watch out for slick talking salesmen offering warranties that appear to be too good to be true. This company should be ashamed of themselves. I paid $1000.00 more than the other quotes and they wont even call me back. Disgruntled and ripped off.


Date created: 2015-01-31 Name: Maureen Amato
Location: Quincy,MASS
Model: 3 Tab Cedar

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't buy Cetainteed - I need a lawyer"
I had shingles put on to replace my roof in 2006. Dec 2012 shingles fell off 1/2 of the whole roof! I'm still paying a loan to my city for this. I contacted the original roofer McKenna Bros. They won't fix this free of charge and CertainTeed won't help me. These are 3 Tab cedar shingles from CertainTeed. I wouldn't recommend them to anybody after my troubles. Now its 2015 and the other 1/2 of my roof is losing shingles twice already. Do not buy. Has anyone got a lawyer for me. I live in Quincy, Massachusetts!


Date created: 2015-01-21 Name: Laura neemann
Location: Lincoln, ne

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Certainteed doesn't stand by their warranty"
My house was built in 2004 and CertainTeed shingles were used. They came with a supposed 30 year guarantee. The shingles began to fail within 6 years of installation and now after 10 years are very bad and must be replaced. I attempted to file for a replacement under the warranty and the company's made the process very difficult. With help from my roofer I was able to file the request but CertainTeed paid only for the cost if the shingles themselves, prorated for the number of years they had been in use. They will not pay anything for labor. If their shingles weren't faulty I wouldn't be having my roof replaced! Their check covers only about 18% of the cost of the new roof even though it's completely their fault that I need a new one. I will never use CertainTeed products again and I will tell everyone I can not to do so either


Date created: 2015-01-20 Name: Deborah Hartig
Location: SOUTHCOAST MASS

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Stained white paint"
Four years ago we put on a Certain Teed lifetime roof and had the house professional painted. We painted our Colonial-era home white. Within one year - the black from the roof began to stain the beautiful white paint - the house looks terrible! The roofer has gone out of business. Thirty thousand dollars was the cost of the roof and painting... the house is a heartbreak and needs a new roof and will need to be repainted. My dream house is a mess...


Date created: 2014-09-16 Name: T Richardson
Location: Montrose IA
Model: Landmark

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't Buy CertainTeed"
We built a new home in 2008, and put CertainTeed Landmark 30 year shingles on. After 2 years noticed problems with the granules coming off. We thought we had hail. Finally got a certified CertainTeed roofer out and he told us our shingles were already going bad. CertainTeed just offered us $1,200 towards new shingles, and then only if they were CertainTeed brand. The shingles are terrible, and so is their warranty. Don't buy CertainTeed shingles.


Date created: 2014-09-14 Name: J Garrison
Location: New Richmond WI
Model: Architectural

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"UNcertainteed!"
When we built our house 11 years ago, the contractor put CertainTeed Architectural shingles on our house. Within the first 6 months we turned in numerous complaints about loose shingles (flapping in the wind) and during every normal wi storm we lost shingles, finding them all over our yard. We got very little assistance from the builder and CertainTeed did nothing despite contacting them numerous times over the last several years. We are now in the process of replacing our 11 year old roof and will not purchase anything made by CertainTeed ever again. Their product is junk and they don't/won't stand behind their warranty - they just give excuses. Don't buy CertainTeed garbage.


Date created: 2014-09-05 Name: Alan Douglas
Location: Northern Ohio
Model: 30 Year Architectural

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Paid extra for a 30 yr. Totally shot after 15"
When it was time to evaluate options 15 years ago opted to pay more for a "better" 30 year architectural shingle. I'm saying 15 years but it started to fail after 12 years. What kind of bull is that. Try to file a warranty claim ha! Stay away!

<< Previous123456789Next >>