Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Certainteed shingles

Certainteed Logo
Popularity:
#11  of 15 brands of shingles

29% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 75 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    17
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    5
  • Neutral
    3
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    49

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Certainteed shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous12345678Next >>

Date created: 2013-11-09 Name: B Hughes
Location: Wisonsin

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Do not buy CertainTeed"
I would not recommend any CertainTeed roofing or siding products due to their premature failings. Although they warranty these products, the amount of money for recovery due to claims is very minimal. CertainTeed continues to produce inferior products knowing that the amount they pay out from claims is still substantially less than the profits they make from these substandard products. You can buy better products from other manufacturers - Avoid CertainTeed


Date created: 2013-10-22 Name: J. deprez
Location: manitowoc wi
Model: Halmark

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Deteriorating rapidly"
In 2001 I built a new house and used Certainteed Halmark Shingle. At the time it was about double the price of a regular asphalt shingle. The shingle was designed to look like a weathered cedar shake. It had a 35 year warranty. About 2 years ago I started to notice dime sized pieces of asphalt on the ground and in the eaves. Now the shingle is deteriorating rapidly and I have been told that there is a class action suit against Certainteed. Unfortunately the settlement will only cover about one tenth of the cost of putting on a new shingle and they require you to go through so much verification that it seems unlikely that I will recover anything. Unfortunately I have put this shingle on two homes and two detached garages or about 100 square of roofing. My cost to replace them will be about $30,000-$40,000. I would never consider using any Certainteed product again. The company has a call line that basically tells you "tough luck". You would think that a company like Certainteed would stand behind their product but they don't.


Date created: 2013-09-29 Name: R.Allen
Location: Colorado
Model: Presidential

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't Buy!"
I made the mistake of selecting the CertainTeed Presidential elite shingles. My roof was installed in 2006, and was failing by 2012. Don't believe the Lifetime/50 year warranty on product or the 10 year warranty on product and labor. CertainTeed has no intention of honoring either. If you receive defective shingles as I did (and 2 out of 5 houses on my street have their defective shingles), you will start to lose grit and have "bleed" on the shingles before they curl and break. CertainTeed will state that your roof is not properly ventilated regardless of the fact that a building permit was required and the roof passed inspection upon installation. Certainteed will require that you send in 2 shingles for testing, complete a survey that requires an engineering degree. And take 25-40 pictures of your roof. This is a costly process. Several months later Certainteed will send someone out unannounced to "investigate the claim" (ask you questions few homeowners know about ventilation) and they won't even get up on the roof. The next communication from CertainTeed will state that their warranty does not apply. A few hundred dollars will be offered, less money than the sample taking and mailing costs. As a widow I selected these shingles and paid more for the roof because of the warranties CertainTeed offered. All I can say is that when I can afford to replace the roof it will certainly not be with another CertainTeed shingle... Never again!



Date created: 2013-08-18 Name: M.S

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Very bad products and company"
I put my house on the market and I thought the roof was a strong point. The inspector found one quarter of the roof the shingles were bad and they had to be replaced. The roof was done 6 years ago with 40 years warranty. Very difficult to file a claim and I do not believe I will get anything back. I can not believe this company is still in business.


Date created: 2012-10-05 Name: S. Jayne
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Model: Hallmark

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"I Guess It Could Be Worse; Old House Horror"
Hallmark Certainteed shingles were professionally installed in July of 2002 on a 1907 bungalow. We bought the home shortly after and did not expect to replace the shingles for 20 years. I noticed lots of grit on my porches and a leak developed by the back door. Called in the original installer and he was appalled to see the horrible condition of the roof and recommended immediate replacement. Of course, we got more than one opinion and all agreed; replace now. Actually, it didn't take a professional to see the curls, cracks, debris, etc. from this organic roof. Although we will file a claim, it will not come close to covering the cost of 90+ squares and labor. There go other hoped for renovations.........


Date created: 2012-09-08 Name: Minnesota
Location: Jordan,MN
Model: Classic Horizon

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Certainteed shingles"
We built our house in 2002 installed Certainteed shingles but after 9 1/2 years had to replace the hold roof (shingles) did get $2,300 from warranty but the new roof was $10,000 my builder at the time said they were good shingles everyone is using them I should get 25 years out of them. Right!


Date created: 2012-08-24 Name: Nick Zimmerman
Location: Eau Claire WI
Model: XT25

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"They don't stand behind their product"
Awful company. Talk about not standing behind your product. I have 25 year shingles that looked terrible in year 5. I could barely keep them together to send them in for the warranty. But just like many people I've talked to they won't stand behind their product. I am sure others love their CertainTeed shingles and have no problems. Just know that if anything goes wrong the warranty is worthless and your S.O.L.


Date created: 2012-07-30 Name: Randy
Location: Alexandria MN
Model: Hearthstead

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Home owner"
Bought these Hearthstead by Certainteed in "2000" There is nothing left of them all the mineral or grit is in the gutter. Warranty forget it unless you have a great lawyer and lots of money. There was a class action suit against certainteed which took a team of lawyers two years to get money out of them and the amount of money we got was peanuts. The lawyers got all the money. And get this, Certainteed still say's there was nothing wrong with the shingles. The grit was 50% gone in 5 years. Shingles cureled up and are extremely brittle. Couldn't hardly get two shingle off in one piece to send in for warranty. Had to remove several shingles to get two that would even hold together. Warranty is worthless. Going with differant brand.


Date created: 2012-06-29 Location: Pembroke pines, fl
Model: Grand manor

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"Sustainable roofing shingles"
I've owned these new shingles for about 2yrs now. The color grey we chose went great with our current house color. We also liked the randomly placed tabs that have shadow lines that provide the amazing depth and dimension of a natural slate roof. The thing I disliked the most was the price including the warranty. I was hoping to have money left over for extra shutters. Yes I would buy these shingles again since we have a great warranty and haven't expeienced a problem yet.


Date created: 2012-05-17 Location: Belton, TX
Model: 95513

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Very Satisfied With Roofing Shingles That Were Put On My House Last Winter- No Problems"
My wife and I live in Texas and we needed to reshingle our roof because of the severe weather that swept through. We have had these shingles since last winter. There was some hail damage and large pieces missing so we decided to shop around and found these shingles at LOWES. I was happy with the quality for the price (about 50 bucks per bundle) and the fresh look it gave the house was awesome. We went with the dark grey color, but they had a bunch to pick from. We have had no problems and have not needed to repair it yet, but as I said, we live in Texas so we will probably need to at some point in the future.

<< Previous12345678Next >>