Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Certainteed shingles

Certainteed Logo
Popularity:
#11  of 15 brands of shingles

30% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 72 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    17
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    5
  • Neutral
    3
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    46

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Certainteed shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous12345678Next >>

Date created: 2012-02-07 Location: Melbourne, Fl
Model: Flintlastic

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"The shingles used on our house are sturdy and reliable."
The CertainTeed Flintlastic shingles we have installed on our home are very reliable and sustainable shingles. We have not had to replace them in the last year, and considering that we live in Brevard Co, Fl., this is a pretty amazing feat. With all of the hurricanes that come through the area usually some amount of shingles would need replaced yearly, if not more than yearly. Not only have they held up with the hurricane force winds and rains that come through our area but they also have not seemed to fade in color or show a large amount of use or wear and tear over the amount of time that we have been living in the home. Their color has remained intact and unlike other shingles, they have seemed to last through the weather. Although we haven't had a problem with the shingles, I have read many reviews stating that CertainTeed will not last the 25 years that the company gaurantees. At this point I would give the CertainTeed shingles a 4 out of 5 rating, but we will see if they show such promising strength and wear in the years to come.


Date created: 2012-01-26 Location: Holland, MI
Model: Landmark

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"CertainTeed is good"
I've had CertainTeed Landmark shingles for about two years now. I chose the driftwood pattern because it most matched the siding color of my house. I've received numerous comments on how wonderful my roof looks. I have nothing but good things to say about CertainTeed. My previous roof's shingles started blowing off of my house within the first few years they were installed. This caused numerous leaks in my house and expensive repairs. Since I've had the CertainTeed shingles installed I have not noticed any shingles being blown off of my roof. There has also not been a single leak in my house since I had the new roof installed and I have not had to do any repairs nor do I expect to for at least 10 years. I would most definitely recommend CertainTeed to anyone of my friends and I intend on purchasing CertainTeed shingles if I ever need a new roof again.


Date created: 2012-01-11 Location: Auburndale, FL
Model: Colonial Slate Fiberglass

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"I like the look of my Roofing Shingles."
I have had my shingles on my house now for three years. We had them installed on our new house as part of an upgrade. The way they look makes the house look very colonial and almost like we have slate tiles up there. We have never had the shingles tended to because they were professionally installed and have not given us any problem as at all. We would buy this brand again because of the warranty they provide as well as the fact that our house looks simply amazing with them. From the road the shingles sort of glisten in the sun like there were some reflective surfaces up there even thought they are asphalt. We searched around for the best supplier and these were actually available at our Local Lowes Super store. We hope to get the full twenty five years of life out of the shingles and will hopefully be lucky enough to get them replaced with identical style shingles.



Date created: 2011-12-20 Location: Missoula, MT
Model: Laminate Mist White Fiberglass

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Great shingles that match my house perfectly and were cheap!"
I've owned my home, and therefore my shingles, for about three years. In that time I have never had a problem with the shingles and people have commented that they appear the same as the day that they were installed. I really like their color and the overall appearance. They appear to be a very high grade shingle even though I got them at a very affordable price. They only thing that I dislike is that they will one day expire and have to be replaced - otherwise I think they are great! Again, at this point I haven't had to make a single repair or replacement - but they are still a bit young. In fact, I ended up building a small shed and bought the same brand again to roof that building. I have not recommended them to friends but I have had friends comment on their appearance. I just really like everything about them


Date created: 2011-10-15 Name: T Robertson
Location: Concord, MA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Getting GAF shingles"
My parents had Certainteed shingles installed on the roof 6 years ago. I noticed during a heavy rainstorm that the gutters were working poorly. Upon investigating the cause I found the gutters had a 1/4 inch of material from the shingles in them. Plants were actually growing in the crap and sealing up the gutter. Last year's winter finished off what remained of the shingles and this morning we are having GAF shingles installed. In order to go through the warranty process with Certainteed, they asked us to take of a few feet of shingles and send it to them for inspection. Who the heck is going to do that? Better off getting rid of it.


Date created: 2011-05-15 Location: Lyman, Maine
Model: Horizon

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"CertainTeed Shingle Review"
We've had the shingles on the house since the late 1990's. They were okay for the first 2-3 years but quickly needed to be replaced in a few spots due to leaking. Most spots are okay, but by the gutters they peeld up about 4 feet in some spots. Happened in the summer so it wasnt ice buildup. I like CertainTeed shingles, but i wont buy this brand again if they even have it anymore. Have only used CertainTeed and these ones are the only ones i had a problem with. Probably will be switching to Metal Roofing on my next house.


Date created: 2011-05-15 Location: Falls Church, VA

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"The shingles seem cool!"
I have had these shingles by CertainTEED for a year and a half and I'm delighted with their reflectivity and durability. My home definitely stays cooler in the sunshine, and they held up under all the snow we had this winter. I also like the look of the white shingles with my blue and white house. I do, however, wish the white "sparkly" bits didn't come off and end up all over my porches, but that is a small price to pay and I have it on good authority that this should stop soon. In all the time I have had these shingles and through all the storms we've had, not one shingle has had to be repaired or replaced. I would definitely buy this type of shingles again and I have already suggested them to a friend who was researching new roofs.


Date created: 2011-05-09 Name: John S.
Location: Chicago, IL.
Model: Sealdon 30

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"30 Year Shingles Worn Out In 10"
I bought my second house in 2006 which had Certainteed Custom Sealdon shingles with a 30 yaer waranty installed in 2003 by the original owner. I was assuming that I would not have to replace the roof for a least 15 - 20 years. Like many others posting here, the south side roof shingles are curled up and falling apart. I just learned of the class action lawsuit regarding this and I'm going to file a claim, but I won't be expecting much in the way of reimbursment after reading other posts about Certainteed not honoring their wararnty. I definately WILL NOT be purchasing any Certainteed prudcts in the future and I suggest that you all do the same.


Date created: 2011-05-01 Location: Sioux Falls, SD

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Defective shingles with a neighborhood to match."
As the original owners of our house we were told that our shingles were under a 25 year warranty. Just over 10 years later, more than 60% of said shingles are warping and in need of replacing. As the title of this article describes, our entire neighborhood block is plagued with the same issue. I believe since 2009 there has been a class action lawsuit in the works and was settled later in 2010. Certainteed company was going provide a settlement for each original owner that met certain criteria. However the level of compensation was no where near the amount to even cover replacement costs. This class action lawsuit also nullified all existing 25 year warranties. As homeowners we are very disturbed by the outcome of this and will do everything in our power from buying from that manufacturer in the process. We currently do not have the funds available to replace the existing roof, however we do know people in the industry that are and have been willing to replace individual shingles for a minimal cost. Hopefully this will help to extend the life of the roof another few years.


Date created: 2011-05-01 Location: lake charles, louisiana

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"30 year architectural shingles"
When building our last home I installed architectural shingles that are manufactured by a company called CertainTeed. I live in southern Louisiana and our odds of getting hit by a hurricane are very large. I chose these shingles because I was told that they are the best on the market and hold up to 30 years on a home. After my home was blacked in we had shingled it with the shingles I have listed above and 1 week later Hurricane Rita hit us. After evacuating and driving back home and seeing many homes tore apart along with many shingles missing I arrived at my home. Upon arrival I was very surprised to see that not 1 shingle was missing. The following year after Rita hit Louisiana we were hit with another storm which did not affect the shingles either. Ever since these shingles were installed I have not had to make a single repair to them. I would definitely recommend them to anyone who is building or re-doing their roof.

<< Previous12345678Next >>