Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Dura-Loc shingles

Read 63 Dura-Loc Shingle reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#15   of 15 brands of shingles

1% of customers recommend
1 of 5 stars 63 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    0
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    1
  • Neutral
    1
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    60

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Dura-Loc shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous1234567Next >>

Date created: 2015-01-24 Name: Smith
Location: Ontario

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
" Large Brown Patches, No Warranty, No Help"
Don't waste your time with lawyers, or Allmet -- Headwaters, whatever the new name is. There really is no warranty since the bankruptcy, and no help. I don't know why the Canadian Govt. Lets them get away with this "re-branding" and losing the responsibility for warranties, but it seems they do, in my opinion. I am looking into having my roof, which is solid, and does not leak, painted with some kind of metal roofing paint, when all the stone comes off. Like others, I spent a lot of money, and I have two large roofs on the house, and the garage. I have a friend with an old farmhouse. She says that they have their old metal roof painted about once every 15 years, and it looks pretty good. I think we will have to use another primer, since I heard the brown rust coloured primer will come off too. Has anyone tried painting a well installed Duraloc or Allmet stone coated roof that does not leak? It would be much cheaper than a new roof. All the stone coatings I have researched do not last, so I think it will be paint. A painting contractor told me he could roll it on, or spray it, but he will not guarantee it, because it is just paint. Others said the same. I would like to know if anyone has done a test area for paint. The snow will be hard on it when it comes off the roof, so apply it where it tends to slide off -- maybe a 10 ft. by 10 ft. patch one painting company salesman advised.


Date created: 2014-12-04 Name: Deborah Feldman
Location: Arlington Heights, Illinois

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Include me in class action lawsuit"
Our roof, installed in 2001, is also down to bare metal, mildew, etc. Very disappointed. Our installer did a great job, but is no longer in business. Please include us in whatever the group is doing.


Date created: 2014-11-02 Name: Melissa
Location: Michigan

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"Will it continue to degrade?"
Will this roof rust through? Will a new coating last or how long will it probably last? We are looking at buying a home and this came up in the inspection.



Date created: 2014-09-17 Name: Jon Kussmann
Location: 2945 Rosewood Ct. Yuba City Ca. 95993

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Count me in the class action suit"
Coating started coming off soon after roof put on. Now almost all gone. Got the same run around as everyone got. Would like to be in class action suit. Jon Kussmann


Date created: 2014-08-26 Name: S. Deuel
Location: Mulmur, Ontario

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Duraloc shingles losing coating"
We are having exactly the same problem with our roof losing the blue and black granulated coating at a rapid rate, especially on the southern exposure. We built our dream home in the country in 2004 and invested in what we thought would be a very high quality roofing system. Now the roof is a patchy ugly brown and we have drifts of particles all over the patio. We have not yet approached the company, and would be interested in the experiences and advice of others.


Date created: 2014-08-22 Name: D McDermott
Location: Guelph Ontario

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"50 year warranty scam"
I had the roof installed in 2005, had a messy repair done in 2010, and the problem is back. Beware of Allmet also as it is being purchased by Headwaters...with or without warranties is anyone's guess!


Date created: 2014-02-07 Name: Dan Ray
Location: plano, tx
Model: Continental

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Horrible Loss"
50% of the granules are gone. The rest is like everyone else.


Date created: 2013-09-03 Name: r mckend
Location: Millbrook Ontario Canada

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Complaints"
Sounds to me like we all have the same issues. Not only did the manufacturer go under so did my installer. Coincidence? Add me to the list please!


Date created: 2012-08-28 Name: Jackie
Location: California

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Dissatisfied with product"
My roof is leaking, roofing nails are falling out, and coating is coming off shingles after using Duraloc shingles for new roof. Please add me to class action list jackiebab@gmail.com. Thank you!


Date created: 2012-08-26 Name: Cheryl Mills
Location: St. Thomas, Ontario Canada

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Count me in the class action suit"
I purchased a Dura Loc roof in 2003 and the south and west sides of my roof are bare in many spots, revealing the brown primer against the green 3m granules. Like many of the other reviewers, I anticipated having a beautiful, worry-free roof for the remainder of my life-time and thus I justified the initial expense. A couple of weekends ago, I cleaned out my eaves trough and to my horror, there was about 2 inches of the 3M granules completely along the troughs. The sludge resembles wet sand at the beach and required me to remove with my hand as no amount of pressurized water would remove the residue. In my estimation, the granules seem to be in good condition, I believe the adhesive is the problem. I would very much appreciate being part of the class action suit as I can only imagine how awful my roof will look in a couple more years.

<< Previous1234567Next >>