Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Dura-Loc shingles

Popularity:
#15  of 15 brands of shingles

1% of customers recommend
1 of 5 stars 61 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    0
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    1
  • Neutral
    1
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    58

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Dura-Loc shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous1234567Next >>

Date created: 2012-07-30 Name: jon kussmann
Location: Yuba City Ca.

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Roof coating"
Failed in two years. Looks bad. The company will not fix . Told it failed because of no vents even though their ads said self venting. 5 roofs installed on this block. All failed. Product is not good -- Do not use.


Date created: 2012-07-16 Name: C. Germuska
Location: Palm Bay, Florida

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Just found out 50 year warranty is a scam"
I bought a home in 2009 and the owners showed me the paperwork for the 50 year warranty on the Duraloc roof. I recently noticed some discoloration and now may have a leak as well. The roof was put on in 2003 and I have contacted the roofing company that did the initial installation. After reading many reviews and other alarming complaints online I would like to be contacted if anyone is trying to gather enough people to initiate a lawsuit. I will update this initial post as I start to receive more information regarding the warrantly, if roof is leaking due to defective materials, etc.


Date created: 2012-06-07 Name: J. Klaft
Location: Rogers City, MI
Model: Shake Shingle

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Metal Shake Shingle"
Our Dura-Loc metal roof was installed beautifully and per specifications. However, in just 8 years all of the granules have come off due to exposure to the sun. This is in Michigan, not that warm here. Dura-Loc will not honor their warranty on the product and we are out $19,000. Dura-Loc blames the installer which is a bold deception as there are 17 other Dura-Loc metal roof failures in northern Michigan. Don't purchase this product. You will be sorry as we are.



Date created: 2012-05-19 Name: Bill Dixon
Location: Milpitas,Ca

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"DURA-LOC 's fix"
Mr. Reid inspected my roof 2 years ago. His solution was power wash roof, spray paint and reapply the blue / black granules. During the process the paint was the wrong color. So they repainted and reapplied the stone. That was 2 years ago. Guess what, they are beginning to come off again. I had to pay $400 for the power wash.


Date created: 2012-04-24 Name: frank campa
Location: rancho cordova ca 95670

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"dura-loc failure"
Metal roof is down to bare coating in many spots, would like to join class action.


Date created: 2012-04-19 Name: Bob Sturgis
Location: Chatsworth, California
Model: shake

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"replaced 3 times failed all 3"
Dura-Loc failed three times and now the owner will not replace it again. It the last time it was replaced the owner said that I owed him $1000.00 but would not give me a detailed invoice or tell me how I owed him money. His crew through out the material they brought to help in the replacement and did not return it for credit. They did not finish the job and I had to do the work. The roof failed faster then the other two replacements. The product is worse now then when it was first installed.


Date created: 2012-04-15 Name: Glenn McFarren
Location: San Jose, CA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Northern Exposure of Duraloc Shingles is Defective Also"
An update on my situation: Now the northern side of my roof is shedding the stones. I would like to receive emails from others, especially in the San Jose, ca area who are experiencing this problem with their Duraloc roof. I am about to contact many residence in my Evergreen area who have Duraloc roofs.


Date created: 2012-03-21 Name: Glenn McFarren
Location: San Jose, CA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Blue and gray granules coming off"
Even though my roof was installed in 2001, I did not notice significant loss of the blue and gray granules until this year. I would be happy to share my experiences with others to resolve this problem. The 50-year warranty is still in effect and Duraloc should be completely responsible for the problem, which is in appearance a rusty color all over the southern exposure. I am just waiting for the northern exposure to go. My email is sjhusker@pacbell.net. I expect Duraloc to replace the shingles at no cost to me.


Date created: 2012-02-08 Name: Smith
Location: Kingston, Ontario

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Labour is very expensive"
Mr. Bradley, I hope your re-roofing works out for you. Would you please tell us how much the labor costs were, as a percentage, compared to the original cost of your roof? I think I read somewhere that it can be as much as 40 percent. That would make the replacement cost way too much for many of us to afford. Also, most people (including Canadians) on forums I have read, were not offered the possibility of a new Allmet roof, only re-coating, (which in some cases did not work) and maybe a few panels replaced. It is a defective product. The whole roof will go eventually, even if it just starts on the south side where the sun breaks it down first. The whole roof needs to be replaced, and for a large roof, that is a very big cost. Did you have to use DLD roofing? I would like to have my original installer do the job, and that is another company. Thanks for the information.


Date created: 2012-01-28 Name: David Bradley
Location: Burford , Ontario Canada
Model: Metal Natural Slate

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"A Bad Situation Made Good"
I too have experienced the exact same defective materials as explained in previous reviews. Company #604471 inc ,made good on my warranty by replacing my entire home and shed with a AllMet Natural Slate roofing system . I am most satisfied with the install by dld roofing but a little disappointed that I did have to cover the cost of labor. However, that is in the warranty. To those interested , I compared a leftover panel from the original install to the new Allmet panel . I'm happy to say that the new Allmet panel is far superior. I'm no expert, but the granules are smaller and it appears to be a covered by a much thicker top coat. To be honest , and I am , I would advise everyone who is offered this option to replace , to do so. My new Allmet roof is now in ''the test of time.''

<< Previous1234567Next >>