Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Tamko shingles

Tamko Logo

Read 123 Tamko Shingle reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#12   of 15 brands of shingles

24% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 123 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    26
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    4
  • Neutral
    2
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    2
  • Very Unsatisfied
    89

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Tamko shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

12345678910111213Next >>

Date created: 2017-10-02 Name: M & R Roofing, Inc.
Location: Englewood, CO

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Outstanding"
We have used Tamko shingles for over 30 yrs. We have had very few problems, and the customer service we have received has been outstanding.


Date created: 2017-09-26 Name: Happy Homeowner

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Happy Homeowner"
We got a new TAMKO roof six years ago after a bad hail storm. I've been really happy with it. It's done its job, no problems and the color is fantastic. We went with a gray blend and it looks so great that one of our neighbors decided to get the same roof a couple years later because she loved the way it looked! I've also noticed several of our neighbors have wind damage and shingles blown off, but ours still looks great and is doing its job!


Date created: 2017-09-13 Name: Tamkoevil

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Tamko - the shingle made out of paper."
Junk shingles. I should know, I had two brand new Tamko roofed homes fail in 6 months. My roofer had to do my home over again three times. Finally ending up with Certainteed Landmark Pro MaxDef which are awesome.. Don't risk your roof or your home with Tamko trash.



Date created: 2017-08-07 Name: Dultmeier Roofing
Location: Kansas
Model: Heritage

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Tamko stands behind their shingles"
Tamko products have proved their quality to our company and our customers for over 30 years.


Date created: 2017-07-25 Name: R Egee
Location: Alabama
Model: Heritage

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Never again!"
Built our house in 2009. Around 5yrs old I noticed many shingles were fading. My roofer (only 2 in our rural area and considered the best) told me to contact Tamko. Tamko sent instructions to mail 2 shingles to them for review. My roofer took them down for me and I mailed them to Tamko as instructed. Tamko said the shingles were defective and said since it was after 5 years that they would give me 70% of my shingles....no labor costs. According to warranty my shingles were covered for 5 years for full coverage. After 5 years no labor costs given and shingles were prorated. They said that I would have had to notice problem before 5 years. The discoloration was slight at first. I even sent them pictures from google earth showing discoloration before 5 years was over. I didn't realize the color difference until it faded a great deal. But goggle earth clearly shows the difference. Now I can see it in old pictures but was not looking for roof problems then. Since I have noticed many roofs with the same problem. The consumer has to prove that the shingles were bad before their full replacement warranty expires. Tamko admits the shingles have a manufacturer defect. The manufacture defect did not happen on my roof. 'Manufacturer' defects happen at the 'manufacturer'. So they were defective before they were installed but somehow Tamko says it's not all their fault and I should have noticed it sooner. FYI....even the day after installation labor to remove defective shingles are never covered. And the shingles they give you as replacements are not under a warranty of any kind.


Date created: 2017-07-21 Name: Ryan
Location: Wisconsin

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Garbage"
10 years old and the shingles are shot. They do in fact hide behind a warranty that means they can make a piece of crap and get away with it. A company I wouldn't even recommend to someone I don't like. Take your money and run, if that is the type of roof your looking for.


Date created: 2017-07-18 Name: Katie F
Location: CO

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Dont use this product"
The heritage brand was placed on my roof in 2005, and 12 years later we have a failing roof. After 4 inspectors came out, all of who said the shingles were failing I called the company Because I purchased the home 2 years after the product was placed on the roof and I didn't contact them to let them know that I had moved in, they are denying any responsibility. They will not consider giving me any kind of credit towards what should be left on my roof. When I spoke with the supervisor, Shelly, she was rude and refused to stand by the product Unless I had a warranty


Date created: 2017-07-07 Name: John Carroll
Model: Heritage

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Best Shingle Out There!"
I had one of the America's Natural Colors (Natural Timber) installed on my home 7 years ago and the shingle has performed incredibly and still looks brand new! The warranty is unbeatable and the color with the blended shadow tones is the best in the industry. Highly recommend!


Date created: 2017-07-06 Name: James
Location: Berea, KY
Model: Heritage

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Total Garbage"
My house was built in 2009 using Tamko shingles. During a rainstorm, I noticed rain going over the top, of my gutter. I inspected the gutter and found 2 inches of granules and a bunch of shingles with exposed fiberglass. Had to spend $12,000 to replace an 8 year old roof. Called Tamko and filed a warranty claim that they denied, not due to faulty shingles, but because I'm the 2nd owner of my house and the warranty is only transferable one time and they considered the builder the first owner. So basically they made a faulty product and hid behind a warranty clause. Never again will they get my business.


Date created: 2017-06-28 Name: Matthew
Location: Peoria, IL
Model: Heritage

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"Best upfront warranty in the industry"
TAMKO has the best upfront warranty in the industry with the first 15 covered at 100%. I understand they have had their problems in the past but so has every shingle manufacturer. I like the colors that TAMKO offers and their fair prices. The manufacturers label their shingles as "limited lifetime" warranty. What does that even mean? My lifetime? The roofs lifetime? When the shingles go bad do I get a new roof? The answer is no. Limit lifetime means it's a 40 year shingle and after 40 years they value the roof at 20% and that's it. That doesn't mean lifetime to me. Contractors are trying to upsell a false warranty to gain more profits for their business. I rather have integrity with my business. That is characteristic to have rather than making the most money on a false warranty.

12345678910111213Next >>