Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

dotted nav bar
dotted nav bar

Consumer Reviews of Tamko shingles

Popularity:
#29  of 34 brands of shingles

26% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 57 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    13
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    2
  • Neutral
    1
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    40

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Tamko shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

123456Next >>

Date created: 2014-07-14 Name: A. Allen
Location: IL

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Great Shingles"
I've read the bad reviews and asked my roofing contractor about them. He assured me that all of the manufacturers had equally bad reviews because that's the only recourse they have, when the problem is actually with the installation. Well, I couldn't be happier with the look and warranty of my new Tamko Woodgate roof and thought I should take the time to write a review.


Date created: 2014-05-01 Name: gordon jones
Location: lagrange ,ga

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Junk shingles"
These are junk shingles. Looking at shingles on houses in this area that have had shingles on for 10 or more years no black mold. We bought 30 year shingle not supposed to mold one side of house is not grey any more but black.


Date created: 2014-04-10 Name: Barely A Roof Over My Head
Location: Normal Illinois

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Tamko Class Action Lawsuit - Let's Go"
This home was built in 2002 and we purchased it in 2007. We are experiencing massive granular loss with a great deal of shingles exposed all the way down to the underlying fiber. This home is only 12 years old. We have had several contractors and adjusters look at the roof and they all agree that this is a manufacturer defect. The Tamko warranty states "The Owner may transfer this limited warranty one time during the first 2 years of Term to a purchaser." In my case I would have had to buy this home within the first two years from the original owner in order to take advantage of the warranty. How many owners actually sell their newly built homes within the first two years? Read between the lines, if you aren't the original owner or didn't purchase within 2 years of being built, you have no warranty on a product that is advertised to last 20 - 30 years.


Date created: 2013-12-30 Name: L. Ruppert
Location: Coulterville, IL.

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Warranty is a Hoax, shingles are junk!"
4 years into a 50 year warranty, shingles cracked and split, color washed off. Sent in a claim to Tamko, they denied claim and won't honor warranty. Will never buy again! Waste of money!


Date created: 2013-07-31 Name: Annette Johnson
Location: Fruit Heights, Utah

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Tamko Heritage Premium Asphalt Shingles"
In May of 2005 we replaced all of the shingles on our roof with a Tamko 50-yr. Heritage Premier asphalt shingle. We did not want to worry about a roof for a long time! As snow melted away after the winter season in 2012 we developed a leak above our front door. We waited until the snow melted off the roof before calling a roofing company. The roofer thought the leak might have been the result of faulty flashings. He added some tar/caulking around the flashings and it appeared to solve the problem. However, he mentioned that our roof looked much older than 7 years. During the following winter (2013) our leak above our front door commenced again. At the end of the winter season we called four additional roofers out to take a look and offer recommendations. All of them suggested we file a claim with Tamko because our now 8-year old roof looks much older than 20 years old. The granules no longer exist in many areas and holes expose the roofing deck. One roofer mentioned that we probably have many leaks in our roof that we don't know about yet. We contacted Tamko the first of June of 2013. They asked for the removal of shingles, purchase documentation, pictures, and an explanation be sent to their Missouri location. At this point we were to wait 6-8 weeks for their response. About 6 weeks later we received a materials certificate in the mail covering only a prorated amount of the of the cost of materials at the time of purchase. In other words, no labor is included for removal or installation, and the materials cost when purchased was quite a bit less than it is today. We had an estimate to replace our roof and it came out at just less than $15,000. The amount we will receive from Tamko is about $1,500. I have no other words for this than "organized crime."


Date created: 2013-02-18 Name: Murray Bannerman
Location: Baldwin NY

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Mr. Murray"
I had my roof installed right before the Hurricane Sandy storm. My contractor followed all the guidelines for Tamko installation. My roof is completely intact. Thanks tamko


Date created: 2013-01-19 Name: Phil Walker
Location: Catawba, Va

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Never Buy Tamko Again"
My Tamko Heritage Shingles are about 8 years old. Every time we have a strong front come in and high winds I loose shingles off my roof. Lost them twice the first year. The glue on the back doesn't stick, they start flapping and then rip off. Called about a warrenty and tamko wanted me to remove two complete shingles at my expense and mail them to them for a claim. If they found them defective maybe a prorated warrenty on the shingles and labor at my expence! I would never use any tamko product again and will tell anyone looking to do a roof not to use their products!! Not a very reputable company in my oppinion.


Date created: 2013-01-13 Name: K Hill
Location: Mount Juiet,TN

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Steer clear of this company"
My roof is falling apart, I thought it was hail damage, but the insurance guy and the roofing contractor said the shingles were defective. You can't believe the hoops you have to jump through for Tamco to tell you it's not their fault it's the installer's fault. They will not send anyone to even look at your roof. Your contact person is a very rude woman who could care less. This company does not stand behind their product! I have a 30 year roof. I've been in my home since 2000. I've replaced two places on the roof so far. Shingles are falling off right and left. I will have to get an attorney to get this matter solved. Do not use this company!!!!!


Date created: 2012-11-11 Name: toolwells@yahoo.com
Location: Maryland

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Heritage 25 Shingle Failed After 11 Years Warranty Terrible"
Hurricane Sandy came through md and we lost 200-300 square feet of shingles. The insurance company is recommending a total roof replacement for our 11 year old roof (50 squares/5,000 sq feet). Wind gusts were up to ~75 miles per hour during the storm in our area. Warranty was only 60 months with wind gusts of only 60 miles per hour. Shingles are also brittle and we have black stains on our roof. Shingles have fallen off in other storms too. We also had leaks in four different rooms. Not sure how Tamko can continue to stay in business except that they seem to have an "in" with new builders in our area.


Date created: 2012-11-04 Name: Colette Wells

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Buy if you want to replace your roof in 10 years"
We built our house in 2001 and thought we had purchased upgraded shingles. Our shingles are actually Tamko 25 not 30. For the first few years small sections of our shingles came off multiple times. We thought this was because our roof was installed in the winter. After Hurricane Sandy came through though our roof leaked buckets and three large sections of shingles blew off. Tamko told my husband that the 80 mph wind warranty was covered only for the first 5 years. Are you kidding me? Also about 5 years after our roof was installed we had problems with algae. We need a new roof. Never never buy this brand.

123456Next >>
Find Local Roofers

My zip code is: