Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

dotted nav bar
dotted nav bar

Consumer Reviews of Tamko shingles

Popularity:
#10  of 13 brands of shingles

23% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 68 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    14
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    2
  • Neutral
    1
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    50

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Tamko shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

1234567Next >>

Date created: 2015-04-01 Name: rose vasalech
Location: arizona

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Fraud, misleading the consumer"
Do not under any circumstances use heritage shingles from Tamko. They have class action lawsuits in every state and have since they produce the product in 2001. They left out a component (the most expensive) so they can make more money. They continue to make the same product and sell them, misleading the consumer and that now falls into the fraud category. I am going to contact the fbi and file charges against this company/corporate office in Joplin Missouri. Get ready Tamko your about to get what's coming to you.


Date created: 2015-02-02 Name: Tom Grant
Location: Panama City,Fl.
Model: Heritage AR 30yr

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Irresponsible roofing supplier or cheat"
The Heritage AR series 30 year shingles are granulating and beginning to curl after after 4-6 months. They are very poor in composition and will not last half their advertised life. The claim to be designed to resist mildew hinges on fraud. When the company is contacted they make it so difficult to get them to assist that it is best to use a class action suit. Do you know anyone that will come to your home and remove and reinstall shingles for $100.00. Nope! Me neither. Garbage Product


Date created: 2015-02-01 Name: Steve
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Model: Rustic Black Heritage Architectu

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Replaced under warranty"
Had Tamko Heritage architectural shingles (Rustic black) installed on our house in 2013. By mid 2014, we began seeing some discoloration on what seemed to be 90% of the shingles, on all surfaces / exposures of our roof. I contacted Tamko, followed all their instructions on how to submit a warranty claim, found their rep Cheryl to be extremely accommodating when I called, and they did honor the warranty and my roof was just replaced. Per the warranty, which I knew in advance, Tamko covered the cost of the replacement shingles and the labor to install. I had to eat the cost of the tear off and removal of the defective shingles. Overall - while we were certainly disappointed that the product failed in the first place, we found dealing with Tamko for resolution under warranty to be a positive experience, and we are very happy with the replaced shingles.


Date created: 2015-01-31 Name: susan walker
Location: Redford Michigan

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Tamco heritage shingles don't live up to 25 year warranty"
My roof is 10 years old. When high winds come I lose a huge chunk of the shingles off my roof every time. Roof already looks old and the shingles never adhered to each other. Like they should have. Getting a new roof in the spring. So much for the 25 year warranty! No more Tamko for me!


Date created: 2015-01-31 Name: james
Location: Jacksonville, Fl
Model: 35 Year Architectural

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Short life of shingle"
I am in Jacksonville, FL and put a Tamko 35 year rated architectural shingle on my home. By year 13, there was so much shingle granular material on the ground and so much fiberglass showing on the shingle that the roof should have been replaced. The shingles did seal well to each other and the 30 lb felt used at that time has kept me for the most part water resistant. I am sensitive to proper roof venting problems in FL so I added 2 additional vents when these shingles were installed.


Need a Roofing Contractor?

Find a Local Roofing Pro with this Free Service

* Replace or Repair Existing Roof
* Roof Maintenance and Pressure Cleaning
* Leak Detection, Waterproofing, and more

Date created: 2015-01-08 Name: Jackie Traverson
Location: Bolivar MO United States

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Tamko 7 year at best"
These shingles are the worst I have ever seen and I was married to a roofing contractor. I bought a brand new house in Nov 2006 and in July I about lost my whole roof, water pouring in every room due to shingles flying off like frisbees. They are half the thickness of most and don't have enough tar to make them stick together. What a nightmare with buckets all over my 4 bedroom house, water pouring in like the falls in every room, in the middle of the night, while listening to shingles flapping all over the roof. Every room had to be treated for stains and painted. Don't buy Tamko!


Date created: 2014-12-08 Name: Tony Tony
Location: Romney, WV
Model: Architectural

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"These shingled are terrible and do not seal"
These, by far, are the worst shingles I have ever had installed. I had a professional installer put these on a few years ago (they are 30 year shingles)... It was a very warm day (90+) and the shingles did not seal on over half my roof. I have literally had to re-install almost half my roof in the past 5 years. I am just biding my time until I can install metal. Note: never buy this product!


Date created: 2014-10-03 Name: T. Austin
Location: Austin, TX

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Utterly horrible"
My 25 year warranty on these "upgraded" Tamko shingles is apparently worth nothing! The shingles are curling and look awful. There is also a great loss in granules with every rain. Our roofer that our whole family has used for 2 decades (with no problem ever) says the shingles are defective. Tamko says our very experienced roofer put the shingles on incorrectly and it's not their problem. Roofer says they are installed correctly. Tamko is also blaming winds for causing the damage despite the fact that all the roofs on other homes surrounding me are fine. So, I'm stuck with a crap roof and no help. Do not buy anything from Tamko!


Date created: 2014-09-12 Name: C. Bray
Location: Somerset,Ky
Model: Heritage 30 AR

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Settlement papers"
Just got settlement papers on shingles. Was very surprised on amount shingles are bad and warranty is no good for the owner. I am being paid a very small amount as to the cost. Not happy with Tamko and will not recommend them at all. Junk Junk. I am 142 months in a 360 month warranty would have expected a better settlement when Tamko knows there is a problem. Tamko has changed warranty for new shingles just don't stand behind the people already with product. Not a very good company.


Date created: 2014-08-12 Name: Danno
Location: Barnhart, MO

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Heritage 25 year shingles"
Had Tamko's Heritage 25 year shingles installed in 1998 and 16 years later was told by a home inspector and our original roof installer that they have extensive damage and that the life expectancy of the roof shingles has expired because of major granular loss. Our roof installer said they he had so many problems and complaints about their defective shingles that he stopped installing them 8 years ago. Now we need a total roof replacement. Thanks a lot Tamko! Not even going to send in a claim after reading blogs about homeowners sending in claims and getting little if any compensation after long periods of time. If a class action lawsuit is created I will join.

1234567Next >>
Find Local Roofers

My zip code is: