Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Tamko shingles

Tamko Logo
Popularity:
#11  of 14 brands of shingles

25% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 91 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    21
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    2
  • Neutral
    2
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    65

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Tamko shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

12345678910Next >>

Date created: 2016-02-12 Name: Nick Hanzel
Location: Franklinville, NJ
Model: Heritage

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Most problems due to improper installation"
I have read about 5 pages of these reviews. Also read reviews for GAF, ocf, and ct on this same site. Based on over 40 years as a residential roofing contractor, I believe that the majority of the issues that homeowners are experiencing are due to improper installation of the shingles. It doesn't matter what brand you use - if the manufacturer's installation directions are not followed, they will not honor their warranty. If the warranty instructions for transfer to a successive owner are not followed, they will not honor their warranty. This not just Tamko. They are all the same. We have been installing Tamko shingles since they came to NJ in the early 80's and we have had one warranty claim for defective shingles, which Tamko settled to the complete satisfaction of the homeowner.


Date created: 2016-01-17 Name: Derrick
Location: Oklahoma
Model: Heritage Plus

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Extremely "Limited Warranty" (read the fine print)"
I am honestly surprised TAMKO Building Products is still in business. I recently purchased a home (Sept 2015) with TAMKO Heritage Plus shingles. With the product purchase, TAMKO provided a 10 year transferable warranty to cover possible defects, cracking, undue wear, etc. It was a great selling point on the home and we were happy to have it, and not to mention a great looking new roof! Well, by the time we settled into our new home (Dec 2015/Jan 2016), I called this so called "reputable" business to transfer the warranty to my name, only to be told that my warranty had expired. Lo and behold, if only I had read the fine print of the warranty, I would have known I only had 30 days to transfer the warranty before it became null and void. 30 days! I'm not even unpacked and I'm expected to read the fine print of a TAMKO warranty within the first 30 days of closing on a house. The roof is only 6+ months old and in great condition, but the company would not honor the transferable warranty, which in reality, I would likely never use. One thing is for sure, TAMKO has lost a customer in me, and certainly whoever else they have treated this way in the past. I hope they will review their policy and make exceptions for cases such as mine in the future. It is much easier to keep customers by doing the right thing, than to try and lure in new customers through sneaky tactics. I will make a point to purchase Owens Corning or other similar products in the future. Goodbye TAMKO.


Date created: 2016-01-08 Name: Arch Boston
Location: Louisville, KY

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Warranty is a joke!"
I had my roof replaced about 8 years ago with Tamko shingles. Started having problems within 5 years - not 25years. After jumping through the warranty hoops they finally offered me 22 squares of shingles to compensate me for the 33 squares which were used for my roof. I get stuck with the tab for their removal, disposal and if I am stupid enough to buy 11 more squares of Tamko shingles, underlayment and labor to fit replacement shingles. Will I have problems with Tamko shingles if I have them used again? I loose about $6,000 because I got crappy Tamko shingles! Any offers for 22 squares of Tamko shingles for their outhouse?



Date created: 2015-12-30 Name: Ed Seute
Location: Leavenworth Ks.

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Granule loss"
My four year old roof has lost sand terrible. Many, many bare spots all over the roof. I contacted Tamko but they don't warrant any defects that don't result in a leak. These shingles are obviously defective, their manufacturing had problems when these were produced. Their warranty is a license to manufacture crap and get away with it. Buy at your own risk.


Date created: 2015-12-28 Name: Linda C
Location: Syosset, NY

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Stay away"
Other people's horrible reviews are the truth. I had a roof installed with a 40 year warranty in 2001. It failed. They said it was because of wind damage of which there is only a 5 year limited warranty. So they used that to get out of honoring the warranty. I bought 40 year roofing so I wouldn't have to deal with another one. After denying my claim, they said they "will not respond in any manner." Great customer service - not. Do not buy their products!


Date created: 2015-11-17 Name: Burt Simpson
Location: Charlotte, NC

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Terrible Shingles - Worse customer service"
The shingles failed. It was determined that the product was bad. The company warranty staff refused to assist. We had the retailer working with us to negotiate with Tamko, but Tamko refused to help. Their response was "Call our lawyer." Avoid this company.


Date created: 2015-11-11 Name: Larry
Location: Boston, MA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Great Shingles"
I'm a contractor in New England and I have I installed shingles for over 20 years. Tamko uses the best granules in the country and they were one of the first to zinc and copper to prevent algae. They're one of the heavier shingles on the market which means they use the most asphalt which is what actually protects your roof. No nonsense warranty and a great price.


Date created: 2015-11-10 Name: Glen Vigil
Location: Thornton, Co.
Model: Heritage

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Ganges falling off"
I put a claim in for warranty on my roof right before 5 years of installation. The entire roof has straight lines of no granules.i sent pictures and had two shingles removed and sent to Tamko Warranty Department.I Received a letter indicating foot track and snow can cause that. They also indicated hail has been reported by the weather channel in my area. I have had no hail storms in my area. If hail had caused the damage the granules missing would be in circular shapes. I have entire sections with zero granules. I would not recommend this brand at the time of purchase my neighbors had their roofs replaced at the same time they choose another manufacturer and have no issues with there roofs or hail damage. Claim denied. Oh they did give me 100 dollars for the two shingles removed by roofer.7000 Dollar roof.


Date created: 2015-10-21 Name: A New
Location: Littleton, CO

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Poor warranty"
I bought a house 7 years after Tamko shingles had been installed and have experienced significant cracking in the asphalt shingles. I learned that the warranty can only be transferred one time within 2 years of installation. They obviously know that most homes will be sold during their "lifetime" warranty providing them a very convenient way not to have to stand behind their product. I'll do all I can to stay away from these shingles.


Date created: 2015-10-15 Name: Jeff
Location: Indiana

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Thankful"
I turned in a claim with Tamco because my shingles were defective. I went through the claim process and in 6 weeks time I received a certificate for all the shingles at no cost to me and a certificate for all the labor to remove and replace. I am one truly thankful customer and give them a 5 star rating. Thanks again Tamco.

12345678910Next >>