Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Tamko shingles

Tamko Logo
Popularity:
#12  of 15 brands of shingles

23% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 100 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    21
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    2
  • Neutral
    2
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    74

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Tamko shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

12345678910Next >>

Date created: 2016-11-10 Name: Tim
Location: Goochland Va
Model: Heritage

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worthless warranty"
Purchased new home January 2011. In mid 2016 roof began leaking. Looking at the roof in the sunlight will blind you as the fiberglass showing everywhere reflects the light. Contacted Tamko and the will prorate their shingles (to their benefit) but not cover any labor costs. The full start period where they pay labor changed less than 30 days after I moved in from the 5 years I have to 15 years. So Tamko isn't paying for any labor, not paying for any ridge vent that has to be removed, not paying for the damaged decking, and are not paying for the interior damage from the leak. I paid over $12000 for the roof in 2011 and with the little help they are offering it'll cost me that much again with the shingles they didn't provide, removal, and installation just 5 years later. Sinfull!


Date created: 2016-11-02 Name: C. Kohler
Location: Hertford, NC
Model: Architectural

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Not Algae Resistant"
Tamko roofing is not algae resistant. I have black streaks all over an eight year old roof. I called customer service and a very rude young woman said they would assess it if I send two sections of the affected roof to them. When I said that was ridiculous, she said "well I guess you don't want to file a claim". I don't want to remove sections of a roof when I know I can't find the same dye lot of the shingles. I would never use this brand again.


Date created: 2016-10-13 Name: Jon Ames
Model: Heritage Tamko shingles

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Leaks, Required roof replacement."
30 year warranty not worth the paper it is written on. Opps I mean the exterior shingle package. The shingle warranty is not the shingle package so if you don't read the package you might inadvertently do something to void the warranty. The 30 year shingles went to hell in less than 10 years and required an entire roof replacement. Leaks everywhere.



Date created: 2016-10-07 Name: Chris Chola
Location: NM

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Very Bad Quality"
Installed new roof about 8 years ago to replace hail damaged roof. Within 4 years severe loss of granular coating with about 80% gone now. Will not use such a low quality product again. Do not buy from this company. One quarter the price would be too much.


Date created: 2016-10-03 Name: J, Ames
Location: Springfield, Mo

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Warranty"
Tamko shingles are the worst. Mine had degranulation and Tamko said my warranty was not transferred properly. None of the roofers would recommend Tamko shingles, one said he would only use Tamko if shingles if I paid him to nail each shingle with and extra nail or he would not stand behind his warranty.


Date created: 2016-09-17 Name: Jon Ames
Location: Springfield, Mo

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Degranulated and leaking"
Tamko has no intention of standing behind their warranty. I have 10 year old shingles that degranulated and are leaking all over the house. Tamko will not stand behind their advertised 30 year warranty because the warranty, printed on the shingle packages was not followed correctly. I ask, What homeowner reads the packaging on shingles. They are deceptive and crooked. The roof cost $15,600 which insurance denied because of the defective shingles and Tamko denied paying anything.


Date created: 2016-08-30 Name: David Perry
Location: Louisville, KY
Model: Heritage

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Tamco Heritage severely de-granulated"
Heritage brand severely de granulated. Filed a claim with Tamko. Received a ridiculous packet that, among others things, requires me to hire a roofer. The expectation is that the consumer will incur additional charges and jump through hoops before Tamko will even consider standing behind their product. The entire process is geared to discourage consumers from making claims. I'm told by a local roofer Tamko is the lightest, thus poorest quality, shingle. Roofers push it on consumers because of the margin. Buyer beware!


Date created: 2016-06-10 Name: George oviatt
Location: Jasper mo
Model: Heritage

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Tamco Heritage 80% de granulated at 11 years"
Bought Tamko Heritage for our new house 11 years ago. Within the first two years granuals began to appear in the gutters after a rain. Now roof is 80% devoid of any granuals. Filed a complaint wit Tamko and they replied with offer for 18 sq out of 30 sq replacement with no labor for install or tear off.


Date created: 2016-04-27 Name: Brandon

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Horrible shingles"
Worthless customer service and worthless warranty and worthless shingles.


Date created: 2016-02-12 Name: Nick Hanzel
Location: Franklinville, NJ
Model: Heritage

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Most problems due to improper installation"
I have read about 5 pages of these reviews. Also read reviews for GAF, ocf, and ct on this same site. Based on over 40 years as a residential roofing contractor, I believe that the majority of the issues that homeowners are experiencing are due to improper installation of the shingles. It doesn't matter what brand you use - if the manufacturer's installation directions are not followed, they will not honor their warranty. If the warranty instructions for transfer to a successive owner are not followed, they will not honor their warranty. This not just Tamko. They are all the same. We have been installing Tamko shingles since they came to NJ in the early 80's and we have had one warranty claim for defective shingles, which Tamko settled to the complete satisfaction of the homeowner.

12345678910Next >>