Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Tamko shingles

Tamko Logo

Read 120 Tamko Shingle reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#12   of 15 brands of shingles

23% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 120 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    24
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    4
  • Neutral
    2
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    2
  • Very Unsatisfied
    88

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Tamko shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

123456789101112Next >>

Date created: 2017-08-07 Name: Dultmeier Roofing
Location: Kansas
Model: Heritage

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Tamko stands behind their shingles"
Tamko products have proved their quality to our company and our customers for over 30 years.


Date created: 2017-07-25 Name: R Egee
Location: Alabama
Model: Heritage

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Never again!"
Built our house in 2009. Around 5yrs old I noticed many shingles were fading. My roofer (only 2 in our rural area and considered the best) told me to contact Tamko. Tamko sent instructions to mail 2 shingles to them for review. My roofer took them down for me and I mailed them to Tamko as instructed. Tamko said the shingles were defective and said since it was after 5 years that they would give me 70% of my shingles....no labor costs. According to warranty my shingles were covered for 5 years for full coverage. After 5 years no labor costs given and shingles were prorated. They said that I would have had to notice problem before 5 years. The discoloration was slight at first. I even sent them pictures from google earth showing discoloration before 5 years was over. I didn't realize the color difference until it faded a great deal. But goggle earth clearly shows the difference. Now I can see it in old pictures but was not looking for roof problems then. Since I have noticed many roofs with the same problem. The consumer has to prove that the shingles were bad before their full replacement warranty expires. Tamko admits the shingles have a manufacturer defect. The manufacture defect did not happen on my roof. 'Manufacturer' defects happen at the 'manufacturer'. So they were defective before they were installed but somehow Tamko says it's not all their fault and I should have noticed it sooner. FYI....even the day after installation labor to remove defective shingles are never covered. And the shingles they give you as replacements are not under a warranty of any kind.


Date created: 2017-07-21 Name: Ryan
Location: Wisconsin

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Garbage"
10 years old and the shingles are shot. They do in fact hide behind a warranty that means they can make a piece of crap and get away with it. A company I wouldn't even recommend to someone I don't like. Take your money and run, if that is the type of roof your looking for.



Date created: 2017-07-18 Name: Katie F
Location: CO

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Dont use this product"
The heritage brand was placed on my roof in 2005, and 12 years later we have a failing roof. After 4 inspectors came out, all of who said the shingles were failing I called the company Because I purchased the home 2 years after the product was placed on the roof and I didn't contact them to let them know that I had moved in, they are denying any responsibility. They will not consider giving me any kind of credit towards what should be left on my roof. When I spoke with the supervisor, Shelly, she was rude and refused to stand by the product Unless I had a warranty


Date created: 2017-07-07 Name: John Carroll
Model: Heritage

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Best Shingle Out There!"
I had one of the America's Natural Colors (Natural Timber) installed on my home 7 years ago and the shingle has performed incredibly and still looks brand new! The warranty is unbeatable and the color with the blended shadow tones is the best in the industry. Highly recommend!


Date created: 2017-07-06 Name: James
Location: Berea, KY
Model: Heritage

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Total Garbage"
My house was built in 2009 using Tamko shingles. During a rainstorm, I noticed rain going over the top, of my gutter. I inspected the gutter and found 2 inches of granules and a bunch of shingles with exposed fiberglass. Had to spend $12,000 to replace an 8 year old roof. Called Tamko and filed a warranty claim that they denied, not due to faulty shingles, but because I'm the 2nd owner of my house and the warranty is only transferable one time and they considered the builder the first owner. So basically they made a faulty product and hid behind a warranty clause. Never again will they get my business.


Date created: 2017-06-28 Name: Matthew
Location: Peoria, IL
Model: Heritage

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"Best upfront warranty in the industry"
TAMKO has the best upfront warranty in the industry with the first 15 covered at 100%. I understand they have had their problems in the past but so has every shingle manufacturer. I like the colors that TAMKO offers and their fair prices. The manufacturers label their shingles as "limited lifetime" warranty. What does that even mean? My lifetime? The roofs lifetime? When the shingles go bad do I get a new roof? The answer is no. Limit lifetime means it's a 40 year shingle and after 40 years they value the roof at 20% and that's it. That doesn't mean lifetime to me. Contractors are trying to upsell a false warranty to gain more profits for their business. I rather have integrity with my business. That is characteristic to have rather than making the most money on a false warranty.


Date created: 2017-06-07 Name: Brenda Wilson
Location: Ballwin, Missouri

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Terrible shingles"
My Mother reroofed her house 10 years ago, they used Tamko roofing shingles. She has now passed away and we are trying to sell the house. Roof inspection said degranulation of shingles, roof appears to be 20 years old - it is only 10 years old, we have the receipts. No we are going to have to pay for new roof in order to sell the house! Terrible product and company!


Date created: 2017-05-28 Name: Christopher Keeble
Location: Tennessee
Model: 30 year

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Curls on edge of shingles, poor product, warranty not honored"
Tamko roof shingles - buyer beware A recounting of our experience with Tamko shingles. I feel that Tamko offers a really poor product and they do not honor their warranty. In 2011 following a hailstorm, my shingles were replaced using Tamko 3 tab shingles, carrying a 30 year warranty.  8 months later we shingled an addition on our house using the same shingle style and model.  Now, in 2017, ALL, repeat, ALL - every single one of the shingles,  have curls on edge at least 1 inch in.  (North, South, East, and West facing roof slopes).  The adhesive strip on the shingles that is supposed to adhere the shingles together will not even hold leaf debris, much less the shingles above it.  The roofer who installed it came out and took a look and said "yes that's a  problem, don't worry, I know the rep real well, he'll take care of you".  He took shingles samples to the rep who , you guessed it, did nothing.  The installer told me that the local sales rep for Tamko had recently told him that Tamko's Tuscaloosa shingle manufacturing plant had been destroyed by a Class 4 tornado in April of 2011 and that, prior to be plant being fully repaired, they had started producing shingles before the building's walls were even complete.  Yes, that's where my shingles were made.  Closed case right? We were instructed to contact Tamko's warranty line, were sent a packet of documents to fill out, which we dutifully did, retrieved the shingle samples from the distributor, (where the rep had left them untouched,) took 2 dozen photos of shingle edges, pitches, nailing patterns, slopes etc and sent the whole bunch in. 8 weeks later we get a letter from Tamko stating that there had been 5 weather events with winds greater than 60 miles per hour in our city and that is what caused the problem.  They also said that curling was a normal part of shingle aging and was nothing to be concerned with.  No warranty coverage was indicated. Bear in mind, when wind damages shingles, it typically affects the slope of the roof facing the wind and parallel to the direction the wind is coming from.  It also lifts the entire leading edge of the shingle leaving a linear crack pattern parallel to the bottom edge of the shingle.  Debris will also adhere to the adhesive strip designed to hold the shingles together. There are NO crack patterns on any of the shingles, and there is almost no debris on the adhesive strip, and the damage is on all slopes (North, South, East, and West).  None of my neighbors have experienced any wind damage to their roofs. (I suppose I need to quit cussing, I knew He was listening.) My homeowner's insurance took one look at the shingles and said they could not cover the roof until the shingles were replaced as the condition of the shingles was not a result of a weather phenomenon.  Not covered. We are now having GAF dimensional shingles installed.


Date created: 2017-05-21 Name: Lyle Keeble
Location: Knoxville TN
Model: Elite

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Poor product, and company sure doesn't care"
We had our shingles replaced with Tamko shingles, following a damaging hailstorm in 2011, then added shingles in 2012 for an addition to our house. Two different contractors so we know our problem was not due to poor installation. Early 2017, our insurance company canceled our HO insurance because the shingles are all curling - on both the main house and addition. We jumped through all the hoops and submitted a claim to Tamko. What a farce. We received a form letter back saying there were high winds, blah, blah, blah. They also said the curling on our shingles was normal (even though our HO insurance had been canceled. This has been a bad dream. Six year old roof, and no warranty, no matter what their advertising (and a few positive reviews) say. This time we will spend a bit more to get shingles that are not worthless.

123456789101112Next >>