Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Tamko shingles

Tamko Logo
Popularity:
#12  of 15 brands of shingles

22% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 112 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    22
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    3
  • Neutral
    2
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    2
  • Very Unsatisfied
    83

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Tamko shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

123456789101112Next >>

Date created: 2017-06-07 Name: Brenda Wilson
Location: Ballwin, Missouri

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Terrible shingles"
My Mother reroofed her house 10 years ago, they used Tamko roofing shingles. She has now passed away and we are trying to sell the house. Roof inspection said degranulation of shingles, roof appears to be 20 years old - it is only 10 years old, we have the receipts. No we are going to have to pay for new roof in order to sell the house! Terrible product and company!


Date created: 2017-05-28 Name: Christopher Keeble
Location: Tennessee
Model: 30 year

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Curls on edge of shingles, poor product, warranty not honored"
Tamko roof shingles - buyer beware A recounting of our experience with Tamko shingles. I feel that Tamko offers a really poor product and they do not honor their warranty. In 2011 following a hailstorm, my shingles were replaced using Tamko 3 tab shingles, carrying a 30 year warranty.  8 months later we shingled an addition on our house using the same shingle style and model.  Now, in 2017, ALL, repeat, ALL - every single one of the shingles,  have curls on edge at least 1 inch in.  (North, South, East, and West facing roof slopes).  The adhesive strip on the shingles that is supposed to adhere the shingles together will not even hold leaf debris, much less the shingles above it.  The roofer who installed it came out and took a look and said "yes that's a  problem, don't worry, I know the rep real well, he'll take care of you".  He took shingles samples to the rep who , you guessed it, did nothing.  The installer told me that the local sales rep for Tamko had recently told him that Tamko's Tuscaloosa shingle manufacturing plant had been destroyed by a Class 4 tornado in April of 2011 and that, prior to be plant being fully repaired, they had started producing shingles before the building's walls were even complete.  Yes, that's where my shingles were made.  Closed case right? We were instructed to contact Tamko's warranty line, were sent a packet of documents to fill out, which we dutifully did, retrieved the shingle samples from the distributor, (where the rep had left them untouched,) took 2 dozen photos of shingle edges, pitches, nailing patterns, slopes etc and sent the whole bunch in. 8 weeks later we get a letter from Tamko stating that there had been 5 weather events with winds greater than 60 miles per hour in our city and that is what caused the problem.  They also said that curling was a normal part of shingle aging and was nothing to be concerned with.  No warranty coverage was indicated. Bear in mind, when wind damages shingles, it typically affects the slope of the roof facing the wind and parallel to the direction the wind is coming from.  It also lifts the entire leading edge of the shingle leaving a linear crack pattern parallel to the bottom edge of the shingle.  Debris will also adhere to the adhesive strip designed to hold the shingles together. There are NO crack patterns on any of the shingles, and there is almost no debris on the adhesive strip, and the damage is on all slopes (North, South, East, and West).  None of my neighbors have experienced any wind damage to their roofs. (I suppose I need to quit cussing, I knew He was listening.) My homeowner's insurance took one look at the shingles and said they could not cover the roof until the shingles were replaced as the condition of the shingles was not a result of a weather phenomenon.  Not covered. We are now having GAF dimensional shingles installed.


Date created: 2017-05-08 Name: R. Gary
Location: Lafayette, LA
Model: Heritage 30

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Very Dissatisfied Customer"
I had my roof changed in Nov 2002 with the 30 yr Tamko architectural shingles. Now the majority of my roof has no more granules because they have been falling off. Tamko now supposedly has a 15 yr no proration warranty but back in 2002 it was only 5 yrs. So now after only half of the life of my roof, the best I can hope to get from Tamko is about $1,500 or 50% of the cost of new Tamko shingles. No thank you tamko! I am not about to spend another penny on your company and I strongly recommend that no one else does either. What a terrible company and very inferior product.



Date created: 2017-04-22 Name: Jeff
Location: Wisconsin
Model: Woodgate

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"No Issues"
I had multiple people come pitch me their shingles and this guy from Bufalo Contracting comes out and gets me a Tamko woodgate on a rental property which is multi family. He told me to do my own research but the tamko woodgate is the only shingle that doesn't prorate on mutli family. I did and every other shingle prorates on multi family, it's been 5 years and I have had no problems. I don't know why these other shingle manufacturers offer a limited lifetime warranty on a single home but won't on a dual family...whatever


Date created: 2017-04-07 Name: Chris
Location: Houston

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Contractor"
I had a customer that insisted on us giving her the lowest price. We went with Tamko because it was the cheapest shingle in our market. We've been to the house 4 times to make repairs due to the low quality of the shingle. I'm embarrassed that my company did a tamko installation. I thank God we're not tamko Pros.


Date created: 2017-04-03 Name: Theodore Halkett
Location: Colonial Beach Virginia
Model: HP H

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"Classic Heritage/Rustic Cedar"
I would think this type of shingle would be alot thicker Stains easy, bird crap sticks and stays even after a several hard rains. The contractor was lousy and used the roof center here in Fredericksburg Virginia. They brought out the wrong color drip edge. The roof was already stripped, so the contractor went to the local hardware store and bought some crappy drip edge. Later the contractor came back and replaced the drip edge, what a crappy job!


Date created: 2017-03-27 Name: MARIO VIGIL remember me Diane?
Location: Aurora Colorado

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't buy"
This has to be the one the worst companys I've ever dealt with. Got my roof replaced with Tamco shingles they were all messed up I had to make a warranty claim. I Called the warranty department I talked to Diane and Barbara and they were the worst so rude disrespectful arrogant cynical and stupid. They're not the only ones I dont remember the other two ladies names but they were just as bad. They made it so hard. Then they were trying to go around my back and call other people trying to discredit me. It was just a horrible experience. Do not use these guys. I wouldn't haven used them but my hoa mandated that I used them. They must have stock or something.


Date created: 2017-03-10 Name: Amelia Austin
Location: Rose HIll

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Another Unsatisfied Customer"
Amazing how so many people are unsatisfied with this company. I too am a victim of their crappy supposedly 30 year warranty. I built my home in 2004 and in 2011 we find out that our roof is defective, tamko refuses to help with anything.. I call and their supposedly low company rep says she is that manager and refuses to listen to what I have to say. I could go on and on, but I really hope this company can sleep at night knowing that they are placing shit work on expensive homes.


Date created: 2017-01-16 Name: john smith
Location: denver
Model: shingles

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Incorrect Info"
Tamko shingle come with a 15 year Full Start Period and not a 7 as this column states! They also offer 5 years on their 1 time transfer-ability and not 2! TAMKO offers the best color line in the industry hands down and have the best up front warranty protection of any other manufacture out there!


Date created: 2017-01-14 Name: Derik Nierman
Location: Vallonia Indiana
Model: Heritage

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Do not buy Tamko shingles"
Built new home in 2009 and have had nothing but issues from the start. Shingles not sealing, blowing off in 40 mph wind, leaking and algae everywhere on north side of home. Have sent samples in twice to customer service and basically was told they weren't properly installed and the national weather service showed 70 mph winds in our area according to Tamko. This is a very poor quality company along with their shingles and customer service! Would absolutely never recommend Tamko to anyone. On another note I built a large detached garage in 2010 and used Owens Corning shingles and have not had the first issue yet. No comparison on quality!

123456789101112Next >>