Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

dotted nav bar
dotted nav bar

Consumer Reviews of Tamko shingles

Popularity:
#10  of 13 brands of shingles

24% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 61 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    13
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    2
  • Neutral
    1
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    44

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Tamko shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

1234567Next >>

Date created: 2014-10-03 Name: T. Austin
Location: Austin, TX

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Utterly horrible"
My 25 year warranty on these "upgraded" Tamko shingles is apparently worth nothing! The shingles are curling and look awful. There is also a great loss in granules with every rain. Our roofer that our whole family has used for 2 decades (with no problem ever) says the shingles are defective. Tamko says our very experienced roofer put the shingles on incorrectly and it's not their problem. Roofer says they are installed correctly. Tamko is also blaming winds for causing the damage despite the fact that all the roofs on other homes surrounding me are fine. So, I'm stuck with a crap roof and no help. Do not buy anything from Tamko!


Date created: 2014-09-12 Name: C. Bray
Location: Somerset,Ky
Model: Heritage 30 AR

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Settlement papers"
Just got settlement papers on shingles. Was very surprised on amount shingles are bad and warranty is no good for the owner. I am being paid a very small amount as to the cost. Not happy with Tamko and will not recommend them at all. Junk Junk. I am 142 months in a 360 month warranty would have expected a better settlement when Tamko knows there is a problem. Tamko has changed warranty for new shingles just don't stand behind the people already with product. Not a very good company.


Date created: 2014-08-12 Name: Danno
Location: Barnhart, MO

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Heritage 25 year shingles"
Had Tamko's Heritage 25 year shingles installed in 1998 and 16 years later was told by a home inspector and our original roof installer that they have extensive damage and that the life expectancy of the roof shingles has expired because of major granular loss. Our roof installer said they he had so many problems and complaints about their defective shingles that he stopped installing them 8 years ago. Now we need a total roof replacement. Thanks a lot Tamko! Not even going to send in a claim after reading blogs about homeowners sending in claims and getting little if any compensation after long periods of time. If a class action lawsuit is created I will join.


Date created: 2014-07-31 Name: Marilyn Pennington
Location: Evansville, In
Model: Reliance 25

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Never buy Tamko! They do not back warranty!"
Tamko does not back their product. We put Reliance 25 on in 2000. By 2011 it was starting to curl and crack, by 2014 shingles were breaking and falling off the roof. We got leaks in three rooms all at the same time. We could not wait the 8 weeks to see what Tamko might or might not do because the leaks were sever. We followed Tamko's instructions for warranty claim, and went ahead and had a new roof put on. We did not want to use Tamko because their product failed so quickly. Because we did not use Tamko product they only offered $690.00 for a $16,000.00 roof. I do not call that backing a warranty, we should have had 11 more years on that roof.


Date created: 2014-07-14 Name: A. Allen
Location: IL
Model: Woodgate

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Great Shingles"
I've read the bad reviews and asked my roofing contractor about them. He assured me that all of the manufacturers had equally bad reviews because that's the only recourse they have, when the problem is actually with the installation. Well, I couldn't be happier with the look and warranty of my new Tamko Woodgate roof and thought I should take the time to write a review.


Need a Roofing Contractor?

Find a Local Roofing Pro with this Free Service

* Replace or Repair Existing Roof
* Roof Maintenance and Pressure Cleaning
* Leak Detection, Waterproofing, and more

Date created: 2014-05-01 Name: gordon jones
Location: lagrange ,ga

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Junk shingles"
These are junk shingles. Looking at shingles on houses in this area that have had shingles on for 10 or more years no black mold. We bought 30 year shingle not supposed to mold one side of house is not grey any more but black.


Date created: 2014-04-10 Name: Barely A Roof Over My Head
Location: Normal Illinois

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Tamko Class Action Lawsuit - Let's Go"
This home was built in 2002 and we purchased it in 2007. We are experiencing massive granular loss with a great deal of shingles exposed all the way down to the underlying fiber. This home is only 12 years old. We have had several contractors and adjusters look at the roof and they all agree that this is a manufacturer defect. The Tamko warranty states "The Owner may transfer this limited warranty one time during the first 2 years of Term to a purchaser." In my case I would have had to buy this home within the first two years from the original owner in order to take advantage of the warranty. How many owners actually sell their newly built homes within the first two years? Read between the lines, if you aren't the original owner or didn't purchase within 2 years of being built, you have no warranty on a product that is advertised to last 20 - 30 years.


Date created: 2013-12-30 Name: L. Ruppert
Location: Coulterville, IL.

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Warranty is a Hoax, shingles are junk!"
4 years into a 50 year warranty, shingles cracked and split, color washed off. Sent in a claim to Tamko, they denied claim and won't honor warranty. Will never buy again! Waste of money!


Date created: 2013-07-31 Name: Annette Johnson
Location: Fruit Heights, Utah
Model: Heritage Premier

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Tamko Heritage Premium Asphalt Shingles"
In May of 2005 we replaced all of the shingles on our roof with a Tamko 50-yr. Heritage Premier asphalt shingle. We did not want to worry about a roof for a long time! As snow melted away after the winter season in 2012 we developed a leak above our front door. We waited until the snow melted off the roof before calling a roofing company. The roofer thought the leak might have been the result of faulty flashings. He added some tar/caulking around the flashings and it appeared to solve the problem. However, he mentioned that our roof looked much older than 7 years. During the following winter (2013) our leak above our front door commenced again. At the end of the winter season we called four additional roofers out to take a look and offer recommendations. All of them suggested we file a claim with Tamko because our now 8-year old roof looks much older than 20 years old. The granules no longer exist in many areas and holes expose the roofing deck. One roofer mentioned that we probably have many leaks in our roof that we don't know about yet. We contacted Tamko the first of June of 2013. They asked for the removal of shingles, purchase documentation, pictures, and an explanation be sent to their Missouri location. At this point we were to wait 6-8 weeks for their response. About 6 weeks later we received a materials certificate in the mail covering only a prorated amount of the of the cost of materials at the time of purchase. In other words, no labor is included for removal or installation, and the materials cost when purchased was quite a bit less than it is today. We had an estimate to replace our roof and it came out at just less than $15,000. The amount we will receive from Tamko is about $1,500. I have no other words for this than "organized crime."


Date created: 2013-02-18 Name: Murray Bannerman
Location: Baldwin NY

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Mr. Murray"
I had my roof installed right before the Hurricane Sandy storm. My contractor followed all the guidelines for Tamko installation. My roof is completely intact. Thanks tamko

1234567Next >>
Find Local Roofers

My zip code is: