Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Tamko shingles

Tamko Logo

Read 117 Tamko Shingle reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#12   of 15 brands of shingles

23% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 117 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    23
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    4
  • Neutral
    2
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    2
  • Very Unsatisfied
    86

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Tamko shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous123456789101112Next >>

Date created: 2017-04-03 Name: Theodore Halkett
Location: Colonial Beach Virginia
Model: HP H

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"Classic Heritage/Rustic Cedar"
I would think this type of shingle would be alot thicker Stains easy, bird crap sticks and stays even after a several hard rains. The contractor was lousy and used the roof center here in Fredericksburg Virginia. They brought out the wrong color drip edge. The roof was already stripped, so the contractor went to the local hardware store and bought some crappy drip edge. Later the contractor came back and replaced the drip edge, what a crappy job!


Date created: 2017-03-27 Name: MARIO VIGIL remember me Diane?
Location: Aurora Colorado

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't buy"
This has to be the one the worst companys I've ever dealt with. Got my roof replaced with Tamco shingles they were all messed up I had to make a warranty claim. I Called the warranty department I talked to Diane and Barbara and they were the worst so rude disrespectful arrogant cynical and stupid. They're not the only ones I dont remember the other two ladies names but they were just as bad. They made it so hard. Then they were trying to go around my back and call other people trying to discredit me. It was just a horrible experience. Do not use these guys. I wouldn't haven used them but my hoa mandated that I used them. They must have stock or something.


Date created: 2017-03-10 Name: Amelia Austin
Location: Rose HIll

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Another Unsatisfied Customer"
Amazing how so many people are unsatisfied with this company. I too am a victim of their crappy supposedly 30 year warranty. I built my home in 2004 and in 2011 we find out that our roof is defective, tamko refuses to help with anything.. I call and their supposedly low company rep says she is that manager and refuses to listen to what I have to say. I could go on and on, but I really hope this company can sleep at night knowing that they are placing shit work on expensive homes.



Date created: 2017-01-16 Name: john smith
Location: denver
Model: shingles

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Incorrect Info"
Tamko shingle come with a 15 year Full Start Period and not a 7 as this column states! They also offer 5 years on their 1 time transfer-ability and not 2! TAMKO offers the best color line in the industry hands down and have the best up front warranty protection of any other manufacture out there!


Date created: 2017-01-14 Name: Derik Nierman
Location: Vallonia Indiana
Model: Heritage

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Do not buy Tamko shingles"
Built new home in 2009 and have had nothing but issues from the start. Shingles not sealing, blowing off in 40 mph wind, leaking and algae everywhere on north side of home. Have sent samples in twice to customer service and basically was told they weren't properly installed and the national weather service showed 70 mph winds in our area according to Tamko. This is a very poor quality company along with their shingles and customer service! Would absolutely never recommend Tamko to anyone. On another note I built a large detached garage in 2010 and used Owens Corning shingles and have not had the first issue yet. No comparison on quality!


Date created: 2017-01-12 Name: Danny Cantrell
Location: rockwall tx
Model: Slate

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Only 13 Years"
Had to replace when I sold my house. Shingles were slick, rock came off. This was a brand new roof only made it 13 years.


Date created: 2017-01-11 Name: Keith M
Location: Tallahassee

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Avoid Tamko shingles at all cost"
We bought a house in 2012 that had a roof that had been installed in 2005. So we thought geesh the roof would be good for at least a while. Now we have to sell the house and the inspector for the buyer noticed that about 50 of the shingles have lost most of their granulation down to the fiberglass. We are getting stuck having to pay for half the cost of installing a new roof! All because of this sorry company. Never ever put a roof on your house with shingles made by this company. Think the warranty is any good? Fat chance. We are not getting anything. And the "contractor" that posted on here that it has to do with installation? I don't think so! How does installation have anything to do with how a shingle wears. The shingles that are most in direct sunlight (the south and west side) are wearing the worst.


Date created: 2016-11-10 Name: Tim
Location: Goochland Va
Model: Heritage

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worthless warranty"
Purchased new home January 2011. In mid 2016 roof began leaking. Looking at the roof in the sunlight will blind you as the fiberglass showing everywhere reflects the light. Contacted Tamko and the will prorate their shingles (to their benefit) but not cover any labor costs. The full start period where they pay labor changed less than 30 days after I moved in from the 5 years I have to 15 years. So Tamko isn't paying for any labor, not paying for any ridge vent that has to be removed, not paying for the damaged decking, and are not paying for the interior damage from the leak. I paid over $12000 for the roof in 2011 and with the little help they are offering it'll cost me that much again with the shingles they didn't provide, removal, and installation just 5 years later. Sinfull!


Date created: 2016-11-02 Name: C. Kohler
Location: Hertford, NC
Model: Architectural

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Not Algae Resistant"
Tamko roofing is not algae resistant. I have black streaks all over an eight year old roof. I called customer service and a very rude young woman said they would assess it if I send two sections of the affected roof to them. When I said that was ridiculous, she said "well I guess you don't want to file a claim". I don't want to remove sections of a roof when I know I can't find the same dye lot of the shingles. I would never use this brand again.


Date created: 2016-10-13 Name: Jon Ames
Model: Heritage Tamko shingles

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Leaks, Required roof replacement."
30 year warranty not worth the paper it is written on. Opps I mean the exterior shingle package. The shingle warranty is not the shingle package so if you don't read the package you might inadvertently do something to void the warranty. The 30 year shingles went to hell in less than 10 years and required an entire roof replacement. Leaks everywhere.

<< Previous123456789101112Next >>