Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

dotted nav bar
dotted nav bar

Consumer Reviews of Tamko shingles

Popularity:
#29  of 34 brands of shingles

25% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 59 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    13
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    2
  • Neutral
    1
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    42

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Tamko shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous123456Next >>

Date created: 2012-11-11 Name: toolwells@yahoo.com
Location: Maryland

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Heritage 25 Shingle Failed After 11 Years Warranty Terrible"
Hurricane Sandy came through md and we lost 200-300 square feet of shingles. The insurance company is recommending a total roof replacement for our 11 year old roof (50 squares/5,000 sq feet). Wind gusts were up to ~75 miles per hour during the storm in our area. Warranty was only 60 months with wind gusts of only 60 miles per hour. Shingles are also brittle and we have black stains on our roof. Shingles have fallen off in other storms too. We also had leaks in four different rooms. Not sure how Tamko can continue to stay in business except that they seem to have an "in" with new builders in our area.


Date created: 2012-11-04 Name: Colette Wells

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Buy if you want to replace your roof in 10 years"
We built our house in 2001 and thought we had purchased upgraded shingles. Our shingles are actually Tamko 25 not 30. For the first few years small sections of our shingles came off multiple times. We thought this was because our roof was installed in the winter. After Hurricane Sandy came through though our roof leaked buckets and three large sections of shingles blew off. Tamko told my husband that the 80 mph wind warranty was covered only for the first 5 years. Are you kidding me? Also about 5 years after our roof was installed we had problems with algae. We need a new roof. Never never buy this brand.


Date created: 2012-08-09 Name: david quinn
Location: arnold mo.

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"failing"
Have heritage 30 year shingle that are cracking and excessive granule lost twelve years old will not make fifteen years tamko says if it not leaking its not a manufacturing defect,what a bunch of crap.


Date created: 2012-08-06 Name: X Tang

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"home owner"
New house, 5 year later, shingles blowed off the roof. Never use this brand again


Date created: 2012-08-03 Name: Geoff
Location: Minneapolis, MN

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Never again"
Had a guy install these Tamko heritage shingles about 3 years ago. Good price. I got a steep roof. Now I got shingles falling out. Roofer says Shingle problem. Tamko says call the roofer. Not sure what to do now.


Date created: 2012-07-27 Name: B.Borza
Location: Greensburg,PA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"home owner, presently have Owens-Corning Oakridge"
Measured thickness at the shadow effect laminate to be 4mm while Oakridge is 5mm and it is ~15 yrs on my roof!


Date created: 2012-07-24 Name: V. Close
Location: Kalama, WA.

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Stay Away From This Brand"
I had a 30 year warranty. They didn't even last 10 years. Shingles were cracking like crazy and then curling. I had to buy a new roof before it leaked. Does anyone know if there is a Class Action Lawsuit on this company? I want to join in. I filed a claim with the company, but was told by my roofing company, "Good Luck getting any monetary or even any response from that company". "You will never see a dime." Thios company should not even be in business.


Date created: 2012-07-09 Name: Nathan O.
Location: Hallsville, MO

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"now what?"
Did my research, put on the best roof I ever have in June of 2006. Chose the Tamko Heritage 30 ar shingle and put them over a Titanium underlayment. Installed them myself with a professional roofer running the nail gun at my side. Roof looked great till I did my inspection this summer. Edges not stuck down, curling shingles, separated shingles, cracked shingles. Now what? The whole west side looks horrible and I am sure water is now getting in. I contacted the Tamko company. Nothing yet. But it sounds to me from all the reviews and complaints I have read here and elsewhere that I will probably get the runaround from them. Don't think I will purchase Tamko shingles again.


Date created: 2012-06-15 Name: D. Hackett
Location: Huntley, IL

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Beware of Tamko roof shingles"
Built a new home in 2007 and our national builder used Tamko Heritage 30 year shingles. We've had to replace shingles 6 times since we moved in - they keep flying off in every storm. They were installed correctly and in the summer. They should have bonded together but they are built so cheap that they don't have enough sticky stuff. Don't waste your money on Tamko shingles. I think the Better Business Bureau needs to be aware of how this company operates. Rude 'customer service' lady and they don't honor their warranty or stand behind their product.


Date created: 2012-06-12 Name: M Bard
Location: Chambersburg, PA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Tampko Shingles suck"
Our Tampko shingle have lost all of the grit. They are only 6 years old. Because we are not the original owners, Tamko will not provide any warranty service to us. These shingles and the Tampko suck!!

<< Previous123456Next >>
Find Local Roofers

My zip code is: