Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

dotted nav bar
dotted nav bar

Consumer Reviews of Tamko shingles

Popularity:
#28  of 34 brands of shingles

25% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 55 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    12
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    2
  • Neutral
    1
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    39

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Tamko shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brandsWrite a review

<< Previous123456Next >>

Date created: 2012-08-03 Name: Geoff
Location: Minneapolis, MN

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Never again"
Had a guy install these Tamko heritage shingles about 3 years ago. Good price. I got a steep roof. Now I got shingles falling out. Roofer says Shingle problem. Tamko says call the roofer. Not sure what to do now.


Date created: 2012-07-27 Name: B.Borza
Location: Greensburg,PA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"home owner, presently have Owens-Corning Oakridge"
Measured thickness at the shadow effect laminate to be 4mm while Oakridge is 5mm and it is ~15 yrs on my roof!


Date created: 2012-07-24 Name: V. Close
Location: Kalama, WA.

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Stay Away From This Brand"
I had a 30 year warranty. They didn't even last 10 years. Shingles were cracking like crazy and then curling. I had to buy a new roof before it leaked. Does anyone know if there is a Class Action Lawsuit on this company? I want to join in. I filed a claim with the company, but was told by my roofing company, "Good Luck getting any monetary or even any response from that company". "You will never see a dime." Thios company should not even be in business.


Date created: 2012-07-09 Name: Nathan O.
Location: Hallsville, MO

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"now what?"
Did my research, put on the best roof I ever have in June of 2006. Chose the Tamko Heritage 30 ar shingle and put them over a Titanium underlayment. Installed them myself with a professional roofer running the nail gun at my side. Roof looked great till I did my inspection this summer. Edges not stuck down, curling shingles, separated shingles, cracked shingles. Now what? The whole west side looks horrible and I am sure water is now getting in. I contacted the Tamko company. Nothing yet. But it sounds to me from all the reviews and complaints I have read here and elsewhere that I will probably get the runaround from them. Don't think I will purchase Tamko shingles again.


Date created: 2012-06-15 Name: D. Hackett
Location: Huntley, IL

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Beware of Tamko roof shingles"
Built a new home in 2007 and our national builder used Tamko Heritage 30 year shingles. We've had to replace shingles 6 times since we moved in - they keep flying off in every storm. They were installed correctly and in the summer. They should have bonded together but they are built so cheap that they don't have enough sticky stuff. Don't waste your money on Tamko shingles. I think the Better Business Bureau needs to be aware of how this company operates. Rude 'customer service' lady and they don't honor their warranty or stand behind their product.


Date created: 2012-06-12 Name: M Bard
Location: Chambersburg, PA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Tampko Shingles suck"
Our Tampko shingle have lost all of the grit. They are only 6 years old. Because we are not the original owners, Tamko will not provide any warranty service to us. These shingles and the Tampko suck!!


Date created: 2012-06-04 Name: Cynthia Waller
Location: Plattsmouth, NE

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't Buy Tamko Organic Seal Down 25"
Roofed 2007, started to curl 2011, terrible in 2012. Had areas where the ply got wet and started to have leaks. The 25 year warranty doesn't mean anything if the product does not include the installation costs because that is what is expensive. Costs to remove the bad shingles, replace the plywood and material, then the shingles. Do not waste your money on Tamko products.


Date created: 2012-05-31 Name: Steve Decker
Location: Eureka, MO

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Next to worthless warranty after 5 years"
My 30 year roof has had excessive wear and gradual loss beginning shortly after installation. 6 years after installation I filed a claim, recommended by my contractor. Tamko gave me a prorated offer of 75% of my shingles, good for 1 year. However they would pay none of the cost of the installation. Labor is the largest cost of replacing a roof. Buyer beware of this outfit. Warranty personnel are very defensive and unfriendly to deal with.


Date created: 2012-05-30 Name: Travis H.
Location: Oklahoma City, OK

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Junk Shingles"
Built a new home in 2009 and we used Tamko Heritage 30 year shingles. They are so cheap and they keep flying off in every storm. They were installed correctly and in the summer. They should have bonded together but they are built so cheap that they don't have enough sticky stuff. Don't waste your money on Tamko shingles.


Date created: 2012-05-17 Location: Dallas,TX

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Heritage Vintage Shingles Look Great"
I live in tornado alley and prior to buying Tamco Heritage shingles I had to replace my roof every few years. After having bits and pieces of the roof repaired every Spring, I decided to buy Tamco shingles and absolutely love them. They look so sophisticated and sharp because they are multicolored and layered to have a mottled look. I have had them for almost 4 years now and been through several horrific storms with baseball size hail and yet I have not had to replace one shingle on my roof. With other brands I would have to replace them each year. I'm very glad I chose this product and would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a good roof. The best thing about these shingles is definitely the durability but they also look remarkable and come in so many different varieties. There isn't one thing I dislike about these shingles.

<< Previous123456Next >>
Find Local Roofers

My zip code is: