Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Tamko shingles

Tamko Logo
Popularity:
#12  of 15 brands of shingles

22% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 105 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    22
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    2
  • Neutral
    2
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    78

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Tamko shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous1234567891011Next >>

Date created: 2015-01-31 Name: susan walker
Location: Redford Michigan

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Tamco heritage shingles don't live up to 25 year warranty"
My roof is 10 years old. When high winds come I lose a huge chunk of the shingles off my roof every time. Roof already looks old and the shingles never adhered to each other. Like they should have. Getting a new roof in the spring. So much for the 25 year warranty! No more Tamko for me!


Date created: 2015-01-31 Name: james
Location: Jacksonville, Fl
Model: 35 Year Architectural

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Short life of shingle"
I am in Jacksonville, FL and put a Tamko 35 year rated architectural shingle on my home. By year 13, there was so much shingle granular material on the ground and so much fiberglass showing on the shingle that the roof should have been replaced. The shingles did seal well to each other and the 30 lb felt used at that time has kept me for the most part water resistant. I am sensitive to proper roof venting problems in FL so I added 2 additional vents when these shingles were installed.


Date created: 2015-01-08 Name: Jackie Traverson
Location: Bolivar MO United States

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Tamko 7 year at best"
These shingles are the worst I have ever seen and I was married to a roofing contractor. I bought a brand new house in Nov 2006 and in July I about lost my whole roof, water pouring in every room due to shingles flying off like frisbees. They are half the thickness of most and don't have enough tar to make them stick together. What a nightmare with buckets all over my 4 bedroom house, water pouring in like the falls in every room, in the middle of the night, while listening to shingles flapping all over the roof. Every room had to be treated for stains and painted. Don't buy Tamko!



Date created: 2014-12-08 Name: Tony Tony
Location: Romney, WV
Model: Architectural

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"These shingled are terrible and do not seal"
These, by far, are the worst shingles I have ever had installed. I had a professional installer put these on a few years ago (they are 30 year shingles)... It was a very warm day (90+) and the shingles did not seal on over half my roof. I have literally had to re-install almost half my roof in the past 5 years. I am just biding my time until I can install metal. Note: never buy this product!


Date created: 2014-10-03 Name: T. Austin
Location: Austin, TX

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Utterly horrible"
My 25 year warranty on these "upgraded" Tamko shingles is apparently worth nothing! The shingles are curling and look awful. There is also a great loss in granules with every rain. Our roofer that our whole family has used for 2 decades (with no problem ever) says the shingles are defective. Tamko says our very experienced roofer put the shingles on incorrectly and it's not their problem. Roofer says they are installed correctly. Tamko is also blaming winds for causing the damage despite the fact that all the roofs on other homes surrounding me are fine. So, I'm stuck with a crap roof and no help. Do not buy anything from Tamko!


Date created: 2014-09-12 Name: C. Bray
Location: Somerset,Ky
Model: Heritage 30 AR

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Settlement papers"
Just got settlement papers on shingles. Was very surprised on amount shingles are bad and warranty is no good for the owner. I am being paid a very small amount as to the cost. Not happy with Tamko and will not recommend them at all. Junk Junk. I am 142 months in a 360 month warranty would have expected a better settlement when Tamko knows there is a problem. Tamko has changed warranty for new shingles just don't stand behind the people already with product. Not a very good company.


Date created: 2014-08-12 Name: Danno
Location: Barnhart, MO

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Heritage 25 year shingles"
Had Tamko's Heritage 25 year shingles installed in 1998 and 16 years later was told by a home inspector and our original roof installer that they have extensive damage and that the life expectancy of the roof shingles has expired because of major granular loss. Our roof installer said they he had so many problems and complaints about their defective shingles that he stopped installing them 8 years ago. Now we need a total roof replacement. Thanks a lot Tamko! Not even going to send in a claim after reading blogs about homeowners sending in claims and getting little if any compensation after long periods of time. If a class action lawsuit is created I will join.


Date created: 2014-07-31 Name: Marilyn Pennington
Location: Evansville, In
Model: Reliance 25

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Never buy Tamko! They do not back warranty!"
Tamko does not back their product. We put Reliance 25 on in 2000. By 2011 it was starting to curl and crack, by 2014 shingles were breaking and falling off the roof. We got leaks in three rooms all at the same time. We could not wait the 8 weeks to see what Tamko might or might not do because the leaks were sever. We followed Tamko's instructions for warranty claim, and went ahead and had a new roof put on. We did not want to use Tamko because their product failed so quickly. Because we did not use Tamko product they only offered $690.00 for a $16,000.00 roof. I do not call that backing a warranty, we should have had 11 more years on that roof.


Date created: 2014-07-14 Name: A. Allen
Location: IL
Model: Woodgate

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Great Shingles"
I've read the bad reviews and asked my roofing contractor about them. He assured me that all of the manufacturers had equally bad reviews because that's the only recourse they have, when the problem is actually with the installation. Well, I couldn't be happier with the look and warranty of my new Tamko Woodgate roof and thought I should take the time to write a review.


Date created: 2014-05-01 Name: gordon jones
Location: lagrange ,ga

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Junk shingles"
These are junk shingles. Looking at shingles on houses in this area that have had shingles on for 10 or more years no black mold. We bought 30 year shingle not supposed to mold one side of house is not grey any more but black.

<< Previous1234567891011Next >>