Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

dotted nav bar
dotted nav bar

Consumer Reviews of BP shingles

Popularity:
#11  of 13 brands of shingles

15% of customers recommend
1.5 of 5 stars 94 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    14
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    1
  • Neutral
    3
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    75

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about BP shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

12345678910Next >>

Date created: 2015-05-26 Name: Carolyn Saumur
Location: Ajax, On. Canada
Model: Rampart Organic

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Shingles starting to lift + brown edges."
Had our roof done through Sears, but Sears takes no responsibility. Sears advised to go through BP claims, which was under a class action suit for defective shingles; our are suppose to be 25 year Rampart organic shingles. We filed all the forms around April, just after the snow ended, and took so many pictures, we could probably fill an album. BP did not honour all our defective pictures, and now we have to file a review, to claim the whole roof, since all shingles are starting to lift and edges are turning brown. BP was only willing to give us under $2000, but only if we use their shingles again. Why should we have to use their shingles, since are not worthy of 25 years warranty. We are also very dissatisfied with Sears, since we gave them our money.


Date created: 2015-05-16 Name: Ben
Location: London, Ontario
Model: Eclipse

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Do not buy these"
These shingles look great and are super affordable. Other than that they are horrible and no good. I installed BP Eclipse Shingles (lifetime) in 2006 and have to redo my entire roof now (2015). I sued their company and have received money to offset the cost of new shingles. Everybody reading this do yourself a huge favour and forget about BP. They sell a horrible product that is going to cost you more in the long run.


Date created: 2015-02-19 Name: Edna Potski
Location: Tecumseh, Ontario
Model: Everest 42

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Beautiful Roof"
I purchased BP shingles to be installed on my home in the spring of 2014. I could not believe the amazing colour and vibrant look of the shingles. I had done my homework on the products the roofers had suggested and read some reviews, not all good I might add, though all shingle manufacturers have bad reviews and lawsuits in the past. What I really liked was the 15 year prorated warranty, the best in the industry by 5 years. Being Canadian and supporting local economy is important to me and my family, coupled with the best warranty, and shingles designed for our climate. I love the look of my shingles and have the nicest roof on my street, Thanks BP!


Date created: 2015-01-31 Name: John & Debbie Major
Location: Essex, Canada
Model: Everest Shingles

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Great job, quality, and warranty"
Thank you Certified Affordable Roofing for the great job! BP Everest shingles were installed on our home because of they are 100% Canadian owned and operated and because of the unsurpassed quality and warranty they provide. We live in Essex Ontario Canada and have very extreme weather here. Hail, tornadoes wind and ice storms. We had previously used iko Cambridge shingles that lasted only 13 years before being replaced. BP has given us an upfront warranty of 15 years labour and materials where all others offer only 10. Thank you


Date created: 2014-10-15 Name: G Hawkridge
Location: Pontypool, Ontario.
Model: 25 year

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"BP 25 year shingles are garbage and they should be replaced free of charge"
We have had BP shingles installed on our retirement home, they were replaced 1 year later as they were all faulty. They then installed the same shingles again and we are now being sucked into there class action suit after another 12 years. They are trying to cheat us out of a fair and justified settlement. They are trying to settle with less than $2,000 and only then if we agree to buy their product again. No allowance for roof vents, tarpaper, or frost barrier. The whole thing is a scam and I don't know how they are getting away with this. Thousands of seniors are being cheated from a fair settlement. Its time someone started a new class action suit, so we can get some real justice to this unbelievable con game.


Need a Roofing Contractor?

Find a Local Roofing Pro with this Free Service

* Replace or Repair Existing Roof
* Roof Maintenance and Pressure Cleaning
* Leak Detection, Waterproofing, and more

Date created: 2014-10-04 Name: Rich Baker
Location: Essex County, Massachusetts

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Horrible Product"
We had 25 year warranty BPoC shingles installed on our roof 12 years ago, and they have completely failed. We filed our warranty claim in July, and just received the denial of our claim. We have had roofers look at our roof, and they say it is the worst they have ever seen. We just filed our "Review of the Denial" form, and will see what comes of that...


Date created: 2014-09-26 Name: jd
Location: delaware

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Do Your Homework"
15 year non proration period, 5 better than gaf. 10 yrs on the copper granule to prevent algae. Atlas lifetime is smoke and mirrors.


Date created: 2013-11-02 Name: Ray E
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Model: Harmony

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Shingles come off after "High" winds"
We had our shingles replaced in 2007 with BP Harmony shingles. Every year since then we have had about a bundle or 2 of shingles come off our roof from winds rated well below the manufacture wind warranty. After 6 years I had enough and tried to get warranty for the shingles. They said we were no longer covered under warranty. This is suppose to be a 25-35 year shingle. There is no way they will last that long. Many other home owners in our town have had a similar experience. Do not buy these shingles. Poor quality and terrible support.


Date created: 2013-08-22 Name: M Jackson
Location: North Troy, VT

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't Honor Warranty"
Can't get insurance on my home due to faulty cheap shingles that don't last from BP Canada. They refuse to honor there warranty after 3 claim attempts.


Date created: 2013-05-13 Name: KHughes
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Model: Harmony

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Very Unsatisfied"
Built our home in 2007 and chose the Harmony 35 year shingle because we didn't want to have to worry about our roof. They are rated for 110 mph winds, so we should be fine right? Unfortunately not. Every year we have had to replace shingles that have been blown off by the wind. Then we found out that the tacking used on our year of shingles was defective. So bp did reimbursed me for the cost to have them all hand tacked. I was told that our roof would be more solid than any other new roof. Now, one year later, I have had a roofer out twice to replace more shingles. And to add insult to injury, the shingles don't match. Close but you can see the difference. And our home is only 6 years old!

12345678910Next >>
Find Local Roofers

My zip code is: