Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of BP shingles

Popularity:
#12  of 14 brands of shingles

20% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 112 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    22
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    1
  • Neutral
    3
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    85

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about BP shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

123456789101112Next >>

Date created: 2016-07-05 Name: Keith
Location: Ontario Canada
Model: Rampart 25 year

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Complete junk, do not buy them"
Be it a bad product or purposeful strategy, the amount of money that Emco - BP made by selling shingles that did not last even half of the warranty period would be simply staggering. The class action law suit brought against them and the minuscule amount they have paid out under it is just pocket change compared to the hundreds of millions made by effectively doubling sales of this defective product. Many people have reported that the 30 yr old shingles they removed were in better shape than the Emco - BP shingles after 8 to 10 yrs. This was also my experience. I bought mine at Home Depot(Rampart 25yr in Emco packaging).They were installed in 2006 and by the winter of 2015 they had completely and utterly disintegrated over the entire roof causing multiple leaks. I noted within days of installing them that with every rain my eave-troughs would fill with the sand that washed off them. Truth is I should have clued in about the extremely poor quality when I noted the shingles shedding great amounts of sand straight out of the bundles as they were opened. Look elsewhere for your shingles, there are much better products and don't be fooled by the companies damage control and shills who are flooding the internet with positive reviews. Truth is, in the BP - Emco 25yr and under warranty class shingles, no happy customers could "possibly" exist. Class lawsuits and thousands upon thousands of angry customers shouldn't be ignored or forgotten when considering your next roof.


Date created: 2016-06-30 Name: L. Heilig
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Model: Everest 42

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"I swore that I would not do BP again, but I did."
This brief text is to correct the typo in the title of my review of June 27, 2016 which I am unable to have edited. I will also add that some of the problems that drove owners of previous generation BP organic three tab shingles to file a class action suit should disappear with the latest generation of fiberglass laminated 3D shingles. Classic shingles, with their 3 tab, perfectly flat look showed off their deterioration with age very easily. The new generation without tabs has one third the number of corners to curl and the laminations partly stiffen the shingles at the corners to reduce this curling effect. The best BP shingle made in 1995 (30 year warranty) was 0.15" thick. The near top of the line BP shingle available in 2016 (40 year warranty) is 0.1" thick where there is a single lamination and 0.2" thick where there is a double lamination. The 1" narrow nailing strip is a double lamination throughout and is also 0.2" thick, which means that all nails go through the thickest part of the shingle. The exposed part of any shingle has the greatest chance over time of detaching from the unexposed part. With a thicker nailing strip, and two lines of glue on the BP laminated shingle, this exposed part has less chance of pulling away even if it cracks. While these shingles may appear to wear as they age, as long as the unexposed part of the shingle remains intact, then the underlayment can go on protecting against water infiltration.


Date created: 2016-06-27 Name: L. Heilig
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Model: Everest 42

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"I swore I would do BP again, but I did"
I personally installed BP Tradition with their 30 year warranty back in 1995. Fifteen years later, they were loosing granules and this defect was not covered under the original warranty. However, 2 years later, under the class action suit, this defect was added to the list, and I chose the cash payment of $500 rather than a $2000 credit for a re- installation of BP shingles. My logic was that my roof, with its double layer of building paper, could tough it out another 5 years and that would buy me time to shop around for an alternative product such as resin tiles, galvanized steel, concrete tiles, copper. My roof did make it another 5 years thanks to some patching, but it was my insurance company who wrote me in 2015 saying that 20 years was the limit for my existing asphalt shingle roof before the contract conditions would change. I was ready to do a standing seam copper roof, but my suburban city permit office turned me down citing lack of harmony with the neighbourhood. Resin was more expensive than copper. Galvanized steel or aluminium had not been around long enough to confirm that the paint would not flake off in the sun after 30 plus years. Concrete tiles weighed too much for the building. So it was back to shopping for asphalt shingles and what tipped the scale in favour of BP over IKO and other brands was the patented second band of adhesive on the underside of the BP (laminated 3d) shingle which others not have. My reasoning was the following. Assuming that the recent switch over from the paper core to the fibreglass core would not substantially increase the lifespan of the second generation shingles, then what would give a deteriorating shingle the greatest chance to stay on the roof and protect the underlayment from the sun? I concluded that the second adhesive band on the modern BP laminated shingle would help. Unlike in 1995 where I used building paper, in 2016 I decided for a number of reasons to cover the whole roof deck with Grace Ice and Water Shield. The membrane cost as much as the shingles, that's why few professionals will promote this approach. If you are working alone like me over several weeks, you need a membrane which won't blow off when exposed to the wind while your project progresses. Grace has the stickiest membrane out there and unlike its competitors, did not require an expensive and time consuming primer coat on the bare wooden deck. Installation of the membrane works best using the “roll back” method described in their video. It took me eight days to exfoliate 1400 sq. Ft. Of old BP shingles and apply the Grace membrane. Another thing I did to give the BP Everest shingles the best chance to surpass the 20 year mark was to install twice the number of MaxiVents (model 301). Where there were two MaxiVents, there were now four spread out evenly. Where there was a small mushroom vent over the attached garage, there is now a full fifth MaxiVent. There is no rule against increasing ventilation as long as the intake area at the soffits matches the exit area at the ridge to a ratio of 40% top to 60% bottom, so that there is a net positive pressure in the attic that won't suck out the heat or cold from the living space below via the cracks above partition walls. I plan to increase my soffit venting to match the five MaxiVents. Already I can tell that my attic is cooler than in past years for the same summer season. And that lower attic heat should translate into less wear on the asphalt shingles in summer and less frost build-up in the winter on the underside of the roof deck. My 2016 roofing project is nearly over and has taken 221 hours thus far and all that is left to do is to install the BP Yukon ridge shingles. My overall material cost (including container rental) was $4966 cad for a 1400 sq. Ft. Roof and I am left with a brand new roofing nailer and edge grinder worth $600, and 4 packages of unused shingles worth $100. With 4 skylight systems that created obstacles to work around, a diy installed copper base and counter flashing around the chimney, 2 diy created copper plumbing waste stack vents, and the full Grace membrane installation, I figure that a professional would have charged me well over $10000 for labor and materials and not done as good a job in the areas that required the project to be temporarily halted while some delicate remedial action took place such as reinforcing the thin aspenite deck in places where it had sagged excessively. I'm in my late sixties in age and in 20 years I won't have the energy to re-roof myself for the third time in my life, so I hope that the new BP shingles will last longer this time and that my insurance company won’t pester me unjustifiably in 2036.



Date created: 2016-06-26 Name: john
Location: Montreal Canada

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Very bad and no after sales service."
Shingles started to curl and lose granules, 2 years after Spent $5000.00 in 2005, submitted application for refund refused for no valid reason. BP are the worst shingles. The shingles that were on for 30 years were in better condition that BP after 2 years.


Date created: 2016-05-13 Name: G. Sidawy
Location: Ajax

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Warranty and after sale service is meaningless -- stay away"
The shingles on our roof failed after 10 years and got absolutely no support from BP. Early on in the warranty process it became crystal clear to me that BP will put every claim through a meaningless bureaucratic process knowing full well that most people will simply go away out of frustration. I am semi retired and I have 30 years experience dealing with Big Business so I had all the time in the world to chase these guys. On that point in my 30 years of dealing with all walks of business around the world (Big and Small) I have never seen such a disastrous poorly run company as BP. One year after my first contact regarding warranty I have sent dozens of emails, phone calls and hours of dealing with BP's bureaucratic process I finally hired a Lawyer and settled for a pittance of what we originally paid. By the way there is a class action suit against BP -- if that alone isn't enough to scare you away from using BP products.


Date created: 2016-03-31 Name: D C
Location: central , nh

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Shingles Warranty Problems"
They were a nightmare to deal with. They only will pay a small pro rated amount of the shingles when they were new. Had us jump through way too many hoops to consider getting paid anything. Then want you to use BP again for the new roof! Are they kidding! If you do not use BP again you get way less back.


Date created: 2016-03-12 Name: George P
Location: Montreal

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Warranty Length is Fiction"
Roof lasted about half length of warranty (12 years). Awarded laughable sum through laughable evaluation system conducted by distance for the class action lawsuit. Could not be unhappier with product and outcome.


Date created: 2015-11-27 Name: Nathalie LeBlanc
Location: Moncton, NB
Model: Rampart & Mystique

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"One Happy Old Lady!"
I filed a claim back in the spring for my old Rampart shingles. The process was a lot paper work but, the local rep helped me through it and made it much simpler for me and explained the process and took the photo's for me as, I'm 75. I did well and happy with the results. The new Mystique Shingles look great on there now and I have a 50 year warranty through one of there Certified installers! I think this should last me out.


Date created: 2015-11-20 Name: Hector Guitard
Location: Perth Andover N.B

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Warranty Claim"
Talked to Kevin Arseneau the BP rep he was very helpful of putting my paper work through for warranty. I'm very happy with his knowledge with BP. Now I'm just waiting for BP to move to the next step of issuing me credit for my shingles.


Date created: 2015-11-10 Name: Yvon Williams
Location: Moncton NB, Canada

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Satisfied Client"
I recently submitted a claim on my home's roofing and I must say, I was really impressed with Sales Representative, Kevin Arsenault's assistance in informing me on the claims process. Kevin was very clear in explaining the steps to follow. He gave me the timelines for each process and I must say that they were all accurate. I thought that the compensation was fair and I'm quite satisfied with the outcome. Quite often when people have after sales claims, they come out of it quite frustrated and with negative results. I, on the other hand am very pleased with the outcome. Kudos to Kevin in the professional manner that he addressed my issue. He really cares and it was certainly shows. It doesn't hurt that he has a great sense of humour as well.

123456789101112Next >>