Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of BP shingles

Read 127 BP Shingle reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#13   of 15 brands of shingles

20% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 127 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    25
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    1
  • Neutral
    3
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    97

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about BP shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

12345678910111213Next >>

Date created: 2017-10-28 Name: Dave H.
Location: Wainwright, AB

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"BP Warranty is Worthless"
Contacted BP, sent in a bunch of pictures, my roofing contractor filled out tons of paperwork and the contractor and I are still splitting repair costs on our own. BP waited until the claim timed out and continue to offer no customer service


Date created: 2017-09-05 Name: Natasha .C
Location: New Brunswick

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worst service and product ever"
30 year shingle warranty needed to be replaced after 8 years. Been fighting with BP to honor their warranty on a crap product. Tried to say paying 7000$ towards a 20,000$ job was fair. 14 months later, they still haven't come good for it.


Date created: 2017-07-21 Name: Bob
Location: Peterborough ON
Model: Everest 42

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worst look ever - I'm tearing it out and replacing with Cambridge"
Never seen anything like it. The marketing picture looks great - my roofer (25 years experience) told me he never installs BP for this reason. They are crap.



Date created: 2017-06-29 Name: k. halwa
Location: Leduc Alberta
Model: Mystique

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Beware!"
I recently had to deal with BP warranty department for the shingles that I have had on my barn for maybe 2 yrs. The top ridge and a few parts on the side have missing or folded shingles. After taking time to send all of the information and mail shingle samples, their reason for not covering their product was installer error "No Hand Tabbing" I talked to another roofer in my area that roofed my main house with IKO shingles 4 yrs ago and they still look new. He said that is their way of getting out of warranty claim and that is shingles are done correctly "No Hand tabbing should be needed" Just a warning to anyone looking to install BP shingles on their homes, buyer beware chances are low that they will stand behind their product.


Date created: 2017-05-10 Name: C. Nuccio
Location: Saint-Hubert
Model: Mystique

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Steer away from this manufacturer"
Installed a 25yr warranty shingle. Lasted only 12. Their shingles rot in less than half of their 'so called' warranty and their expiry date. I don't recommend this manufacturer. Read the articles on their company in Montreal Gazette, La facture, Journal de Montreal. Do your research and find a more reliable manufacturer.


Date created: 2017-05-01 Name: June Lynch
Location: Dundas, Ontario
Model: BP Ramparty

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Shingles like burnt toast!"
Realize there is a class action against bp but I am too old to pursue this. I also got "stung" with their products. Had a new roof installed 8 years ago with a 25 year guarantee. My roof is nothing but crumbles - like burnt toast! There are "crumbs" of shingle all over my deck and the rain is coming into my house. What upsets me most is that the roofer has totally washed their hands of this inferior product and told me I have to fight the matter with the manufacturer myself. Learnt a lesson from this - don't believe the roofer even if they come recommended. Next time I will certainly go far more into the guarantees offered by the roofing company because the guarantee from bp was rubbish.


Date created: 2017-04-21 Name: Stan L.
Location: Toronto
Model: Mystique 42

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Weird color, does not lay flat"
Recently I obtained price quotes. Cheapest was for BP mystique 42 which sounded like a cool name. A shingle is a shingle right? Wrong! My roof is so ugly I feel like moving, painting my roof or spending another $5000 to tear it off and start again. Bp 42 Mystique came in charcoal but somehow my charcoal color is a red and green checkerboad. Weird color. Shingles do not lay flat. Bp calls it 3d effect. I call it poor design crappy looking product where shingles curl in corners and are twisted and worn out looking like they dried out and shrunk already. Totally ugly roof! Now I see class action lawsuits, poor customer service, no meaningful warranty, and that bp mystique shinges ladt only a few years, not 10 years and not 30 years! What a disappointment. Not at all like the glossy color brochure!


Date created: 2017-04-17 Name: Alex
Location: Toronto

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Falling apart, granular loss"
There is no way a reputable roofer worth half his salt would post a positive review about BP. I had two extremely well known for their reputation roofing companies take a look at my bp roof, which is 2 years old and decaying and they both said it's an inferior shingle although it's BP's top of the line 30 year shingle. Not only BP is not doing anything about it but they also dragged me through 2 years of e-mail requests for various drawings, plans, pictures, videos, inspections, lost documents before giving me an answer. My roof is only 2 years old, installed by an approved BP roofer, also well known for the quality of his work and is literally falling apart, I have granular loss from the shingles literally raining down my deck when I am eating, in my hot tub, everywhere, all the time, every day for the last two years


Date created: 2017-02-21 Name: MacDonald
Location: VancouverBritish Columbia
Model: Tite On Shingles - 20 year

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"BP / Emco Warranty Not Worth the Paper It is Written On"
My 20 year warranty BP Tite-On shingles were installed in May 2002. The west facing shingles and south /south west shingles to a lesser degree degraded over the years (cupping / shedding of the stones on the surface of the shingle) and eventually wholesale degradation of the shingle surface. I participated in the class action suite and my claim was denied twice. The BP product installed on my roof may have had inadequate UV protectant used in the manufacturing process and the underlying surface material appears to be problematic when bonding to the asphalt when exposed to summer heat. In the class action suite I was asked if I wanted to be present during the inspection. I indicated yes. No one from BP presented themselves for an inspection. I would suggest that any person considering purchasing a roofing product from Building Products of Canada Corp (BP) avoid doing so. It also brings into question the honesty and integrity of the parent company (Emco). Why bother having a warranty on your product when the warranty issues are not addressed?


Date created: 2016-10-08 Name: G. Mas
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa
Model: Everest

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Incredible."
Not quite sure what all the fuss is about!? I have been installing bp shingles for a while now and all of my customers absolutely adore them. They look amazing and they are easy to install. I have never had one complaint or have had to come back for any issue at all. In my humble opinion, most of these complaints are fake and posted by folks who are fans of other brands or work for other brand's companies. That would be the only explanation for this type of vitriol against a good company. Other contractors in the area also swear by bp so I know its not only myself. Just thought I would give my two cents. Cheers~

12345678910111213Next >>