Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of BP shingles

Popularity:
#13  of 15 brands of shingles

21% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 121 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    25
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    1
  • Neutral
    3
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    91

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about BP shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous12345678910111213Next >>

Date created: 2011-11-19 Name: Bill
Location: Ontario

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"OH MY GOD!!!"
Our roof has been on for nine years and is a disaster. We have been trying to get some satisfaction from the company we contracted with but are getting played like a dog and pony show, and it appears it is bp. First they wanted a sample and the model of shingle, both of which I supplied. Then they wanted more pictures, which they have got. Now they say it is not their shingle. I went back through my picture archives on the computer and found four pictures of the installers on the roof with bp shingles. That was today (Saturday) On Monday they get the pictures. Stay tuned for the next installment.


Date created: 2011-11-10 Name: Don Bowen
Location: Quebec

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Re : did 15 year shingles in 8 years!!"
I had to re-shingle my roof this June because the 15 year shingles from bp were finished!! I was also looking at a class action suit against bp, or I will have to have my lawyer set in. This is not right for a company to warranty a product and not stand by. I emailed then in May and sent pictures I took of the roof, and gave them 10 days to reply, nothing. It cost another 8,000 to redo the roof this June. Cut into our vacation budget. I am also interested in a law suit against bp. Contact: don.bowen@sympatico.ca


Date created: 2011-11-10 Name: SFF
Location: Gretna, LA

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"BP Eclipse 50 year shingles"
Newly installed bp 50 year shingle roof on 8/9/11. Shingle color was silver grey, and looks impressive in appearance compared to all the other 30 year shingle roofs in my area (gaf and oc shingles.) I've read the previous reviews about bp shingles, and in depth over gaf, oc, and Certainteed, and decided on these 50 year shingles. Should a significant weather event occur, I doubt any shingle other than impact resistant shingles would hold up to any degree, and they are too expensive to warrant a purchase, in my opinion. A good installation is essential. Limited Lifetime Warranty is a joke as well, in my opinion. Disaster --> insurance company pays for --> new roof --> rinse & repeat.



Date created: 2011-11-04 Name: Don

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"BP Shingles Garbage"
The bp shingles are garbage and would not recommend. 25 year shingles were installed in 2009 by a local contractor. Shingles are curling and in terrible shape after 12 years , ridge cap is in desperate need of replacement cracked and patched with roofing cement until spring. Contractor no longer uses bp. Replacing roof in the spring. From other reviews it looks like bp does not stand by their warranty. I will never use a bp product again and others do the same.


Date created: 2011-10-31 Name: J Castle
Location: Columbus, OH
Model: Everest

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Everest"
This BP Everest shingle is hands down the best shingle on the market. With the colors offerings I was able to choose from to the lasting impression on my wife's face. I would recommend these shingles for years to come.


Date created: 2011-10-19 Name: Ron O'Connor
Location: Tillsonburg Ontario

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Krap Shingles"
The first 11 houses on my street were built at the same time in the summer of 1999. All houses were built with exactly the same shingle style and colour (bp). In 2004 I had my first leak, no problem stuff happens so I had it repaired. Next year another leak another repair. Then I notice how quickly the shingles are deteriorating. In 2006 two of my neighbors put on new shingles, in 2008 three of my neighbors put on new shingles, in 2011 I get another leak and 2 more of my neighbors have major leaks. All 11 houses now have new shingles. Maximum life of these shingles....maybe 6 to 10 years!! A good investment...NOT!


Date created: 2011-10-10 Name: rick
Location: holden, mass

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"BP premium shingles"
25 yr shingles, curling and lifting after 11 years. Stay away from these shingles, big bucks to replace roof after 11 years.


Date created: 2011-09-29 Name: Mike
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Model: mystique

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"MYSTIQUE"
I don't understand the complaints. Had BP mystique shingles put on our roof 2 years ago. They look great and we have had no problems.


Date created: 2011-09-11 Name: Charlie
Location: Newport, RI

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Shingles falling apart in less than 9 years"
I started to notice that the granular surface material was coming off extensively on the south side of the roof in less than 9 years after installation. I filed a complaint with BP Canada, which, after a year, they denied, stating that the roof was 'not vented'. The roof is vented, but they still maintain the problem is not in the manufacture of their shingles. Since that time the shingles continued to deteriorate, including extensive loss of surface material, curling on the edges, and some have even developed holes in them. They are horrible. Stay away from this manufacturer. (I have a 2nd home that had CertainTeed shingles installed around the same time, and they show no signs of wear.)


Date created: 2011-08-19 Name: Harold l. Schwartz
Location: Stamford, CT

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"We need to hire a lawyer for class action"
I have the same problem with BP of Canada. They use every excuse as to why they are not honoring their 25 year guarantee. They claim, that I have to have a leak first and then after much review they claim that my ventilation is not good. They had sent someone before to inspect the shingles and the inspector said the shingle are definitely defective. I say that is there is a lawyer out there that would like to do a class action against BP, I am willing to be a part of that class actions suit. Harold L. Schwartz catlogking@aol.com

<< Previous12345678910111213Next >>