Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Iko shingles

Iko Logo

Read 185 Iko Shingle reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#14   of 15 brands of shingles

18% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 185 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    33
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    2
  • Neutral
    2
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    147

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Iko shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous12345678910111213141516171819Next >>

Date created: 2012-10-28 Name: G. Greene
Location: Dartmouth NS
Model: Aristocrat 25 (Calgary)

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Crappy shingles"
In 2007 my roof was re-shingled with iko Aristocrat 25 shingles. Noticed after 4 years that they were starting to curl and discolour. Also noticed an accumulation of grit in my evestrove. Sent samples and photos to iko. Advised by iko warranty people that this normal. IKO's motto is Setting the Standard. I agree, they are setting the standard for manufacturing an inferior shingle and deceptive marketing practices.


Date created: 2012-10-24 Name: Wm. Fisher
Location: Rochester, NY
Model: Aristocrat 25 (Calgary)

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"PURE CRAP"
Had my roof replaced (with a tear off of old roof) in 1996 with iko shingles... With a 25 year warranty. 16 years later my roof was leaking. Called the contractor that put did the work, he went up on the roof and looked at the shingles. He said they are cracked and "creeping" (moving apart) and I needed a new roof. He told us how iko would not stand by their product and he's had multiple customers that had the same problem.


Date created: 2012-09-14 Name: Kevin Werner
Location: Medinah, IL
Model: Aristocrat 25 (Calgary)

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Do Not Buy IKO !!!!!!!!"
35 year warranty shingles have disintegrated after 12 years. My insurance company cancelled my homeowners policy because the roof shingles are so bad. These iko Aristocrat shingles have failed on other houses in our area. Do not buy iko !!



Date created: 2012-08-27 Name: Heather
Model: Superseal 20

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"4 years & they started falling off"
As usual the warranty does not stand up. They blame the installer who has had a roofing company for a number of years.


Date created: 2012-08-18 Name: John
Location: Toronto Ontario
Model: Aristocrat 25 (Calgary)

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Bad shingles"
We had a total strip and re-shingle in 2000, this included some plywood replacement (this was done by a roofing company). In 2007 I noticed several tabs missing in the spring. They had left 1 extra bundle, so I thought I would just replace the missing shingles. Unfourtunitly when I opened the bundle, all of the shingles were cracked! Great shingle, they don't even last stored in the garage. To date I have replaced about 2 bundles worth of shingle - every year I go up and replace the cracked and missing ones. It looks like Aristocrat 25 shingles are not part of the class action suit, it maybe for the best, their are so many restriction, it would be tough getting anything.


Date created: 2012-08-15 Name: B. Anderson
Location: Monadnock region of NH
Model: Chateau

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"IKO Chateau Failure"
35 year warranty shingles have disintegrated after 14 years. My insurance company cancelled my homeowners policy because the roof shingles are so bad. These IKO Chateau shingles have failed on other houses in our area. Do not buy IKO !!


Date created: 2012-08-13 Name: Phil Hollingsworth
Location: Chicago, IL
Model: Cambridge LT

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"A very well made shingle"
As a company we have been slowly moving our mix of shingles from gaf to iko. We are currently about 50% iko and 50% gaf. We find the performance of the iko Cambridge lt to be superior to the Timberline hd. We began using the Cambridge in 2010. To this date we have not received a single blow off compaint. In the same time span we have had blow off of the Timberline. Not major, mind you, but it does exist. I believe the lighter weight of the Timberline does indeed contribute this, their "facts" nothwithstanding. We also like the fact that we use fewer shingles per job. It saves a bit in nail cost. Because the Timberline does not cover 100 sq. Ft/3 bundles we generally need to order 1-2 bundles extra per job. This does increase our cost and in today's economic climate that means alot. We will continue to use the Timberline as it is requested by many of our prospects and is a good product. We just feel IKO Cambridge to be superior overall.


Date created: 2012-08-09 Name: Hal
Location: Toronto Ontario
Model: Aristocrat 25 (Calgary)

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Aristocrat 25 Year Warranty - Toronto"
Shingles have failed totally causing roof leaks and now forced under pressure to replace the roof. IKO is insisting on needing sample shingles and only allowing a small percentage of the value of the shingles. 14 years from install and only allowing 25% allowance.


Date created: 2012-08-01 Name: Grant
Location: Quebec, Canada
Model: Aristocrat 25 (Calgary)

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Taking to court"
Aristocrat shingles were starting to "blister" after 2 years. Called roofer, he called iko, they sent an "inspector", who was actually a sales rep from one of their dealers. First, he said the ventilation was not sufficient on my new extension of the house. So, I said, "ok, I'll call my roofer and contractor and tell them they designed the roof and ventilation wrong.". The inspector goes "no, no, don't do that!", Because he didn't want me to piss off their customers. So they did nothing. Now after 8 years the shingles sre starting to fall apart. Sent a letter to iko, told them I was going to redo the whole roof ($8k), and sue them in Small Claims Court, which is free here. They didn't reply, until a Court in Ontario granted a law firm permission to go ahead with a class action lawsuit for the whole country. Now iko wants me to file a claim, so they can give me a few free shingles. If thousands of complainants in Canada get shingles and labor, iko is out business.


Date created: 2012-07-26 Name: S.W.H.
Location: Louisville, KY

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't stand behind problems."
We are a roofing distributor that sold iko for a short time in the past. I was aware of past issues and was warned by others that when you had a complaint, iko would not stand behind their product. Had complaints on the first 3 jobs we sold and even after the iko sales rep agreed to replace them with labor, it took over 2 years to resolve. We would not sell iko again regardless of their very cheap price. The old adage "you get what you pay for" certainly applies. Labor, tear off, and accessory costs are the same, which is 2/3 of the job cost, regardless of what shingles are applied. Spend a little more on your shingles to get a roof that the manufacturer will stand behind. Avoid iko and any contractor that promotes them!!!

<< Previous12345678910111213141516171819Next >>