Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Iko shingles

Iko Logo
Popularity:
#14  of 15 brands of shingles

18% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 180 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    32
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    2
  • Neutral
    2
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    143

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Iko shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous123456789101112131415161718Next >>

Date created: 2012-08-15 Name: B. Anderson
Location: Monadnock region of NH
Model: Chateau

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"IKO Chateau Failure"
35 year warranty shingles have disintegrated after 14 years. My insurance company cancelled my homeowners policy because the roof shingles are so bad. These IKO Chateau shingles have failed on other houses in our area. Do not buy IKO !!


Date created: 2012-08-13 Name: Phil Hollingsworth
Location: Chicago, IL
Model: Cambridge LT

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"A very well made shingle"
As a company we have been slowly moving our mix of shingles from gaf to iko. We are currently about 50% iko and 50% gaf. We find the performance of the iko Cambridge lt to be superior to the Timberline hd. We began using the Cambridge in 2010. To this date we have not received a single blow off compaint. In the same time span we have had blow off of the Timberline. Not major, mind you, but it does exist. I believe the lighter weight of the Timberline does indeed contribute this, their "facts" nothwithstanding. We also like the fact that we use fewer shingles per job. It saves a bit in nail cost. Because the Timberline does not cover 100 sq. Ft/3 bundles we generally need to order 1-2 bundles extra per job. This does increase our cost and in today's economic climate that means alot. We will continue to use the Timberline as it is requested by many of our prospects and is a good product. We just feel IKO Cambridge to be superior overall.


Date created: 2012-08-09 Name: Hal
Location: Toronto Ontario
Model: Aristocrat 25 (Calgary)

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Aristocrat 25 Year Warranty - Toronto"
Shingles have failed totally causing roof leaks and now forced under pressure to replace the roof. IKO is insisting on needing sample shingles and only allowing a small percentage of the value of the shingles. 14 years from install and only allowing 25% allowance.



Date created: 2012-08-01 Name: Grant
Location: Quebec, Canada
Model: Aristocrat 25 (Calgary)

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Taking to court"
Aristocrat shingles were starting to "blister" after 2 years. Called roofer, he called iko, they sent an "inspector", who was actually a sales rep from one of their dealers. First, he said the ventilation was not sufficient on my new extension of the house. So, I said, "ok, I'll call my roofer and contractor and tell them they designed the roof and ventilation wrong.". The inspector goes "no, no, don't do that!", Because he didn't want me to piss off their customers. So they did nothing. Now after 8 years the shingles sre starting to fall apart. Sent a letter to iko, told them I was going to redo the whole roof ($8k), and sue them in Small Claims Court, which is free here. They didn't reply, until a Court in Ontario granted a law firm permission to go ahead with a class action lawsuit for the whole country. Now iko wants me to file a claim, so they can give me a few free shingles. If thousands of complainants in Canada get shingles and labor, iko is out business.


Date created: 2012-07-26 Name: S.W.H.
Location: Louisville, KY

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't stand behind problems."
We are a roofing distributor that sold iko for a short time in the past. I was aware of past issues and was warned by others that when you had a complaint, iko would not stand behind their product. Had complaints on the first 3 jobs we sold and even after the iko sales rep agreed to replace them with labor, it took over 2 years to resolve. We would not sell iko again regardless of their very cheap price. The old adage "you get what you pay for" certainly applies. Labor, tear off, and accessory costs are the same, which is 2/3 of the job cost, regardless of what shingles are applied. Spend a little more on your shingles to get a roof that the manufacturer will stand behind. Avoid iko and any contractor that promotes them!!!


Date created: 2012-07-24 Name: R Brogna
Location: East Stroudsburg PA
Model: Aristocrat 25

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Burning mad"
My house was built in 1998 it has iko aristocrat shingles its a new home development, I noticed most of my neighbors were replacing their roof on 12 to 14 year old homes this made no sense to me until my roof started leaking. When I called iko they refused to stand behind their 25 year warranty, rude lady who had a good luck sue us attitude, I contacted the builder lts in Stroudsburg pa who refused to help also this is criminal I will never buy and will spread the word about the company until I hear they went bankrupt from all the suits and if not for that karma gonna get you. Ronald


Date created: 2012-07-20 Name: k.bracken
Location: altoona pa
Model: 30AR

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"IKO does not stand behind warranty"
After 6 months my shingles did not seal properly and they are curling. Had rep and my contractor take sample of shingle and rep said there was no problem, that every thing was done right and there would be no problem with warranty. Claimed denied by iko, said it was nail improperly. Called rep and he would not reply. Called iko and they said go ahead and sue us. They did not care, they were not going to warranty our brand new roof that cost us $20,000.00. So, if you are thinking about iko, think twice, because a lifetime warranty ends as soon as they get your money.


Date created: 2012-07-05 Name: Audrey
Location: Timmins, CA
Model: Marathon 25

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Extremely upset with product"
These shingles are warranteed for 25 years and our roof is just barely 4 years old. Shingles are breaking and blowing off. They do not seal...many, many shingles have not sealed even though we have had extremely hot weather since being installed. This is not a good brand and would never use them again. My husband is older and he is on the roof quite often to replace missing shingles and retar places. What a shame!


Date created: 2012-07-02 Name: Kevin J. Harris
Location: Jackson, Missouri
Model: Cambridge LT

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Architectural Dual Brown"
The shingles failed to adhere during successive 100 degree days. Moderate winds cause flapping, and the subsequent nailing of the nails. Blow off within 1 year. Iko refuses to honor their warranties.


Date created: 2012-06-28 Name: Grant
Location: Montreal, Canada
Model: Aristocrat 25 (Calgary)

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Problems after 2 years"
Shingles started blistering after 2 years. IKO wouldn't do anything about it, taking them to court.

<< Previous123456789101112131415161718Next >>