Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Iko shingles

Iko Logo
Popularity:
#14  of 15 brands of shingles

18% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 175 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    31
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    2
  • Neutral
    2
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    139

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Iko shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous123456789101112131415161718Next >>

Date created: 2015-12-04 Name: Gilles
Location: Espanola CA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Poor Quality shingles"
Just put up Christmas lights and my shingles are falling apart after only 11 years. Looking to join class action lawsuit.


Date created: 2015-11-30 Name: Marty
Location: Niagara Ontario
Model: Cambridge 30

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Settlement via roofing contractor"
Our bought the snapstone tile to lay in my basement after an "Exclusion Clause" on our roof. The Iko Cambridge 30 year shingles were installed in 2008 and are now uninsurable. First I called the local distributor (iko Dealer) and was told that once the product leaves his site he has nothing to do with it. So I called the roofing contractor who advised to send pictures and he would get back to me. After almost one year and many calls to the roofing contractor nothing happened as the contractor did not even reply. I launched legal action against the contractor and recently had our preliminary day in court. The contractor pleaded that his work was good. I countered that how can the work be good if my roof is uninsurable? The contractor then explained to the judge that the product installed was defective and there was no manufacturer support. The judge then clarified the channels of a warranty claim and advised the roofing contractor that if he cannot settle this matter in the specified time, and if it comes back before him, the contractor better have a manufacturing representative present or he will be taking responsibility of the problem. It appears that the warranty is based on contract law. My contract was with the roofer,and if the roofer wants protection, he will have to take the supplier to court as that is where he purchased the shingles and has a contract. Then the supplier, if he does not want to be burdened with an expenditure, he will have to take the manufacturer to court as that is the entity that he has a contract with. Interesting to note that iko want homeowners to send defective single samples directly to them. In short if this policy is noted, there are no contracts between the roofing contractor and homeowner. Could that be the reason why the end user or homeowner is stuck with the problem?


Date created: 2015-11-20 Name: Peter
Location: vancouver

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"Stay away from Iko"
I have delivered every nearly every brand of shingles in 15 years and Iko has the worst reputation by far. Dont put them on your dog house, take a look at Landmark or Gaf.



Date created: 2015-11-05 Name: Helen
Location: Toronto, Canada
Model: 25 year Aristocrat Shingles

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Very disappointed in IKO"
I've owned this home for 46 years and have never had problems with my shingles prior to having Iko shingles installed in 2007. A few weeks ago I noticed water dripping from the lighting fixture in the kitchen after it rained, so I had the roof inspected to try and determine the source of the leak. The tradesman discovered that the shingles had begun to curl and crack despite being advertised as having a 25 year lifespan. I believe the problem to be poor product quality as the roofers who installed the shingles came highly recommended by a trusted friend and know their trade well. In light of this, I would recommend that others stay away from IKO shingles.


Date created: 2015-11-04 Name: R. Warren
Location: Halifax, NS

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Renaissance XL"
About to replace our Iko Rennaisance XL shingles. Debated going with Iko again, but it seems all companies have similar class action lawsuits launched against them for their architectural asphalt organic shingles, not just Iko. Looking at replacing with Iko Dynasty Cornerstone fibreglass asphalt shingle but want to confirm that the colour is as shown on the web-site. I picked up a shingle sample, and it looks like its more blue than brown. Relatively new shingle, so I can't find any homes to look at. Before I make a final decision however, I'm waiting to meet with our roofer. He doesn't like that the nail band on the Dynasty Shingle is located on the single thickness of the product, and not where its laminated/doubled.


Date created: 2015-10-31 Name: W.Murray
Location: Ontario, Canada
Model: Renaissance XL 25 year

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Cracked and deteriorated"
I have just replaced my Renaissance XL (IKO) shingles that were only 12 years old. These shingles are supposed to be 25 year. They started to crack & deteriorate after only a few years. IKO is an absolute disappointment & will never purchase another product from this company again.


Date created: 2015-10-28 Name: Z. Pietraszek
Location: SW Suburbs of Chicago
Model: Dynasty

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"IKO Dynasty Great Color and Heavy Weight"
This summer I had my roof replaced with the IKO Dynasty shingles in the Cornerstone color. It complemented our brick, gutters and downspouts perfectly. Initially I was under the impression that all shingles were pretty much the same but the contractor educated me on how heavy the IKO shingles were compared to other shingles and the fact that the Dynasty shingles have an added reinforced nailing strip on the back really impressed me. Great color and great shingles!


Date created: 2015-10-26 Name: J. Perkins
Location: Chicago Il.

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Cambridge is excellent"
I purchased Iko Cambridge because of its heavy weight and look. I live in in state that has lots of storms and high winds, and have found these shingles to be highly durable. I have recommended Iko to other family members and neighbors.


Date created: 2015-10-22 Name: Stella
Location: Ontario

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Please expose them"
This company needs to be exposed. We will be suing IKO, and so should everyone who has a problem with this company. They will drag the issues of your roof for years, this way insuring that they do not have to pay the full value of the shingles. They are not only selling faulty shingles(never a fault of their own), but they also provide poor service and attitude. I was threaten that they would reverse my 1/4th offer on their subpar shingles, for a 25 year roof warranty.


Date created: 2015-09-26 Name: Maria
Location: Vaughan, ontario
Model: Renaissance

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Just Sue Us"
This is the second time we are dealing with Iko. Not to get into specifics on the many issues with the actual product and how obviously this company is in not standing behind its warranties. I question the competence and professionalism... I dropped off the samples in Brampton, Ontario, at their pick up spot; the lovely receptionist leads you to believe your going to the company, which is just down the road. The employees at the Purolator store tell me to drop them on the floor where many other shingles samples have been placed or thrown; no proper drop off box. They are not impressed with the company and state they have to deal with the anger from Iko consumers. Calling the office is no walk in the park, I'm frustrated that in 2 1/2 months I have not heard from any Iko rep. They have not started processing our file. Because of the heavy rains this summer our roof has deteriorated even more. I'm told it is up to the manager who decides if we qualify for our 25 yr warranty, on a 12 year old roof. There quality assurance is always a standard letter and they never give specifics. I'm told many times during our heated conversation by reception "Trisha" if I have a problem on how they do things, we should just sue, along with her other words that leads me to believe, if you give her a hard time... Watch out. This is not a joke, we have place our trust with a company that produces product that does not stand wear, or stand behind their warranty.

<< Previous123456789101112131415161718Next >>