Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Iko shingles

Iko Logo

Read 185 Iko Shingle reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#14   of 15 brands of shingles

18% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 185 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    33
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    2
  • Neutral
    2
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    147

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Iko shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous12345678910111213141516171819Next >>

Date created: 2016-03-07 Name: Tom Nacey
Location: Olathe, Colorado
Model: Cambridge

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Blown Away"
House built in 2009. Every year shingles blow off in 40-50 mph winds. Most failed to seal. You can see them waving in the wind and it sounds like a herd of animals on the roof as they bounce up and down. Iko denied the warranty saying they were improperly installed because some of the nails are outside the lines. The installer is gone and iko tells me I am out of luck. Iko shingles are imho too light and don't include a heavy enough seal strip to do any good. So after six years I get to buy a new roof. Words can not express my anger towards iko and the contractor who selected them.


Date created: 2016-02-19 Name: Raul Garza
Location: Laredo, TX
Model: Cambridge

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Not made for the heat"
So my roofer says he can save me money using this shingle instead of a name brand shingle. After 3 months the shingles are blowing off my house and the sealant strip isn't sealing. After trying to do a warranty claim IKO says they cant do anything unless my roof is leaking. I read the warranty and if my roof is leaking they will only pay me $40 per square to replace it when new shingles cost $75... I guess I learned my lesson. Shingles from Canada don't work well in Texas heat.


Date created: 2016-02-17 Name: Raul Garza
Location: Laredo, TX
Model: Cambridge

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Not made for the heat"
So my roofer says he can save me money using this shingle instead of a name brand shingle. After 3 months the shingles are blowing off my house and the sealant strip isn't sealing. After trying to do a warranty claim Iko says they cant do anything unless my roof is leaking. I read the warranty and if my roof is leaking they will only pay me $40 per square to replace it when new shingles cost $75. I guess I learned my lesson. Shingles from Canada don't work well in Texas heat.



Date created: 2016-02-15 Name: Edward Hoyt
Location: New Hampshire
Model: Chateau

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Warrantee abuse"
I installed Harvard Chateau shingles with a 35 year warranty. They disintegrated in the sun in 15 years. My calculations is that prorated, I should get a little more than 50% 0f my money back. They only paid 21% and that is after an ordeal of paperwork and costing over $60 for pictures and shipping samples of bad shingles. I would never use them again.


Date created: 2016-02-10 Name: J Zalinsky
Location: Downers Grove, IL
Model: Cambridge AR

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Good Project, Good Product!"
Have to say what a great shingle and install we picked. Project done in May of 2011 and sealed down within a week(first or second day all but north side). Had a small amount of granule wash in beginning but since have had virtually none. The shingles have a great blend of color and many of the neighbors have asked or even commented on who's shingles those were and how they liked the appearance over others in neighborhood. All in all the crew we selected were top notch and were a certified contractor as well as fully licensed, insured, and bonded. They came in with all the proper equipment and had the project completed in one day. We have approximately 2500 sq ft of roofing that is mostly 6/12 pitch. Everything has been great from start to finish. The asphalt shingles that most use today are fiberglass(which we researched) and are not of much concern like the old days were organic shingles were used, and have to say we couldn't be happier. We would recommend the Cambridge shingle by IKO to others as well as working with a certified contractor in your area.


Date created: 2016-02-02 Name: Doreen Michalak
Location: Peterborough, NH
Model: Chateua 30

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Embarrassing Warranty"
Builder installed a 30 year roof in 2006 on a beautiful timber frame home. It is so embarrassing to have all the shingles all curled up on the sides, the roof looks ridiculous, and is starting to leak. Iko pretty much laughed in our faces about getting some sort of compensation. They "apologize" for the inconvenience... Now instead of having another 20 years with this roof, we will need to replace it and pay another $20,000 out of pocket for a new product and installation.


Date created: 2016-01-02 Name: Ed friedrich
Location: Vermont
Model: Chateau

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Poor warranty"
I had a new roof installed in 2003 they are chateau shingles after 4 years they started curling and I was told it was lack of venting or insulation. It worked in IKO favor know my shingles are shot and out of the kindness in there heat they will pay 1100.00 of 10,000.00 for a new roof when the whole time they new it was there defective product. So if you are looking for a stand up product with a great warranty do not use IKO.


Date created: 2015-12-23 Name: Wayne Millen
Location: Maine
Model: Cambridge AR 50

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"IKO Cambridge Failure to Seal"
We installed IKO Cambridge AR 50 in 2008. Several sections have slipped down over the 7 years due to a lack of sealing. Many have even failed on the south side of the roof. Our contractor has tested surrounding shingles as he has replaced the failed ones and he estimates at least 30% of the shingle sections never sealed. The company will not warrantee this as a defect and if it happens after 5-years due to wind lift. Our local building company stopped carrying IKO due to their poor customer service and poor warrantee.


Date created: 2015-12-18 Name: Susan W. Longley
Location: Maine
Model: Cambridge Architectural

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"IKO Blow-off's & Ice Dams & Roof Leaks"
In my opinion, the following: Save yourselves $10,000's of dollars, years of roof leaks and ice dams and blow-off's. Iko is will cost you. In my case, I paid $5000 for a new roof less than 5 years ago. Since, I have had ice dams and leaks and blow-off's. Yesterday, IKO informed me that they were denying my claim because their IKO shingles do not seal if put on a roof in the winter, where the cool temps do not allow proper sealing. Maybe IKO's grand-dad (Isadore Kosinsky, the Polish immigrant) had standards, but this generation sell expensive junk that does not seal, causes ice dams and leaks and shingle blow-off's and customer blow- off's too. See why I say save yourselves the $10's of $1000's of dollars? I highly recommend you save yourselves and also your family, friends and neighbors the time and money on iko junk... and, P.S. IKO is the subject of a nation-wide class action suit, as well.


Date created: 2015-12-16 Name: John Lucking
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Model: Chateau

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Useless Warranty"
Bought a home built in 2003. Had 30 year Iko Chateau shingles - after 12 years they are failing and crumbling. The warranty is useless to a subsequent purchaser. Ignore all the warranties on roofing shingles sold by anyone - they are laughable once you understand the fine print. Determine the best shingle based on reviews and reputation within your budget and find the best contractor. Ignore the warranty.

<< Previous12345678910111213141516171819Next >>