Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Iko shingles

Iko Logo

Read 186 Iko Shingle reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#14   of 15 brands of shingles

18% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 186 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    33
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    2
  • Neutral
    2
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    148

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Iko shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

12345678910111213141516171819Next >>

Date created: 2017-07-23 Name: Zman
Location: Central IL
Model: Cambridge style

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Poor Performance"
Installed in 2001; was told it was rated as a 35 year shingle. Began to notice lots of shingle matter in gutters and at base of downspouts about 2011. Now have had about a dozen blow off in wind in Illinois... and learn that the entire roof is failing due to poor glue adhesion. Was professionally installed in 2001, and replacement will be installed by a pro again, too. But, it will not be IKO.


Date created: 2017-07-12 Name: MIke Aubrey
Location: Ottawa Ontario
Model: 25 year product

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Garbage"
Total garbage. 14 year old roof is shot. As an expert in the industry I am always promoting domestic products over imports. These guys are helping the Chinese sell their products here in Canada. I would join a class action.


Date created: 2017-07-12 Name: J Smith
Location: Ontario Canada
Model: Aristocrate

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Defective"
Like others our IKO shingles degraded after 7 years. Since the class action lawsuit has been settled we submitted a warranty claim only to find the company lost our documents. Despite four calls and three emails to the company no one will respond to our request as to whether the documents have been found.. on the surface IKO seems to be stonewalling to avoid honouring its warranty. This is an extremely unprofessional company that does what it wants. One can only hope consumers stop buying its products and the company suffers financial distress.



Date created: 2017-07-08 Name: J. Smith
Location: Toronto
Model: Aristocrat

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worthless"
After 14 years we had to replace these 25 year warrantied shingles. Due to the class action we are now trying to get some money back but find the company is stonewalling. We sent in all docs. But find after 2 months IKO has lost some of the photos and paperwork and now want us to resubmit and wait another two months. This is a sorry excuse for a company and hopefully it will be put out of business soon. The warranty dept. won't respond to inquiries and treats customers like trash.


Date created: 2017-06-22 Name: Larry K Kraut
Location: Illinois
Model: Biltmore

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Driftwood"
I stalled these shingles in 2002. Went to Menards to get replacements for the ones that fell off 3 times since. Complained about the shingles not adhering to each other, brought in a shingle that had slid or blown off the roof and was told it was a manfactures' problem, had to pay full price for replacement shingles. Went to a roofing supply house and had to buy Cambridge shingles to match the Biltmore I needed.The supply house gave me a form to fill out to send to IKO for the warranty. The want you to mail them a shingle. Now I need more replacement shingles. I went back to Menards to buy more and found that they no longer have the Driftwood color and nothing to match it. These shingles are total garbage! A large percentage of the glue strips never adhere to each other, the layer come apart, and the roof looks like it's a lot older than 15 years old. Looks like a 40 year old roof! I have had a tremendous amount of water damage to several rooms and constantly have had to replace drywall and insulation. Would love to be included in a class action lawsuits suit. I am so glad that I have never used these shingles on a customers roof. I don't feel these shingles are even suitable for a dog house or chicken coupe!


Date created: 2017-06-10 Name: Hutton roofing campbellville
Location: Campbellville ontario
Model: All

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Hutton roofing Toronto Ontario"
I used to be an Iko certified installer. Toured the manufacturing plant knew all the reps, and sold only exclusively until the problems started coming in with all my customers after 6-7 yrs, degranulating, curling, blow offs, a lot of blow offs,the shingle has to much filler and is dry right out of the pack, I keep in touch with the former formulist who used to work in the lab balancing the mixtures of the product, if you add more than a few percent filler, I call it hamburger helper to the asphalt the durability goes away. It's easy to compare lay an Iko shingle in the sun along with a say Certainteed then stick your thumb on the seal strip. You will see right away why the Iko blow off all the time like I said dry. I am a boutique high quality by the book installer here in southern Ontario mostly work for engineers property managers I don't advertise all my work is referral and I have built it this way using the better products, when you look at the Iko stuff in the bundle you can see they are all cut to varying sizes that's because if you tour the plant you will see the equipment is some,leftover stuff from the Second World War.also since the company is owned by a single Jewish family and not a publicly traded one they don't have responsibility to the shareholders so they make this junk and don't have to answer to anyone, as a certified installer I would have thought they would have taken care of my customers when the product failed but this company has the worst of all warranties in that it is product only, meaning that when they approved all my claims they sent singles only to the address in question, well my customers didn't want more of the same they wanted to switch and this is why I don't install them anymore,you can't imagine how many subdivisions or complexs I see that are 15 yrs old on a supposed 25 yr shingle and we are harvesting all the houses prematurely. I love Iko only for one reason in that they keep us busy.


Date created: 2017-06-09 Name: William Morgan
Location: Moncks Corner SC

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"3 leaks within 3 years!"
I had a brand new reroof job installed in 2014. Ive had 3 leaks within 3 years. I guess this is why the contractor left me with about 100 yards of felt, and 5 packages of shingles that were left over from the install...so that I could do the repairs myself! Im now about to roll the dice on Atlas Pinnacles... I'll let you know the outcome in a few years. :)


Date created: 2017-05-29 Name: Mike
Location: Garson
Model: Cambridge

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Terrible"
Do not buy these shingles. A slight breeze and they blow off as they do not glue together. Garbage!


Date created: 2017-05-28 Name: Frank P
Location: central wi.
Model: Biltmore

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"More junk"
Keep trying to sell and promote IKO. There are enough people protesting their product that out number anything positive and a warranty that isn't worth the paper it's written on. New construction in April 2015. March of 2017 blow offs from not locking. The locking strip does not compare to others. visible when laid next to another shingle, even from the shingle I used (IKO builtmore) compared to the Iko cambridge! Claim denied based on improper installation. Any time one nail isn't exactly where they say it should be they can reject your claim. You are at their will and mercy. They will not send a rep out to inspect.I had 3 roofers at my home. All inspected my roof. All 3 indicated faulty shingles not locking. All 3 have been roofing for over 25 years. I'm not talking about a couple roofs a year I'm saying millions of dollars in business every year. I purchased the IKO product based on the shingle life and warranty not the price. The IKO product was recommend to me by the installer I hired. Be advised, people that post negative reviews on them have a good reason to.I've been in skilled trades for years. This is a shame for anyone to deal with.


Date created: 2017-05-23 Name: D. Domino
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"By Far a Superior Product"
I have been an IKO distributor for over 10 years and have sold approximately 1.5 million squares of IKO Cambridge in that period of time. I have never had issues with IKO. They are by far a superior product to all other shingles out there. They are larger, heavier, with a heavier fiberglass mat than any shingle out there. They contain more asphalt than any shingle. Their 5-7/8" exposure puts all other shingles to shame. The elegant appearance on the roof cannot be matched. Anyone complaining about this shingle should look into the installation workmanship. Many roofer high nail the shingles which causes blow offs. The adhesive on the IKO shingles is second to none. The colors are beautiful and their algae resistant granules are better than the competition. By far, the best shingle on the market.

12345678910111213141516171819Next >>