Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

dotted nav bar
dotted nav bar

Consumer Reviews of Iko shingles

Popularity:
#11  of 13 brands of shingles

17% of customers recommend
1.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    16
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    2
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    86

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Iko shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

1234567891011Next >>

Date created: 2014-10-16 Name: John Perkins
Location: Location Midwest.
Model: Cambridge Weatherwood

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"I purchased a new IKO Cambridge Weatherwood roof and am 100% satisfied with it"
I purchased a new IKO Cambridge Weatherwood roof and am 100% satisfied with it. The color matches my siding and brick and the shingle were heavier than many of the competitors shingles that were shown to me during the quoting process. I even went with the Shield PRO Plus contractor that was listed on their website and now have a complete roofing system on my house, which extended my warranty. I had to purchase a new roof because my Certainteed XT failed with granule loss and constant blow-offs. Shingle failure started happening after 6 years- and I had to constantly repair.


Date created: 2014-10-13 Name: Midwest Roofer
Model: Cambridge

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Do not use IKO"
Installed a roof with Iko Cambridge shingles. These were professionally installed and 5 nailed. Within 3 months they were blowing off in numerous sections. Company wouldn't warranty it and wanted us to turn it in to insurance. Bad company and bad product!


Date created: 2014-10-10 Name: RMC
Location: Maine

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"What a disaster"
These shingles were installed in 2001 on the home we bought in 2004. Immediately after moving in we noticed they constantly rained black pieces of roofing on the deck and yard below. Several years ago they failed almost completely and we contacted Iko and their wonderful warranty. The roof was +\- 10 years into its 30 year span and they offered us $400. Seriously? No thank you. We need an entirely new roof. There is or was a class action lawsuit against the company and I can not believe with all the horrible reviews and photos against this company they aren't being held responsible.


Date created: 2014-09-30 Name: Dirk
Location: northeast

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"IKO shingle failures due to poor quality organic binder"
We had a new roof professionally installed using IKO shingles in ~2007. Last year, our roofer mentioned the southern exposure shingles were curling up badly and needed replacing. He previously told us in 2007 that IKO's problem with the organic binders breaking down prematurely had been resolved - apparently not true.


Date created: 2014-09-03 Name: L. Krug
Location: Little Valley, NY
Model: 30 Year

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Dissatisfied IKO shingle homeowner in Western New York"
Purchased 30 year Iko shingles for my 30+ sq. Home & 30' x 45' gamble roof barn built in 1996. The shingles if ever it rains (even sprinkles) leaves black stones all over our front & back patio. They have curled so badly and become so brittle that with any hard rain large pieces can be found every where,the sidewalk, yard. These shingles are far from quality and I am very unhappy. I have a large rotten hole in my barn roof that I didn't notice until it began to rain this summer in one of my stalls. Waiting for that to happen to my home next, and I will be very upset. I am a single mother & cant afford 2 new roofs at the same time that I shouldn't have to worry about for some time yet.


Need a Roofing Contractor?

Find a Local Roofing Pro with this Free Service

* Replace or Repair Existing Roof
* Roof Maintenance and Pressure Cleaning
* Leak Detection, Waterproofing, and more

Date created: 2014-07-17 Name: Christine Perreault
Location: Berwick, Maine 03901

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"IKO Bad Shingles"
This roof is a disgrace to you. I bought a Schiavihomes in 2007 the roof went bad in 2013, eight years, they were architectural shingles cost more, but I thought they would last longer. They didn't, called Iko they sent me paper work to try and prove it was their problem. They want me, a widow on social security to climb on the roof to take certain pictures. You are responsible for the problem. It's up to you to fix it. I've had several roofer's look at it, they new right away it was Iko's. No one would ever buy your shingles in Maine. You need to make this right. If my name was on a product, I want it to be good and stand by it. You should stand by Your product and help me. It's the right thing to do. I never write to companies, this is a big cost to me and I'm very upset.


Date created: 2014-07-08 Name: George Sheldon
Location: Dryden, Michigan

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Happy with IKO Royal Estate"
We recently built a new home in Michigan and were looking for a distinctive shingle that would highlight our new home. We finally chose the iko Royal Estate which gives a rich appearance while being more affordable than many other specialty shingles. We really enjoy having a unique roof that stands out while also blending nicely with the neighborhood. We couldn't be happier with our choice and feel reassured with the strong iko warranty backing it up.


Date created: 2014-06-30 Name: Jeffl
Location: Waukon, IA
Model: Cambridge

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Weatherwood"
Writing once again, within a 2 week span. The roof we repaired is once again off during our persistent Iowa storms. When they were put on 3 years ago, I also would have no complaints; a year later and now 2 years later, not so much. I would think when only 16 out of 92 comments were satisfied, this is a testament that something is not right. I don't believe installation is the problem....many professional contractors have made unsatisfactory comments. We have Certainteed and iko on our house and only one brand is coming off. My main complaint is iko is not owning up to problems with some of their shingles and backing their product. Instead they keep telling everyone, they were installed improperly. This is not what is wrong.


Date created: 2014-06-23 Name: DeGonia
Location: Illinois
Model: Dual Black Cambridge

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Cambridge roof from IKO"
I just purchased IKO's Cambridge roofing shingle and was impressed with heavy weight and the color offering of this product. I had research other products similar in appearance but they did not seem the same quality. I am very satisfied with my Dual Black Cambridge roof.


Date created: 2014-06-23 Name: A Happy Home Owens
Location: Wilmington DE
Model: Royal Estate

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Best Buying Decision"
I recently replaced my roof with IKO's Royal Estate Shadow Slate. This iko roofing shingle appearance has greatly enhanced the aesthetic of the outside of my home and the high quality - double layer protection provides added depth. One to the best buying decision I have ever made.

1234567891011Next >>
Find Local Roofers

My zip code is: