Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs
Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Iko shingles

Iko Logo
Popularity:
#13  of 14 brands of shingles

16% of customers recommend
1.5 of 5 stars 149 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    23
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    2
  • Neutral
    2
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    121

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Iko shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

123456789101112131415Next >>

Date created: 2016-04-18 Name: A. Todd
Location: Peterborough, ON

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Completely satisfied!"
We love our IKO shingles! Our home is very exposed to high winds living on a hill & they have stood the test of time. We're going on 11 years and no signs of aging or wear & tear!


Date created: 2016-04-11 Name: N. Bryant
Location: Chicago, IL
Model: Dynasty

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Dynasty is a Great Shingle"
I brought the new Dynasty shingle from IKO. We selected this shingle because we live in a city with high winds. So far so good, we had several days with high winds and this shingle has been outstanding.


Date created: 2016-04-06 Name: Artur
Location: Orangeville, Ontario

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"People stop buying IKO shingles"
New home from builder with 25 years warranty on iko shingles, never in the world would I think I would have to replace shingles after 11 years, they look like junk! Curled up deteriorating falling apart and this is happening now in the entire subdivision, how can this company still exists after so many bad reviews, there are lawsuits in place in us and Canada, can't wait to join that list.



Date created: 2016-03-20 Name: Gerry Coulombe
Location: Newport, VT
Model: Single tab

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Surface falling off, tabs widening"
The builder installed Iko single tab shingles when the house was built in 2000 with supposedly a 25 year life. Within 12 years the stones surface was falling off and the tabs between the shingles was widening. I sent two shingles to Iko. They responded saying the shingles tested well and there was no problem with them. I am now in the process of replacing the roof and definitely not with an Iko product.


Date created: 2016-03-19 Name: J Campbell
Location: St Catharines, On
Model: Self Seal

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Seems like I am with a majority"
Put on 25 year warranty shingles not even 12 years ago. Tenant pointed out mold in closet and bedroom and so I had the roof inspected. It is shot! I contacted the company that installed (they are certified as per the Iko website) and they told me the warranty is prorated - when I asked the percentage per year I was told it was a complicated formula and I had to call Iko. Thought I would go on their website and look up warranty details - nope! Tells me to contact local representative - I can see a run around already coming. Also, what do you have to hide when you won't post details of your warranty on your website? It is the weekend so I have to wait until Monday to start my quest but it is fair to say that the Iko roof did not even come close to the expected life-span of the shingles. Likely they should have been replaced about 2 years ago but who thinks that a 25 year roof will only last 10 - 12 years.


Date created: 2016-03-07 Name: Tom Nacey
Location: Olathe, Colorado
Model: Cambridge

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Blown Away"
House built in 2009. Every year shingles blow off in 40-50 mph winds. Most failed to seal. You can see them waving in the wind and it sounds like a herd of animals on the roof as they bounce up and down. Iko denied the warranty saying they were improperly installed because some of the nails are outside the lines. The installer is gone and iko tells me I am out of luck. Iko shingles are imho too light and don't include a heavy enough seal strip to do any good. So after six years I get to buy a new roof. Words can not express my anger towards iko and the contractor who selected them.


Date created: 2016-02-19 Name: Raul Garza
Location: Laredo, TX
Model: Cambridge

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Not made for the heat"
So my roofer says he can save me money using this shingle instead of a name brand shingle. After 3 months the shingles are blowing off my house and the sealant strip isn't sealing. After trying to do a warranty claim IKO says they cant do anything unless my roof is leaking. I read the warranty and if my roof is leaking they will only pay me $40 per square to replace it when new shingles cost $75... I guess I learned my lesson. Shingles from Canada don't work well in Texas heat.


Date created: 2016-02-17 Name: Raul Garza
Location: Laredo, TX
Model: Cambridge

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Not made for the heat"
So my roofer says he can save me money using this shingle instead of a name brand shingle. After 3 months the shingles are blowing off my house and the sealant strip isn't sealing. After trying to do a warranty claim Iko says they cant do anything unless my roof is leaking. I read the warranty and if my roof is leaking they will only pay me $40 per square to replace it when new shingles cost $75. I guess I learned my lesson. Shingles from Canada don't work well in Texas heat.


Date created: 2016-02-15 Name: Edward Hoyt
Location: New Hampshire
Model: Chateau

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Warrantee abuse"
I installed Harvard Chateau shingles with a 35 year warranty. They disintegrated in the sun in 15 years. My calculations is that prorated, I should get a little more than 50% 0f my money back. They only paid 21% and that is after an ordeal of paperwork and costing over $60 for pictures and shipping samples of bad shingles. I would never use them again.


Date created: 2016-02-10 Name: J Zalinsky
Location: Downers Grove, IL
Model: Cambridge AR

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Good Project, Good Product!"
Have to say what a great shingle and install we picked. Project done in May of 2011 and sealed down within a week(first or second day all but north side). Had a small amount of granule wash in beginning but since have had virtually none. The shingles have a great blend of color and many of the neighbors have asked or even commented on who's shingles those were and how they liked the appearance over others in neighborhood. All in all the crew we selected were top notch and were a certified contractor as well as fully licensed, insured, and bonded. They came in with all the proper equipment and had the project completed in one day. We have approximately 2500 sq ft of roofing that is mostly 6/12 pitch. Everything has been great from start to finish. The asphalt shingles that most use today are fiberglass(which we researched) and are not of much concern like the old days were organic shingles were used, and have to say we couldn't be happier. We would recommend the Cambridge shingle by IKO to others as well as working with a certified contractor in your area.

123456789101112131415Next >>