Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

dotted nav bar
dotted nav bar

Consumer Reviews of Iko shingles

Popularity:
#30  of 34 brands of shingles

15% of customers recommend
1.5 of 5 stars 88 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    12
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    2
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    73

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Iko shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brandsWrite a review

123456789Next >>

Date created: 2014-04-08 Name: B. Campbell
Location: Sacdramento, CA

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Very satisfied"
I love my iko roof...very surprised to hear such bad reviews...my contractor, whom I have trusted for years told me about the iko shingles. When I told him I had heard a few bad things about iko, (from other contractors I entertained bids from) he told me that I shouldn't worry, that the majority of roof related problems are due to improper installation, and that he had been installing iko for years and had never had a problem. I went with a Cambridge Shingle, the color is dual brown, and it is beautiful!


Date created: 2014-03-31 Name: M. Smith
Location: Wheatfield, New York

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"IKO shingles installed by David Homes"
I have had to hire contractors every year to fix shingle blow offs since the house was built in 2001. The last three contractors have each told me the iko shingles are crap and the entire roof needs to be replaced. I believe David Homes uses the cheapest materials possible. Contact me before you use David Homes and iko shingles.


Date created: 2014-03-19 Name: J.M.
Location: Quinte Area

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Yet Another Dissatisfied Customer"
Installed 25yr iko Renaissance Shingles in 2000. In 2013 (that's only 13 yrs folks) the shingles have deteriorated to crap. They must be replaced this spring. I need 100 bundles; iko offered a credit for 19 bundles and no compensation for labor. Very poor product and even worse manufacturer!


Date created: 2014-02-27 Name: F Burchett
Location: Grayson

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Defective roof"
Please don't use these shingles! I am a contractor who has been in business for 10 years and I was talked into changing from Owens Corning to iko. The first house I shingled in iko had a major shingle flaw. They did not seal. So IKO's idea of making this right is putting caulking on the shingle. In what world will caulk last 30 years? I pretty much have to acquire an attorney to fight this and spend my own money to replace the defective shingles and keep my good business name. Again, I urge you to never use this product!


Date created: 2013-11-22 Name: M. Smith
Location: Wheatfield, New York 14120

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"IKO Shingles are Garbage"
My house was built 10 years ago. I have had constant problems over the 10 years with shingle blow offs. Three separate contractors I hired to repair the roof each told me the shingles are garbage and the entire roof needs to be replaced. Iko warranty claim form asks for all kind of information I don't have and my builder can't provide. I'll submit as much information they request as I can but I'm pretty sure I'm just wasting my time. Will definitely be keeping my eyes open for any class action lawsuit.


Date created: 2013-10-18 Name: Carol Conforti
Location: Spring Brook Twp. Pa.

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Whole roof is shot"
Built in 1999 used Iko Renaissance XL 25 year Harvest Slate shingles, at this point we are told the whole roof is shot. Shingles are curling, cracking coming off. Called Iko and was sent out a warranty packet. Have to supply two shingles, 7 pictures, copies of the invoice, they want a picture of the ventilation system that we have for the roof. From everything I am reading this looks like this is going to be a nightmare. We live in Northeast PA. Does anyone know if a class action for our area is going on?


Date created: 2013-08-15 Name: L. J.
Location: Keswick ON

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Garbage!"
I had Aristocrat shingles installed in 2008 and they started to lift and fishmouth in 3 years!! Iko would not honor the iron clad warranty and claimed the roof ventilation wasn't adequate. It was adequate for the previous shingles which were still ok after 20 years. I then found out the shingles are in the class of "organic" and are involved in a class action law suit. Now I am taking my roofer to court for installing organic shingles when my contract stated "composition asphalt shingles". This apparently means fibreglass shingles. Never again iko!


Date created: 2013-06-25 Name: Rob
Location: Ontario

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Garbage shingles"
Shingles curled, lifted and started to blow off after two years. Factory identified the problem with the shingles but refuses to help. Roofing installer is now replacing roof with another brand.


Date created: 2013-06-12 Name: Don
Location: Peterborough NH

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"35 yr roof lasted 16 yrs"
I am retiring. My 35 year roof lasted 16 years. Now I have to replace a roof on a house that I am selling. This is a poor product. There may be a class action lawsuit against them.


Date created: 2013-05-02 Name: J.Jacobs
Location: San Antonio, TX

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Shitty Shingles"
Been installing iko shingles in Texas for the last couple years now at the advice of a vendor of mine. I have had nothing but problems with these shingles. I hate whenever I hear there is a wind storm coming in any city I have installed these shingles cause I know I will be having to go replace at least a square of shingles. I have attempted to get IKO's warranty department involved as it appeared there seal strip is not sealing properly in the cases where we are having to replace these wind blown shingles. IKO's warranty department came back with a denial to our claim stating that there were nails improperly nailed. There evidence was two shingles where my installers had shot the nail less than 1/8" of an inch above the nail line. Really if that is the bull crap that pull to get out of a warranty claim then were done.

123456789Next >>
Find Local Roofers

My zip code is: