Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

dotted nav bar
dotted nav bar

Consumer Reviews of Iko shingles

Popularity:
#12  of 13 brands of shingles

16% of customers recommend
1.5 of 5 stars 109 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    16
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    2
  • Neutral
    1
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    89

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Iko shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

1234567891011Next >>

Date created: 2015-05-17 Name: Merv
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Model: Cambridge

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Bad Company"
Installed shingles 5 years ago on a 30 year shingle. Believe there is not enough tar to help hold down the shingles, which is also separating from the top layer of the top layer, again not enough tar. I built a shed around the same time and used a cheap brand and it has lasted longer than the house, more expensive shingles. Submitted a claim and when I called after the claim was declined, a manager also stated I did not have any tall trees around the house to also act as a wind break? Would never recommend this company or their products. In the process of installing a metal roof.


Date created: 2015-05-10 Name: J Mackenzie
Location: Calgary
Model: Renaissance

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Disaster"
IKO Renaissance shingles were used on most houses built on our street. Without exception, they have all failed prematurely: cracking, lifting, leaking. Every insurance company and every roofer knows what a disaster these shingles are but IKO is oblivious. Class action suit pending, and IKO feels its best strategy is to hide behind lawyers rather than stand behind its product. Good luck getting a dime.


Date created: 2015-02-18 Name: B westover
Location: Clearfield coounty, Pa.

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"Improperly nailed"
I wonder how many of you unsatisfied Iko shingle people's shingles were nailed on by a contractor using an air gun. Iko recommends roofing nails and a hammer (hand nailing). We had Iko's put on our roof ten years ago by a contractor who used air gun and they slid off last summer. About the same time we built a shed on another property we own and used the leftover shingles from our house. They are still perfect. We hand nailed those shingles on.


Date created: 2014-12-27 Name: M. Welt
Location: Maine
Model: 30 Year Architectural

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Bad shingles, Bad company!"
Our new house was built in 2001 and shingled with iko 30 year architectural. Now in 2014 the whole roof needs to be re-shingled. The iko shingles have just fallen apart in many places. I put a claim into he company which they denied. They blamed it on "improper ventilation of our enclosed attic space". Interesting since we have cathedral ceilings everywhere and no attic. Several roofers told me I would get no satisfaction from iko and they seem to be correct. So I say bad product and bad company. Stay away!


Date created: 2014-10-16 Name: John Perkins
Location: Location Midwest.
Model: Cambridge Weatherwood

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"I purchased a new IKO Cambridge Weatherwood roof and am 100% satisfied with it"
I purchased a new IKO Cambridge Weatherwood roof and am 100% satisfied with it. The color matches my siding and brick and the shingle were heavier than many of the competitors shingles that were shown to me during the quoting process. I even went with the Shield PRO Plus contractor that was listed on their website and now have a complete roofing system on my house, which extended my warranty. I had to purchase a new roof because my Certainteed XT failed with granule loss and constant blow-offs. Shingle failure started happening after 6 years- and I had to constantly repair.


Need a Roofing Contractor?

Find a Local Roofing Pro with this Free Service

* Replace or Repair Existing Roof
* Roof Maintenance and Pressure Cleaning
* Leak Detection, Waterproofing, and more

Date created: 2014-10-13 Name: Midwest Roofer
Model: Cambridge

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Do not use IKO"
Installed a roof with Iko Cambridge shingles. These were professionally installed and 5 nailed. Within 3 months they were blowing off in numerous sections. Company wouldn't warranty it and wanted us to turn it in to insurance. Bad company and bad product!


Date created: 2014-10-10 Name: RMC
Location: Maine

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"What a disaster"
These shingles were installed in 2001 on the home we bought in 2004. Immediately after moving in we noticed they constantly rained black pieces of roofing on the deck and yard below. Several years ago they failed almost completely and we contacted Iko and their wonderful warranty. The roof was +\- 10 years into its 30 year span and they offered us $400. Seriously? No thank you. We need an entirely new roof. There is or was a class action lawsuit against the company and I can not believe with all the horrible reviews and photos against this company they aren't being held responsible.


Date created: 2014-09-30 Name: Dirk
Location: northeast

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"IKO shingle failures due to poor quality organic binder"
We had a new roof professionally installed using IKO shingles in ~2007. Last year, our roofer mentioned the southern exposure shingles were curling up badly and needed replacing. He previously told us in 2007 that IKO's problem with the organic binders breaking down prematurely had been resolved - apparently not true.


Date created: 2014-09-03 Name: L. Krug
Location: Little Valley, NY
Model: 30 Year

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Dissatisfied IKO shingle homeowner in Western New York"
Purchased 30 year Iko shingles for my 30+ sq. Home & 30' x 45' gamble roof barn built in 1996. The shingles if ever it rains (even sprinkles) leaves black stones all over our front & back patio. They have curled so badly and become so brittle that with any hard rain large pieces can be found every where,the sidewalk, yard. These shingles are far from quality and I am very unhappy. I have a large rotten hole in my barn roof that I didn't notice until it began to rain this summer in one of my stalls. Waiting for that to happen to my home next, and I will be very upset. I am a single mother & cant afford 2 new roofs at the same time that I shouldn't have to worry about for some time yet.


Date created: 2014-07-17 Name: Christine Perreault
Location: Berwick, Maine 03901

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"IKO Bad Shingles"
This roof is a disgrace to you. I bought a Schiavihomes in 2007 the roof went bad in 2013, eight years, they were architectural shingles cost more, but I thought they would last longer. They didn't, called Iko they sent me paper work to try and prove it was their problem. They want me, a widow on social security to climb on the roof to take certain pictures. You are responsible for the problem. It's up to you to fix it. I've had several roofer's look at it, they new right away it was Iko's. No one would ever buy your shingles in Maine. You need to make this right. If my name was on a product, I want it to be good and stand by it. You should stand by Your product and help me. It's the right thing to do. I never write to companies, this is a big cost to me and I'm very upset.

1234567891011Next >>
Find Local Roofers

My zip code is: