Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

dotted nav bar
dotted nav bar

Consumer Reviews of Iko shingles

Popularity:
#13  of 14 brands of shingles

15% of customers recommend
1.5 of 5 stars 113 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    16
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    2
  • Neutral
    1
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    93

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Iko shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

123456789101112Next >>

Date created: 2015-07-29 Name: I.March
Location: Toronto Canada
Model: Marathon

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Beware or Be Aware"
New roof 2007. Tabs blowing off 2011. Leaking 2012. Roofer fixed leaking area 2012. 2013 many areas tabs tearing off in wind. Roofer inspects no glue in many areas. 2014 before 100% warranty expires warranty claim with photos showing many deficient areas put in to Iko, they test two shingles. Result nothing wrong they blame roofer although they never inspected the installed shingles they claimed the roofer did not install nails flat therefore roof could not seal! Photos taken for record. Although problem is obvious! Warning - they will not honor their warranty I am a Realtor and have so far told a number of people, my experience, when they have asked about roofs. I certainly would not use Iko again.


Date created: 2015-06-23 Name: MMFIC
Location: New England
Model: Chateau

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Trouble Above"
Our house was constructed in 2000 with 30 year Iko Chateau architectural shingles, and only halfway into their warranted lifespan they are in dire need of replacement. Being in the construction industry, I have reputable builders and roofers consistently explain how they encounter premature Iko shingle failure on a regular basis. With multiple leaks, I just had my first claim with my insurance company, and the adjuster said this is a common occurance, and that I need a completely new roof. Now I'm facing a $20,000+ project. Exploring my legal options.


Date created: 2015-06-02 Name: The Millers
Model: Cambridge Dual Black

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"What a Nightmare!"
Two year old home with Iko Cambridge Dual Black. Roof started blowing off before we moved in! Roofer got so tired of us calling to hand glue shingles that he quit responding. Iko offered small settlement that will not even come close to hand gluing all the roof. This roof won't last, and they will not stand behind their product. It is very apparent that the glue did not adhere, even though it was professionally installed in the middle of summer. This product is garbage!


Date created: 2015-05-22 Name: P. Proulx
Location: Ottawa, ON

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Do Not Buy"
Installed Iko 30year shingles 15 years ago. For the past 3 years the shingles have deteriorated to a point where the covering was warn off almost completely. We had to re-roof this year. We had installed 30 year shingles to last through our retirement years, yet here we are having to re-roof early. This unscheduled expense has really hit hard.


Date created: 2015-05-17 Name: Merv
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Model: Cambridge

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Bad Company"
Installed shingles 5 years ago on a 30 year shingle. Believe there is not enough tar to help hold down the shingles, which is also separating from the top layer of the top layer, again not enough tar. I built a shed around the same time and used a cheap brand and it has lasted longer than the house, more expensive shingles. Submitted a claim and when I called after the claim was declined, a manager also stated I did not have any tall trees around the house to also act as a wind break? Would never recommend this company or their products. In the process of installing a metal roof.


Need a Roofing Contractor?

Find a Local Roofing Pro with this Free Service

* Replace or Repair Existing Roof
* Roof Maintenance and Pressure Cleaning
* Leak Detection, Waterproofing, and more

Date created: 2015-05-10 Name: J Mackenzie
Location: Calgary
Model: Renaissance

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Disaster"
IKO Renaissance shingles were used on most houses built on our street. Without exception, they have all failed prematurely: cracking, lifting, leaking. Every insurance company and every roofer knows what a disaster these shingles are but IKO is oblivious. Class action suit pending, and IKO feels its best strategy is to hide behind lawyers rather than stand behind its product. Good luck getting a dime.


Date created: 2015-02-18 Name: B westover
Location: Clearfield coounty, Pa.

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"Improperly nailed"
I wonder how many of you unsatisfied Iko shingle people's shingles were nailed on by a contractor using an air gun. Iko recommends roofing nails and a hammer (hand nailing). We had Iko's put on our roof ten years ago by a contractor who used air gun and they slid off last summer. About the same time we built a shed on another property we own and used the leftover shingles from our house. They are still perfect. We hand nailed those shingles on.


Date created: 2014-12-27 Name: M. Welt
Location: Maine
Model: 30 Year Architectural

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Bad shingles, Bad company!"
Our new house was built in 2001 and shingled with iko 30 year architectural. Now in 2014 the whole roof needs to be re-shingled. The iko shingles have just fallen apart in many places. I put a claim into he company which they denied. They blamed it on "improper ventilation of our enclosed attic space". Interesting since we have cathedral ceilings everywhere and no attic. Several roofers told me I would get no satisfaction from iko and they seem to be correct. So I say bad product and bad company. Stay away!


Date created: 2014-10-16 Name: John Perkins
Location: Location Midwest.
Model: Cambridge Weatherwood

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"I purchased a new IKO Cambridge Weatherwood roof and am 100% satisfied with it"
I purchased a new IKO Cambridge Weatherwood roof and am 100% satisfied with it. The color matches my siding and brick and the shingle were heavier than many of the competitors shingles that were shown to me during the quoting process. I even went with the Shield PRO Plus contractor that was listed on their website and now have a complete roofing system on my house, which extended my warranty. I had to purchase a new roof because my Certainteed XT failed with granule loss and constant blow-offs. Shingle failure started happening after 6 years- and I had to constantly repair.


Date created: 2014-10-13 Name: Midwest Roofer
Model: Cambridge

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Do not use IKO"
Installed a roof with Iko Cambridge shingles. These were professionally installed and 5 nailed. Within 3 months they were blowing off in numerous sections. Company wouldn't warranty it and wanted us to turn it in to insurance. Bad company and bad product!

123456789101112Next >>
Find Local Roofers

My zip code is: