Roofery.com: for all your roofing needs

dotted nav bar
dotted nav bar

Consumer Reviews of Iko shingles

Popularity:
#30  of 34 brands of shingles

16% of customers recommend
1.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    15
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    2
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    83

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Iko shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

1234567891011Next >>

Date created: 2014-09-03 Name: L. Krug
Location: Little Valley, NY

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Dissatisfied IKO shingle homeowner in Western New York"
Purchased 30 year Iko shingles for my 30+ sq. Home & 30' x 45' gamble roof barn built in 1996. The shingles if ever it rains (even sprinkles) leaves black stones all over our front & back patio. They have curled so badly and become so brittle that with any hard rain large pieces can be found every where,the sidewalk, yard. These shingles are far from quality and I am very unhappy. I have a large rotten hole in my barn roof that I didn't notice until it began to rain this summer in one of my stalls. Waiting for that to happen to my home next, and I will be very upset. I am a single mother & cant afford 2 new roofs at the same time that I shouldn't have to worry about for some time yet.


Date created: 2014-07-17 Name: Christine Perreault
Location: Berwick, Maine 03901

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"IKO Bad Shingles"
This roof is a disgrace to you. I bought a Schiavihomes in 2007 the roof went bad in 2013, eight years, they were architectural shingles cost more, but I thought they would last longer. They didn't, called Iko they sent me paper work to try and prove it was their problem. They want me, a widow on social security to climb on the roof to take certain pictures. You are responsible for the problem. It's up to you to fix it. I've had several roofer's look at it, they new right away it was Iko's. No one would ever buy your shingles in Maine. You need to make this right. If my name was on a product, I want it to be good and stand by it. You should stand by Your product and help me. It's the right thing to do. I never write to companies, this is a big cost to me and I'm very upset.


Date created: 2014-07-08 Name: George Sheldon
Location: Dryden, Michigan

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Happy with IKO Royal Estate"
We recently built a new home in Michigan and were looking for a distinctive shingle that would highlight our new home. We finally chose the iko Royal Estate which gives a rich appearance while being more affordable than many other specialty shingles. We really enjoy having a unique roof that stands out while also blending nicely with the neighborhood. We couldn't be happier with our choice and feel reassured with the strong iko warranty backing it up.


Date created: 2014-06-30 Name: Jeffl
Location: Waukon, IA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Weatherwood"
Writing once again, within a 2 week span. The roof we repaired is once again off during our persistent Iowa storms. When they were put on 3 years ago, I also would have no complaints; a year later and now 2 years later, not so much. I would think when only 16 out of 92 comments were satisfied, this is a testament that something is not right. I don't believe installation is the problem....many professional contractors have made unsatisfactory comments. We have Certainteed and iko on our house and only one brand is coming off. My main complaint is iko is not owning up to problems with some of their shingles and backing their product. Instead they keep telling everyone, they were installed improperly. This is not what is wrong.


Date created: 2014-06-23 Name: DeGonia
Location: Illinois

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Cambridge roof from IKO"
I just purchased IKO's Cambridge roofing shingle and was impressed with heavy weight and the color offering of this product. I had research other products similar in appearance but they did not seem the same quality. I am very satisfied with my Dual Black Cambridge roof.


Date created: 2014-06-23 Name: A Happy Home Owens
Location: Wilmington DE

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Best Buying Decision"
I recently replaced my roof with IKO's Royal Estate Shadow Slate. This iko roofing shingle appearance has greatly enhanced the aesthetic of the outside of my home and the high quality - double layer protection provides added depth. One to the best buying decision I have ever made.


Date created: 2014-06-22 Name: Jeff
Location: Waukon, IA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Costly Mistake"
We built an addition 3 years ago and needed to shingle the entire house. Our lumberyard only had Certainteed on hand and although we liked the color of the Iko (both had the same color name just shading a little different) timing was an issue so we went with Certainteed for the backside of the house. In the meantime, we ordered Iko's Weatherwood for the front, since you would never see both sides at one time....it would work. One year later, the Iko shingles came off during a storm. We were told they were improperly installed (nailing) and would not warranty them. This year (2014) another storm and more shingles off and now once again (6-22-14)another storm and more than half of the Iko shingles blown off one of our roofs. Seems odd the Certainteed are hanging in there great! I would advise not to buy Iko! We made a costly mistake.


Date created: 2014-06-18 Name: DON SMITH
Location: HURON,SD

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Unsatisfied Contractor"
Very unsatisfied with the way the shingles don't stick together and small winds will blow them off, then talk to them and they do nothing about it. But they come up with ways to not help me out with the cost of replacement.


Date created: 2014-06-18 Name: Doreen
Location: Saskatchewan

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Tearing off"
Had shingles done in October of last year and they were installed as specified by Iko for our "extreme" weather area and they have been tearing off ever since. It's a brand new house and they claim no responsibility. They keep asking for more proof and won't even send a rep.


Date created: 2014-04-08 Name: B. Campbell
Location: Sacdramento, CA

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Very satisfied"
I love my iko roof...very surprised to hear such bad reviews...my contractor, whom I have trusted for years told me about the iko shingles. When I told him I had heard a few bad things about iko, (from other contractors I entertained bids from) he told me that I shouldn't worry, that the majority of roof related problems are due to improper installation, and that he had been installing iko for years and had never had a problem. I went with a Cambridge Shingle, the color is dual brown, and it is beautiful!

1234567891011Next >>
Find Local Roofers

My zip code is: